DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending examination.
Claim 12 cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1,11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (USPUB 20220070559) in view of Bouda (USPUB 20180234199) in further view of Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al.( NPL Doc: "Routing and Spectrum Allocation in Elastic Optical Networks: A Tutorial," 20th August 2015, IEEE COMMUNICATION SURVEYS & TUTORIALS, VOL. 17, NO. 3, THIRD QUARTER 2015,Pages 1776-1796.) .
As per claim 1, Liu et al. teaches A spectrum adjustment method for an optical transmission system ( FIG. 8- Spectrum allocation apparatus AND Paragraph [0120]- “… FIG. 8 is a schematic structural diagram of a spectrum allocation apparatus according to an embodiment of this application. The apparatus includes: an obtaining unit 10, configured to obtain a transmission bandwidth granularity G1 of a target service and an optical-layer spectrum resource of a target fiber channel corresponding to the target service, where the optical-layer spectrum resource includes N consecutive frequency slots, …”) , comprising: taking a goal of providing at least one available idle frequency band for a first wavelength channel desired to be created ( Idle frequency band and wavelength channel taught within Paragraphs [0120-0122]- “…target spectrum slice includes at least G1 consecutive idle frequency slots, N is greater than N1, and N1 is greater than or equal to G1; an allocation unit 30, configured to allocate the G1 consecutive idle frequency slots included in the target spectrum slice obtained by the target spectrum slice determining unit 20 to the target service….
N2 consecutive idle frequency slots are found in the N
consecutive frequency slots, determine the N2 consecutive idle frequency slots as the target spectrum slice, where N2 is a product of the transmission bandwidth granularity G1 and a positive integer R, and N2 is less than N.…”) ,
Liu et al. does not explicitly teach generating a spectrum adjustment scheme based on frequency band information of a second wavelength channel currently used by a transmitting-end and receiving-end device corresponding to the first wavelength channel in the optical transmission system, wherein the spectrum adjustment scheme is used to characterize frequency band adjustment information of a second wavelength channel that needs to be adjusted; sending an adjustment instruction to the transmitting-end and receiving-end device based on the spectrum adjustment scheme.
However, within analogous art, Bouda teaches generating a spectrum adjustment scheme based on frequency band information of a second wavelength channel currently used by a transmitting-end and receiving-end device corresponding to the first wavelength channel in the optical transmission system (Optical spectrum change /adjustment taught within Paragraphs [0041-0042]- “… in a superchannel, subcarriers are tightly packed and consume less optical spectrum than in conventional DWDM. Another distinctive feature of superchannels is that the subcarriers in a superchannel travel from the same origin to the same destination, and are not added or removed using an OADM while in transmission. … optical transport network 101 in specific wavelengths or channels. Transmitters 102 may comprise a system, apparatus or device to convert an electrical signal into an optical signal and transmit the optical signal. For example, transmitters 102 may each comprise a laser and a modulator to receive electrical signals and modulate the information contained in the electrical signals onto a beam of light produced by the laser at a particular wavelength, and transmit the beam for carrying the signal throughout optical transport network 101.”) ,
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Bouda within the modified teaching of the Spectrum Allocation Method And Apparatus mentioned by Liu et al. because the Optical transport network with improved signal loading mentioned by Bouda provides a method and system for implementation of transmission of frequency band within optical signals carrying wavelength channels within optical communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Optical transport network with improved signal loading mentioned by Bouda within the modified teaching of the Spectrum Allocation Method And Apparatus mentioned by Liu et al. for implementing a system and method for transmission of frequency band within optical signals carrying wavelength channels within optical communication systems.
Combination of Liu et al. and Bouda does not explicitly teach wherein the spectrum adjustment scheme is used to characterize frequency band adjustment information of a second wavelength channel that needs to be adjusted; sending an adjustment instruction to the transmitting-end and receiving-end device based on the spectrum adjustment scheme.
However, within analogous art, Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al. teaches wherein the spectrum adjustment scheme is used to characterize frequency band adjustment information of a second wavelength channel that needs to be adjusted ( Allocation of spectrum and frequency adjustment and wavelength /bandwidth variable taught within Page 1786- Col. 1- “…In the semi-elastic spectrum allocation (semi-elastic SA) policy…the CF remains fixed, but the allocated spectrum width can vary in each time interval. The frequency slices are allocated to a lightpath so as to suit the required bandwidth at any time. As a result, the unutilized slots can be used for subsequent connection requests. Therefore, this spectrum allocation policy provides higher flexibility than the fixed SA policy. To explain semi-elastic SA, two scenarios are considered below….” AND Page 1787-Col. 1- “…bandwidth variable transponders and bandwidth variable switches should work with frequency steps in accordance with the frequency slice width. The semi-elastic SA policy has better performance than of the fixed SA policy in terms of spectrum efficiency at the cost of some extra hardware resources….”) ; sending an adjustment instruction to the transmitting-end and receiving-end device based on the spectrum adjustment scheme ( Paragraph [1794- Col. 2- “…generate, transmit and receive optical paths with bandwidths of up to 1 Tb/s. They experimentally demonstrated elastic optical path setup and spectrally efficient transmission of multiple channels with bit rates ranging from 40 to 140 Gb/s between six nodes in a mesh network. …the required guard bandwidth for the spectrally-efficient allocation of optical paths in the elastic optical network. Similarly, their other research work [100] experimentally demonstrated optical path aggregation in a spectrum-sliced elastic optical network….” AND Page 1788- Col. 1- “…spectrum allocation policy [1], [2] allocates a spectrum to a lightpath from a list of available spectrum slots that have been used by the fewest fiber links in the network. If several available spectrum slots share the same minimum usage, the first fit spectrum allocation policy is used to select the best spectrum slot. Selecting spectrum in this manner is an attempt to spread the load evenly across all spectrum slots…”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Spectrum Allocation Method And Apparatus mentioned by Liu et al. and the Optical transport network with improved signal loading mentioned by Bouda because the Routing and Spectrum Allocation in Elastic Optical Networks: A Tutorial mentioned by Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al. provides a method and system for implementation of allocation spectrum to optical path based on bandwidth requirements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Routing and Spectrum Allocation in Elastic Optical Networks: A Tutorial mentioned by Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Spectrum Allocation Method And Apparatus mentioned by Liu et al. and the Optical transport network with improved signal loading mentioned by Bouda for implementing a system and method for allocation spectrum to optical path based on bandwidth requirements.
As per claim 11, Combination of Liu et al. and Bouda and Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al. teach claim 1,
Liu et al. teaches A computing device, comprising: a processor; and a memory, which stores thereon executable codes, wherein when the executable codes are executed by the processor, the processor is caused to execute the method according to claim 1 (Paragraphs [0022-0023]- “…The memory is configured to store a computer program, the computer program includes program instructions, and the processor is configured to invoke the program instructions to execute the spectrum allocation method provided in the first aspect, to implement beneficial effects of the spectrum allocation method provided in the first aspect…”) .
As per claim 13, Combination of Liu et al. and Bouda and Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al. teach claim 1,
Liu et al. teaches A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, which stores thereon executable codes, wherein when the executable codes are executed by a processor of an electronic device, the processor is caused to execute the method according to any one of claim 1 ( Paragraph [0141-0142]- “…computer-readable storage medium may be an internal storage unit of the spectrum allocation apparatus described in Embodiment 2. The computer-readable storage medium may alternatively be an external storage device of the spectrum allocation apparatus, for example, a pluggable hard disk, a smart media card (SMC), a secure digital (SD) card, or a flash card disposed on the spectrum allocation apparatus. Further, the computer-readable storage medium may alternatively include both an internal storage unit and an external storage device of the foregoing spectrum allocation apparatus. …”) .
2. Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (USPUB 20220070559) in view of Bouda (USPUB 20180234199) in further view of Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al.( NPL Doc: "Routing and Spectrum Allocation in Elastic Optical Networks: A Tutorial," 20th August 2015, IEEE COMMUNICATION SURVEYS & TUTORIALS, VOL. 17, NO. 3, THIRD QUARTER 2015,Pages 1776-1796.) .
As per claim 8, Liu et al. teaches A spectrum adjustment method for an optical transmission system ( FIG. 8- Spectrum allocation apparatus AND Paragraph [0120]- “… FIG. 8 is a schematic structural diagram of a spectrum allocation apparatus according to an embodiment of this application. The apparatus includes: an obtaining unit 10, configured to obtain a transmission bandwidth granularity G1 of a target service and an optical-layer spectrum resource of a target fiber channel corresponding to the target service, where the optical-layer spectrum resource includes N consecutive frequency slots, …”), comprising: expanding a frequency band width of a wavelength channel currently used, based on frequency band adjustment information of the wavelength channel that is characterized by a spectrum adjustment scheme (frequency slots/ frequency band adjustment within spectrum taught within Paragraph [0053]- “… an arrangement order of the frequency slots of the N consecutive frequency slots is determined based on communication optical wavelengths corresponding to the frequency slots. For example, one arrangement order is arrangement in ascending order of the communication optical wavelengths (described as a first arrangement order below), namely, a frequency slot 1 to a frequency slot N. Another arrangement order is arrangement in descending order of the communication optical wavelengths…” AND Paragraphs [0066-0067]- “…The network device may first select one frequency slot N1 from N−G1+1 frequency slots that are arranged first in the N frequency slots. Herein, the network device may randomly select one frequency slot N1 from the N−G1+1 frequency slots, or may sequentially select one frequency slot N1 from the N−G1+1 frequency slots based on the first arrangement order. This is not limited herein. For example, referring to FIG. 3 together, the network device may randomly select the frequency slot 3 and then randomly select the frequency slot 2, or the network device may first select the frequency slot 1 and then select the frequency slot 2 based on the first arrangement order, and so on. Then, the network device may extract, from a storage device connected to the network device, an identification information set corresponding to the N consecutive frequency slots….”) ;
Liu et al. does not explicitly teach adjusting a laser frequency in a transmitting-end and receiving-end device corresponding to the wavelength channel so that a frequency of an optical signal emitted by an adjusted laser is within a frequency band range of the adjusted wavelength channel; and reducing the frequency band width of the wavelength channel to a pre-adjustment frequency band width.
However, within analogous art, Bouda teaches adjusting a laser frequency in a transmitting-end and receiving-end device corresponding to the wavelength channel so that a frequency of an optical signal emitted by an adjusted laser is within a frequency band range of the adjusted wavelength channel( laser frequency transmitting and optical signal taught within Paragraph [0042]- “… Transmitters 102 may comprise a system, apparatus or device to convert an electrical signal into an optical signal and transmit the optical signal. For example, transmitters 102 may each comprise a laser and a modulator to receive electrical signals and modulate the information contained in the electrical signals onto a beam of light produced by the laser at a particular wavelength, and transmit the beam for carrying the signal throughout optical transport network 101…”) ; and reducing the frequency band width of the wavelength channel to a pre-adjustment frequency band width ( Paragraphs [0083-0084]- “… which may adjust the unit slot widths to specific spectral widths of new optical signals upon provisioning. In some embodiments, a network-wide management of unit slot center frequencies may be performed to adjust the unit slot center frequencies according to an in-service spectral translation of existing signals in the network, when also performed. For example, such an adjustment of the unit slot center frequencies may involve a re-partitioning of the C band into a new set of unit slots of various width….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Bouda within the modified teaching of the Spectrum Allocation Method And Apparatus mentioned by Liu et al. because the Optical transport network with improved signal loading mentioned by Bouda provides a method and system for implementation of transmission of frequency band within optical signals carrying wavelength channels within optical communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Optical transport network with improved signal loading mentioned by Bouda within the modified teaching of the Spectrum Allocation Method And Apparatus mentioned by Liu et al. for implementing a system and method for transmission of frequency band within optical signals carrying wavelength channels within optical communication systems.
As per claim 20, Combination of Liu et al. and Bouda teach claim 8,
Liu et al. teaches A computing device, comprising: a processor; and a memory, which stores thereon executable codes, wherein when the executable codes are executed by the processor, the processor is caused to execute the method according to 8 (Paragraphs [0022-0023]- “…The memory is configured to store a computer program, the computer program includes program instructions, and the processor is configured to invoke the program instructions to execute the spectrum allocation method provided in the first aspect, to implement beneficial effects of the spectrum allocation method provided in the first aspect…”) .
3. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bouda (USPUB 20180234199) in view of Liu et al. (USPUB 20220070559) in further view of Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al.( NPL Doc: "Routing and Spectrum Allocation in Elastic Optical Networks: A Tutorial," 20th August 2015, IEEE COMMUNICATION SURVEYS & TUTORIALS, VOL. 17, NO. 3, THIRD QUARTER 2015,Pages 1776-1796.) .
As per claim 10, Bouda teaches A network management system ( FIG. 3 and Paragraph [0065]- “… control system 300 may represent at least certain portions of a network management system used to implement various wavelength allocation schemes, such as the first fit wavelength allocation, and the spread tree wavelength allocation described below….”) , an instruction generating device, and a communication device ( Paragraph [0056]- “…The management plane may be in electrical communication with the elements of the control plane and may also be in electrical communication with one or more network elements of the transport plane. …”) , generates a spectrum adjustment scheme based on frequency band information of a second wavelength channel currently used by a transmitting-end and receiving-end device corresponding to the first wavelength channel in an optical transmission system( Optical spectrum adjustment and the wavelength channel taught within Paragraphs [0041-0042]- “… in a superchannel, subcarriers are tightly packed and consume less optical spectrum than in conventional DWDM. Another distinctive feature of superchannels is that the subcarriers in a superchannel travel from the same origin to the same destination, and are not added or removed using an OADM while in transmission. … optical transport network 101 in specific wavelengths or channels. Transmitters 102 may comprise a system, apparatus or device to convert an electrical signal into an optical signal and transmit the optical signal. For example, transmitters 102 may each comprise a laser and a modulator to receive electrical signals and modulate the information contained in the electrical signals onto a beam of light produced by the laser at a particular wavelength, and transmit the beam for carrying the signal throughout optical transport network 101.”),
Bouda does not explicitly teach comprising a spectrum adjustment scheme generating device, wherein the spectrum adjustment scheme generating device is configured to: takes a goal of providing at least one available idle frequency band for a first wavelength channel desired to be created, wherein the spectrum adjustment scheme is used to characterize frequency band adjustment information of a second wavelength channel that needs to be adjusted; the instruction generating device is configured to generates an adjustment instruction for execution by the transmitting-end and receiving-end device based on the spectrum adjustment scheme; the communication device is configured to sends the adjustment instruction to the transmitting-end and receiving-end device.
However, within analogous art, Liu et al. teaches comprising a spectrum adjustment scheme generating device ( FIG. 8- Spectrum allocation apparatus AND Paragraph [0120]- “… FIG. 8 is a schematic structural diagram of a spectrum allocation apparatus according to an embodiment of this application. The apparatus includes: an obtaining unit 10, configured to obtain a transmission bandwidth granularity G1 of a target service and an optical-layer spectrum resource of a target fiber channel corresponding to the target service, where the optical-layer spectrum resource includes N consecutive frequency slots, …”), wherein the spectrum adjustment scheme generating device is configured to: takes a goal of providing at least one available idle frequency band for a first wavelength channel desired to be created( Idle frequency band and wavelength channel taught within Paragraphs [0120-0122]- “…he target spectrum slice includes at least G1 consecutive idle frequency slots, N is greater than N1, and N1 is greater than or equal to G1; an allocation unit 30, configured to allocate the G1 consecutive idle frequency slots included in the target spectrum slice obtained by the target spectrum slice determining unit 20 to the target service…. N2 consecutive idle frequency slots are found in the N
consecutive frequency slots, determine the N2 consecutive idle frequency slots as the target spectrum slice, where N2 is a product of the transmission bandwidth granularity G1 and a positive integer R, and N2 is less than N.…”),
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Liu et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical transport network with improved signal loading mentioned by Bouda because the Spectrum Allocation Method And Apparatus mentioned by Liu et al. provides a method and system for implementation of spectrum resources utilization within fiber optical network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Spectrum Allocation Method And Apparatus mentioned by Liu et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical transport network with improved signal loading mentioned by Bouda for implementing a system and method for spectrum resources utilization within fiber optical network.
Combination of Bouda and Liu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the spectrum adjustment scheme is used to characterize frequency band adjustment information of a second wavelength channel that needs to be adjusted; the instruction generating device is configured to generates an adjustment instruction for execution by the transmitting-end and receiving-end device based on the spectrum adjustment scheme; the communication device is configured to sends the adjustment instruction to the transmitting-end and receiving-end device.
However, within analogous art, Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al. teaches wherein the spectrum adjustment scheme is used to characterize frequency band adjustment information of a second wavelength channel that needs to be adjusted ( Page 1786- Col. 1- “…In the semi-elastic spectrum allocation (semi-elastic SA) policy [46], [47], the CF remains fixed, but the allocated spectrum width can vary in each time interval. The frequency slices are allocated to a lightpath so as to suit the required bandwidth at any time. As a result, the unutilized slots can be used for subsequent connection requests. Therefore, this spectrum allocation policy provides higher flexibility than the fixed SA policy. To explain semi-elastic SA, two scenarios are considered below….” AND Page 1787-Col. 1- “…bandwidth variable transponders and bandwidth variable switches should work with frequency steps in accordance with the frequency slice width. The semi-elastic SA policy has better performance than of the fixed SA policy in terms of spectrum efficiency at the cost of some extra hardware resources….”) ; the instruction generating device is configured to generates an adjustment instruction for execution by the transmitting-end and receiving-end device based on the spectrum adjustment scheme ( Page 1777-Col.2 – “…spectrum routing, switch and select with dynamic functionality, and architecture on demand, along with their functionalities. We compare different node architectures in order to clarify their performances. Next we look into the basic concept of the routing and spectrum allocation (RSA) approach in elastic optical networks. We discuss the differences between RSA and routing and wavelength assignment (RWA) in optical networks. … different spectrum allocation policies. …the spectrum allocation polices into two categories based on spectrum range allocation for connection groups and…” AND Page 1785-Col. 2- “…dynamically change their allocated spectrum. This capability is defined as elastic spectrum allocation … future flexgrid networks is expected to provide better network performance. Spectrum allocation may be performed either after finding a route for a lightpath or in parallel during the route selection process. This section discusses the different spectrum allocation policies….”) ; the communication device is configured to sends the adjustment instruction to the transmitting-end and receiving-end device( Paragraph [1794- Col. 2- “…generate, transmit and receive optical paths with bandwidths of up to 1 Tb/s. They experimentally demonstrated elastic optical path setup and spectrally efficient transmission of multiple channels with bit rates ranging from 40 to 140 Gb/s between six nodes in a mesh network. …the required guard bandwidth for the spectrally-efficient allocation of optical paths in the elastic optical network. Similarly, their other research work [100] experimentally demonstrated optical path aggregation in a spectrum-sliced elastic optical network….” AND Page 1788- Col. 1- “…spectrum allocation policy [1], [2] allocates a spectrum to a lightpath from a list of available spectrum slots that have been used by the fewest fiber links in the network. If several available spectrum slots share the same minimum usage, the first fit spectrum allocation policy is used to select the best spectrum slot. Selecting spectrum in this manner is an attempt to spread the load evenly across all spectrum slots…”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Optical transport network with improved signal loading mentioned by Bouda and the Spectrum Allocation Method And Apparatus mentioned by Liu et al. because the Routing and Spectrum Allocation in Elastic Optical Networks: A Tutorial mentioned by Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al. provides a method and system for implementation of allocation spectrum to optical path based on bandwidth requirements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Routing and Spectrum Allocation in Elastic Optical Networks: A Tutorial mentioned by Bijoy Chand Chatterjee et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Optical transport network with improved signal loading mentioned by Bouda and the Spectrum Allocation Method And Apparatus mentioned by Liu et al. for implementing a system and method for allocation spectrum to optical path based on bandwidth requirements.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 2,3,4,5,6,7,9,14,15,16,17,18,19 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
5. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim2: “…determining whether a frequency band width of the first wavelength channel is greater than a sum of widths of all unused frequency bands; if the frequency band width of the first wavelength channel is less than or equal to the sum of the widths of all the unused frequency bands, determining whether the frequency band width of the first wavelength channel is less than or equal to a largest frequency band width of the unused frequency bands; if the frequency band width of the first wavelength channel is greater than the largest frequency band width of the unused frequency bands, for each segment frequency band in at least part of the unused frequency bands, taking a goal of expanding the respective frequency band to a frequency band of the first wavelength channel, generating the spectrum adjustment scheme corresponding to the respective frequency band.”
As to claim 3, Claim 3 depends on objected allowable claim 2, therefore claim 3 is objected allowable claim.
As to claim 4, Claim 4 depends on objected allowable claim 3, therefore claim 4 is objected allowable claim.
As to claim 5, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 5: “…obtaining intention information, wherein the intention information comprises at least one of identification information of the transmitting-end and receiving-end device, a transmission rate of the first wavelength channel, and a frequency band width of the first wavelength channel; and/or obtaining constraint information, wherein the constraint information comprises at least one of a frequency band interval of the first wavelength channel, a priority of a frequency band where the first wavelength channel is located, a maximum value of a frequency band of the to-be-adjusted second wavelength channel involved in the spectrum adjustment scheme, a maximum frequency value of an adjustment step involved when the spectrum adjustment scheme is executed, and an adjustment range of a center frequency of a laser of the transmitting-end and receiving-end device; wherein the step of generating the spectrum adjustment scheme comprises: generating the spectrum adjustment scheme based on the frequency band information of the second wavelength channel currently used by the transmitting-end and receiving-end device, the intention information and/or the constraint information.”
As to claim 6, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 6: “…sending a first instruction for expanding a frequency band width of the second wavelength channel to the transmitting-end and receiving-end device; in response to receiving a message that the first instruction is executed successfully, sending a second instruction for adjusting a laser frequency to the transmitting-end and receiving-end device to prompt the transmitting-end and receiving-end device to adjust the laser frequency to a target value; and sending a third instruction for reducing the frequency band width of the second wavelength channel to a pre-adjustment frequency band width to the transmitting-end and receiving-end device after the transmitting-end and receiving-end device adjust the laser frequency to the target value.”
As to claim 7, Claim 7 depends on objected allowable claim 6, therefore claim 7 is objected allowable claim.
As to claim 9, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 9: “…adjusting the laser frequency in the transmitting-end and receiving-end device to a target value through one or more adjustments, so that the frequency of the optical signal emitted by the respective laser in the transmitting-end and receiving-end device is within the frequency band range of the adjusted wavelength channel, wherein an adjustment range of a center frequency of a laser in the transmitting-end and receiving-end device in each adjustment process does not exceed a first value, and a next round of adjustment is performed after both of a first electrical-layer device located at a transmitting-end and a second electrical-layer device located at a receiving-end, of the transmitting- end and receiving-end device perform an adjustment of the laser frequency.”
As to claim 14, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 14: “…determine whether a frequency band width of the first wavelength channel is greater than a sum of widths of all unused frequency bands; if the frequency band width of the first wavelength channel is less than or equal to the sum of the widths of all the unused frequency bands, determine whether the frequency band width of the first wavelength channel is less than or equal to a largest frequency band width of the unused frequency bands; if the frequency band width of the first wavelength channel is greater than the largest frequency band width of the unused frequency bands, for each frequency band in at least part of the unused frequency bands, take a goal of expanding the respective frequency band to a frequency band of the first wavelength channel, generate the spectrum adjustment scheme corresponding to the respective frequency band.”
As to claim 15, Claim 15 depends on objected allowable claim 14, therefore claim 15 is objected allowable claim.
As to claim 16, Claim 16 depends on objected allowable claim 15, therefore claim 16 is objected allowable claim.
As to claim 17, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 17: “…obtain intention information, wherein the intention information comprises at least one of identification information of the transmitting-end and receiving-end device, a transmission rate of the first wavelength channel, and a frequency band width of the first wavelength channel; and/or obtain constraint information, wherein the constraint information comprises at least one of a frequency band interval of the first wavelength channel, a priority of a frequency band where the first wavelength channel is located, a maximum value of a frequency band of the to-be-adjusted second wavelength channel involved in the spectrum adjustment scheme, a maximum frequency value of an adjustment step involved when the spectrum adjustment scheme is executed, and an adjustment range of a center frequency of a laser of the transmitting-end and receiving-end device;generate the spectrum adjustment scheme based on the frequency band information of the second wavelength channel currently used by the transmitting-end and receiving-end device, the intention information and/or the constraint information.”
As to claim 18, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 18: “…send a first instruction for expanding a frequency band width of the second wavelength channel to the transmitting-end and receiving-end device; in response to receiving a message that the first instruction is executed successfully, send a second instruction for adjusting a laser frequency to the transmitting-end and receiving-end device to prompt the transmitting-end and receiving-end device to adjust the laser frequency to a target value; and send a third instruction for reducing the frequency band width of the second wavelength channel to a pre-adjustment frequency band width to the transmitting-end and receiving-end device after the transmitting-end and receiving-end device adjust the laser frequency to the target value.”
As to claim 19, Claim 19 depends on objected allowable claim 18, therefore claim 19 is objected allowable claim.
As to claim 21, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 21: “…adjust the laser frequency in the transmitting-end and receiving-end device to a target value through one or more adjustments, so that the frequency of the optical signal emitted by the respective laser in the transmitting-end and receiving-end device is within the frequency band range of the adjusted wavelength channel, wherein an adjustment range of a center frequency of a laser in the transmitting-end and receiving-end device in each adjustment process does not exceed a first value, and a next round of adjustment is performed after both of a first electrical-layer device located at a transmitting-end and a second electrical-layer device located at a receiving-end, of the transmitting- end and receiving-end device perform an adjustment of the laser frequency.”
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635