DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (figs. 1-10) in the reply filed on 3/5/26 is acknowledged. Applicant submits that claims 1-10 are drawn to the elected group.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the term “can.” Noting that “through which the convex part can pass” is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the convex part" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “the convex part” is one of the “at least one convex part” previously recited. It is unclear if “the convex part” is the sole part or at least one of the convex parts that helically extends about the rotation axis of the lock member? As written, the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the rotation axis" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,067,514 to Oh et al.
Regarding claim 1, Oh ‘514 discloses a slide lock device for a slide device, wherein the slide device comprises a rail 110 and a slider 120 slidably supported on the rail 110, the rail being provided with multiple locking holes 112 arranged in an extension direction of the rail, the slide lock device comprises a casing 131 joined to the slide 120, at least one lock member 133/133a supported by the casing to be rotatable between a release position and a lock position, an urging member 134 urging the lock member 133/133a toward the lock position, and an operating member 135 displaceably supported by the casing 131 and contacting the lock member 133/133a, the lock member comprises at least one convex part 133 configured to be engaged with the locking holes 112 (fig. 5) when the lock member 133/133a is in the lock position and to be disengaged from the locking holes 112 (fig. 6) when the lock member 133/133a is in the release position, and when the operating member 135 is moved from an initial position to a post-operation position, the operating member 135 presses the lock member 133/133a and moves the lock member from the lock position to the release position (col. 4, lines 30-55).
Regarding claim 3, Oh ‘514 discloses, wherein the convex part 133 extends helically about a rotation axis 133a of the lock member, and the casing 131 is provided with a helical groove (between walls 131b) for slidably receiving the convex part 133, as best understood.
Regarding claim 4, Oh ‘514 discloses, wherein the convex part 133 protrudes from the casing 131 when the lock member 133/133a is in the lock position, and the convex part 133 is positioned within the casing 131 when the lock member 133133a is in the release position.
Regarding claim 7, Oh ‘514 discloses, wherein the slider 120 includes an upper wall and a pair of side walls 121 extending downward from the upper wall, the casing 130 is joined to a bottom surface of the upper wall and is disposed between the pair of side walls (figs 5-6), and parts of the pair of side walls 121 opposing the casing 130 are formed with an opening 124 through which the convex part can pass.
Regarding claim 8, Oh ‘514 discloses, wherein the operating member 135 protrudes above the upper wall (via 135c as part of the operating member 135) by passing through an operation hole 123 formed in the upper wall (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,067,514 to Oh et al.
Concerning method claims 9-10 in view of the structure disclosed by Oh ‘514, the method of operating the device would have been obvious, since it is the normal and logical manner in which the device could be used.
Regarding claim 9, Oh ‘514 discloses an assembly method for a slide device, wherein the slide device comprises a rail 110, a slider 120 slidably supported on the rail, and a slide lock device 130 provided on the slider 120 and configured to be engaged with the rail 110, the rail being provided with multiple locking holes 112 arranged in an extension direction of the rail, the slide lock device comprises a casing 131/135 joined to the slider 120, at least one lock member 133 supported by the casing 131/135 to be rotatable between a release position and a lock position, an urging member 134 urging the lock member 133 toward the lock position, and an operating member 135b displaceably supported by the casing 131/135 and contacting the lock member 133, and the lock member 133 comprises at least one convex part (end portion that engages in openings 112 – figs 5-6) configured to be engaged with the locking holes 112 when the lock member 133 is in the lock position (fig. 5) and to be disengaged from the locking holes 112 when the lock member 133 is in the release position (fig. 6), the assembly method comprising: a step of assembling the slide lock device 130 by mounting the lock member 133, the urging member 134, and the operating member 135b to the casing 131; a step of mounting the casing 131 to the slider 120; and a step of mounting the slider 120 to the rail 110.
Regarding claim 10, Oh ‘514 discloses, wherein the casing includes multiple casing members 131/135, and the step of assembling the slide lock device comprises: a step of mounting the urging member 134 to the lock member 133; a step of making one of the multiple casing members 131 support the lock member 133 to which the urging member 134 is mounted and the operating member 135; and a step of joining the multiple casing members 131/135 to each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and will be used in subsequent office action rejections.
The list of supports is as follows: US-20220080862-A1 OR US-20170305305-A1 OR US-11358498-B2 OR US-6959900-B2 OR US-5950978-A OR JP-S63192138-U.
/MONICA E MILLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632