DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed on 7/1/2026, has been fully considered and entered. Claims 1, 8, 14 and 16 are amended, and claims 1-20 are current pending.
Applicant’s amendment with respect to specification has been fully considered, and therefore specification objection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn.
Applicant argues, with respect to amended independent claims 1, 8, 14 and 16 (and their respective dependent claims), that previously cited references do not teach or suggest receive a message containing a container that includes a first subset of information of a set of information, a first indication that identifies the first subset, and a second indication that indicates existence of a second subset of the same set of information; buffer the data based on the subset and identifying indication, and then determine an authorization status for uncrewed aerial vehicle operation by analyzing the buffered data only in response to the second indication confirming that no further subsets exist.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang teaches a very high throughput (VHT) STAs may support 20MHz, 40MHz, 80 MHz, and/or 160MHz wide channels, channels may be formed by combining continuous and/or non-contiguous channels. The data, after channel encoding, may be passed through a segment parser that may divide the data into two streams, signa/time domain processing may be done on each stream separately. The streams may be mapped on to the channels, and the data may be transmitted by a transmitting STA (Paragraph 0051). Further, Wang teaches the UAV and/or UAV-C [WTRU] may receive configurations (e.g., session parameters) from the UTM or UAV application server (Figures 4 and 5, Paragraphs 0099 and 0101). The UAV may establish the initial PDU session, and may use the initial PDU session to perform identification, authentication and/or authorization, and/or retrieve a configuration for mission related communication. The UAV may check the stored authorization status (which was received from the UTM). If the status indicates that the device has been authorized for UAV communication using the network, the UAV may continue. (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0124 and 0125). Since the message may be divided into plurality of channels/segments, then each message segments is at least buffered/cached temporarily until both/all segments of the message have been received. Therefore, Wang teaches receive a message containing a container that includes a first subset of information of a set of information; buffer the data based on the subset and identifying indication, and then determine an authorization status for uncrewed aerial vehicle operation by analyzing the buffered data only in response to no further subsets exist. In addition, D1 teaches the detail on how the segments of message is linked/indicated. Specifically D1 teaches if the response message does not fit in a single frame, the responding node sends a segment packet with Segment ID equal to the Segment ID in the Request packet (Page 20 Section 8.3.2.1). If more data exists beyond the indicated Segment ID, the data portion of the current packet is filled to its capacity and flags:final is cleared (Page 20 Section 8.3.2.1.). If the response message fits in one frame, then the frame is sent, when the receiver receives a packet of the requested type, it retires the Request ID and acts on the response. If flags:final is clear, another Request Packet is sent with Segment ID equal to one greater than in the previous request. If flags:final is set, the request sence for this data structure is terminated and acquired structure is marked valid (Page 20 Section 8.3.2.1). Therefore, D1 teaches a first subset of information and a first indication that identifies the first subset, and a second indication that indicates existence of a second subset of the same set of information, and analyze data in response to the second indication indicating no existence of the second subset of information. Therefore, the combination of Wang and D1 teaches the above limitations of independent claims 1, 8, 14 and 16 (and their respective dependent claims)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20220377545 A1 and Wang hereinafter), in view of ISO/IEC “Information Technology – Control Network Protocol – Part 4: IP Communication”, ISO/IEC 14908-4, February 14, 2012, pages 1-62 (and D1 hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a user equipment (UE) (Figure 1B and Paragraph 0028; WTRU 102) in a wireless communication network supporting uncrewed aerial vehicle operations (Figures 4 and 5), comprising:
at least one memory (Figure 1B and Paragraph 0028; memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Figure 1B and Paragraph 0029; processor 118 coupled to memory 130 and 132) and configured to cause the UE (Figure 1B and Paragraph 0029; processor 118 may perform signal coding, data processing, power control, input/output processing, and/or any other functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment) to:
receive, from a network entity (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraphs 0099 and 0109; UTM), a message comprising a container (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraph 0099; the UAV or UAV-C [WTRU] may receive (e.g., from the UTM or UAV application server) configuration(s) [interpreted as container] (e.g., session parameters)), the container comprising:
a first information of a set of information (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraphs 0099 and 0101; the UAV or UAV-C [WTRU] may receive (e.g., from the UTM or UAV application server) configuration(s) [interpreted as container] (e.g., session parameters). Paragraph 0051; very high throughput (VHT) STAs may support 20MHz, 40MHz, 80 MHz, and/or 160MHz wide channels, channels may be formed by combining continuous and/or non-contiguous channels. The data, after channel encoding, may be passed through a segment parser that may divide the data into two streams, signa/time domain processing may be done on each stream separately. The streams may be mapped on to the channels, and the data may be transmitted by a transmitting STA. Further, Wang teaches the UAV and/or UAV-C [WTRU] may receive configurations (e.g., session parameters) from the UTM or UAV application server);
a first indication that identifies the first information (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraph 0109; PDU session ID of the initial PDU session); and
a second indication that indicates existence of a second information of the set of information (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraph 0109; a flag indicating that the PDU session is linked to another PDU session (e.g., used by a peer UAV or UAV-C). Paragraph 0101; the configurations (e.g. session parameters) that may be used in the establishment of the second PDU session may include S-NSSAI and SSC Mode (e.g. for the future mission-related PDU session). Paragraph 0051; very high throughput (VHT) STAs may support 20MHz, 40MHz, 80 MHz, and/or 160MHz wide channels, channels may be formed by combining continuous and/or non-contiguous channels. The data, after channel encoding, may be passed through a segment parser that may divide the data into two streams, signa/time domain processing may be done on each stream separately. The streams may be mapped on to the channels, and the data may be transmitted by a transmitting STA. Further, Wang teaches the UAV and/or UAV-C [WTRU] may receive configurations (e.g., session parameters) from the UTM or UAV application server);
buffer data based at least in part on the first information and the first indication (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraph 0106; establish second PDU session for mission related communication and modify the initial PDU session. Thus the received configuration is at least temporarily stored in order to modify an old configuration with the newly received configuration); and
determine an authorization status for uncrewed aerial vehicle operation (Figures 4 and 5, Paragraphs 0124 and 0125; the UAV may establish the initial PDU session, and may use the initial PDU session to perform identification, authentication and/or authorization, and/or retrieve a configuration for mission related communication. The UAV may check the stored authorization status (which was received from the UTM). If the status indicates that the device has been authorized for UAV communication using the network, the UAV may continue) by analyzing the buffered data (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraph 0127; the SMF may send PDU session accept message to UAV/UAV-C, the UAV/UAV-C may inform the UAV application that the PDU session has been successfully established).
Wang does not explicitly disclose a first subset of information, a second indication that indicates existence of a second subset of information, and analyze data in response to the second indication indicating no existence of the second subset of information. In an analogous art, D1 teaches a first subset of information (Page 20 Section 8.3.2.1; if the response message does not fit in a single frame, the responding node sends a segment packet with Segment ID equal to the Segment ID in the Request packet), a second indication that indicates existence of a second subset of information (Page 20 Section 8.3.2.1; if more data exists beyond the indicated Segment ID, the data portion of the current packet is filled to its capacity, and flags:final is cleared), and analyze data in response to the second indication indicating no existence of the second subset of information, and analyze data in response to the second indication indicating no existence of the second subset of information (Page 20 Section 8.3.2.1; if the response message fits in one frame, then the frame is sent, when the receiver receives a packet of the requested type, it retires the Request ID, and acts on the response. If flags.final is clear, another Request Packet is sent with Segment ID equal to one greater than in the previous request. If flags.final is set, the request sequence for this data structure is terminated and acquired structure is marked as valid). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and D1 because it would resolve the issue when a packet cannot fit into one frame. Further, Wang discloses that this would allow the UAV/UAV-C to determine the S-NSSAI or SSC Mode on its own (Wang, Paragraph 0101).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, the combination of Wang and D1 teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 16, as described above. Further, Wang teaches wherein the network entity comprises a public data network (PDN) gateway (GW) (Paragraph 0041; the CN 106 may include a packet data network (PDN) gateway (PGW). Paragraph 0044; The SGW 164 may be connected to the PGW 166, which may provide the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c with access to packet-switched networks, such as the Internet 110, to facilitate communications between the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c and IP-enabled devices).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, the combination of Wang and D1 teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 17, as described above. Further, Wang teaches wherein the network entity further comprises a session management function (SMF) (Paragraphs 0061 and 0062; the CN 115 include at least one Session Management Function (SMF)).
Regarding claims 4, 15 and 19, the combination of Wang and D1 teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 14 and 16, as described above. Further, Wang teaches wherein the buffered data comprises: a result for an uncrewed aerial system (UAS) service supplier (USS) uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) authorization/authentication (UUAA); a UAV identifier (ID) of a UAV; a UUAA authorization payload; or a combination thereof (Paragraph 0068; first PDU session may be associated with an authentication and/or authorization of the WTRU, for example by an (e.g., third party) authentication and authorization server (e.g., a UAS Service Supplier). Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraph 0106; establish second PDU session for mission related communication and modify the initial PDU session. Thus the received configuration is at least temporarily stored in order to modify an old configuration with the newly received configuration).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, the combination of Wang and D1 teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 16, as described above. Further, Wang teaches wherein the buffered data comprises: a result for authorization of command and control (C2) communications; C2 session security information; an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) identifier (ID) of a UAV; flight authorization information; or a combination thereof (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraph 0068; the operation communication may comprise an unmanned aerial vehicle command and control (also may be referred to as C2 or C&C) message or an unmanned aerial vehicle payload message).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wang and D1 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Wang teaches wherein, to analyze the buffered data, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine that the UE has an authorization for uncrewed aerial system (UAS) service supplier (USS) services, an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) identifier (ID), a USS UAV authorization/authentication (UUAA) authorization payload, or a combination thereof (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraph 0127; the SMF may send PDU session accept message to UAV/UAV-C, the UAV/UAV-C may inform the UAV application that the PDU session has been successfully established. Paragraph 0068; first PDU session may be associated with an authentication and/or authorization of the WTRU, for example by an (e.g., third party) authentication and authorization server (e.g., a UAS Service Supplier). Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraph 0106; establish second PDU session for mission related communication and modify the initial PDU session. Thus the received configuration is at least temporarily stored in order to modify an old configuration with the newly received configuration).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wang and D1 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Wang teaches wherein, to analyze the buffered data, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine that the UE has an authorization for command and control (C2) communications, an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) identifier (ID), a C2 session security information, flight authorization information, or a combination thereof (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraph 0068; the operation communication may comprise an unmanned aerial vehicle command and control (also may be referred to as C2 or C&C) message or an unmanned aerial vehicle payload message).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wang and D1 teaches all of the limitations of claim 8, as described above. Further, Wang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, to the device, a second message comprising (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraph 0099; the UAV or UAV-C [WTRU] may receive (e.g., from the UTM or UAV application server) configuration(s) [interpreted as container] (e.g., session parameters)) a second container, the second container comprising: a third information of a second set of information (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraphs 0099 and 0101; the UAV or UAV-C [WTRU] may receive (e.g., from the UTM or UAV application server) configuration(s) [interpreted as container] (e.g., session parameters)); a third indication that identifies the second information (Figures 4 and 5, and Paragraph 0109; a flag indicating that the PDU session is linked to another PDU session (e.g., used by a peer UAV or UAV-C). Paragraph 0101; the configurations (e.g. session parameters) that may be used in the establishment of the second PDU session may include S-NSSAI and SSC Mode (e.g. for the future mission-related PDU session)).
In addition, D1 teaches third subset of information (Page 20 Section 8.3.2.1; if the response message does not fit in a single frame, the responding node sends a segment packet with Segment ID equal to the Segment ID in the Request packet); and a fourth indication that indicates existence of a fourth subset of information of the second set of information (Page 20 Section 8.3.2.1; if more data exists beyond the indicated Segment ID, the data portion of the current packet is filled to its capacity, and flags:final is cleared). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and D1 because it would resolve the issue when a packet cannot fit into one frame. Further, Wang discloses that this would allow the UAV/UAV-C to determine the S-NSSAI or SSC Mode on its own (Wang, Paragraph 0101).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wang and D1 teaches all of the limitations of claim 8, as described above. Further, Wang teaches wherein a second network entity performs the procedure on the buffered data, and the second network entity comprises an uncrewed aerial system (UAS) service supplier (USS) server (Paragraphs 0003, 0068 and 0070; the first PDU session may be associated with an authentication and/or authorization of the WTRU, for example by an (e.g., third party) authentication and authorization server (e.g., a UAS Service Supplier, UAV Traffic Management function). A WTRU may receive mission specific configuration information (e.g. from a UAS Traffic Management (UTM) node or function) and may use the configuration to select wireless communication parameters such as packet data unit (PDU) session parameters. The term UAS Service Supplier (USS) may be used interchangeably with UTM herein).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wang and D1 teaches all of the limitations of claim 8, as described above. Further, Wang teaches wherein the procedure comprises: an uncrewed aerial system (UAS) service supplier (USS) server uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) authorization/authentication (UUAA); command and control (C2) authorization for C2 communications; or a combination thereof (Paragraphs 0003, 0068 and 0070; the first PDU session may be associated with an authentication and/or authorization of the WTRU, for example by an (e.g., third party) authentication and authorization server (e.g., a UAS Service Supplier, UAV Traffic Management function). The operation communication may comprise an unmanned aerial vehicle command and control (also may be referred to as C2 or C&C) message or an unmanned aerial vehicle payload message).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wang and D1 teaches all of the limitations of claim 8, as described above. Further, Wang teaches wherein the buffered data comprises: an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) identifier (ID) of a UAV; an uncrewed aerial system (UAS) service supplier (USS) address; a USS server UAV authorization/authentication (UUAA) aviation payload; or a combination thereof (Paragraphs 0068 and 0079; the WTRU may initiate a first protocol data unit (PDU) session. The first PDU session may be associated with an authentication and/or authorization of the WTRU, for example by an (e.g., third party) authentication and authorization server (e.g., a UAS Service Supplier, UAV Traffic Management function). The first PDU session may be limited or initially limited (e.g., to authentication and/or authorization, non-operation communications, etc.))
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wang and D1 teaches all of the limitations of claim 8, as described above. Further, Wang teaches wherein the buffered data comprises: an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) identifier (ID) of a UAV; an uncrewed aerial system (UAS) container comprising UAV pairing information; flight authorization information; or a combination thereof (Paragraph 0082; command and control message and data exchange may be used for UAV missions and/or security. In examples, command and control exchanges (e.g. location and/or flight data reporting) may take place between WTRU(s) and the UTM, and/or between WTRUs (e.g. between UAV(s) and/or UAV-C(s)))
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ryu et al. (US 20220248363 A1) discloses mobility management function receives registration request and perform authentication and/or authorization procedure for aerial service of the wireless device.
Ferdi et al. (US 20240187861 A1) discloses a UAS control by monitoring a uncrewed/unmanned vehicle indicated by the UAV identifier.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jing Gao/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647