DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 7, and 13-20 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gordon et al. (US 10440169 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Gordon teaches a method for fifth generation Internet hypertext markup language H5 page interaction (Col. 5, lines 26-39: application executed on mobile device may be any type of online application, including a browser application. Note that HTML5 has been the standard markup language since at least October 2014; See also FIG. 14 and its corresponding paragraphs as online instruction database is associated with an HTML address as supported in at least Col. 45, line 47 to Col. 46, line 3), comprising:
receiving a target interaction operation on a target element of an H5 page, wherein there are a plurality of elements in the H5 page simultaneously, some or all of the elements are target elements, and the H5 page receives the target interaction operation on the target element when a user operates an element in the H5 page displayed on a device (FIG. 9 and Col. 37, line 65 to Col. 39, line 8: for example, a plurality of elements, including at least the selectable photos, exist simultaneously on the page, some or all of the elements are target elements, or selectable photos. Note that, as supported in Col. 5, lines 26-39, the application may be an online application, and, as supported in Col. 38, lines 13-18, “Additionally, an application may be selected 904. In one embodiment, the application may include a photo management app, a camera, a calendar, a map, a weather app, a notes app, a reminders app, a settings app, a phone app, a mail app, a music app, a browser app, and/or any app which may be capable of being selected.” Thus, while the described example may reference a photo application, the app is merely nominal and exemplary in nature and the teachings apply to a broad range of apps, including a browser app; FIGS. 11-12 and Col. 42, line 4 to Col. 43, line 6: more specifically, a target interaction operation, such as the user’s selection of one or more photos, is received on a target element/at least one photo of a page. This target interaction operation acts as a trigger; FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: when a user operates an element, or selects one or more photos displayed on a device, the page receives the target interaction operation on the target element/at least one photo); and
executing, by a target component bound to the target interaction operation, a corresponding target component behavior, wherein each target interaction operation on the target element is bound with each target component behavior in advance, and after the H5 page receives the target interaction operation, a target component corresponding to a target component behavior executes the target component behavior (FIGS. 11-12 and Col. 42, line 4 to Col. 43, line 6: for example, a target component, such as that corresponding to “Email to Group” seen in interface 1112 of either FIG. 11 or FIG. 12, is bounded to the target interaction operation, such as the user’s selection of one or more photos. The target interaction operation on the target element, or at least one of the photos, is bound with a target component, such as that corresponding to “Email to Group” in advance due to the creation of an instruction as seen in FIG. 11 or 12. After the H5 page receives the target interaction operation/user’s selection of one or more photos, a target component/“Email to Group” corresponding to the target component behavior, or emailing selected photos to a group, is executed; FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: see how the page receives the target interaction operation, or generally one or more triggers, for execution of the target component behavior, or generally a response action).
Regarding claim 2, -----Gordon further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the target component behavior comprises at least one of: routing jump, instruction execution, request sending, and event triggering (FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: the target component behavior/response action comprises at least an event triggering; FIGS. 11-12 and Col. 42, line 4 to Col. 43, line 6: for example, a response action is triggering an event of emailing to a group).
Regarding claim 3, Gordon further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the target component behavior comprises event triggering (FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: the target component behavior/response action comprises at least an event triggering; FIGS. 11-12 and Col. 42, line 4 to Col. 43, line 6: for example, a response action is triggering an event of emailing to a group); after the target component bound to the target interaction operation executes the corresponding target component behavior, the method further comprises:
reporting, by the target component, a triggered event to an event bus (FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: one or more triggers are reported to an event bus which process them to identify an instruction, including one or more response actions; For additional details and examples regarding the event bus, see FIG. 4 and corresponding paragraphs).
Regarding claim 4, -----Gordon further teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising:
monitoring, by a response component, the event bus, and executing a response component behavior corresponding to a subscribed event when the subscribed event is monitored (FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25 and FIG. 4 and corresponding paragraphs: for example, as detailed in Col. 8, line 57 to Col. 9, line 3, a response component may be monitoring a location 412 of the mobile device. A subscribed event occurs when the mobile device is at a current location, triggering one or more actions, or a response component behavior).
Regarding claim 5, -----Gordon further teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the response component behavior comprises a display behavior, wherein the display behavior comprises at least one of following operations: displaying data, displaying a new content, hiding a content already displayed, changing a display style, and changing a display size (FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25 and FIG. 4 and corresponding paragraphs: for example, as detailed in Col. 8, line 57 to Col. 9, line 3, the response component behavior comprises a display behavior of “displaying a website associated with the location” and/or “displaying an app associated with the location (e.g. an app from the store, etc.)”).
Regarding claim 6, -----Gordon further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing, by the target component bound to the target interaction operation, the corresponding target component behavior, comprises:
loading a target behavior code corresponding to the target component behavior on the target component (FIGS. 11-12 and Col. 42, line 4 to Col. 43, line 6: for example, a target component, such as that corresponding to “Email to Group” seen in interface 1112 of either FIG. 11 or FIG. 12, is bounded to the target interaction operation, such as the user’s selection of one or more photos. Target behavior code for emailing selected photos to a group is loaded. The target interaction operation on the target element, or at least one of the photos, is bound with a target component, such as that corresponding to “Email to Group” in advance due to the creation of an instruction as seen in FIG. 11 or 12. After the H5 page receives the target interaction operation/user’s selection of one or more photos, a target component/“Email to Group” corresponding to the target component behavior, or emailing selected photos to a group, is executed; FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: target behavior code for emailing is loaded).
Regarding claim 7, Gordon teaches a method for editing an H5 page (Col. 5, lines 26-39: application executed on mobile device may be any type of online application, including a browser application. Note that HTML5 has been the standard markup language since at least October 2014; See also FIG. 14 and its corresponding paragraphs as online instruction database is associated with an HTML address as supported in at least Col. 45, line 47 to Col. 46, line 3), comprising:
receiving an interaction selection instruction and a behavior selection instruction for a target element of an H5 page; wherein there are a plurality of elements in the H5 page simultaneously, some or all of the elements are target elements, the interaction selection instruction comprises a target interaction operation, and the behavior selection instruction comprises a target component behavior, and when a user operates an H5 page editor, the user selects the target interaction operation and the target component behavior for the target element in the H5 page (FIG. 9 and Col. 37, line 65 to Col. 39, line 8: for example, a plurality of elements, including at least the selectable photos, exist simultaneously on the page, some or all of the elements are target elements, or selectable photos; FIGS. 11-12 and Col. 42, line 4 to Col. 43, line 6: more specifically, an interaction selection instruction, such as the user’s selection of one or more photos, is received on a target element/at least one photo of a page. This interaction selection instruction represents a trigger. A behavior selection instruction, such as the user’s selection of one or more actions, are received on the page. The behavior selection instruction represents a response action; FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: when a user operates an element, or selects one or more photos, the page receives the target interaction operation on the target element/at least one photo); and
binding a target component corresponding to the target component behavior to the target interaction operation, wherein, after receiving a user's selection instruction, the H5 page editor binds the target interaction operation on the target element with the target component behavior according to the selection instruction, to enable the target component to execute the target component behavior when a subsequent user performs the target interaction operation on the target element of the H5 page (FIGS. 11-12 and Col. 42, line 4 to Col. 43, line 6: for example, a target component, such as that corresponding to “Email to Group” seen in interface 1112 of either FIG. 11 or FIG. 12, is bounded to the target interaction operation, such as the user’s selection of one or more photos. The target interaction operation on the target element, or at least one of the photos, is bound with a target component, such as that corresponding to “Email to Group” after a user’s selection instruction. After the page receives the target interaction operation/subsequent user’s selection of one or more photos, a target component/“Email to Group” corresponding to the target component behavior, or emailing selected photos to a group, is executed; FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: see how the H5 page receives the target interaction operation, or generally one or more triggers, for execution of the target component behavior, or generally a response action).
Regarding claim 8, Gordon further teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the target component behavior comprises event triggering (FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: the target component behavior/response action comprises at least an event triggering; FIGS. 11-12 and Col. 42, line 4 to Col. 43, line 6: for example, a response action is triggering an event of emailing to a group); and the method further comprises:
building an event bus; wherein the event bus is used for receiving a triggered event, and the target component is used for monitoring the event bus (FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: one or more triggers are reported to an event bus which process them to identify an instruction, including one or more response actions; For additional details and examples regarding the event bus, see FIG. 4 and corresponding paragraphs).
Regarding claim 9, Gordon further teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising:
receiving an event response instruction for a response component; wherein the event response instruction comprises an event and a response component behavior (FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25 and FIG. 4 and corresponding paragraphs: for example, as detailed in Col. 8, line 57 to Col. 9, line 3, an event response instruction for a response component may be “displaying a website associated with the location” and/or “displaying an app associated with the location (e.g. an app from the store, etc.)”. This event response instruction comprises an event of the user being at a predetermined address and a response component behavior of displaying certain content);
enabling a response component corresponding to the response component behavior to subscribe the event; wherein the response component is used for performing the response component behavior when the subscribed event is monitored (FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25 and FIG. 4 and corresponding paragraphs: for example, as detailed in Col. 8, line 57 to Col. 9, line 3, a response component may be monitoring a location 412 of the mobile device. A subscribed event occurs when the mobile device is at a certain location, triggering one or more actions, or a response component behavior. The response component behavior comprises a display behavior of “displaying a website associated with the location” and/or “displaying an app associated with the location (e.g. an app from the store, etc.)”).
Regarding claim 10, Gordon further teaches the method of claim 7, wherein
receiving the behavior selection instruction for the target element of the H5 page comprises receiving a target behavior code corresponding to the target component behavior (FIGS. 11-12 and Col. 42, line 4 to Col. 43, line 6: for example, a target component, such as that corresponding to “Email to Group” seen in interface 1112 of either FIG. 11 or FIG. 12, is bounded to the target interaction operation, such as the user’s selection of one or more photos. Target behavior code for emailing selected photos to a group is loaded. The target interaction operation on the target element, or at least one of the photos, is bound with a target component, such as that corresponding to “Email to Group” in advance due to the creation of an instruction as seen in FIG. 11 or 12. After the H5 page receives the target interaction operation/user’s selection of one or more photos, a target component/“Email to Group” corresponding to the target component behavior, or emailing selected photos to a group, is executed; FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: target behavior code for emailing is loaded);
binding the target component corresponding to the target component behavior to the target interaction operation comprises loading the target behavior code on the target component (FIGS. 11-12 and Col. 42, line 4 to Col. 43, line 6: for example, a target component, such as that corresponding to “Email to Group” seen in interface 1112 of either FIG. 11 or FIG. 12, is bounded to the target interaction operation, such as the user’s selection of one or more photos. Target behavior code for emailing selected photos to a group is loaded. The target interaction operation on the target element, or at least one of the photos, is bound with a target component, such as that corresponding to “Email to Group” in advance due to the creation of an instruction as seen in FIG. 11 or 12. After the H5 page receives the target interaction operation/user’s selection of one or more photos, a target component/“Email to Group” corresponding to the target component behavior, or emailing selected photos to a group, is executed; FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: target behavior code for emailing is loaded).
Regarding claim 11, Gordon further teaches the method of claim 7, wherein receiving the interaction selection instruction and the behavior selection instruction for the target element of the H5 page comprises:
receiving selection on a preset target interaction and a preset target component behavior (FIGS. 11-12 and Col. 42, line 4 to Col. 43, line 6: the interaction selection instruction, such as the user’s selection of one or more photos, is a preset target interaction. Likewise, the behavior selection instruction, such as for “Email to Group”, is a preset target component behavior; FIG. 3 and Col. 3, line 64 to Col. 5, line 25: see how the H5 page receives the target interaction operation, or generally one or more triggers, for execution of the target component behavior, or generally a response action).
Regarding claim 12, Gordon further teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising: defining a dynamic parameter through a template expression (FIG. 4 and corresponding paragraphs: for example, as detailed in Col. 7, lines 44-56, a dynamic parameter may be information associated with a caller. Depending on this information, a tailored response action would occur).
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites a device for H5 page interaction, comprising: one or more processors; a memory on which one or more computer programs are stored; and one or more I/O interfaces, connected between the one or more processors and the memory and configured to implement information interaction between the one or more processors and the memory, wherein when the one or more computer programs are executed by the one or more processors (FIG. 2 and Col. 3, lines 31-63), the method for H5 page interaction of claim 1 is capable of being implemented. Therefore, the instant claim is rejected under the same premise as claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites a device for editing an H5 page, comprising: one or more processors; a memory on which one or more computer programs are stored; and one or more I/O interfaces, connected between the one or more processors and the memory and configured to implement information interaction between the one or more processors and the memory, wherein when the one or more computer programs are executed by the one or more processors (FIG. 2 and Col. 3, lines 31-63), the method for editing an H5 page of claim 7 is capable of being implemented. Therefore, the instant claim is rejected under the same premise as claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites a non-transient computer readable medium having a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor (FIG. 2 and Col. 3, lines 31-63), the method for H5 page interaction of claim 1 is implemented. Therefore, the instant claim is rejected under the same premise as claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites a non-transient computer readable medium having a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor (FIG. 2 and Col. 3, lines 31-63), the method for editing an H5 page of claim 7 is implemented. Therefore, the instant claim is rejected under the same premise as claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites a device for H5 page interaction, comprising: one or more processors; a memory on which one or more computer programs are stored; and one or more I/O interfaces, connected between the one or more processors and the memory and configured to implement information interaction between the one or more processors and the memory, wherein when the one or more computer programs are executed by the one or more processors (FIG. 2 and Col. 3, lines 31-63), the method for H5 page interaction of claim 2 is capable of being implemented. Therefore, the instant claim is rejected under the same premise as claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites a device for H5 page interaction, comprising: one or more processors; a memory on which one or more computer programs are stored; and one or more I/O interfaces, connected between the one or more processors and the memory and configured to implement information interaction between the one or more processors and the memory, wherein when the one or more computer programs are executed by the one or more processors (FIG. 2 and Col. 3, lines 31-63), the method for H5 page interaction of claim 3 is capable of being implemented. Therefore, the instant claim is rejected under the same premise as claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites a device for H5 page interaction, comprising: one or more processors; a memory on which one or more computer programs are stored; and one or more I/O interfaces, connected between the one or more processors and the memory and configured to implement information interaction between the one or more processors and the memory, wherein when the one or more computer programs are executed by the one or more processors (FIG. 2 and Col. 3, lines 31-63), the method for H5 page interaction of claim 4 is capable of being implemented. Therefore, the instant claim is rejected under the same premise as claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites a device for H5 page interaction, comprising: one or more processors; a memory on which one or more computer programs are stored; and one or more I/O interfaces, connected between the one or more processors and the memory and configured to implement information interaction between the one or more processors and the memory, wherein when the one or more computer programs are executed by the one or more processors (FIG. 2 and Col. 3, lines 31-63), the method for H5 page interaction of claim 5 is capable of being implemented. Therefore, the instant claim is rejected under the same premise as claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks, Applicant argues:
Regarding amended claim 1,
“Although Gordon mentions that the application could be a browser application, Gordon does not specifically describe any relevant interactions and operations when the application is a browser application” (pp. 10-11 of Remarks). A browser application “is essentially different from the photo application defined in Gordon” (p. 11 of Remarks).
“That is, in Gordon, the ‘display prompt’ is triggered only after a series of selection operations within the photo application, which means that the ‘display prompt’ in Gordon corresponds to ‘multiple instructions’” (p. 5 of Remarks). In contrast, “the ‘target interaction operation on the target element’ is a single operation, which is essentially different from a series of instructions prompting display on the device defined in Gordon” (p. 12 of Remarks).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding point (a)(i), as a primary point, Gordon discloses that the application implemented throughout Gordon’s specification may be an online application (Col. 5, lines 26-39). Furthermore, as supported in Col. 38, lines 13-18, “Additionally, an application may be selected 904. In one embodiment, the application may include a photo management app, a camera, a calendar, a map, a weather app, a notes app, a reminders app, a settings app, a phone app, a mail app, a music app, a browser app, and/or any app which may be capable of being selected.” Thus, while the described example may reference a photo application, the app is merely nominal and exemplary in nature and the teachings apply to a broad range of apps, including a browser app. Because Gordon explicitly sets forth that the application may be a one of a variety of applications, any one of the application listed by Gordon, such as the browser app, can similarly implement the mapped teachings. As a secondary point, the Examiner notes that the page being “H5” may be considered nonfunctional descriptive material as a page being “H5” may qualify as printed matter with no functional relationship claimed with respect to the other limitations (See MPEP 2111.05). Incorporating additional details that give rise to a functional relationship between the H5 page and the rest of the limitations may make such a nonfunctional descriptive material become functional.
Regarding point (a)(ii), Applicant cites Col. 40, line 46 to Col. 41, line 6 of Gordon which was not relied upon for the teachings of claim 1. The portion which Applicant cites elucidates but one example and does not limit Gordon’s teachings to a single case in which the user must perform multiple consecutive selection operations to trigger a display prompt. Such a trigger condition is not a requirement and not especially relevant to the claim. In addition, how this “display prompt”, which Applicant emphasizes, relates to the claim language is unclear. In general, while the claim recites “each target interaction operation… is bound with each target component behavior”, this does not necessitate a one-to-one relationship between a target interaction operation and a target component behavior. For example, a first target interaction operation and a second target interaction operation may be bound to the same target component behavior. Even so, because the claim does not define a target interaction operation, such a target interaction operation may, itself, arbitrarily include individual sub-interactions, such as selection of multiple photos. The claim lacks details explaining the individual elements of a “target component”, “target interaction operation”, and “target component behavior” as well as details regarding the relationships between these elements that would preclude the teachings of Gordon.
In conclusion, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive. Amended independent claim 1, and similarly other independent claims, are properly under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gordon et al. (US 10440169 B1). The dependent claims accordingly are rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171