DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
No claim is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 26, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on February 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the entire application could be made without serious burden. This is not found persuasive because the species are independent or distinct because claims to the different species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics of such species. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“sliding part,” “protrusion part” and “biasing member” in claim 1 where “part” and “member” are the placeholder and “sliding,” “protrusion” and “biasing” are the functional language; and
“receiving part” in claim 4 where “part” is the placeholder and “receiving” is the functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furusawa (WO2020235117. IDS by the Applicant).
With respect to claim 1, Furusawa discloses a trigger-type liquid sprayer (10. Figs. 1-12) comprising: a sprayer main body (90) mounted to a container body (20) in which a liquid is accommodated; and a nozzle member (95, 97, 98) mounted to the sprayer main body, and provided with a spray hole (98) through which the liquid is sprayed, wherein the sprayer main body includes: a vertical feed tube portion (92) configured to (capable of) suck up the liquid in an inside of the container body, a trigger mechanism (80, 81, 82, 50) having a trigger part (80) disposed to be movable rearward in a forward biased state (paragraph [0041]), and configured to (capable of) flow the liquid toward the spray hole from an inside of the vertical feed tube portion according to rearward movement of the trigger part, a reservoir cylinder (96) into which the liquid passing through the inside of the vertical feed tube portion is supplied according to the rearward movement of the trigger part, and a reservoir plunger (99) disposed in an inside of the reservoir cylinder to be movable in an axial direction along a central axis of the reservoir cylinder, configured to (capable of) move toward one side in the axial direction according to supply of the liquid into the inside of the reservoir cylinder, and biased toward the other side (see paragraph [0048]), and the trigger mechanism includes: a main cylinder (60) opening at a front (left in Fig. 1), and communicating with the inside of the vertical feed tube portion at a rear, a main piston (70) that includes: a sliding part (71) disposed in an inside of the main cylinder to be movable in a front-rear direction, and a protrusion part (72) protruding forward from the sliding part toward an outside of the main cylinder, and a front end (72b) of which is connected to the trigger part (via 82), and a biasing member (75) into which the protrusion part of the main piston is inserted, and biasing the trigger part forward (see paragraph [0051]).
With respect to claim 2, Furusawa discloses the trigger-type liquid sprayer according to claim 1, further comprising: a spring receiver (space for 75) that is mounted to an opening (left void) of the main cylinder at the front thereof (Fig. 3), and configured to (capable of) receive a rear end of the biasing member.
With respect to claim 3, Furusawa discloses the trigger-type liquid sprayer according to claim 2, wherein the spring receiver includes a pair of side wall parts (Figs. 2 and 3) sandwiching the biasing member in a right-left direction.
With respect to claim 4, Furusawa discloses the trigger-type liquid sprayer according to claim 2, wherein the spring receiver includes an inner cylindrical part (72, 71, 74) that is inserted into the main cylinder, and a receiving part (71, 74) that is formed in an inside of the inner cylindrical part, and configured to (capable of) receive the rear end of the biasing member.
With respect to claim 5, Furusawa discloses the trigger-type liquid sprayer according to claim 3, wherein the spring receiver includes an inner cylindrical part (72, 71, 74) that is inserted into the main cylinder, and a receiving part (71, 74) that is formed in an inside of the inner cylindrical part, and configured to (capable of) receive the rear end of the biasing member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a liquid sprayer: Hellenkamp, Blake et al., Pauls et al., Cary et al., Corsette, Tada ‘361, Tada ‘017, Tada ‘186, Tada ‘791, Dennis, Battegazzore and Foster et al.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 April 16, 2026