CTNF 18/704,764 CTNF 80125 DETAILED ACTION Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 8, 9, 12, 20, 22, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention . Regarding claims 8 and 22 : the scope of the phrase “the variable corresponding to the resource number with a value being r is obtained by calculating the variable corresponding to the resource number with a value being r-1” is unclear. In particular, it appears that “the variable corresponding to the resource number” is claimed as having both “a value being r” and “a value being r-1”. Further, it is unclear how the variable is obtained by calculating the variable . Regarding claims 9 and 27 : there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the other positive integer” in line 4. Regarding claims 12 and 20 : it is unclear the intended meaning of the word “preferably”. As worded, it appears to mean that the limitations following “preferably” are optional. That is, it is preferable, but not necessary, to have these limitations. Examiner recommends amending the claim to clarify these limitations, particularly if the limitations after preferably are intended to be included as required limitations in the claim scope. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “generation module ” and “sending module” in claim 37. Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b/f) 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention . Regarding claim 37 : claim limitations “generation module” and “sending module” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as indicated above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions. In particular, the specification describes these modules in elements 42 and 44 of Figure 4 and the corresponding descriptions in 4:25-5:3, for example. These paragraphs describe the function performed by these modules, but do not describe the structure required by 35 U.S.C. 112(f). That is, because the limitations “generation module” and “sending module” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the structure is limited to that described in the specification. However, because the specification does not provide sufficient structure for these modules, the scope of these claim limitations is indefinite. 07-34-23 Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Applicant may: (a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; (b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)). If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a/f) 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-31-01 Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement . The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In particular, as noted above, claim limitations “generation module” and “sending module” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Further, as noted in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the specification describes the function of these modules, but does not provide the required structural support. Thus, in addition to being indefinite (because the scope of the claim is not clear as articulated in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection), the claim is similarly rejected for failing to comply with the written description requirement. That is, the original disclosure does not provide a written description of the structure of the limitations “generation module” and “sending module”. Therefore, claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 17, 19, 20, 22, 27, 29, 32, 35, 37, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cha et al (US 2022/0272731) . Regarding claim 1 : Cha discloses a signal sending method, comprising: generating, by a first communication node, a target reference signal sequence of target reference signals, wherein the target reference signal sequence is generated by a pseudo-random sequence, the pseudo-random sequence is a sequence that has been initialized by using a target formula, and the target formula comprises resource numbers of the target reference signals (disclosed throughout; see [0361]-[0364], for example, which discloses generating a target reference sequence (a PRS sequence) based on a pseudo-random sequence (a length-31 Gold sequence and further indicates that the pseudo-random sequence can be initiated by one of the c init equations discussed herein; for example, consider [0388]-[0405], which describes equations 0 and 1 as examples formulas for initializing the pseudo-random sequence; as indicated in [0393], the formula comprises resource numbers such as N ID RS which is “an ID representing a resource”; see also [0440] and the equation below it) ; and sending, by the first communication node, the target reference signals, wherein the target reference signal sequence forms the target reference signal after being mapped to a time-frequency resource (disclosed throughout; see Figure 11 and [0034] and [0244], for example; the target reference signals are transmitted after being mapped to a time frequency resource as disclosed in Figure 11 and [0034]). Regarding claim 19 : Cha discloses a signal receiving method, comprising: receiving, by a second communication node, a target reference signal sent by a first communication node, wherein the target reference signal sequence forms the target reference signal after being mapped to a time-frequency resource (disclosed throughout; see Figure 11 and [0034] and [0244], for example; the target reference signals are transmitted after being mapped to a time frequency resource as disclosed in Figure 11 and [0034]) , the target reference signal sequence is generated by a pseudo-random sequence, the pseudo-random sequence is a sequence that has been initialized by using a target formula, and the target formula comprises a resource number of the target reference signal (disclosed throughout; see [0361]-[0364], for example, which discloses generating a target reference sequence (a PRS sequence) based on a pseudo-random sequence (a length-31 Gold sequence and further indicates that the pseudo-random sequence can be initiated by one of the c init equations discussed herein; for example, consider [0388]-[0405], which describes equations 0 and 1 as examples formulas for initializing the pseudo-random sequence; as indicated in [0393], the formula comprises resource numbers such as N ID RS which is “an ID representing a resource”; see also [0440] and the equation below it) ; and determining, by the second communication node, the pseudo-random sequence and the target reference signal sequence based on the resource number of the target reference signal (disclosed throughout; see steps 2009 and 2011 of Figure 20 and [0381], for example, which discloses that the UE determines and obtains the PRS that includes the pseudo-random sequence and target reference sequence based on information such as the information received in steps 2003 and 2005, for example). Regarding claim 37 : Cha discloses a signal sending apparatus, applied to a first communication node and comprising: a generation module (disclosed throughout; see processors 102/202 of Figure 28, for example) , configured to generate a target reference signal sequence of target reference signals, wherein the target reference signal sequence is generated by a pseudo-random sequence, the pseudo-random sequence is a sequence that has been initialized by using a target formula, and the target formula comprises resource numbers of the target reference signals (disclosed throughout; see [0361]-[0364], for example, which discloses generating a target reference sequence (a PRS sequence) based on a pseudo-random sequence (a length-31 Gold sequence and further indicates that the pseudo-random sequence can be initiated by one of the c init equations discussed herein; for example, consider [0388]-[0405], which describes equations 0 and 1 as examples formulas for initializing the pseudo-random sequence; as indicated in [0393], the formula comprises resource numbers such as N ID RS which is “an ID representing a resource”; see also [0440] and the equation below it) ; and a sending module (disclosed throughout; see transceivers 106/206 of Figure 28, for example) , configured to send the target reference signals, wherein the target reference signals are formed after the target reference signal sequence is mapped to time-frequency resources (disclosed throughout; see Figure 11 and [0034] and [0244], for example; the target reference signals are transmitted after being mapped to a time frequency resource as disclosed in Figure 11 and [0034]). Regarding claim 39 : Cha discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program stored therein, wherein the computer program, when being executed by a processor (disclosed throughout; see memories 104/204 of Figure 28 and [0621]-[0622], for example) , implements steps of the method according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above). Regarding claim 40 : Cha discloses an electronic apparatus, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program that is stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program (disclosed throughout; see memories 104/204 and processors 102/202 of Figure 28 and [0621]-[0622], for example) , implements steps of the method according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above). Regarding claim 2 : Cha discloses the limitations that the target reference signal comprises a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) (disclosed throughout; see the PRS described in [0361]-[0364], for example). Regarding claim 8 : Cha discloses the limitations that the target formula comprises a variable related to the resource number; and the variable corresponding to the resource number with a value being r is obtained by calculating the variable corresponding to the resource number with a value being r-1, wherein r is a positive integer (disclosed throughout; see equation 1 under [0397], for example; the variable corresponding to the resource number r is 2 N ID RS + 1 and the variable is obtained by calculating r-1 (=2 N ID RS )). Regarding claim 9 : Cha discloses the limitations that the variable corresponding to the resource number with the value being r is calculated as follows: a product of the variable corresponding to the resource number with the value being r-1 and one positive integer is obtained, and then modulo is performed on the other positive integer (disclosed throughout; see equation 1 under [0397], which indicates that the variable corresponding to the resource number with the value of r-1 multiplied by a positive integer (2, a positive integer is multiplied by N ID RS ) and then modulo is performed on another positive integer (the output of the function g)) ; or , wherein r>0; and in a case of r=0, the variable corresponding to the resource number with the value being 0 is calculated through a predetermined formula, and the predetermined formula comprises a value that is calculated by CRC corresponding to a target channel . Regarding claim 11 : Cha discloses the limitations that the target formula comprises a resource index of the target reference signal and a source ID of the first communication node (disclosed in at least [0491]-[0492], for example, which indicate that N ID RS Set can be substituted for the physical cell ID/PCID; as indicated in the equations 1, 1-1, and 1-2, in this situation, the target formula comprises a resource index (N ID RS ) and a source ID (the PCID of the source cell, which is a source ID)). Regarding claim 12 : Cha discloses the limitations that the target formula comprises: a product of a resource index of the target reference signal and a predetermined value (disclosed throughout; see equations 1-1 and 1-2 under [0402], which disclose that the formula comprises a product of a resource index of the target reference signal (N ID RS ) and a predetermined value (2 L )) ; preferably, wherein the target formula comprises: a product of a target sum obtained by adding the resource index of the target reference signal and 1, and the predetermined value (as indicated above, the “preferably” modifier is interpreted as indicating that this clause is optional). Regarding claim 14 : Cha discloses the limitations of sending, by the first communication node, Sidelink Control Information (SCI), wherein the SCI comprises the predetermined value; or , wherein the predetermined value is a fixed value (disclosed in at least [0467], for example, which indicates that L (and thus 2 L ) may be a fixed value) ; or , wherein the predetermined value is a value that is obtained through high-layer configuration and pre-configuration . Regarding claim 17 : Cha discloses the limitations that the target formula comprises a summation value of a product of a resource index of the target reference signal and a predetermined value and a source ID of the first communication node (disclosed in at least [0491]-[0492], for example, which indicate that N ID RS Set can be substituted for the physical cell ID/PCID; as indicated in the equations 1-, in this situation, the target formula comprises a summation of a product of a resource index (N ID RS ) and a predetermined value (2 L ) and a source ID (the PCID of the source cell, which is a source ID)) , or , wherein the target formula comprises a summation value of a resource index of the target reference signal and a source ID of the first communication node . Regarding claim 20 : Cha discloses the limitations that the target reference signal comprises a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) (disclosed throughout; see the PRS described in [0361]-[0364], for example), preferably, wherein the PRS comprises a sidelink PRS (as indicated above, the “preferably” modifier is interpreted as indicating that this clause is optional). Regarding claim 22 : Cha discloses the limitations that the target formula comprises a product of first data and second data; and the first data comprises the resource number, and the second data comprises a value that is calculated by Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) corresponding to a target channel; or , wherein the target formula comprises a sum of first data and second data; and the first data comprises the resource number, and the second data comprises a value that is calculated by Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) corresponding to a target channel; or , wherein the target formula comprises a product of third data, fourth data, and fifth data; the third data comprises the following data: a symbol number of Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) for sending the reference signal, a timeslot number of a timeslot for sending the reference signal, and the number of symbols of OFDM within the timeslot; the fourth data comprises a value that is calculated by CRC corresponding to a target channel, or comprises a source Identification (ID) of the first communication node; and the fifth data comprises the resource number; or , wherein the target formula comprises the predetermined power of 2: and the value of the predetermined power is equal to 10-floor(A/2), wherein 2 to power of A minus 1 is equal to a maximum value of the resource number, and floor() is a downward rounding function; or , wherein the target formula comprises a variable related to the resource number; and the variable corresponding to the resource number with a value being r is obtained by calculating the variable corresponding to the resource number with a value being r-1. wherein r is a positive integer (disclosed throughout; see equation 1 under [0397], for example; the variable corresponding to the resource number r is 2 N ID RS + 1 and the variable is obtained by calculating r-1 (=2 N ID RS )). Regarding claim 27 : Cha discloses the limitations that the variable corresponding to the resource number with the value being r is calculated as follows: a product of the variable corresponding to the resource number with the value being r-1 and one positive integer is obtained, and then modulo is performed on the other positive integer (disclosed throughout; see equation 1 under [0397], which indicates that the variable corresponding to the resource number with the value of r-1 multiplied by a positive integer (2, a positive integer is multiplied by N ID RS ) and then modulo is performed on another positive integer (the output of the function g)) ; or , wherein r>0; and in a case of r=0, the variable corresponding to the resource number with the value being 0 is calculated through a predetermined formula, and the predetermined formula comprises a value that is calculated by CRC corresponding to a target channel . Regarding claim 29 : Cha discloses the limitations that the target formula comprises a resource index of the target reference signal and a source ID of the first communication node (disclosed in at least [0491]-[0492], for example, which indicate that N ID RS Set can be substituted for the physical cell ID/PCID; as indicated in the equations 1, 1-1, and 1-2, in this situation, the target formula comprises a resource index (N ID RS ) and a source ID (the PCID of the source cell, which is a source ID)) ; or , wherein the target formula comprises: a product of a resource index of the target reference signal and a predetermined value (disclosed throughout; see equations 1-1 and 1-2 under [0402], which disclose that the formula comprises a product of a resource index of the target reference signal (N ID RS ) and a predetermined value (2 L )) ; or , wherein the target formula comprises: a product of a target sum obtained by adding the resource index of the target reference signal and 1, and the predetermined value . Regarding claim 32 : Cha discloses the limitations that the second communication node receiving Sidelink Control Information (SCI) sent by the first communication node, wherein the SCI comprises the predetermined value; or , wherein the predetermined value is a fixed value (disclosed in at least [0467], for example, which indicates that L (and thus 2 L ) may be a fixed value) ; or , wherein the predetermined value is a value that is obtained through high-layer configuration and pre-configuration . Regarding claim 35 : Cha discloses the limitations that the target formula comprises a summation value of a product of a resource index of the target reference signal and a predetermined value and a source identification number of the first communication node (disclosed in at least [0491]-[0492], for example, which indicate that N ID RS Set can be substituted for the physical cell ID/PCID; as indicated in the equations 1-, in this situation, the target formula comprises a summation of a product of a resource index (N ID RS ) and a predetermined value (2 L ) and a source ID (the PCID of the source cell, which is a source ID)) ; or, wherein the target formula comprises a summation value of a resource index of the target reference signal and a source identification number of the first communication node . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al (US 2022/0272731) in view of Wang et al (US 2024/0196356) . Regarding claim 3 : Cha discloses the limitations of parent claim 2 as indicated above. Cha does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 3 that the PRS comprises a sidelink PRS . However, Wang discloses a system that transmits and receives sidelink positioning reference signals (see abstract, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use sidelink PRS as suggested by Wang. The rationale for doing so would have been to meet the positioning requirements in sidelink communication applications as suggested by Wang in [0004], for example . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Elshafie et al (US 2025/0031046) discloses a method of positioning reference signal security from spoofing attacks. Zheng et al (US 2024/0179667) discloses a method for transmitting and receiving sidelink positioning reference signals. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Robert C Scheibel whose telephone number is (571)272-3169. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan A Phillips can be reached at 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Robert C. Scheibel Primary Examiner Art Unit 2467 /Robert C Scheibel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 May 29, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 2 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 3 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 4 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 5 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 6 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 7 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 8 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 9 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 10 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 11 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 12 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 13 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 14 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 15 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 16 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 17 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 18 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 19 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 20 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/704,764 Page 21 Art Unit: 2467