DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 7/1/2026.
Claims 1-6 have been examined and are pending with this action.
The Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 has been withdrawn based on the amendment filed on 7/1/2026.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 4/25/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 7/1/2026., regarding 35 USC 112 Claim Rejections are persuasive and that rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 7/1/2026., regarding 35 USC 103 Claim Rejections and are not persuasive and below is the explanation.
Arguments:
Applicant argued that a downlink (DL) signal resource are configurable in the same time resource in one physical resource block is not taught by provided Arts.
Examiner:
Examiner cites that Suzuki discloses an enhanced physical downlink control signal path physical resource block set monitoring physical downlink control channel as the physical downlink control channel is based on a given reference signal for rate matching.
Applicant argues that time element is not being taught by the provided art and Examiner cites that a downlink (DL) signal resource are configurable in the same time resource in one physical resource block (Suzuki: “ wherein the base station has a physical control information notifying unit the physical control information notification section & the base station transmits the enhanced physical downlink control channel configuration to a 1 enhanced physical downlink control signal path physical resource block set or a 2 enhanced physical downlink control signal path physical resource block set, and notifies it to the terminal & PhysicalDownlinkSharedCHannel) is assigned. wireless frame of downlink by the resource block of downlink (RB ResourceBlock). the downlink RB pair is downlink radio resource allocation unit, by a predetermined width of frequency with (RB bandwidth) and time (2 time slots of =1 sub-frames). ”).
In the above citation the downlink paring has certain time slots associated with it and hence disclosing the same time resource in one physical resource block aspect of the limitation. The downlink element with time resource ad physical resource blocks are all disclosed by the prior art. Claim 2 argument is non persuasive based on above explanation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (CN 105075364 A) in view of Dong (CN 111417193 A).
As per claim 1, Suzuki discloses a terminal (Suzuki: “a communication system carries out communication with the terminal base station in a cell of a communication system.”), comprising:
A processor that (Suzuki: “ wherein the base station has a physical control information notifying unit the physical control information notification section .”), determine a resource in which an uplink (UL) signal resource (Suzuki: “ FIG. 3 shows a diagram showing an example of radio frame of an uplink related to this embodiment; uplink uses SC-FDMA mode. in the uplink, a physical uplink shared channel (PhysicalUplinkSharedChannel: PUSCH) and PUCCH is allocated. Further, a portion of the PUSCH and PUCCH, uplink reference signal is allocated.”), and a downlink (DL) signal resource are configurable in the same time resource in one physical resource block (Suzuki: “ wherein the base station has a physical control information notifying unit the physical control information notification section & the base station transmits the enhanced physical downlink control channel configuration to a 1 enhanced physical downlink control signal path physical resource block set or a 2 enhanced physical downlink control signal path physical resource block set, and notifies it to the terminal & PhysicalDownlinkSharedCHannel) is assigned. wireless frame of downlink by the resource block of downlink (RB ResourceBlock). the downlink RB pair is downlink radio resource allocation unit, by a predetermined width of frequency with (RB bandwidth) and time (2 time slots of =1 sub-frames). ”), ; and
Suzuki does not explicitly teaches the signal used for initial access.
Dong however discloses transceiver that performs, in the resource to be determined, at least one of reception of a specific DL signal used for initial access and transmission of a specific UL signal used for initial access (Dong: “one is the initial activation BWP for terminal initial access stage and the terminal is in RRC (Radio Resource Control, radio resource control) idle state, and the other one is a BWP RRC configuration for the terminal is in an RRC connected state. the terminal obtains uplink/downlink initial activation-associated information of the BWP through RMSI (Remaining Minimum System Information, remaining minimum system information) for reading the cell. downlink initial activation BWP System information block for transmitting SIBs (system information block) information.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Suzuki in view of Doing to figure out the DL signal used for initial access. One would be motivated to do so because this may provide the basis for the initial activation of BWP (Bandwidth Part bandwidth part) for terminal. (Dong).
Claim 5 and 6 are rejected based on rationale provided for claim 1.
As per claim 3, Suzuki/Dong discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the DL signal in the DL signal resource to be configured includes at least one of information on monitoring of a physical downlink control channel, system information, and information on the UL signal (Suzuki: “ enhanced physical downlink control signal path physical resource block set monitoring physical downlink control channel as the physical downlink control channel is based on a given reference signal for rate matching, to decode the physical downlink control channel,”).
As per claim 4, Suzuki/Dong discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the control section is configured to determine at least one of an additional UL signal resource and an additional DL signal resource based on a length of the UL signal resource to be configured and a length of the DL signal resource to be configured (Dong: “each BWP is composed of a section of continuous PRB (physical resource block, physical resource block), the bandwidth corresponding to the frequency domain starting position, the SCS (Sub-Channel Spacing, subcarrier spacing) and CP (Cyclic Prefix, cyclic prefix) length can be flexibly configured. standard defined BWP in the uplink/downlink to distinguish, and up/down can be configured with different parameters according to the requirement..”).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Suzuki in view of Doing to figure out the DL signal used for initial access. One would be motivated to do so because this may provide the basis for the initial activation of BWP (Bandwidth Part bandwidth part) for terminal. (Dong).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (CN 105075364 A) in view of Dong (CN 111417193 A) and in further view of Ang et al (US PUB 2021/0314946A).
As per claim 2, Suzuki/Dong discloses the terminal according to claim 1, (Suzuki: “a communication system carries out communication with the terminal base station in a cell of a communication system.”).
Suzuki/Dong does not disclose the overlapping of DL signals.
Ang however discloses wherein a frequency resource of the UL signal resource and a frequency resource of the DL signal resource are configurable while at least partially overlapping each other (Ang: [0018] “ In the example of FIG. 6A, the defined downlink half duplex and uplink half duplex BWPs are overlapping in frequency and the usable bandwidth for a full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration”).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Suzuki in view of Doing to figure out the DL signal used for initial access. One would be motivated to do so because this may aid in the bandwidth part (BWP) configuration for full duplex communications. (ANG [0001]).
Conclusion
This action is made final. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
/SIBTE H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449