DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim (s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asakura et al. (US 7368664B2) hereinafter Asakura in view of Hofling (US 2018/0083404).
Regarding claim 1, Asakura discloses a composite electrical wire (Fig.1) comprising: a shielded electrical wire (11 and 12) that includes one insulated electrical wire (see 11) and a metallic shield (14) that covers an outer periphery of the insulated electrical wire (see 11); a lead wire (19); and a fixing member (43) that fixes the lead wire to the shielded electrical wire (12), wherein the metallic shield includes a covering part (see 16 in Fig.1) that covers an outer periphery of the shielded electrical wire (12), the lead wire (19) overlaps with the covering part ( folded part) and is electrically connected to the metallic shield (14), and the fixing member (18) presses the mutually-overlapping covering part and lead wire radially inward with respect to the shielded electrical wire (see Fig.1), and fixes the covering part and the lead wire to the shielded electrical wire (see Fig.1).
Asakura is silent with respect to the metal braid being a film like metal shield.
Hofling discloses a film like metal shield (22; Fig.1b; [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Hofling to modify the metal shield of Asakura in order to provide superior electrical magnetic field interference protection to an insulated wire.
Regarding claim 2, Asakura discloses wherein the lead wire includes an electrical wire part ( conductor 20) and a terminal (end of conductor 20) attached to a conductor of the electrical wire part, the terminal overlaps with the covering part ( 20 overlaps with 16) and is electrically connected to the metallic shield (14), and the fixing member (18) presses the mutually-overlapping covering part and terminal radially inward with respect to the shielded electrical wire, and fixes the covering part and the terminal to the shielded electrical wire (see Fig.1).
Regarding claim 3, Asakura discloses a cylindrical member (17) that covers the outer periphery of the shielded electrical wire (12) and is attached to the outer periphery of the shielded electrical wire (see Fig.1), wherein the fixing member (18) sandwiches the covering part (16) and the lead wire (20) between the fixing member (18) and the cylindrical member (17) and fixes the covering part and the lead wire to the shielded electrical wire (see Fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, Asakura discloses wherein the shielded electrical wire further includes an insulating sheath (15) that covers an outer periphery of the metallic shield (14), the metallic shield has an inside part that is covered with the sheath and a folded- back part (16) that is connected to the inside part, the folded-back part forms the covering part by sandwiching the sheath between the folded-back part and the inside part and covering an outer periphery of the sheath ( see part 15 between 16 and 14), the lead wire overlaps with the folded-back part and is electrically connected to the metallic shield (see Fig.1), and the fixing member presses the mutually-overlapping folded-back part and lead wire radially inward with respect to the shielded electrical wire, and fixes the folded-back part and the lead wire to the shielded electrical wire (see Fig.1).
Regarding claim 5, Asakura discloses wherein the shielded electrical wire further includes an insulating sheath (15) that covers an outer periphery of the metallic shield (14), the cylindrical member (17) covers an outer periphery of the sheath, the metallic shield has an inside part (14) that is covered with the sheath and a folded- back part (16) that is connected to the inside part, the folded-back part forms the covering part by sandwiching the sheath (15) and the cylindrical member (17) between the folded-back part (16) and the inside part (14) and covering the outer periphery of the sheath, the lead wire (20) overlaps with the folded-back part and is electrically connected to the metallic shield (14), and the fixing member (18) sandwiches the mutually-overlapping folded-back part and lead wire between the fixing member and the cylindrical member and fixes the folded- back part and the lead wire to the shielded electrical wire (see Fig.1).
Regarding claim 6, Asakura discloses the fixing member is formed as a ring-shaped swaging member (see 18 in Fig.1-2; 18 is swagged onto the wire).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETE LEE whose telephone number is (571) 270-5921. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (2nd & 4th Friday Off). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at (571) 272-2229 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/PETE T LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848