Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 8-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220083299 to Sakai in view of US 20220417372 to Yoshida.
!!!under AIA foreign priority date of reference US 20220417372 to Yoshida is 6/25/2021 which is the effectively filing date of the reference !!!
Regarding claim 1, Sakai discloses an image processing device (paragraph 32 MFP 100), comprising:
an operation panel configured to display a main screen and a sub-screen (paragraph 32, 34, 41, 55; display section (operation panel) displays main screen 200 and setting screen 300 (sub-screen)),
the main screen including a menu region in which multiple function buttons corresponding to types of image processing are arranged(paragraph 42-44, 55; copy button 201, FAX button 202… function buttons are arranged on main screen as image processing types), and
the sub-screen configured to be transitioned to from the main screen after one of the function buttons is selected (paragraph 55; when copy button 201 is selected it switches to setting screen 300 (sub-screen)) and including a reception region configured to accept an instruction for image processing related to the selected one of the function buttons (paragraph 56-57; it includes a reception region that accept instruction for setting color 301, size 302, .. for image processing related to copy function selection via button 201), wherein
the operation panel is configured to display (paragraph 32, 34, 41, 55; display section (operation panel) displays),
in the sub-screen, a first history display region alongside the reception region (paragraph 56; history display region 210 on sub-screen 300 next to reception region having color 301, size 302), the first history display region displaying multiple first history buttons including information on image processing completed previously specifically for image processing corresponding to the selected one of the function buttons (paragraph 61, 75; history region 210 includes multiple history item buttons 211c-e that can be selected associated with past completed copy (image processing) job that was selected function; each history item includes setting information associated with that past completed job), and
in the main screen, a second history display region displaying multiple second history buttons (paragraph 42, 46, 47, 50; main screen 200 includes second history display region 210 (second history display region) displayed next to menu region having second history buttons 201-204).
However Sakai does not disclose a number of pieces of information displayed on the multiple first history buttons displayed in the first history display region is smaller than a number of pieces of information displayed on the multiple second history buttons displayed in the second history display region.
Yoshida discloses a number of pieces of information displayed on the multiple first history buttons displayed in the first history display region is smaller than a number of pieces of information displayed on the multiple second history buttons displayed in the second history display region (paragraph 74-75, 145; Fig. 6b display multiple second history buttons for all the functions that display piece of information such as “easy copy”, “copy” in second history display regions in the scrollable area SB10; Fig. 13c displays first history buttons that display only ONE number of pieces of information such as “COPY” jobs when user selects “NARROW DOWN” by “COPY” jobs; in Fig. 13c first history display region is scrollable area; when user narrows by “COPY” jobs the number of piece information displayed is only one word “COPY” while in the second history buttons the number of pieces of information includes two words “EASY COPY” which has more information than “COPY”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Sakai as taught by Yoshida to provide selectable display of first history buttons.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide options for user to display specific history of jobs or to display all jobs under the selected function when there is multiple sub-categories of job history for the selected function (paragraph 74-75, 145).
Regarding claim 2, Sakai discloses the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein in the main screen, the second history display region is displayed alongside the menu region, the second history display region configured to display the multiple second history buttons including information on image processing completed previously specifically for multiple types of image processing corresponding to the function buttons in the menu region(paragraph 42, 46, 47, 50; main screen 200 includes history display region 210 (second history display region) displayed next to menu region having second history buttons 201-2024; the history display region 210 displays multiple history items 211a (selectable buttons) associates with different types of image processing such as FAX, PRINTING, COPY associated with buttons 201-204 for job completed in past).
Regarding claim 13, Sakai discloses the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the types of image processing include at least copying, scanning, and
Faxing (paragraph 44; copy 201, FAX 202, SCAN 203).
Claim(s) 3, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220083299 to Sakai in view of US 20220417372 to Yoshida in view of US 20200296238 to Nishiyama.
Regarding claim 3, Sakai does not disclose the image processing device according to claim 1, further comprising:
an authentication management unit configured to grant each user authorization for image processing based on results of user authentication,
wherein only the multiple first history buttons related to image processing previously completed by a user granted authorization by the authentication management unit are displayed in the first history display region.
Nishiyama discloses an authentication management unit configured to grant each user authorization for image processing based on results of user authentication (paragraph 40-43; user logs in in s302 and authentication is granted to the user for performing copy/scan (image processing) as shown in Fig. 5a if authentication is OK in s304),
wherein only the multiple first history buttons related to image processing previously completed by a user granted authorization by the authentication management unit are displayed in the first history display region (paragraph 52-54; in integrated history group 512 (first history region) only first history buttons associated copy/scan/fax processing completed in past associated with logged in user is displayed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Sakai as taught by Nishiyama to provide authentication when displaying history buttons.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide secure system wherein unauthorized users cannot view history buttons of other users without being authenticated and also provide convenience to authenticated users to view only their own history (paragraph 52-54).
Regarding claim 11, Sakai discloses the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein information on image processing displayed on the multiple first history buttons and the multiple second history buttons includes text or a symbol image related to at least one selected from a group consisting of type of image processing, user name
(see Fig. 2 showing second history buttons 211a-c; see Fig. 3 showing first history buttons 211c-e; See Fig. 3 having text “COPY” in the button 211c related to copy image processing; see Fig. 5 showing “WiFi Printing” processing having user name such as “Mr. A”; paragraph 47, 61).
However Sakai does not disclose wherein information on image processing displayed on the history buttons includes text or a symbol image related to at least one selected from a group consisting of processing conditions, date and time of processing, and communication destination.
Nishiyama discloses wherein information on image processing displayed on the history buttons includes text or a symbol image related to at least one selected from a group consisting of processing conditions, date and time of processing, and communication destination (paragraph 50, 76, 111; see Fig. 5b showing for history button for “SEND TO MYSELF” having symbol on the integrated history which includes “A4, B&W” as processing condition, date and time and destination “isasaka”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Sakai as taught by Nishiyama to provide display of history buttons information.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide additional information on the history button that will help user select the right history by displaying processing condition, date, destination information so that they select the history that matches the desired settings from the history (paragraph 50, 76, 111).
Regarding claim 12, Nishiyama discloses the image processing device according to claim 11, wherein the processing conditions include at least one from among image quality and page layout (see Fig. 5b wherein processing condition include “COLOR”/B/W and 2-sided/1-sided (layout); paragraph 47).
Claim(s) 4, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220083299 to Sakai in view of US 20220417372 to Yoshida in view of JP 2019119139 to Sumi further in view of US 11132104 to Singh.
Regarding claim 4, Sakai discloses the image processing device according to claim 2, wherein, among the multiple first history buttons and the multiple second history buttons, a history button selected through an operation performed by a user (paragraph 61, 75, 78; items 211 (first/second history buttons) can be selected by user operation).
However Sakai does not disclose wherein, among the multiple history buttons, a history button selected through an operation performed by a user can be set to be fixedly displayed, and when, among the multiple history buttons, a specific history button is set to be fixedly displayed on one screen from among the main screen and the sub-screen.
Sumi discloses wherein, among the multiple history buttons, a history button selected through an operation performed by a user can be set to be fixedly displayed, and when, among the multiple history buttons, a specific history button is set to be fixedly displayed on one screen from among the main screen and the sub-screen(paragraph 26, 29, 31; among history buttons one button can be pinned (fixed display) by user having mark 111 on the main screen 50 shown in Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Sakai as taught by Sumi to provide fixed display of history buttons as selected by user.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide priority display of pinned history items on the top of the screen so that they are easy to find by the user when selecting history buttons (paragraph 26, 29).
Sumi discloses history button, main screen and sub-screen (paragraph 17; home screen 50 and setting screen 60 (Sub-screen)). However Sumi does not disclose a corresponding button is automatically fixedly displayed on another screen.
Singh discloses a corresponding button is automatically fixedly displayed on another screen (see Fig. 10c wherein pinned item 1025 remains fixed on another screen of Fig. 10d; column 28, lines 56-67; column 29, lines 1-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Sakai in view of Sumi as taught by Singh to provide fixed display of items when switching screens.
The motivation to combine the references is to cause the pinned items (fixed display) to stay on the screen even when switched to another screen such that the pinned items can be used again on another application screen (column 29, lines 1-27).
Regarding claim 9, Sumi discloses the image processing device according to claim 4, wherein when a history button is fixedly displayed, information indicating that
the history button is fixedly displayed is displayed in the history button (paragraph 26, 29, 31; among history buttons one button can be pinned (fixed display) having mark 111 (information indicating) inside button 55).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220083299 to Sakai in view of US 20220417372 to Yoshida in view of JP 2019119139 to Sumi further in view of US 11132104 to Singh in view of Matter of Design Choice.
Regarding claim 8, Sakai discloses the image processing device according to claim 4, the multiple first history buttons and the multiple second history buttons (paragraph 61, 75, 78; items 211a-e (first/second history buttons) on main screen 200 and sub-screen 300). Further Sumi discloses the image processing device according to claim 4, a history button, among the history buttons, that is set to be fixedly displayed is disposed (paragraph 26, 29, 31; among history buttons one button can be pinned (fixed display) by user with a mark 111 on the main screen 50 shown in Fig. 12; history buttons are disposed in top of the column). Further Singh disclose the button that is set to be fixedly displayed is disposed at a beginning or an end of the row (column 28, lines 47-67; in Fig. 10c there are multiple buttons 1025, 1035 that are pinned (fixedly displayed) in a beginning of row (pin 1025) and end of row (pin 1035)). However Sumi in view of Singh does not disclose wherein the multiple history buttons are displayed in a row.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to display the history button in a row instead of column, the purpose of doing so is to provide more space to display function buttons and other buttons in the main area by displaying the history buttons on top row of screen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to display the multiple history buttons in a row so that the main area will have more space to display more function buttons.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220083299 to Sakai in view of US 20220417372 to Yoshida in view of US 20130326393 to Namioka.
Regarding claim 10. Sakai discloses the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein when the sub-screen is related to communication (paragraph 63; setting screen 400 sub-screen related to FAX).
However Sakai does not disclose when access information for accessing a specific communication partner is entered in the sub-screen, only first history buttons, among the multiple first history buttons, that are specifically for the specific communication partner are displayed in the first history display region.
Namioka discloses when access information for accessing a specific communication partner is entered in the sub-screen, only first history buttons, among the multiple first history buttons, that are specifically for the specific communication partner are displayed in the first history display region (paragraph 65-68, 71-73; user inputs destination “a” (access info) on email input screen (sub-screen) and this destination is searched in history 21 and only first history having this destination “a” is displayed in Fig. 6b with first button CB12; Fig. 6b shows first history display region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Sakai as taught by Namioka to provide display of history buttons matched with entered information.
The motivation to combine the references is to simplify the inputting of destination address when there is a lot of destination address group to choose from by letting the user to input desired destination information and provide display of history including destination information associated with inputted destination for selection (paragraph 4-7).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220083299 to Sakai in view of US 20220417372 to Yoshida further in view of US 20090190169 to Toyamasaki.
Regarding claim 14, Sakai does not disclose the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, in response to one of the function buttons being selected, the operation panel is configured to not display, in the multiple first history buttons displayed in the first history display region, information indicating a type of image processing corresponding to the selected one of the function buttons.
Toyamasaki discloses wherein, in response to one of the function buttons being selected, the operation panel is configured to not display, in the multiple first history buttons displayed in the first history display region, information indicating a type of image processing corresponding to the selected one of the function buttons (paragraph 54, 56-57; user can select any one of function buttons 507-509 resulting in functional screen for that function being displayed; paragraph 64; when user continues selected function “COPY” operation (YES in s106), it displays in Fig. 6a-b list of first history buttons for COPY jobs which do not include information associated with the “COPY” function in the buttons ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Sakai as taught by Toyamasaki to provide specific display of information on history buttons.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide security of stored history information by deleting history information when user stops executing the jobs such that other users cannot access it and it also provides a simplified history buttons with minimized pieces of information on the screen thereby reducing amount of space needed to display these history buttons (see Fig. 6B; paragraph 20, 69).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With regards to independent claim 15, the closest prior art of US 20220083299 to Sakai discloses an image processing device comprising (paragraph 32 MFP 100):
an operation panel configured to be capable of displaying a main screen and a
sub-screen (paragraph 32, 34, 41, 55; display section (operation panel) displays main screen 200 and setting screen 300 (sub-screen)), the main screen including a menu region in which multiple function buttons corresponding to types of image processing are arranged (paragraph 42-44, 55; copy button 201, FAX button 202… function buttons are arranged on main screen as image processing types) and the sub-screen configured to be transitioned to from the main screen after one of the function buttons is selected (paragraph 55; when copy button 201 is selected it switches to setting screen 300 (sub-screen)) and including a reception region configured to accept an instruction for image processing related to the selected function button (Paragraph 56-57; it includes a reception region that accept instruction for setting color 301, size 302, .. for image processing related to copy function selection via button 201),
wherein in the sub-screen, a first history display region is displayed alongside the
reception region (paragraph 56; history display region 210 on sub-screen 300 next to reception region having color 301, size 302) , the first history display region configured to display multiple history buttons including information on image processing completed previously specifically for image processing corresponding to the selected function button (paragraph 61, 75; history region 210 includes multiple history item buttons 211c-e that can be selected associated with past completed copy (image processing) job that was selected function; each history item includes setting information associated with that past completed job);
wherein in the main screen, a second history display region is displayed alongside
the menu region, the second history display region configured to display multiple history buttons including information on image processing completed previously specifically for multiple types of image processing corresponding to the function buttons in the menu region (paragraph 42, 46, 47, 50; main screen 200 includes history display region 210 (second history display region) displayed next to menu region having buttons 201-2024; the history display region 210 displays multiple history items 211a (selectable buttons) associates with different types of image processing such as FAX, PRINTING, COPY associated with buttons 201-204 for job completed in past).
JP 2019119139 to Sumi discloses wherein, among the history buttons, a history button selected through an operation performed by the user can be set to be fixedly displayed, and when, among the history buttons, a specific history button is set to be fixedly displayed on one screen from among the main screen and the sub-screen (paragraph 26, 29, 31; among history buttons one button can be pinned (fixed display) by user having mark 111 on the main screen 50 shown in Fig. 12).
US 11132104 to Singh discloses a corresponding button is automatically fixedly displayed on another screen (see Fig. 10c wherein pinned item 1025 remains fixed on another screen of Fig. 10d; column 28, lines 56-67; column 29, lines 1-16).
In addition to the teachings of the claim 15 as a whole, the closest prior art of record failed to teach or suggest,
“when one of the function buttons is selected and a first sub-screen of the plurality of sub- screens is transitioned to, if image processing corresponding to the first sub-screen is different from image processing corresponding to a history button, among the multiple first history buttons and the multiple second history buttons, set to be fixedly displayed, the history button set to be fixedly displayed is not displayed on the first sub-screen”
Therefore, claims 16-17 are allowable for depending on claim 15 respectively.
Other Prior Art Cited
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210329136 to Hirobe discloses displaying of job histories for multiple functions.
US 20100007916 to Ikeda discloses displaying history buttons for selected function.
US 20140240727 to Imai discloses display of image attributes for printing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the customer service office whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600. The group receptionist number for TC 2600 is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see <http://pair-direct.uspto.gov/>. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Patent Examiner
Beniyam Menberu
/BENIYAM MENBERU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
08/17/2026