DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 4/15/2026.
In instant Amendment, claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended; claims 5 and 12 have been canceled; claims 1, 8, 15 are independent claims. Claims 1-4, 6-11 and 13-17 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/15/2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(f)/Claim Interpretation have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues: Applicant disagrees. Rather, the terms alleged to be generic placeholders coupled with functional language providing insufficient structure to execute the claimed function are well-understood terms of art, which the skilled person associates with a specific structure due to general technical knowledge.
[...]
Thus, for at least the reasons above, Applicant respectfully requests the interpretation set forth under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) be withdrawn.
Examiner’s Response: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The terms container treatment “machine for/to” and central rights assignment “system to” does not provide any indication of structure because it sets forth the same black box recitation of structure for providing the same specified function as if the term “means” had been used. Thus, it serves as a generic placeholder and does not limit the scope of the claim to any specific manner or structure for performing the claimed function. Therefore, the examiner finds this augment not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/15/2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues: Applicant respectfully traverses the above rejection set forth by the Office.
In the Office action, the Office indicates an "identification element" is claimed. However, the Office goes on to assert that the body of the claim does not positively recite any hardware embodiment. Instead, the Office argues that a number of method steps are claimed. The statutory class of the claim is thus asserted by the Office to be unclear.
Applicant respectfully disagrees.
[...]
Therefore, for at least the reasons above, Applicant respectfully requests the rejection of claim 15 due to indefiniteness be withdrawn.
Examiner’s Response: The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 15 calls for “An element [and] causes access rights to be granted by means of method for operating the container treatment machine, wherein the method comprises...”. It is unclear regarding the statutory class. i.e., device (e.g., An element) or “a method”. Therefore, the examiner finds this augment not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/15/2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues: Applicant respectfully traverses the above rejection.
[...]
In the Office action, Pleasant is alleged by the Office to teach the subject matter claimed in the independent claims.
At least in view of the amended independent claims, Applicant does not agree with the Office. First, Pleasant does not disclose a container treatment system. In paragraph [0053], Pleasant only discloses a surface treatment process or a chemical treatment process. Such a generic process can, however, not disclose a container treatment system according to the independent claims. In addition, Pleasant does not disclose the subject matter claimed in former dependent claims 5 and 12. As noted above, the subject matter of claim 5 is now incorporated into independent claim 1, and the subject matter of claim 12 is now incorporated into independent claims 8 and 15. The failure of Pleasant to disclose the subject matter of former dependent claims 5 and 12 is also acknowledged in the present Office action.
With respect to the subject matter of claims 5 and 12, the Office refers to paragraph [0108] of Lindsay. In paragraph [0108] of Lindsay, however, Lindsay only discloses that in case of a denial of access, the level of access thought through entry of user credentials is not provided and instead access to a level of access no greater than the one available to any unauthorized or unrecognized party, such as a guest account, is granted.
A denial of access, which is, for instance, present when a user has no access rights or a wrong password has been entered, is clearly distinct from the claimed case, where no access data are received, since, for instance, a data connection is interrupted.
The subject matter claimed in the independent claims can, for instance, also comprise cases of users who have the necessary access rights, but cannot be identified due to an interrupted data connection.
The subject matter disclosed in paragraph [0108] of Lindsay is therefore distinct from the subject matter claimed in the amended independent claims. Furthermore, neither Pleasant nor Lindsay discloses or renders obvious implementing a rights assignment process on a container treatment system.
Applicant has further reviewed Kikkoji, and submits that Kikkoji fails to cure the above-discussed deficiencies of Pleasant and Lindsay.
Therefore, in view of at least the above, the cited prior art does not render obvious the subject matter claimed in the independent claims as amended herein. As such, Applicant respectfully requests the rejections of independent claims 1, 8, and 15, and all claims depending therefrom, be withdrawn.
Examiner’s Response: The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s specification ¶[0011] states “The container treatment machine can be understood as any type of machine which enables a treatment of containers. These include container treatment machines known in particular in the beverage processing industry which produce containers from a raw material, such as PET, for example. These can be, for example, stretch blow molding machines or injection molding machines or can comprise them, wherein the latter first produce preforms from PET, and then the stretch blow molding machines form containers from the preforms using a stretch blow molding process, for example. However, the container treatment machines also include filling machines which fill containers, and cappers which enable a filled container to be closed. Container treatment machines should also include all inspection machines for inspecting containers (regardless of whether already filled or unfilled) and decorating machines for applying decorative elements to such containers, and further machines which, for example, enable inspecting or packaging the filled and closed and optionally decorated containers.”
Pleasant ¶[0053] states “In some embodiments, the controlled process may be a manufacturing process or a process associated with research or scientific activities. Some examples of such processes include chemical reaction processes, biological or biochemical reaction processes, surface treatment processes (e.g. coating, cleaning, washing, etching, engraving, or staining), chemical treatment processes, assembly processes, temperature treatment processes (e.g. autoclaves, thermal reactors, cooling or quenching processes, dryers, calciners, kilns and other heaters or chillers), storage and/or material handling processes, transportation processes, metallurgical processes, packaging processes, cutting, machining, shaping or milling processes. Many such processes are controlled by automated control systems, such as a DCS software. For example, some embodiments of the present invention are advantageously used with process automation workstations used in the production of products, such as the production of chemicals. Examples of such programs include workstations used for distributed control systems.” The examiner notes that Pleasant discloses packaging or shaping processes that reads on Applicant’s specification re: enabling packaging and/or stretch blow molding machines or injection molding machines. Therefore, Pleasant does in fact disclose a container treatment system according to the independent claims.
Further, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “comprise cases of users who have the necessary access rights, but cannot be identified due to an interrupted data connection”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. The examiner notes Lindsay teaches in ¶([0108] - The user ID and password can be compared to information in the security database 46 to determine the level of access, if any, the user 60 may have to the asset 42. Specifically, according to predetermined security rules (not shown) in the security system 40, the password may be interpreted as a primary password for a first level of access (not shown), a secondary password for a second level of access substantially less than the first level of access, or an invalid password with access denied. (Denial of access does not require that an unauthorized user is physically removed or electronically completely cut off from the system, but that the level of access sought through entry of user credentials is not provided, and typically is a level of access no greater than is available to any unauthorized or unrecognized party, such as a "guest" account.) Further, in response to receiving a secondary password, various security actions may be automatically executed (not shown), according to preconfigured rules established by the user and stored in memory on the security server 44 or security database 46). The examiner notes as reasonably construed from Lindsay group based access, i.e., “guest account” is granted when no access data is received from the security database, i.e., an invalid password with access denied. This reads on the claim feature of “wherein the container treatment machine is designed to grant group-based access rights for a user on the basis of a detected identification element if no access data are received from the central rights assignment system.”
Therefore, the examiner finds both these arguments not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“container treatment machine for treating …”, “container treatment machine [] to transmit/grant access…”, and “central rights assignment system [] to transmit access data …” recited in claim 1.
“central rights assignment system [] to assign,” recited in claim 3;
“container treatment machine [] to grant …,” recited in claims 4-5;
“container treatment machine [] to be granted …,” recited in claims 15;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15: claim 15 calls for a "an identification element." However, the body of the claim does not positively recite any hardware embodiment. The claim recites a series of steps comprising a method for operating container treatment machine. It is unclear what statutory class the claim falls into. As a result, the claim renders indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as it does not reasonably apprise those skilled in the art of the statutory class of invention to which the claim is directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pleasant, JR. et al. (US 2009/0320125 A1) (hereinafter, Pleasant) in view of Lindsay (US 2007/0250920 A1).
Regarding Claim 1;
Pleasant discloses a container treatment system ([0006] - Embodiments of the present invention provide systems and methods that enhance the security various processes, as well as machines, computer-readable media and processes that employ or allow employment of such systems) comprising
at least one container treatment machine for treating containers and a central rights assignment system ([0018] - In some embodiments, user authentication data regarding a user is transmitted into a machine through a user's physical interaction with one or more input devices connected to a machine. An authentication determination is then made within the machine by comparing the user authentication data with one or more user authentication records within the machine, available to the machine, or both, to determine whether the user authentication data matches user authentication records for any person or group of persons and [0031] - Authentication data is used to enable access to the process. Authentication data is input into a machine using input devices (which may be different from, or entirely or partially the same as, the input devices that are used for access to the process... In some embodiments, the authentication records are stored in a location accessible to the machine, for example on a network server accessible to the machine),
wherein the container treatment machine ([0018]) comprises
a user interface for recognizing an identification element and for entering a user password ([0018] - In some embodiments, user authentication data regarding a user is transmitted into a machine through a user's physical interaction with one or more input devices connected to a machine and [0023] and [0026] and [0032] - In some embodiments, the authentication data may be one or more password, such as an alphanumeric password or a combination of an alphanumeric user identification code and a separate alphanumeric password), and
wherein the container treatment machine is designed to transmit identification data of a user to the central rights assignment system based on a recognized identification element and/or a recognized user password ([0031] - In some embodiments, the authentication records are stored in a location accessible to the machine, for example on a network server accessible to the machine. In some embodiments, authentication information is first compared against records in the machine and, if no match is found, additional sources connected to or networked with the machine may be consulted (i.e., transmit ... to the central rights assignment system) for further information. An example is an alphanumeric user identification and alphanumeric password stored on a server that is accessible to the machine or machines. In some embodiments, the server is separated from the machine by a firewall, but the process and firewall are configured to allow access to the server for the purpose of access user authentication data. The results of the comparison with stored data are used by the machine to determine whether the user matches the identity of any persons or group of persons for whom authentication records are available),
wherein the central rights assignment system is designed to transmit access data to the container treatment machine based on obtained identification data of a user ([0031] - In some embodiments, the authentication records are stored in a location accessible to the machine, for example on a network server accessible to the machine. In some embodiments, authentication information is first compared against records in the machine and, if no match is found, additional sources connected to or networked with the machine may be consulted for further information. An example is an alphanumeric user identification and alphanumeric password stored on a server that is accessible to the machine or machines. In some embodiments, the server is separated from the machine by a firewall, but the process and firewall are configured to allow access to the server for the purpose of access user authentication data. The results of the comparison with stored data are used by the machine (i.e., transmit access data to the container treatment machine) to determine whether the user matches the identity of any persons or group of persons for whom authentication records are available),
wherein the access data defines group-based and/or user-based access rights for the container treatment machine ([0018]-[0019] - If the authentication determination indicates that the user authentication data input matches user authentication records for any person or group of persons, an access determination is made within the machine through the use of records regarding access rights regarding the person or group of persons within the machine, available to the machine, or both), and wherein the container treatment machine is designed to grant access rights to a user depending on obtained access data ([0018]-[0019] - ...An authentication determination is made within the machine...).
Pleasant fails to explicitly disclose wherein the container treatment machine is designed to grant group-based access rights for a user on the basis of a detected identification element if no access data are received from the central rights assignment system.
However, in an analogous art, Lindsay teaches wherein the container treatment machine is designed to grant group-based access rights for a user on the basis of a detected identification element if no access data are received from the central rights assignment system ([0108] - The user ID and password can be compared to information in the security database 46 to determine the level of access, if any, the user 60 may have to the asset 42. Specifically, according to predetermined security rules (not shown) in the security system 40, the password may be interpreted as a primary password for a first level of access (not shown), a secondary password for a second level of access substantially less than the first level of access, or an invalid password with access denied. (Denial of access does not require that an unauthorized user is physically removed or electronically completely cut off from the system, but that the level of access sought through entry of user credentials is not provided, and typically is a level of access no greater than is available to any unauthorized or unrecognized party, such as a "guest" account.) Further, in response to receiving a secondary password, various security actions may be automatically executed (not shown), according to preconfigured rules established by the user and stored in memory on the security server 44 or security database 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lindsay to the container treatment machine of Pleasant to include wherein the container treatment machine is designed to grant group-based access rights for a user on the basis of a detected identification element if no access data are received from the central rights assignment system.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Lindsay to Pleasant to do so as it provides / allows improved means for reducing the risk of theft or misuse of assets, and for protecting related accounts, including measures to reduce identity theft and other forms of fraud (Lindsay, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 2;
Pleasant in view of Lindsay discloses the container treatment system according to claim 1.
Pleasant further discloses wherein the identification element is an active or a passive identification element ([0026] - Some examples include a keyboard, a mouse, a tablet, a remote control or PDA, a touch screen, or a microphone. In some embodiments, such input devices generate input in response to physical interaction by the user (e.g. typing keystrokes, place a body part in front of or upon a scanner, speaking into a microphone, clicking a mouse, etc.) and [0039] - Input devices are used to enter input directed to the process as well as to enter authentication data. Any type of input device may be used. Some examples include a keyboard, a mouse, a tablet, a touch screen, or a microphone, a fingerprint reader, a scanner for biometric data (such as fingerprint and or thumbprints, retina, iris or geometry of one or more body parts) and electronic pad for signature or handwriting).
Regarding Claim 4;
Pleasant discloses the container treatment system according to claim 1.
Pleasant further discloses wherein the container treatment machine is designed to grant access rights granted to a user for a preset session time when an identification element has been detected and a user password has been ([0030] - In some embodiments, process access may end after a predetermined period of time after authentication, irrespective of activity levels, (e.g. one minute, two minutes, five, 10, 15, 30 or 60 minutes, etc.), or at specific times of day (for example, changes in employee shifts).
Regarding Claim 6;
Pleasant in view of Lindsay discloses the container treatment system according to claim 1.
Pleasant further discloses wherein the container treatment system comprises at least two container treatment machines, and wherein the central rights assignment system is provided separately from the at least two container treatment machines ([0022] and [0031] - In some embodiments, the authentication records are stored in a location accessible to the machine, for example on a network server accessible to the machine. In some embodiments, authentication information is first compared against records in the machine and, if no match is found, additional sources connected to or networked with the machine may be consulted for further information. An example is an alphanumeric user identification and alphanumeric password stored on a server that is accessible to the machine or machines. In some embodiments, the server is separated from the machine by a firewall, but the process and firewall are configured to allow access to the server for the purpose of access user authentication data and [0044] - In some embodiments, multiple computers or workstations are connected via a centralized network or server).
Regarding Claim 7;
Pleasant in view of Lindsay discloses the container treatment system according to claim 6.
Pleasant further discloses wherein access rights for each of the at least two container treatment machines are stored in the central rights assignment system ([0022] - In some embodiments, access to one process or some processes on the machine or groups of machines is controlled, and access to one or more other processes on the machine or groups of machines is not. In some embodiments, the controlled process or processes is or includes one carried out on one or more mechanical devices, such as manufacturing devices, power or energy generating devices, devices performing industrial operations, transportation devices, medical or veterinary treatment devices, medical or veterinary diagnostic devices, analytical or measuring devices and [0031] and [0044] - In some embodiments, the invention may provide autonomy for multiple automated processes... In some embodiments, multiple computers or workstations are connected via a centralized network or server).
Regarding Claim(s) 8, 10, 13, and 14; claim(s) 8, 10, 13, and 14 is/are directed to a/an method associated with the system claimed in claim(s) 1, 4, 6, and 7. Claim(s) 8, 10, 13, and 14 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 1, 4, 6, and 7, and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim(s) 15; claim(s) 15 is/are directed to a/an element associated with the system/method claimed in claim(s) 1 and 8. Claim(s) 16 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 1 and 8 and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 3, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pleasant, JR. et al. (US 2009/0320125 A1) (hereinafter, Pleasant) in view of Lindsay (US 2007/0250920 A1) and further in view of Laverdiere-Papineau et al. (US 2013/0061331 A1).
Regarding Claim 3;
Pleasant in view of Lindsay discloses the container treatment system according to claim 1.
Pleasant in view of Lindsay fails to explicitly disclose wherein the central rights assignment system comprises a memory in which an identification element and/or a user password is assigned to a user, and group-based and/or user-based access rights for a group of users and/or at least one user can be entered by means of an input device of the central rights assignment system, and wherein the central rights assignment system is designed to assign the group-based and/or user-based access rights to the identification element and/or to the user password.
However, in an analogous art, Laverdiere-Papineau teaches wherein the central rights assignment system comprises a memory in which an identification element and/or a user password is assigned to a user, and group-based and/or user-based access rights for a group of users and/or at least one user can be entered by means of an input device of the central rights assignment system (FIG. 3 and [0026]-[0027] -The eDRM device 102 is configured to create the user groups and/or user templates upon receiving input data from the authorizer... The user data includes user identifier (ID) of the users... In one implementation, the eDRM device 102 includes an access rights assigning module 108 that receives the input data, i.e., the user data and/or the access rights data provided by the authorizer and creates the user group and/or the user template. Subsequent to the creation, the access rights assigning module 108 sends the user group and/or the user template to the eDRM server 104 for storage in a central repository 110, which is associated with the eDRM server 104), and wherein the central rights assignment system is designed to assign the group-based and/or user-based access rights to the identification element and/or to the user password (FIG. 3 and [0026]-[0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Laverdiere-Papineau to the central rights assignment system of Pleasant in view of Lindsay to include wherein the central rights assignment system comprises a memory in which an identification element and/or a user password is assigned to a user, and group-based and/or user-based access rights for a group of users and/or at least one user can be entered by means of an input device of the central rights assignment system, and wherein the central rights assignment system is designed to assign the group-based and/or user-based access rights to the identification element and/or to the user password.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Laverdiere-Papineau to Pleasant in view of Lindsay to do so as it provides / allows assigning specific access rights to the users [that is less] time consuming and laborious (as gleaned from Laverdiere-Papineau, [0012]).
Regarding Claim(s) 9; claim(s) 9 is/are directed to a/an method associated with the system claimed in claim(s) 3. Claim(s) 9 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 3, and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 11;
Pleasant in view of Lindsay discloses the method according to claim 10.
Pleasant further discloses wherein the access rights granted to the user cannot be changed during the preset session time, regardless of whether... during the preset session time, and/or wherein the container treatment machine is blocked for the user during the preset session time when the access rights assigned to the user are changed in the central rights assignment system in such a way that the user receives less access rights for the container treatment machine ([0030] - If access is permitted to continue after the entry, the duration may be set in any suitable way. In some embodiments, access may continue until the authenticated user logs out of access to the process).
Pleasant in view of Lindsay fails to explicit disclose ... the access rights assigned to the user are changed in the central rights assignment system ...
However, in an analogous art, Laverdiere-Papineau teaches ... the access rights assigned to the user are changed in the central rights assignment system ... ([0043] and [0050] - In one implementation, the stored user group can be updated, in the event of any modification made to the user group. For example, if new user(s) are added to the user group or one or more existing users are deleted from the group, the group creation module 220 updates the user group and sends the updated user group for storage in the central repository 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Laverdiere-Papineau to regardless of whether... during the preset session time of Pleasant in view of Lindsay to include ... the access rights assigned to the user are changed in the central rights assignment system ....
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Laverdiere-Papineau to Pleasant in view of Lindsay to do so as it provides / allows assigning specific access rights to the users [that is less] time consuming and laborious (as gleaned from Laverdiere-Papineau, [0012]).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pleasant, JR. et al. (US 2009/0320125 A1) (hereinafter, Pleasant) in view of Lindsay (US 2007/0250920 A1) and further in view of Kikkoji et al. (US 2006/0179306 A1).
Regarding Claim 16;
Pleasant in view of Lindsay discloses the container treatment system according to claim 4.
Pleasant in view of Lindsay fails to explicitly disclose wherein the preset session time of the container treatment machine can be sent by the central rights assignment system as part of the access data.
However, in an analogous art, Kikkoji teaches wherein the preset session time of the container treatment machine can be sent by the central rights assignment system as part of the access data. ([0202] - Note that, as to the above authentication session ID information, on the use of it in user authentication processing or the like, a predetermined valid period based on the time when it was issued by the portal server 1003 (for example, approximately one minute) has been set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kikkoji to the access data of Pleasant in view of Lindsay to include wherein the preset session time of the container treatment machine can be sent by the central rights assignment system as part of the access data.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kikkoji to Pleasant in view of Lindsay to do so as it provides / allows a predetermined valid period... for provision (Kikkoji, [0232]).
Regarding Claim(s) 17; claim(s) 17 is/are directed to a/an method associated with the system claimed in claim(s) 16. Claim(s) 17 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 16, and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARI L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439