DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnamoorthy (US 20150311371 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 5, Krishnamoorthy discloses a solar cell having an assembled structure, the solar cell comprising (see Figs. 1-15 [0030]-[0050]):
rectangular unit cells each (810, see Figs. 8 and 9A-9E) formed in a flat polygonal plate shape and each having an electrode seat (see Fig. 8 814, see Fig. 9B/9C, 910/924 [0049]) that is a groove formed on a rear surface (see Fig. 8 814 Fig. 9 9B/9C, 910/924[0049]) thereof toward a side from a center of the flat plate; and
electrodes (see Fig. 9A-9E 912/914/928 [0049][0050]) each fitted in all of the electrode seats (see Fig. 8 814, see Fig. 9B/9C, 910/924) formed on two unit cells when the two unit cells are sequentially disposed to be in contact with each other on sides, wherein the unit cells and the electrodes are sequentially assembled by fitting the electrodes into all of the electrode seats formed by the unit cells ([0007])which describes fitting together in a plug socket manner); and
wherein each of the electrodes comprises a connection portion formed in a serpentine shape (see Fig. 3, 312, [0043] or Fig. 6B 612 [0046] or Fig. 7, 712, [0047]).
In addition, Krishnamoorthy discloses the connection portion comprises a metal encapsulated by a polymer having flexibility (see Fig. 6A and 6B [0046]-[0047]) and the polymer portion can be provided to weatherproof the connectors ([0046])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the connection portion of Krishnamoorthy so that the portions exposed to the weather are weatherproofed by a polymer coating because Krishnamoorthy discloses it is obvious to do so.
Modified Krishnamoorthy discloses in Fig. 9 a weatherproofed portion of the connector between panels shows which has a degree of flexibility ([0009]).
Modified Krishnamoorthy also disclosed wherein an entire structure formed by the unit cells and the electrodes forms a flexible planar structure (will have a degree of flexibility due to flexible interconnection between gapped panels, see Fig. 9) when the unit cells and the electrodes are sequentially assembled by fitting the electrodes into all of the electrode seats formed by the unit cells.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnamoorthy (US 20150311371 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, and 5 above, and further in view of Kondo (JP 2000022191 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 4, modified Krishnamoorthy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Krishnamoorthy does disclose elements such as frames can be added to the photovoltaic panel ([0058]).
However, Krishnamoorthy does not disclose wherein the unit cell comprises a back frame formed of epoxy, and the unit cell can be colored by adding dye to the epoxy forming the back frame during manufacturing.
Kondo discloses that a frame (2) that can surround photovoltaic panel that is formed of an epoxy resin (see pg. 6, operation of embodiment second paragraph-- For example, in the first embodiment, the two-component mixed-curing type urethane resins used for the sealing frame member 2, but an epoxy resin may be used.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the photovoltaic panel of modified Krishnamoorthy by having an epoxy resin frame as disclosed by Kondo because it will provide additional structural integrity and Krishnamoorthy discloses that frames can be added to the panels.
With regards to the limitation “can be colored by adding dye to the epoxy by adding dye to the epoxy forming the back frame during manufacturing” is interpreted as coloring does not have to be present.
Therefore modified Krishnamoorthy now discloses all of the positively recited limitations in the claim limitation “wherein the unit cell comprises a back frame formed of epoxy, and the unit cell can be colored by adding dye to the epoxy forming the back frame during manufacturing.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Krishnamoorthy does not disclose or suggest that the electrodes themselves form a structural connection system that mechanically couples adjacent unit cells and imparts flexibility to the assembled solar cell as a whole.
Krishnamoorthy discloses that the panels are gapped (See Fig. 9) and connected through a flexible interconnector (formed of flexible materials, [0009][0042][0046]) which indicates that there is a degree of flexible between interconnected panels as a whole.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Metcalf (US 3678141 A) discloses that an epoxy frame can be colored by adding dyes or pigments to resin precursors during manufacturing (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726