DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-22, 24-26, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yancey WO 2021/188744 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Yancey discloses an air filter comprising: at least one filter element (figure 1: fabric 16), wherein the at least one filter element: includes a proximal surface configured to receive a flow of air; is configured to remove a set of pollutants from the received flow of air (figure 1: contaminated air flow in); and includes a distal surface configured to allow passage of the flow of air after removal of the set of pollutants (figure 1: top of fabric 16); a first activation element (figure 1: electrodes 12 located above fabric), wherein the first activation element: is in contact with a first activated area located on the proximal surface of the at least one filter element (figure 1: electrodes 12 contact TiO2 coating); and is configured to activate the first activated area (page 7, first 2 paragraphs); and a second activation element, wherein the second activation element: is in contact with a second activated area located on the distal surface of the at least one filter element (figure 1: electrodes 12 located below fabric); and is configured to activate the second activated area (page 7, first 2 paragraphs). Figure 5 of Yancey shows multiple layers of fabric 16, which anticipates the second filter element of claim 14.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Yancey discloses a controller configured to independently control operations of the first activation element and the second activation element (figure 1: power supply 14; page 16: paragraphs 2 and 3).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Yancey discloses that the controller is further configured to perform an activating operation causing the first activation element to activate the first activated area at a first temperature and causing the second activation element to activate the second activated area at a second temperature that is independent of the first temperature (figure 1: lamp 15 could be considered an activation element that heats the first activated area). Even if the lamp is not considered the activation element, each surface would necessarily have some activation temperature. Claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished in the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. MPEP 2114.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Yancey discloses that the controller is configured to perform the activating operation during a renewal operation of the air filter for renewing the at least one filter element (page 7, first 2 paragraphs). Furthermore, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished in the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. MPEP 2114.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Yancey discloses that the controller is configured to perform the activating operation during a filtering operation of the air filter for removing at least part of the set of pollutants (page 7, first 2 paragraphs). Furthermore, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished in the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 6 and 20, Yancey discloses that the at least one filter element has a pleated form; the proximal surface includes a first plurality of proximal peaks; and the first activation element is in contact with the first plurality of proximal peaks (figure 1: electrodes are in contact with at least part of the peak; in the alternative, the coating can be considered the activation element).
Regarding claim 7, Yancey discloses that the distal surface includes a second plurality of distal peaks; and the second activation element is in contact with the second plurality of distal peaks (figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Yancey discloses that at least one of the first activation element and the second activation element has a pleated form (figure 1: for purposes of this claim, the coating can be considered the activation elements).
Regarding claims 9 and 25, Yancey discloses that the at least one filter element includes a coating (figure 1: coating)
Regarding claims 10 and 26, Yancey discloses that the coating is at least one of a catalytic coating and a functional coating (Abstract).
Regarding claims 12 and 28, Yancey discloses that the coating includes a plurality of active sites (figure 1: any portion with coating in contact with the electrodes can be considered an active site).
Regarding claims 13 and 29, Yancey discloses that the coating includes a plurality of nanoparticles (page 22: statement 7).
Regarding claim 19, Yancey discloses a third activation element wherein: the third activation element includes a third proximal surface that is in contact with the first distal surface; and the third activation element includes a third distal surface that is in contact with the second proximal surface (figure 5: any of the coatings can be considered the third activation element).
Regarding claim 21, Yancey discloses that the second filter element has a pleated form; the second proximal surface includes a second plurality of proximal peaks; and the first activation element is in contact with the second plurality of proximal peaks (see figure 5; the coating can be considered the activation element).
Regarding claim 22, Yancey discloses that the second filter element has a pleated form; the second distal surface includes a second plurality of distal peaks; and the second activation element is in contact with the second plurality of distal peaks (see figure 5; the coating can be considered the activation element).
Regarding claim 24, Yancey discloses that at least one of the first filter element and the second filter element has a pleated form; and at least one of the first activation element and the second activation element has a pleated form (figure 5: the coating can be considered the activation element).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776