DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Remark
Mr. Buscher was telephoned on May 28, 2026 to obtain a telephonic election of species. Mr. Buscher informed that he would call back after consulting with his client. Mr. Buscher subsequently informed the Office that he was no longer representing the client and therefore could not make the election. In view of this, the Examiner has opted to examine the application without a restriction for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS received on April 25, 2024 and June 21, 2024 are proper and are being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on April 25, 2024 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite because claim 2 does not provide a final step where the alternative embodiment recited in the preamble is concluded. Claim 2 recites an alternative intend in the preamble of “predicting risk of having a disease or disorder of the female reproductive tract,” but the final steps only recite a conclusive step directed toward the embodiment directed to disease development, progression and/or worsening outcome.
Claim 10 is indefinite for using the terms, “level(s),” “biomarker(s), because the parent claim only recites the usage of the single biomarker, “JUP”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claim(s) recite the correlation that exist between biological marker, JUP and its relation to the disposition of a disease in the female reproductive tract. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims recite highly generic terms for the determination of the JUP level and tying the judicial exception (i.e., the correlation of the level of JUP and disease) without significant addition elements.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception based on the analysis under the current Patent Eligibility Guidelines (herein, “PEG”) as discussed below.
Step 1 Inquiry under PEG
Step 1 inquiry under Patent Eligibility Guidelines (herein, “PEG”) determines whether or not the claimed invention is drawn to one of the recognized statutory classes of invention. Claims 1-6 satisfy the present inquiry as being drawn to a method.
Step 2A Inquiry under PEG
The below analysis will address the three independent claims and their respective dependent claims as applicable.
A recently revised PEG now performs step 2A inquiry under a 2-prong analysis, and the subject claims analyzed accordingly as follows:
Prong 1:
Prong-1 inquiry under step 2A determines whether the claim(s) recites an abstract idea, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon. As stated above, the claims recite a correlation that exists a subject’s predisposition to endometriosis (claims 1 and 2), its severity, or propensity to respond to a treatment (claim 3) based on the level associated with JUP level. Therefore, claim recites a judicial exception.
Prong 2:
Prong-2 inquiry under step 2A determines whether or not the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
A – Claims 1, 5-12, 15, 16, and 22-25 (method of diagnosis):
Independent claim 1 does not recite any additional elements in the claim and therefore lacks patent eligibility.
Claims 5-8, and 12 recites additional elements in the form of additional molecular markers that are analyzed in combination with JUP level. However, the association of these markers and the predisposition to endometriosis or disease of a female reproductive tract is also judicial exception, which by the combination does not add more than the judicial exception.
Claim 9 recites the additional element in the form of the sample from which JUP level is determined. Because the natural correlation that exists between JUP and the above-discussed condition is naturally existing in the sample, this does not add significantly more.
Claims 10 and 11 recite the additional element in the form of determining the level of JUP by retrieval of data indicative of the level of JUP and observing at least one non-molecular marker. However, these elements are not deemed significantly more as the determination of level based on retrieval of data via computer itself, is a judicial exception in the form of a data harvesting and the observance of at least one non-molecular marker is also directed to data harvesting of the subject and this does not significantly add more to the judicial exception of JUP level that ties to the above-discussed phenotype of a subject.
Claim 15, 16 and 22-25 recite the additional elements in the form of determination being directed to the stage/type/severity of endometriosis. However, the implementation of computer leaning is generally considered a post-solution activity of data analysis and the stage/type/severity of endometriosis is further description of the female reproductive tract disease/disorder which is a judicial exception. Therefore, these elements do not add significantly more to the judicial exception.
B – Claims 2, 13, and 14 (method of prediction):
Claim 2 recites an additional step (in relation to claim 1) that compares the level of JUP to a prediction reference pattern and making a prediction based on said comparison. However, the level of JUP and its correlation based on an observed pattern is a judicial exception, and comparison of a subject’s JUP level and to this pattern does not amount to add significantly more to the judicial exception.
Claims 13 and 14 recites an additional element in the form of the reference pattern being observed in a sample of a reference subject that has the disease, and the obtainment being via machine-learning technique. However, obtainment of the reference pattern simply reveals the natural correlation (i.e., judicial exception) without a significantly addition feature, and even with means such as machine learning technique by utilizing a computer) to provide embraces data harvesting and therefore, does not add significantly more than the judicial exception.
C – Claims 3 and 4:
Claim 3 recites the above-discussed judicial exception (i.e., JUP and correlation to female reproductive tract disease/condition) with additional steps of comparing the level determined level to a reference pattern, wherein the level of JUP is correlated with a subject’s susceptibility to a treatment. However, the level of JUP and its correlation to the subject’s susceptibility to a treatment is a natural correlation and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
And the comparison of the level of subject’s JUP level to that of a reference pattern is deemed insufficient for reasons discussed in the above section (B).
As to claim 4, the claim is not directed to an active treatment, but the intended treatment of claim 4. Therefore, the claim does not recite an additionally active element.
As explained by the Supreme Court, in order to transform a judicial exception into a patent-eligible application, the additional element or combination of elements must do ‘more than simply stat[e] the [judicial exception] while adding the words ‘apply it’”. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. __, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2357, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, for example, claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2358, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 134 S. Ct. at 2389, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (warning against a § 101 analysis that turns on “the draftsman’s art”) (MPEP 2106.05(f))
Step 2B Inquiry under PEG
Step 2B inquiry of the PEG determines whether or not additional elements are provided and whether such elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claims.
Presently, the additional elements which are provided in the claims that recite that the judicial exceptions are claimed as kit and the inclusion of buffers and nucleotides fail to further add more than the judicial exception because inclusion of buffers and polymerases do not specifically limit the presently recited judicial exception as they are widely applicable and routinely included in diagnostic kits in the field of molecular diagnostics.
Therefore, these elements are not deemed significantly more than inclusion of that are commonly used, routine and conventional.
Therefore, the present claims lack patent eligibility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hoffman, Peter (WO 2021/119759 A1, published June 24, 2021, priority December 2019).
With regard to claim 1, Hoffman teaches a method of diagnosing a disease or disorder of the female reproductive tract (“method of detecting ovarian cancer in a subject”, section [0011]), the method comprising the steps of:
determining a protein level of biomarker JUP in a sample of a female subject (“detecting an expression level of junction plakoglobin1 in blood of the subject”, section [0011]; also “the expression level of junction plakoglobin protein is detected”, section [0015]); and
diagnosing a disease or disorder of the female reproductive tract based on determination of step (a) (“detecting ovarian cancer in the subject on the basis of comparison, wherein an expression of level of junction plakoglobin in the blood of the subject that is higher than the reference expression level for junction plakoglobin indicates that the subject has ovarian cancer”, section [0011]).
With regard to claim 2, Hoffman teaches that the method is also for a subject’s susceptibility to developing ovarian cancer (thus risk of having, see “method of determining if a subject is susceptible to developing ovarian cancer”, section [0013]) based on the determination of JUP level, comparing the level to a reference level and making the risk prediction based on the comparison (“detecting an expression level of junction plakoglobin in blood … comparing the expression level of junction plakoglobin in the blood of the subject with a reference expression level for junction plakoglobin … determining if the subject is susceptible to developing ovarian cancer on the basis of the comparison, wherein an expression level of junction plakoglobin in the blood of the subject that is higher than the reference expression level for the junction plakoglobin indicates that the subject is susceptible to developing ovarian cancer”, section [0013]).
With regard to claim 5, Hoffman teaches assaying of both CA125 and JUP (see section [0050]).
With regard to claim 9, the sample is blood sample (see above, also section [0014]).
With regard to claims 5-7, at least 2 biomarkers are determined in addition to JUP, such as CA125 and HE4 (“[d]etecting the expression level of particular combinations of biomarkers may provide greater sensitivity, specificity and predictive power than any one biomarker alone … the expression level of junction plakoglobin may be detected in blood of a subject to be tested in combination with the blood expression level of tumor associated antigen CA125 and/or human epididymis protein 4 (HE4) in the subject”, section [0109]), wherein the biomarkers are detected by nucleic acid detection technique (“production and application of microarray for measuring the level of expression of a gene at the transcriptional level are well known in the art … a nucleotide sequence (for example an oligonucleotide, a cDNA, or genomic DNA) representing a portion, or all of the junction plakoglobin gene … target sample … obtained from a subject of interest is then hybridized to the microarray”, section [0101]).
With regard to claim 13, the reference pattern is obtained from reference subjects, wherein at least one of the reference subjects is diagnosed with a disease or disorder of the female reproductive tract (“[a] reference expression level for junction plakoglobin can also be obtained from one or more ‘normal’ samples from a subject suspected to have, or which has, ovarian cancer” (section [0108])
With regard to claim 15, the female subject is classified as having ovarian cancer based on the expression level of JUP (see above).
With regard to claim 22, the disorder is ovarian cancer (see above).
Therefore, Hoffman anticipates the invention as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 10, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman, Peter (WO 2021/119759 A1, published June 24, 2021, priority December 2019) in view of Liu et al. (International Journal of Oncology, 2015, vol. 46, pages 2467-2478).
The teachings of Hoffman have already been discussed above.
While Hoffman teaches that a patient’s response to a treatment is assessed based on the gene expression level and its comparison to a reference level (or pattern), the artisan does not explicitly recite that the comparison is employed to predict “susceptibility” to a treatment based on the comparison (claim 3).
While Hoffman explicitly teach that combination of biomarkers for the same diagnosis is beneficial, the artisan does not teach the list of biomarkers of claim 8.
Hoffman does not teach that the level of biomarker is determined via computer implemented means, wherein the level of JUP (claim 10), with additional means of collecting non-molecular marker indicia (claim 11), or using machine-learning to obtain reference pattern (claim 14).
Liu et al. teach that downregulation of HBA1 and HBB are a poor predictor of 5-year survival for a subject with ovarian cancer:
“ADH1B, HBB, ABCA8 and HBA1 were downregulated by at least 10-fold in 43 cases of ovarian serous adenocarcinoma … suggested that these gene might play critical roles in ovarian cancer progression” (page 2470, 1st column, 1st paragraph)
“ALDH1A2, HBB, ABCA8 and HBA1 might be associated with prognosis in ovarian cancer, while ALDH1A2, HBB, ABCA8 and HBA1 might be associated with drug resistance, and HBB and HBA1 might be associated with recurrence, metastasis and invasiveness in ovarian cancer” (page 2470, 1st column, bottom paragraph to 2nd column)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoffman with the teachings of Liu et al. and the conventional means available to the artisan, thereby arriving at the invention as claimed for the following reasons.
As discussed above, Hoffman teaches that the expression level of JUP is correlated with a subject’s predisposition to developing ovarian cancer, as well as being a useful marker for treatment of the subject.
Hoffman teaches that when a subject’s sample contains a JUP level that is higher than a reference level established, the subject can be diagnosed with ovarian cancer as well as identified as being a candidate for an appropriate treatment such as laparotomy (see section [0119], “treating ovarian cancer in the subject refers to the use of agents and techniques, alone or in combination based on the type and stage of the ovarian cancer … surgery may be required … laparotomy”).
While Hoffman did not explicitly state that the elevated JUP levels in the subject is an indicator for the subject’s susceptibility to a treatment for the disease, the elevated JUP level would have indicated to the one of ordinary skill in the art that the increased JUP level would be an indication to treat the subject with therapies relating to ovarian cancer, and therefore, under broad reasonable interpretation, would embrace the concept of determining the subject’s susceptibility to therapy/treatment based on the increased JUP level.
As to combining the makers known to be useful for the determining/diagnosing the same phenotype of the subject, Hoffman teaches that combination of such markers would likely result in a generally expected benefit:
“[d]etecting the expression level of particular combinations of biomarkers may provide greater sensitivity, specificity and predictive power than any one biomarker alone …”, section [0109])
Such rationale has also been recognized by the court In re Kerkhoven, wherein the court expressed the following:
“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably concluded that the combination of the markers disclosed by Liu et al. that are also correlated with ovarian cancer with those of Hoffman would have resulted in the same perceived advantages (i.e., predictable outcome).
In KSR, the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art,” Id. at 415, 82 USPQ2d at 1395, and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” Id. at 415-16, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. The Supreme Court stated that there are “[t]hree cases decided after Graham [that] illustrate this doctrine.” Id. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. (1) “In United States v. Adams, . . . [t]he Court recognized that when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.”
As to the collection of non-molecular marker data of the subject, such as age, weight, etc., such collection have been an industry practice for providing additional dataset that are analyzed in epidemiology/pathogenesis of diseases and therefore, would have been an obvious step to take when performing the method of Hoffman (practice also suggested by Hoffman):
“number of other factors have also been linked to the development of ovarian cancer and these include diet, adult height, weight, and smoking” (section [0004], Hoffman)
Lastly, with regard to the collection of data (level of JUP) via computer-implemented method and the use of machine learning to obtain a reference pattern from reference subjects, while Hoffman did not explicitly teach that the level of JUP was garnered via computer-implemented means, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that any assay based on their image would have required the use of computerized means to obtain the image, the intensity of the indicia of the biomarkers being correlated into numerical range and converted into concentration, all of which had been known to involve computerized means, as well as utilizing machine-learning means such as artificial intelligence to analyze reference data to generate a pattern that is statistically significant.
Therefore, for these reasons, the invention as claimed is deemed prima facie obvious over the cited references.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Claims 4, 16, and 23-25 are free of prior art as the prior art does not teach or suggest the level of JUP (also known as junction plakoglobin, plakoglobin, gamma-catenin) with predisposition to endometriosis.
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Gary Benzion, can be reached at (571) 272-0782.
Papers related to this application may be submitted to Art Unit 1681 by facsimile transmission. The faxing of such papers must conform with the notice published in the Official Gazette, 1156 OG 61 (November 16, 1993) and 1157 OG 94 (December 28, 1993) (see 37 CFR 1.6(d)). NOTE: If applicant does submit a paper by FAX, the original copy should be retained by applicant or applicant’s representative. NO DUPLICATE COPIES SHOULD BE SUBMITTED, so as to avoid the processing of duplicate papers in the Office. All official documents must be sent to the Official Tech Center Fax number: (571) 273-8300. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-1600.
/YOUNG J KIM/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1637 May 29, 2026
/YJK/
1 “The term ‘JUP,’ as used herein, refers to a marker encoded by the JUP gene. The marker can be a nucleic acid or a peptide. In some embodiments the biomarker JUP described herein is the protein encoded by the JUP gene also known as plakoglobin, junction plakoglobin or gamma-catenin. The JUP encoded protein is a member of the catenin protein family and homologous to -catenin” (Specification, page 8)