DETAILED ACTION
The amended claims dated 8/3/2026 are under consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 244-252 and 255, in the reply filed on 8/3/2026 is acknowledged.
New claims depend from at least one of claims 244-252 and 255 and are included with the election of Group I.
Claims 253, 254, 256, 257-258, 259, 260 and 261 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/3/2026.
Applicant’s election of the following species in the reply filed on 8/3/2026 is acknowledged:
Cas9 as the endonuclease;
NGG as the PAM sequence; and
Exonuclease III as the exonuclease.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 249 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/3/2026. Cas9 is a CRISPR Class II endonuclease and is not a CRISPR Class I (CASCADE) endonuclease.
Priority
The present application is a 371 national stage entry of PCT/US2022/078583 (10/24/2022), which claims benefit of 63/272,091 (filed 10/26/2021).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 244, 245, 246, 247, 248, 250, 251, 252, 255, 262, 263, 264, 265, 266, 267, 268, 269 and 270 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 244, the claim recites “the endonuclease is selected from the group consisting of…Cas3 and Cas7-11, and a Type II restriction endonuclease”. It is unclear whether a “Type II restriction endonuclease” is part of the group based on the use twice of the term “and”.
Claims 245, 246, 247, 248, 250, 251, 252, 255, 262, 263, 264, 265, 266, 267, 268, 269 and 270 depend from claim 244 and are rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 246, the claim contains the trademark/trade name BODIPY®, ALEXA FLUOR®, JOE, CASCADE®, TET™, HEX™, IRDye®, PACIFIC BLUE®, PACIFIC ORANGE™ and TEXAS RED®. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe fluorophores and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Regarding claim 247, the claim contains the trademark/trade name, including BODIPY®, TET™, HEX™, IRDye®, etc. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe fluorophores and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Regarding claim 247, the claim recites “the acceptor fluorophore is selected from the group consisting of…Cy5 and Cy5.5, anthraquinone dyes…and pyridinyl-isoquinolone-dione dyes”. It is unclear whether the dyes after Cy5.5 are part of the group based on the use twice of the term “and”.
Regarding claim 248, the claim recites “the exonuclease is selected from…Lambda Exonuclease, and BAL31 Exonuclease…, and Exoribonuclease II”. It is unclear whether the exonucleases after BAL31 Exonuclease are part of the group based on the use twice of the term “and”.
Regarding claim 262, it is unclear whether the claim is attempting to require the fluorophores forming the FRET pair be on a single nucleic acid strand, i.e., both fluorophore are on the same nucleic acid strand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 255 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 255 is a dependent claim of claim 244 as it requires all the elements of claim 244 by specifically referencing claim 244. See MPEP 608.1(n)III. The only structure required by claim 255 is the composition of claim 244 and does not require any additional elements.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 244, 247, 250, 255, 262, 264 and 269 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singh (Nature Structural & Molecular Biology. 2018. 25:247-354; previously cited).
The following rejections are over embodiments having the elected species of Cas9 and the NGG PAM sequence.
Regarding claim 244, Singh teaches a “nucleic acid substrate” comprising:
“a FRET pair” of Cy3 and Cy5 that are not separated by a cleavage site of an endonuclease (e.g., Fig. 2, 3 and 5; and Supplemental Figures 4 and 7);
“at least one structure” that inhibits cleavage of the substrate by the “exonuclease” RuvC in the form of increasing nPD (p. 251, right column); and
a “recognition sequence and cleavage site” for a “nucleic acid-guided endonuclease” in the form of a Cas endonuclease (e.g., Fig. 2, 3 and 5; and Supplemental Figures 4 and 7).
Singh teaches one of the fluorophores are on the nucleic strand that contains the nPD sequence (e.g., Fig. 2, 3 and 5).
Singh teaches the nPD sequence, which is part of the PAM, is positioned such that such cleavage does not occur unless the Cas endonuclease cleaves via PAM recognition.
Singh further teaches the “nucleic acid substrate” is with the RuvC exonuclease.
Regarding claim 247, Singh teaches the “acceptor fluorophore” is Cy5 (para. 347, Real-time single-molecule FRET assay for DNA interrogation).
Regarding claim 250, Singh teaches the “nucleic acid-guided endonuclease” is Cas9 and its PAM is NGG (p. 347).
Regarding claim 255, Singh teaches the composition of claim 244 as described above.
Regarding claim 262, Singh teaches the acceptor and donor fluorophores are on “at least one nucleic acid strand of the nucleic acid substrate” (e.g., Fig. 2, 3 and 5; and Supplemental Figures 4 and 7).
Regarding claim 264, Singh teaches the “nucleic acid substrate” is a double stranded nucleic acid and one strand has the acceptor fluorophore and the other strand as the donor fluorophore (e.g., Fig. 2, 3 and 5; and Supplemental Figures 4 and 7).
Regarding claim 269, Singh teaches RuvC is a 3’->5’ exonuclease (p. 351), the nPD sequence of the PAM are 3’ of the endonuclease recognition sequence and cleavage site on the non-target strand and one of the fluorophore is 5’ of the recognition sequence and cleavage site (Supplementary Figure 4d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 244, 247, 250, 255, 262, 264, 269 and 270 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (PNAS. 2021. 118(2):e2010650118; published 12/28/2020) in view Singh (Nature Structural & Molecular Biology. 2018. 25:247-354; previously cited).
The following rejections are over embodiments having the elected species of Cas9 and the NGG PAM sequence.
Regarding claims 244, 262, 264, 269 and 270, Wang teaches a nucleic acid substrate for Cas9 comprising:
a fluorophore;
a structure that inhibits cleavage by a 3’ to 5’ single-strand exonuclease in the form of a nucleic acid duplex that exists until Cas9 meditated cleavage; and
a recognition sequence and cleavage site for Cas9 that hybridizes with the guide nucleic acid of Cas9.
The fluorophore is located on a strand that includes a sequence of the nucleic acid duplex that exists until Cas9 meditated cleavage and that inhibits the 3’ to 5’ exonuclease.
Wang teaches the composition further includes a 3’ to 5’ exonuclease in the form of a Klenow fragment.
See Fig. 3A of Wang for a representation of the structure being relied upon.
While Wang does not teach a FRET pair as part of the nucleic acid substrate of Fig. 3A, Wang does teach that FRET pairs can be used with the composition as depicted in Figs. 1 and 2.
Wang further teaches the use of the FRET pairs can be used to track the amount of separation between the fluorophores and to track signals for both fluorophores (Fig. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan to have modified the structure of Fig. 3 by incorporating a second fluorophore to create a FRET pair. The use of the FRET pair would allow one to detect when cleavage and exonuclease activity has occurred as well as whether the cleaved substrate remained on the substrate surface by tracking a signal from the remaining fluorophore attached to the cleaved substrate (rendering obvious an embodiment of claims 262 and 264). Alternatively, one could place the FRET pair on the same strand such that cleavage and exonuclease activity may be monitored by observing a change from high FRET to low FRET, thus confirming endonuclease activity by relying on two signals and how they change as opposed to a single signal from a single fluorophore (rendering obvious an embodiment of claims 269 and 270).
The modification has a reasonable expectation of success as Singh demonstrates that two fluorophores can be placed on a single substrate and Wang demonstrates the ability to detect changes in the amount of FRET that is occurring.
Regarding claim 247, Wang teaches the fluorophore is Cy5 (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 250, Wang teaches the endonuclease is Cas9 (Fig. 3) and its PAM is NGG (p. 1 of 9).
Regarding claim 255, Wang and Singh renders obvious the composition of claim 244 as described above.
Claim(s) 245, 248, 267 and 268 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (PNAS. 2021. 118(2):e2010650118; published 12/28/2020) in view Singh as applied to claim 244 above, and in further view of Shevelev (Nature Reviews. 2002. 3: 12 pages; cited on the 7/92024 IDS).
Regarding claims 245, 248, 267 and 268, the combination of Wang and Singh renders obvious the elements of claim 244 as required by claims 245, 248, 267 and 268.
The combination does not outright teach the additional elements specific to claims 245, 248, 267 and 268.
However, Shevelev demonstrates that a number of exonucleases are known.
Regarding claims 245 and 248, Shevelev teaches that RNase T is an alternative ssDNA exonuclease with 3’ to 5’ activity (Table 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of filing that the Klenow fragment of Wang may be replaced with the RNase T of Shevelev as they are functionally equivalent in their ability to digest ssDNA in a 3’ to 5’ manner.
Regarding claims 267 and 268, Shevelev teaches that exonucleases with 5’ to 3’ activity on ssDNA were known.
Further, the duplex of Wang that inhibits cleavage by the exonuclease is located at both the 5’ and 3’ side of the recognition sequence and cleavage site (Fig. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan that rather than using a ssDNA exonuclease with 3’ to 5’ activity, one could move the fluorophores to the 5’ side of the cleavage site and use an 5’ to 3’ exonuclease instead to release one or more of the fluorophores depending on their orientation.
Claim(s) 246 and 247 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (PNAS. 2021. 118(2):e2010650118; published 12/28/2020) in view Singh as applied to claim 244 above, and in further view of Doudna (US 2017/0175104 A1).
Regarding claims 246 and 247, while Wang and Singh render obvious the elements of claim 244, the combination does not teach a FRET pair with a donor selected from claim 246 with an acceptor selected from claim 247.
However, Doudna teaches in the context of CRISPR based technology that numerous donor/acceptor pairs are known, including Texas Red/DABCYL, BODIPY/DABCYL and coumarin/DABCYL (para. 208 and 210).
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan that a number of FRET pairs are known in the field and may be used interchangeably based on design preferences. Thus, a combination of donor and acceptor from claims 246 and 247 are an obvious variant of those known in the art. There is reasonable expectation of success as it involves the simple substitution of functionally equivalent FRET pairs.
Claim(s) 251 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (PNAS. 2021. 118(2):e2010650118; published 12/28/2020) in view Singh as applied to claim 244 above, and in further view of Kartje (Biochemistry 2018. 57:3027-3031).
Regarding claim 251, the combination of Wang and Singh renders obvious the elements of claim 244 as required by claim 251.
The combination does not teach the additional elements specific to claim 251.
However, Kartje demonstrates that chimeric guides enhance the biochemical activity of Cas9.
Kartje teaches that DNA and RNA containing “NATNA” or a combination of crRNA and tracrRNA increase Cas9 activity (Fig. 1 and 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of invention to have modified the composition of Wang by incorporating the chimeric “NATNA” of Kartje. One would have been motivated to do so because it would enhance the activity of Wang’s Cas9.
Claim(s) 252 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (PNAS. 2021. 118(2):e2010650118; published 12/28/2020) in view Singh as applied to claim 244 above, and in further view of White (WO 2020/109412 A1).
Regarding claims 252, the combination of Wang and Singh renders obvious the elements of claim 244 as required by claim 252.
The combination does not teach the additional elements specific to claim 252.
However, White describes techniques involving CRISPR/Cas9 and exonucleases.
Regarding claim 252, White teaches techniques for protecting nucleic acids from exonuclease activity, including the use of designing the nucleic acids to lack a terminal nucleotide by forming hairpin/stem-loop structures or using chemical moieties or blocking groups, such as phosphorothioate (p. 13-14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan to consider and implement additional approaches to protect the nucleic acid substrate from exonuclease activity of Klenow or other exonucleases if implemented into the composition. For example, one may choose the hairpin/stem-loop structures or using chemical moieties or blocking groups, such as phosphorothioate described by White to protect the ends of the nucleic acid substrate from exonuclease degradation.
Regarding claim 266, as noted above White teaches techniques for protecting nucleic acids from exonuclease activity, including the use of designing the nucleic acids to lack a terminal nucleotide by forming hairpin/stem-loop structures (p. 13-14).
As noted above, it would have been prima facie obvious to have further protected the nucleic acid substrate from exonuclease degradation using one of the techniques of White. When choosing hairpin/stem-loop structures, the result is the nucleic acid structure of Wang would take on a single nucleotide strand structure where the stem of the hairpin forms double-strand portion of Wang’s nucleic acid substrate and they would be connected by the loop structure of the hairpin.
Claim(s) 263 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (PNAS. 2021. 118(2):e2010650118; published 12/28/2020) in view Singh as applied to claim 244 above, and in further view of Roy (Nature Methods. 2008. 5(6):507-516).
Regarding claim 263, the combination of Wang and Singh renders obvious the elements of claim 244 as required by claim 263.
The combination does not teach the additional elements specific to claim 263.
However, Roy demonstrates that a number of FRET designs are known.
Regarding claim 263, Roy demonstrates that two FRET pairs using four labels were known and used to analyze structural changes in separate regions of a molecule in real-time (p. 509, Box 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of filing to have modified the nucleic acid substrate of Wang by incorporating a second FRET pair. The addition of the second FRET pair would allow one to monitor for FRET changes based on endonuclease cleavage and exonuclease digestion as well as any change in structure based on other factors, such as nucleic acid terminal degradation due to exonuclease activity. For example, in Wang after digestion a partially double-stranded structure remains. The addition of a second FRET pair would be able to monitor whether or not the partially double-stranded structure remains or is disrupted.
Claim(s) 266 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (PNAS. 2021. 118(2):e2010650118; published 12/28/2020) in view Singh as applied to claim 244 above, and in further view of White (WO 2020/109412 A1) and Shevelev (Nature Reviews. 2002. 3: 12 pages).
Regarding claims 266, the combination of Wang and Singh renders obvious the elements of claim 244 as required by claim 266.
The combination does not teach the additional elements specific to claim 266.
However, as noted previously, White teaches techniques for protecting nucleic acids from exonuclease activity, including the use of designing the nucleic acids to lack a terminal nucleotide by forming hairpin/stem-loop structures (p. 13-14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have further protected the nucleic acid substrate from exonuclease degradation using one of the techniques of White. When choosing hairpin/stem-loop structures, the result is the nucleic acid structure of Wang would take on a single nucleotide strand structure where the stem of the hairpin forms double-strand portion of Wang’s nucleic acid substrate and they would be connected by the loop structure of the hairpin.
Shevelev demonstrates that a number of exonucleases are known.
Regarding claim 266, Shevelev teaches that RNase T is an alternative ssDNA exonuclease with 3’ to 5’ activity.
Further, the duplex of Wang that inhibits cleavage by the exonuclease is located at both the 5’ and 3’ side of the recognition sequence and cleavage site (Fig. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of filing that the Klenow fragment of Wang may be replaced with the RNase T of Shevelev as they are functionally equivalent in their ability to digest ssDNA in a 3’ to 5’ manner.
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan that rather than using a ssDNA exonuclease with 3’ to 5’ activity, one could move the fluorophores to the 5’ side of the cleavage site and use an 5’ to 3’ exonuclease instead to release one or more of the fluorophores depending on their orientation.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682