DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants’ filing on December 11, 2025. Claims 1-3 were previously pending, of which claims 1 and 3 have been amended, claim 2 has been cancelled, and no claims have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 1 and 3 are currently pending and are being examined below.
Response to Arguments
With respect to Applicant's remarks, see pages 6-11 filed December 11, 2025; Applicant’s “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
With respect to the claim objections, applicant’s amendment to claim 3 has addressed the condition recited in the objection. Therefore, the objection to the claim 3 is withdrawn.
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. $112(f) Interpretations, applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 3 have not addressed the condition using drive source, controller, or lock operation member. Therefore, the interpretation is maintained by the examiner.
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. $112(b) Rejection , applicant’s amendment to claim 3 no longer recites "even if." Instead, the term "when" is used as suggested in the Office Action. Therefore, the rejection to claim 3 is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding U.S.C. $102(a)(1) rejections have been fully considered and they are persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the Kaneda reference fails to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e.,) are not clearly defined in the prior art so the rejection to the amended independent claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, the new limitations from the amended claim 1 are not allowable in view of Misaki under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Furthermore, the amended limitations of claim 3 merely remove the dependency by combining the original claim 1 limitations with the claim 3 amendment, thereby maintaining the 102(a)(1) rejection to the new independent claim 3. Therefore, the new rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)/103 is presented in the Final Office Action below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“lock operation member” in claims 1 and 3. A review of the specification shows that it is a lock lever 5 (Fig.4) that allows a lock operation for invalidating the lever operation and a lock release operation for validating the lever operation applied to the operation levers 60L, 60R [0031].
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kaneda et al., US 2024/0060270 Al (Hereinafter, “Kaneda”).
Regarding Claim 3, Kaneda discloses a work machine, comprising: a drive source; a controller that controls start and stop of the drive source; See [0031], “FIG. 2 is a block diagram schematically showing a configuration of control and hydraulic systems of the hydraulic shovel 1. The hydraulic shovel 1 is provided with an electric motor 61.”
a controller switch that allows an on-operation for activating the controller and an off- operation for stopping the controller to be applied to the controller switch; See at least [0044], “Further, the hydraulic shovel 1 is provided with a key cylinder 91. A key for the operator to give a command for drive-on, drive-start, and drive-off with respect to the drive of the electric motor 61 is inserted in the key cylinder 91. The key cylinder 91 incorporates a sensor that detects the key's tum positions (key on position, key start position, and key off position) which correspond to the drive-on, the drive-start, and the drive-off, respectively.”
an operation lever that allows a lever operation for moving an operation target to be applied to the operation lever; In [0026], “In particular, the levers 41b include a cut-off lever 41b2 other than an operation lever 41bl for driving the hydraulic actuator 73. The cut-off lever 41b2 is so provided on the left of the operation seat 41a as to turn up and down. The tum position of the cut-off lever 41b2 is detected by a cut-off switch 41c (see FIG. 2). The cut-off switch 41c is placed at a base end part of the cut-off lever 41b2.”
a lock operation member that allows a lock operation for invalidating the lever operation and a lock release operation for validating the lever operation to be applied to the lock operation member; See [0028], “Thus, the hydraulic shovel 1 of the present embodiment has the cut-off lever 41b2 that is turned up and down by the operator, and the cut-off switch 41c that, in conjunction with the action of turning the cut-off lever 41b2 upward, de-powers and cuts off the electromagnetic valve 75.”
a drive source switch that allows a start operation for starting the drive source and a stop operation for stopping the drive source to be applied to the drive source switch, wherein the controller is configured to start the drive source when judging that the lock release operation is applied to the lock operation member and the start operation is applied to the drive source switch in a state where the on-operation is applied to the controller switch and the controller has been activated, and configured to suspend the start of the drive source, when the lock release operation is not applied to the lock operation member the controller is configured to stop the drive source, during the driving of the drive source, when judging that an application of the lock operation to the lock operation member has been performed; In [0050], “Next, the startability seen when the operator turns the key thereby to start the electric motor is to be explained. FIG. 4 shows the turn position of the cut-off lever 41b2 and the turn position of the key, relative to the startability of the electric motor. When the operator is seated on the operation seat 41a and immediately turns the cut-off lever 41b2 downward ( cut-off switch 41c is on), the ECU 80 determines that safety is not secured. In this case, even the operator inserting the key into the key cylinder 91 thereby to turn the key fails to cause the ECU 80 to output the rotation command to the inverter 63, failing to start the electric motor 71 (start check function). Meanwhile, when the cut-off lever 41b2 is turned upward (cut-off switch 41c is off), the ECU 80 determines that safety is secured. In this case, the operator inserting the key into the key cylinder 91 thereby to turn the key from the key-off position via the key-on position to the key-start position causes the ECU 80 to output the rotation command to the inverter 63 based on the input of the key-start position detection signal.”
wherein the controller is configured to suspend the start of the drive source, after judging that the lock operation is applied to the lock operation member to stop the drive source, when judging that the start operation is applied to the drive source switch, and the lock release operation is applied to the lock operation member; See at least [0050], “FIG. 4 shows the turn position of the cut-off lever 41b2 and the turn position of the key, relative to the startability of the electric motor. When the operator is seated on the operation seat 41a and immediately turns the cut-off lever 41b2 downward (cut-off switch 41c is on), the ECU 80 determines that safety is not secured. In this case, even the operator inserting the key into the key cylinder 91 thereby to turn the key fails to cause the ECU 80 to output the rotation command to the inverter 63, failing to start the electric motor 71. “
start the drive source, after judging that the lock operation is applied to the lock operation member to stop the drive source, when judging that the lock release operation is applied to the lock operation member and the start operation is applied to the drive source switch. See at least [0050], “when the cut-off lever 41b2 is turned upward (cut-off switch 41c is off), the ECU 80 determines that safety is secured. In this case, the operator inserting the key into the key cylinder 91 thereby to turn the key from the key-off position via the key-on position to the key-start position causes the ECU 80 to output the rotation command to the inverter 63 based on the input of the key-start position detection signal. “ And [0052], “The inverter 63 supplies power to the electric motor 61 based on the rotation command. This causes the electric motor 61 to start (begin) rotating, and the rotation speed of the electric motor 61 slowly increases. Rotating of the electric motor 61 revolves the pilot pump 70 and the hydraulic pump 71.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneda in view of Misaki et al., US 2022/0154427 A1 (Hereinafter, “Misaki”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kaneda discloses a work machine (1) comprising: a drive source (61); a controller (80) that controls start and stop of the drive source; See [0031], “FIG. 2 is a block diagram schematically showing a configuration of control and hydraulic systems of the hydraulic shovel 1. The hydraulic shovel 1 is provided with an electric motor 61.”
a controller switch (91) that is switched from an off-position to an on-position or from the on-position to the off-position, and allows an on-operation for activating the controller and an off-operation for stopping the controller to be applied to the controller switch; In [0044], “Further, the hydraulic shovel 1 is provided with a key cylinder 91. A key for the operator to give a command for drive-on, drive-start, and drive-off with respect to the drive of the electric motor 61 is inserted in the key cylinder 91. The key cylinder 91 incorporates a sensor that detects the key's tum positions (key on position, key start position, and key off position) which correspond to the drive-on, the drive-start, and the drive-off, respectively.”
an operation lever (41b) that allows a lever operation for moving an operation target to be applied to the operation lever; In [0026], “In particular, the levers 41b include a cut-off lever 41b2 other than an operation lever 41bl for driving the hydraulic actuator 73. The cut-off lever 41b2 is so provided on the left of the operation seat 41a as to turn up and down. The tum position of the cut-off lever 41b2 is detected by a cut-off switch 41c (see FIG. 2). The cut-off switch 41c is placed at a base end part of the cut-off lever 41b2.”
a lock operation member that allows a lock operation for invalidating the lever operation and a lock release operation for validating the lever operation to be applied to the lock operation member; See [0028], “Thus, the hydraulic shovel 1 of the present embodiment has the cut-off lever 41b2 that is turned up and down by the operator, and the cut-off switch 41c that, in conjunction with the action of turning the cut-off lever 41b2 upward, de-powers and cuts off the electromagnetic valve 75.”
a drive source switch that allows a start operation for starting the drive source and a stop operation for stopping the drive source to be applied to the drive source switch, wherein the controller is configured to start the drive source when judging that the lock release operation is applied to the lock operation member and the start operation is applied to the drive source switch in a state where the on-operation is applied to the controller switch and the controller has been activated, and configured to suspend the start of the drive source, when the lock release operation is not applied to the lock operation member or when the start operation is not applied to the drive source switch, in a state where the on-operation is applied to the controller switch and the controller has been activated , and the controller is configured to stop the drive source, during the driving of the drive source, when judging that any of an application of the off-operation to the controller switch, an application of the lock operation to the lock operation member, and an application of the . In [0050], “Next, the startability seen when the operator turns the key thereby to start the electric motor is to be explained. FIG. 4 shows the turn position of the cut-off lever 41b2 and the turn position of the key, relative to the startability of the electric motor. When the operator is seated on the operation seat 41a and immediately turns the cut-off lever 41b2 downward ( cut-off switch 41c is on), the ECU 80 determines that safety is not secured. In this case, even the operator inserting the key into the key cylinder 91 thereby to turn the key fails to cause the ECU 80 to output the rotation command to the inverter 63, failing to start the electric motor 71 (start check function). Meanwhile, when the cut-off lever 41b2 is turned upward (cut-off switch 41c is off), the ECU 80 determines that safety is secured. In this case, the operator inserting the key into the key cylinder 91 thereby to turn the key from the key-off position via the key-on position to the key-start position causes the ECU 80 to output the rotation command to the inverter 63 based on the input of the key-start position detection signal.”
Kaneda discloses a work machine that includes a controller switch and a cut-off lever, but does not exclusively disclose a separate drive source switch. However, Misaki teaches a work machine with an emergency stop switch. See at least [0029], “The emergency stop switch 48 is configured to function as a switch to stop movement of the excavator 100 … the emergency stop switch 48 outputs a command to an engine control unit, to stop the engine 11. Note that the emergency stop switch 48 may be a hand-push switch arranged around the driving seat.”
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Kaneda’s electric work machine with the emergency stop limitations disclosed in Misaki with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the operator to stop all movement of the work machine, see Misaki [0029].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.K.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669