DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
the watch from claims 16-30
the means of restraint from claim 16
the means of attachment from claim 16
means of restraint provided on a lower face of the removable golf ball marker from claim 25
at least one head from claim 28
computational electronic means and memory space, as well as means of connecting to a digital data network from claim 30
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because the reference number must be legible and must measure at least 0.32 cm, see 37 CFR 1.84(p).
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the phrase “The present invention”, and the legal phraseology “comprising” and “means” should be avoided.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 17 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16, line 2 “the first strand” should be - - a first strand - -.
Claim 16, line 6 “the position” should be - - a position - -.
Claim 17, line 2 “the mass” should be - - a mass - -.
Claim 17, line 5 “the first” should be - - the first translation direction - -.
Claim 19, line 4 “or, vice versa, the” should be - - or the - -.
Claim 19, line 4 “the unfolding buckle type” should be - - an unfolding buckle type - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 1 the limitation recited as “clamping means” appear to invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph) since it appears to meet the 3-prong analysis, where the means are magnets or guide rails.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 17 recites “the user” which is a positive requirement of the claim requiring a human being, or a human part thereof (i.e., the user), which constitutes non-statutory subject matter under 35 USC § 101.
Claim 18 is rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “type” in claim 27 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “type” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to - - unfolding buckle - -.
Claim 28 is rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-22, 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (KR 2012-0063341, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 16, Song discloses a watch comprising a bracelet having two strands and a buckle clasp system, the buckle clasp system comprising a first part adapted to be attached to the first strand and having means of restraint (end of the first strand), and a second part having means of attachment complementary to the means of restraint, for fixing the second part to the first part of the buckle clasp system, allowing to attach the bracelet to a user's wrist, the buckle clasp system further comprising a removable golf ball marker, adapted to mark the position of a golf ball on a golf course, the second part having a cover having an upper part having a thickness and a lower part, the cover comprising, arranged in the thickness of the upper part, a housing, the housing having a flat bottom corresponding to the lower part of the cover, the housing being configured to house the removable golf ball marker, the removable golf ball marker having a shape corresponding to the housing, the buckle clasp system also comprising clamping means (11, 31), the clamping means (11, 31) ensuring magnetic and/or mechanical clamping, configured to hold the removable golf ball marker in the housing (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Song discloses, wherein the clamping means comprise longitudinally arranged guide rails in the mass of the lower part of the cover, to guide the removable golf ball marker in translation, in a direction corresponding to a longitudinal axis of the bottom of the housing, so that, in a first translation direction, guide the removable golf ball marker into the housing and, in a second translation direction opposite to the first, allow extraction of the removable golf ball marker so that the user can grasp it (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Song discloses, wherein the guide rails are carved into the mass of the lower part of the cover, on two side faces and opposite the housing, the rails being parallel to the longitudinal axis of the bottom of the housing, and the removable golf ball marker comprises matching grooves able to slide in the rails (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Song discloses, wherein the clamping means comprise two grooves and two corresponding lugs, the lugs having a mushroom shape, the two grooves being arranged on two parallel side faces of the cover, and the two lugs being provided on two parallel faces of the removable golf ball marker, or, vice versa, the two grooves being arranged on two parallel side faces of the golf ball marker, and the two lugs being provided on two parallel faces of the cover (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Song discloses, wherein the clamping means provide magnetic clamping (11, 31) of the removable golf ball marker in the housing and comprise at least one magnet (11) arranged at the bottom of the housing (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 21, Song discloses, wherein the at least one magnet is offset from a median transverse axis of the bottom of the housing (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 22, Song discloses, wherein the at least one magnet is aligned to a median transverse axis of the bottom of the housing (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 26, wherein the housing has a profiled rectangular parallelepiped shape (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 29, one of the strands of the bracelet, upstream of the housing, comprising a deflection rib adapted to deflect the removable golf ball marker when extracting it (see annotated Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (KR 2012-0063341, cited by applicant), in view of Deto et al. (US Patent No. 7,320,158).
Regarding claim 23, Song discloses the claimed invention except for the at least one magnet is embedded in resin.
However, Deto et al. teaches the at least one magnet is embedded in resin (see Col. 2, lines 51-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnets from Song, and embed the magnets in resin in order to protect the magnets as taught by Deto.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (KR 2012-0063341, cited by applicant), in view of Bohannon (US Patent No. 9,623,305).
Regarding claim 24, Song discloses the claimed invention except for the at least one magnet has an attraction force comprised between 240 g and 320 g.
However, Bohannon teaches the at least one magnet has an attraction force comprised between 240 g and 320 g (0.52 lbs. and 0.71 lbs.) (see Col. 5, lines 10-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the magnets from Song with neodymium magnets in order to have a strong attraction force between magnets as taught by Bohannon.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (KR 2012-0063341, cited by applicant), in view of Trojan (US Publication 2017/0120119).
Regarding claim 25, Song discloses the claimed invention except for means of restraint, among a ball or a protrusion, provided at the bottom of the housing and cooperating with additional means of restraint provided on a lower face of the removable golf ball marker.
However, Trojan teaches means of restraint, among a protrusion (330), provided at the bottom of the housing and cooperating with additional means of restraint (490) provided on a lower face of the removable golf ball marker (see Fig. 2B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bottom of the housing and the lower face of the removable golf ball marker from Song, with a retention member and a retention mechanism as taught by Trojan in order to mechanically secure the removable golf ball marker in the housing.
Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (KR 2012-0063341, cited by applicant), in view of Kawagoe (US Patent No. 6,944,916).
Regarding claim 27, Song discloses the claimed invention except for the buckle is of the unfolding buckle type, the second part of the buckle being mounted pivoting on the first part.
However, Kawagoe teaches the buckle is of the unfolding buckle type, the second part (5) of the buckle being mounted pivoting (7) on the first part (10) (see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the buckle from Song with the second part being pivotal on the first part as taught by Kawagoe in order to facilitate to rerelease the buckle from the user.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Song in view of Kawagoe discloses, wherein the second part of the buckle clasp system comprises a passage (12) for the first strand (1), at least one head (27) and means of releasing (20) the second part (5) with respect to the first part (10) (see Fig. 1).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (KR 2012-0063341, cited by applicant), in view of Webb et al. (US Patent No. 9,980,539).
Regarding claim 30, Song discloses the claimed invention except for the watch comprising computational electronic means and memory space, as well as means of connecting to a digital data network.
However, Webb et al. teaches the watch comprising computational electronic means and memory space, as well as means of connecting to a digital data network (see Fig. 1 and Col. 1, lines 29-31). Smart watches inherently have computational electronic means and memory space, as well as means of connecting to a digital data network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the buckle clasp system from Song with a smart watch as taught by Webb in order to use it as a wearing device.
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677