DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on September 4, 2025. Claims 1-7 and 9-17 are pending and are examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendments made to original claims 1-2, 6, 9-11, 15, 17 have been fully considered.
In light of these amendments, the previous objections to claim 2 is withdrawn.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments and amendments received September 4, 2025 have been fully considered.
With regard to 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant argues the cited prior art fails to disclose motion compensating a reference frame for the geometry data based on a road of the point cloud data and coding attribute data of the point cloud data, where the attribute data includes a normal vector, and where a bitstream including the geometry data and attribute data includes information for specifying that motion compensation is applied based on the road. This language corresponds to the newly amended language of claims 1, 9, 10, and 17.
As such, these have been considered but they are directed to newly amended language, which is addressed below. See the rejection below for how newly added references read on the newly amended language as well as the examiner's interpretation of the cited art in view of the presented claim set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being obvious over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0058834 (“Iguchi”), which corresponds to priority applications filed in May 2019 and May 2020 in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0087979 (“Mammou”).
With respect to claim 1, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including:
A method comprising:
encoding geometry data of point cloud data (see Abstract, Figs. 1, 5-6, 173, items 4601, 4630, 7364, ¶¶8-10, 249-250, describing an encoder to encode, for each of three-dimensional points in point cloud data, geometry information, i.e., geometry data of point cloud data), wherein the encoding the geometry data includes:
[encoding] the geometric data based on a road of the point cloud data (see citations and arguments with respect to element above and Abstract, Fig. 1, item 4631, ¶¶270-273, 510, 855, 1058, describing encoding the geometric data and that the geometric data may be based on a road of the point cloud data); and
encoding attribute data of the point cloud data, wherein the attribute data includes a normal vector (see Abstract, Fig. 92, 100-104, 125, ¶¶195, 198, 200, 213, 724-726, 733-734, 743, 796, 818-821, describing encoding attribute data of the point cloud, including a normal vector);
wherein a bitstream including the geometry data and the attribute data includes information for specifying that [encoding] is applied based on the road (see Abstract, Fig. 156, item 801, ¶¶510, 855, describing that the bitstream includes geometry and attribute point cloud information of an object, that this object may be a road, and that information indicating the object is a road ahead of the vehicle may be sent, i.e., the geometry and attribute data may include information for specifying that encoding is applied based on the road).
Iguchi does not explicitly disclose that the encoding process is motion compensation, i.e., motion compensating a reference frame for the geometric data … and motion compensation is applied...
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mammou discloses that it was known to encode geometric data by applying motion compensation/motion compensating a reference frame for the geometric data, i.e., motion compensating a reference frame for the geometric data … and motion compensation is applied... (see Figs. 1, 2C, 4B, items 104, 254, 256, “Reference Point Cloud Frame”, ¶¶88, 102-103, 217, 258, 339, 436, describing that it was known to encode spatial/position/geometry data by using/applying motion compensation to a reference frame for the geometric data).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill would have been familiar with the methods of coding point clouds, including geometry data of a point cloud, and have understood that, as evidenced by Mammou, one such method includes motion compensation of reference frames for the geometry data/the application of motion compensation. Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, using such a method to accomplish encoding/decoding of point cloud data in the coding system of Iguchi would have represented nothing more than the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include mechanisms for coding point cloud geometry data by applying motion compensation of reference frames for the geometry data in the coding system of Iguchi as taught by Mammou.
With respect to claim 2, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of independent claim 1. Iguchi/Mammou additionally discloses:
wherein the encoding of the geometry data comprises:
predicting a motion of first point cloud data,
wherein the predicting of the motion comprises:
predicting the motion based on a first vector calculated from second point cloud data (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above, including citations to Mammou, describing that the motion compensation includes the prediction of point cloud data based on motion vectors pointing to reference point cloud information, i.e., first vectors calculated from second point cloud data).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 2.
With respect to claim 3, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of dependent claim 2. Iguchi/Mammou additionally discloses:
wherein the predicting of the motion comprises:
calculating the first vector based on, among points within a first range from an origin, points having a coordinate value in a second range (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 2 above, describing that the first motion vector is calculated based on previously-coded reference points within the same frame (intra prediction) or a different frame (inter prediction), i.e., among points within a first range from an origin (the current point/region of points of the current point cloud), points having a value in a second range (different point cloud or neighboring region of the same point cloud) ).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 3.
With respect to claim 4, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of dependent claim 3. Iguchi/Mammou additionally discloses:
wherein the predicting of the motion further comprises:
calculating the first vector as an average of second vectors of the points in the second range (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 1-3 above and Mammou ¶¶485, 498, describing that the prediction may be calculated as an average of neighboring or last N motion vectors, i.e., average of second vectors of the points in the second range).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 4.
With respect to claim 5, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of dependent claim 3. Iguchi/Mammou additionally discloses:
wherein the predicting of the motion further comprises:
generating faces connecting the points in the second range; and
calculating the first vector as an average of normal vectors to the faces (see citations with respect to claims 1-4 above and Mammou ¶¶78, 80-81, 93, 105, 109, 162, 164, 245-251, 302, describing that it was known to predict motion for points of a point cloud by generating segments/patches/faces, connecting the points in the search range, and calculating the motion vector as a weighted combination/average of normal vectors for the points of the segment).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 5.
With respect to claim 9, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of independent claim 1. Iguchi/Mammou additionally discloses:
A device comprising:
a memory (see Iguchi ¶¶212, 214, 216, 218, 220, 927-928, 937-938, 1087-1089, describing that the encoder/decoder may be embodied by a memory and processor connected thereto); and
at least one processor connected to the memory (see citations and arguments with respect to element above), the at least one processor configured to:
encode geometry data of point cloud data (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
motion compensate a reference frame for the geometry data based on a road of the point cloud data (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above); and
encode attribute data of the point cloud data, wherein the attribute data includes a normal vector (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above);
wherein a bitstream including the geometry data and the attribute data includes information for specifying that motion compensation is applied based on the road (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 9.
With respect to claim 10, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of independent claim 1. Iguchi/Mammou additionally discloses:
A method comprising:
decoding geometry data of point cloud data (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and Iguchi Figs. 7-8, items 4640, 4642, ¶12, describing a decoder for decoding, for each of three-dimensional point clouds in point cloud data, geometry information, i.e., geometry information of point cloud data), wherein the decoding the geometry data includes:
motion compensating a reference frame for the geometry data based on a road of the point cloud data (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above, including citations to Iguchi and Mammou, and Iguchi ¶¶278-281, describing decoding the geometric data and that the geometric data may be based on a road of the point cloud data); and
decoding attribute data of the point cloud data, wherein the attribute data includes a normal vector (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and Iguchi Figs. 7-8, items 4640, 4643, ¶¶203, 217, 282, 762, 797, 823-825, describing decoding attribute data of the point cloud, including a normal vector);
wherein the bitstream includes information for specifying that motion compensation is applied based on the road (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 10.
With respect to claim 11, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of independent claim 10. Iguchi/Mammou additionally discloses:
wherein the decoding of the geometry data comprises:
predicting a motion of first point cloud data,
wherein the predicting of the motion comprises:
predicting the motion based on a first vector calculated from second point cloud data (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 10 and 2 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 11.
With respect to claim 12, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of dependent claim 11. Iguchi/Mammou additionally discloses:
wherein the bitstream contains information about the first vector,
wherein the first vector is calculated based on, among points within a first range from an origin, points having a coordinate value in a second range (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 3 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 12.
With respect to claim 13, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of dependent claim 12. Iguchi/Mammou additionally discloses:
wherein the first vector is calculated as an average of second vectors of the points in the second range (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 4 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 13.
With respect to claim 14, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of dependent claim 12. Iguchi/Mammou additionally discloses:
wherein the first vector is calculated as an average of normal vectors to faces connecting the points in the second range (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 5 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 14.
With respect to claim 17, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of independent claim 10. Iguchi/Mammou additionally discloses:
A device comprising:
a memory (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 9 above); and
at least one processor connected to the memory (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 9 above), the at least one processor configured to:
decode geometry data of point cloud data (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 10 above), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
motion compensate a reference frame for the geometry data based on a road of the point cloud data (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 10 above); and
decode attribute data of the point cloud data, wherein the attribute data includes a normal vector (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 10 above);
wherein a bitstream including the geometry data and the attribute data includes information for specifying that motion compensation is applied based on the road (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi in view of Mammou and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0192798 (“Cao”).
With respect to claim 6, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of dependent claim 4.
Iguchi/Mammou does not explicitly disclose,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cao discloses that it was known to calculate a rotation motion vector by weighting the geometry data based on the motion vector, i.e.,:
wherein the predicting of the motion further comprises:
calculating a rotation motion vector by applying a weight to the geometry data based on the first vector (see ¶¶5, 21, 46, 66, 71, 74, 101, 107, 113, 115, 131-133, 139, describing calculating a rotation matrix/motion vector by applying weight (e.g., 3x3 weight matrix) to the translation vector, i.e., geometric information based on the motion vector).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill would have been familiar with 3-D point clouds and their motion, including rotational motion and its calculation. Such a person would have understood that, as evidenced by Cao, one way to calculate the rotational motion of point cloud geometry data would have been to apply weight to the geometry data, e.g., using an ICP algorithm. Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, doing so in the coding system of Iguchi/Mammou would have represented nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to predictable results and/or the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a mechanism for calculating the rotation motion vector of the point cloud geometry data using the application of weight to the geometry data, e.g., by an ICP algorithm, in the coding system of Iguchi/Mammou as taught by Cao.
With respect to claim 7, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above, Iguchi in view of Mammou and Cao discloses each and every element of dependent claim 6. Iguchi/Mammou/Cao additionally discloses:
wherein the calculating of the rotation motion vector comprises:
calculating the rotation motion vector using an iterative closest point (ICP) algorithm or a least mean square (LMS) algorithm (see Cao ¶¶113, 115, 139, describing that it was known for coders to estimate a rotational motion vector by using an iterative closest point scheme).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 6 also apply to claim 7.
With respect to claim 15, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses each and every element of dependent claim 13 and Iguchi in view of Mammou and Cao discloses each and every element of dependent claim 6, the combination of which is incorporated herein. Iguchi/Mammou/Cao additionally discloses:
wherein the predicting of the motion further comprises:
calculating a rotation motion vector by applying a weight to the geometry based on the first vector (see citations and argument with respect to claim 6 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 15.
With respect to claim 16, Iguchi discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Iguchi in view of Mammou discloses all the elements of dependent claim 15 and Iguchi in view of Mammou and Cao discloses all the elements of dependent claim 7, the combination of which is incorporated herein. Iguchi/Mammou/Cao additionally discloses:
wherein the rotation motion vector is calculated using an iterative closest point (ICP) algorithm or a least mean square (LMS) algorithm (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 7 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 7 also apply to claim 16.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LINDSAY J UHL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2481
/LINDSAY J UHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481