Detailed Action
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: CYLINDER BLOCK WITH DETECTED PORTIONS AND HYDRAULIC DEVICE INCLUDING SAME
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first/second detected portions” in claims 1, 3-6 and 8-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Westveer (US 4,655,689).
Claim 8: Westveer discloses a cylinder block (Figs. 1-2) comprising a cylinder block body (28) in which a plurality of cylinder chambers (note plurality of cylinder changers in Figs. 1-2) are formed around a rotating shaft (16); and N-1 first detected portions (29) formed on an outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body (Fig. 2), wherein the N-1 first detected portions are disposed at N-1 positions that are other than one remaining position among positions determined by equally dividing the outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body by N (as would be expected with the marking pattern depicted in Fig. 2, there will be a particular number N of divisions with N markings; however, as the cylinder rotates, Examiner notes that a particular time, T, can be chosen such that only N-1 markings, or N-1 first detected portions, will have been detected).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westveer (US 4,655,689) in view of Schneider (DE19750304A1).
Claim 1: Westveer discloses a cylinder block (Figs. 1-2) comprising a cylinder block body (28) in which a plurality of cylinder chambers (note plurality of cylinder changers in Figs. 1-2) are formed around a rotating shaft (16); a plurality of first detected portions (29) formed on an outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body and circumferentially spaced apart from each other at a first distance that is predetermined (Fig. 1). Westveer is not explicit about one or more second detected portions formed on the outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body and each circumferentially spaced apart from an adjacent one of the plurality of first detected portions at a second distance different from the first distance. However, Schneider teaches a rotating cylinder wheel which includes ever-thickening secondary detected portions (in addition to an initial “thinnest” set of detected portions) formed on the outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body and each circumferentially spaced apart from an adjacent one of the plurality of first detected portions at a second distance different from the first distance (Fig. 1, Examiner noting that each of the thinnest portions are separated from one another at a distance β minus the width of the thinnest portion while the ever-thickening secondary portions are separated from adjacent first detected portions at a distance of α minus the width of the thinnest portion, or 2*α minus the width of the thinnest portion, or 3*α minus the width of the thinnest portion). Based upon this kind of pattern, Schneider allows not only for speed detection but also detecting rotational direction (see page 2 of English Machine Translation of DE19750304A1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the detectable patterns as taught by Schneider into the apparatus of Westveer as they can enhance sensor data beyond speed detection by also being able to detect rotational direction, which could alert operators of a potential pumping issue/malfunction as well as a directionality of fluid flow.
Claim 2: Westveer and Schneider teach the previous limitations. Modified Westveer further teaches that each of the plurality of first detected portions is a protrusion or a recess and each of the one or more second detected portions could be similarly made in like manner as a protrusion or a recess (see col. 4, lines 50-52 in Westveer).
Claim 3: Westveer and Schneider teach the previous limitations. Schneider further teaches that the one or more second detected portions are a plurality of second detected portions formed at regular intervals on the outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body (see Fig. 1 of Schneider).
Claim 4: Westveer and Schneider teach the previous limitations. Modified Westveer further teaches that along with the plurality of first detected portions, the one or more second detected portions are arranged on a partial peripheral surface extending circumferentially on the outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body (see Fig. 1 of Schneider).
Claim 5: Westveer and Schneider teach the previous limitations. Modified Westveer further teaches a hydraulic device comprising the cylinder block according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-2); a casing (10/12) that houses the cylinder block and rotatably supports the cylinder block (Fig. 1); a piston that is inserted into each of the plurality of cylinder chambers of the cylinder block in a manner that allows reciprocation of the piston (note pistons detailed in Figs. 1-2); a linkage mechanism (20) that reciprocates the piston in conjunction with rotation of the cylinder block; and a sensor (60) that is provided at a position corresponding to each of the plurality of first detected portions and the one or more second detected portions and when each of the plurality of first detected portions and the one or more second detected portions passes by during the rotation of the cylinder block (Fig. 2), outputs a corresponding one of a first signal and a second signal (see Figs. 1, note signal pathway via 62/64/66/68).
Claim 6: Westveer and Schneider teach the previous limitations. Modified Westveer further teaches the plurality of first detected portions and the one or more second detected portions are arranged on a partial peripheral surface extending circumferentially on the outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body (Examiner noting that the provisions of Schneider, Fig. 1, will situate on a partial peripheral surface extending circumferentially on the outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body depicted in Fig. 2 of Westveer); and the sensor is provided at a position corresponding to the partial peripheral surface of the cylinder block (see Fig. 2 of Westveer).
Claim 7: Westveer and Schneider teach the previous limitations. Schneider further teaches using a sensor which is a pulse generator (note “pulses” generated by the sensor, S, in Fig. 2 of Schneider as well as related in English Machine Translation of DE19750304A1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate pulse sensor as taught by Schneider into the apparatus of Westveer as it would inform the user of increasing or decreasing pulse trends, signifying the direction of rotation.
Claim 9: Westveer teaches the previous limitations but is not explicit about the cylinder block comprising a second detected portion formed on the outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body, wherein the second detected portion is disposed at a position offset from the one remaining position. However, Schneider teaches a rotating cylinder wheel which includes ever-thickening second detected portions (in addition to an initial first “thinnest” set of detected portions) that could be formed upon the outer peripheral surface of Westveer’s cylinder block body, wherein the second detected portion is disposed at a position offset from the one remaining position (Fig. 1,Examiner noting, that, upon rotation, after a certain time, T, 3 of the 4 first detected portions, which are a set of the thinnest portions, could be detected, leaving the remaining first portion as yet undetected. There will exist other, second detected portions, which are the portions that have a greater thickness than the set of thinnest portions, and which second detected portions are disposed at a position offset from the remainder position of the final thinnest portion). Based upon this kind of pattern, Schneider allows not only for speed detection but also detecting rotational direction (see page 2 of English Machine Translation of DE19750304A1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a first/secondary detected portions as taught by Schneider into the apparatus of Westveer as they can enhance sensor data beyond speed detection by also being able to detect rotational direction, which could alert operators of a potential pumping issue/malfunction as well as a directionality of fluid flow.
Claim 10: Westveer discloses a cylinder block (Figs. 1-2) comprising a cylinder block body (28) in which a plurality of cylinder chambers are formed (note plurality of cylinder changers in Figs. 1-2) around a rotating shaft (16); N-2 first detected portions formed on an outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body wherein the N-2 first detected portions are disposed at N-2 positions that are among positions determined by equally dividing the outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body by N (as would be expected with the marking pattern depicted in Fig. 2, there will be a particular number N of divisions with N markings; however, as the cylinder rotates, Examiner notes that a particular time, T, can be chosen such that only N-2 markings, or N-2 first detected portions, will have been detected). Westveer is not explicit about a second detected portion formed on the outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body and the second detected portion is one second detected portion disposed at a position offset from two remaining positions among the positions determined by equally dividing the outer peripheral surface of the cylinder block body by N. However, Schneider teaches a rotating cylinder wheel which includes ever-thickening second detected portions (note the thicker detected portions in addition to an initial first “thinnest” set of detected portions) that could be formed upon the outer peripheral surface of Westveer’s cylinder block body, wherein the second detected portion is disposed at a position offset from the two remaining positions (Fig. 1,Examiner noting, that, upon rotation, after a certain time, T, 2 of the 4 first detected portions, which are a set of the thinnest portions, could be detected, leaving the remaining first portions as yet undetected and remaining. There will exist other, second detected portions, which are the portions that have a greater thickness than the set of thinnest portions, and which second detected portions are disposed at a positions offset from the remainder positions of the final thinnest portions). Based upon this kind of pattern, Schneider allows not only for speed detection but also detecting rotational direction (see page 2 of English Machine Translation of DE19750304A1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a first/secondary detected portions as taught by Schneider into the apparatus of Westveer as they can enhance sensor data beyond speed detection by also being able to detect rotational direction, which could alert operators of a potential pumping issue/malfunction as well as a directionality of fluid flow.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746