CTNF 18/704,782 CTNF 100138 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 04/25/2024, 06/13/2025, and 10/31/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 6, 8-14, 16-18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (2025/0039874), hereinafter Matsumura . Re. Claims 1 and 21 , Matsumura teaches a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state determination apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory used for storing a processor executable instruction (Fig. 21); wherein the one or more processors are collectively configured to, when executing the processor executable instruction: receive first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is used for configuring at least two search space sets having a link relationship (¶0066 - two PDCCH candidates in two search space sets are linked to each other, and each search space set is associated with a corresponding CORESET ), and control resource set pool indexes (CORESET Pool Indexes) of CORESETs corresponding to two search space sets in the at least two search space sets are different (¶0067 - the two search space sets are associated with different CORESETs having different TCI states & ¶0217 - CORESET pool indices corresponding to a plurality of (for example, two) respective search space sets/CORESETs/PDCCH candidates (or a plurality of search space sets/CORESETs/PDCCH candidates linked to each other) for the PDCCH repetition may be configured to be different values (case 9-2, see FIG. 14B) ); and determine that a medium access control control element (MAC CE) to be received is a first MAC CE, wherein the first MAC CE is used for indicating at least one TCI state (¶0065 - up to two TCI states can be configured/activated for one CORESET by using higher layer signaling (RRC signaling/MAC CE) ) corresponding to each codepoint in at least one codepoint (¶0061 - Each TCI codepoint in DCI may correspond to one or two TCI states ), the at least one codepoint is carried in a TCI field of downlink control information (DCI) (¶0069 - DCI field may indicate one or a plurality of (for example, two) TCI states related to a codepoint for a single DCI-based multi-TRP mechanism ), and the DCI is transmitted by a physical downlink control channel candidate resource in the at least two search space sets having a link relationship (¶0040 - by using the DCI (or PDCCH used for transmission of the DCI) & ¶0216 - CORESET pool indices corresponding to a plurality of (for example, two) respective search space sets/CORESETs/PDCCH candidates (or a plurality of search space sets/CORESETs/PDCCH candidates linked to each other) for the PDCCH repetition may be configured to be the same value. Examiner presents ¶0040 to show that the DCI can be transmitted on PDCCH as represented by the reference). Re. Claim 11, Matsumura teaches a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state determination method, performed by a network device, and comprising: sending first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is used for configuring at least two search space sets having a link relationship (¶0066 - two PDCCH candidates in two search space sets are linked to each other, and each search space set is associated with a corresponding CORESET ), and control resource set pool indexes (CORESET Pool Indexes) of CORESETs corresponding to two search space sets in the at least two search space sets are different (¶0067 - the two search space sets are associated with different CORESETs having different TCI states & ¶0217 - CORESET pool indices corresponding to a plurality of (for example, two) respective search space sets/CORESETs/PDCCH candidates (or a plurality of search space sets/CORESETs/PDCCH candidates linked to each other) for the PDCCH repetition may be configured to be different values (case 9-2, see FIG. 14B) ); and sending a first medium access control control element (MAC CE) , wherein the first MAC CE is used for indicating at least one TCI state (¶0065 - up to two TCI states can be configured/activated for one CORESET by using higher layer signaling (RRC signaling/MAC CE) ) corresponding to each codepoint in at least one codepoint (¶0069 - DCI field may indicate one or a plurality of (for example, two) TCI states related to a codepoint for a single DCI-based multi-TRP mechanism ), the at least one codepoint is carried in a TCI field of downlink control information (DCI), and the DCI is transmitted by a physical downlink control channel candidate resource in the at least two search space sets having a link relationship (¶0040 - by using the DCI (or PDCCH used for transmission of the DCI) & ¶0216 - CORESET pool indices corresponding to a plurality of (for example, two) respective search space sets/CORESETs/PDCCH candidates (or a plurality of search space sets/CORESETs/PDCCH candidates linked to each other) for the PDCCH repetition may be configured to be the same value. Examiner presents ¶0040 to show that the DCI can be transmitted on PDCCH as represented by the reference). Re. Claims 2 and 12, Matsumura teaches Claims 1 and 11. Additionally, Matsumura further teaches wherein determining that the MAC CE to be received is the first MAC CE comprises: determining second configuration information (¶0105 - When a CORESET pool index ID is configured for any CORESET (or at least one CORESET), for another CORESET without a configured CORESET pool index ID, it may be assumed that CORESET pool index=0 ); and determining, based on the second configuration information, that the MAC CE to be received is the first MAC CE (¶0103 - The association may be predefined in a specification, or may be configured/indicated by higher layer signaling/MAC CE or the like . Examiner interprets that if the CORESET pool index is set to 0, due to a lack of index, the associated MAC CE/higher layer signal used to carry that CORESET pool index is likely the first transmitted). Re. Claims 3 and 13, Matsumura teaches Claims 2 and 12. Additionally, Matsumura further teaches wherein the second configuration information indicates AT LEAST ONE OF : the CORESET Pool Index comprised in the MAC CE having an assigned index value (¶0105 - When a CORESET pool index ID is configured for any CORESET (or at least one CORESET), for another CORESET without a configured CORESET pool index ID, it may be assumed that CORESET pool index=0 . Examiner interprets this in light of Claim 2, wherein the index used is intending to determine whether the MAC CE is the first MAC CE. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “ Or ”); OR the MAC CE comprising an assigned bit. Re. Claims 4 and 14, Matsumura teaches Claims 3 and 13. Additionally, Matsumura further teaches wherein the assigned index value comprises a first index value OR a second index value; the first index value is a CORESET Pool Index of a CORESET corresponding to a search space set not having a link relationship with any other search space set (¶0217 - CORESET pool indices corresponding to a plurality of (for example, two) respective search space sets/CORESETs/PDCCH candidates (or a plurality of search space sets/CORESETs/PDCCH candidates linked to each other) for the PDCCH repetition may be configured to be different values . Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “ Or ”); and the second index value is different from the CORESET Pool Index of the CORESET corresponding to the search space set not having a link relationship with any other search space set. Re. Claims 6 and 16, Matsumura teaches Claims 2 and 12. Additionally, Matsumura further teaches wherein determining the second configuration information comprises: determining the second configuration information based on a radio control signaling (¶0080 - the higher layer signaling may be, for example, any one or combinations of Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) signaling, broadcast information, and the like . & ¶0103 - The association may be predefined in a specification, or may be configured/indicated by higher layer signaling/MAC CE or the like . Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “ Or ”), OR determining the second configuration information based on a default rule. Re. Claims 8 and 17, Matsumura teaches Claims 2 and 12. Additionally, Matsumura further teaches receiving the first MAC CE, wherein the first MAC CE is used for indicating at most one TCI state corresponding to each codepoint in the at least one codepoint, OR is used for indicating at most two TCI states corresponding to each codepoint in the at least one codepoint (¶0065 - up to two TCI states can be configured/activated for one CORESET by using higher layer signaling (RRC signaling/MAC CE). Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “ Or ”). Re. Claims 9, Matsumura teaches Claim 8. Additionally, Matsumura further teaches further comprising: receiving the DCI, and determining a first codepoint comprised in the TCI field in the DCI (¶0070 - the single DCI field may indicate only one TCI state related to a codepoint for a multi-DCI-based multi-TRP mechanism ); and determining, based on the first MAC CE, a TCI state corresponding to the first codepoint (¶0071 - RRC configuration and MAC CE-based activation/deactivation may be applied to one or a plurality of TCI states ). Re. Claims 10, Matsumura teaches Claim 1. Additionally, Matsumura further teaches wherein the first MAC CE indicates at least two TCI states corresponding to the at least one codepoint (¶0069 - single DCI field may indicate one or a plurality of (for example, two) TCI states related to a codepoint for a single DCI-based multi-TRP mechanism ); and each TCI state in the at least two TCI states is used for AT LEAST ONE OF uplink transmission OR downlink transmission (¶0117 - In FIG. 5A, the UE may control so as to apply only a first TCI state (or only a second TCI state) to PDSCHs #1 to #4 to perform reception of a plurality of PDSCHs . Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “ Or ”). Re. Claim 22, Matsumura teaches Claim 11. Additionally Matsumura further teaches a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state determination apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory used for storing a processor executable instruction (Fig. 21); wherein the one or more processors are collectively configured to: implement the TCI state determination method according to any one of claim 11 (Examiner directs Applicant’s attention to the rejection of Claim 11, Claim 22 is rejected under the same grounds). Examiner’s Comments Re. Claims 5, 7, and 15 , Matsumura teach claims 3 and 6. These above cited claims are reliant on an alternate limitation that Examiner did not elect in their original rejection. Claims 5, 7, and 15 refer specifically to the use of the assigned bit in Claims 3 and 13, and the default rule defined in Claim 6 respectively, each of which were contingent limitations found in Claim 2. Pursuant to MPEP 2111.04 II (“Contingent Limitations”) which reads in part: The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition (s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B. As such, Examiner will neither be considering the claims in the present rejection, rejecting the claims outright, nor be performing an election on behalf of the Applicant in view of future prosecution. Should the claims no longer be reliant on contingent limitations as outlined in the above cited language, the claims found herein will be considered in their entirety alongside the rest of the claims . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (2023/0354347) - ¶0218-0227 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NOAH JAMES SUGDEN whose telephone number is (571)270-7406. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 9:00-6:00 ET, Fri 9:00-1:00 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Khaled Kassim can be reached at (571) 270-3770 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475 /KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/704,782 Page 2 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/704,782 Page 3 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/704,782 Page 4 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/704,782 Page 5 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/704,782 Page 6 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/704,782 Page 7 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/704,782 Page 8 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/704,782 Page 9 Art Unit: 2475