Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2009097812 A1 (JP ‘812).
With respect to claim 1, JP ‘812 shows a box device, comprising: a box body (2, FIg.1), internally defining an accommodating space with an opening (21); a door body (31), configured to block the opening; and a hinge assembly (4A, Fig.1), disposed on a pivoting side of the box body and pivotally connecting the box body (2) to the door body (31); wherein the hinge assembly (4A) comprises a first connecting member (5, Fig.3) and a second connecting member (6), the first connecting member (5) is disposed on the box body (2), and the second connecting member (6) is disposed on the door body (31); the first connecting member (5) is at least provided with a first sliding shaft (53, FIg.3) and a second sliding shaft (52), and the second connecting member (6) is at least provided with a first sliding rail (63, FIg.3) and a second sliding rail (62); the first sliding shaft (53) is connected to the first sliding rail (63, Fig.6a-d) and is able to move along the first sliding rail, and the second sliding shaft (52, FIg.6) is connected to the second sliding rail (62) and is able to move along the second sliding rail; and wherein the first sliding rail (63) extends along a first reference ellipse (see annotation below, solid ellipse), and the second sliding rail (62) extends along a second reference ellipse (see annotation below, dotted ellipse); when the door body (31) blocks the opening, a part of the first sliding rail (63) away from the box body and a part of the second sliding rail (62) away from the box body are away from the pivoting side (Fig.6a), so that the door body (31) moves towards a target side (Fig.6c and 6d) of the box body during a process from blocking the opening by the door body (Fig.6a) to opening the door body relative to the box body (Fig.6c, Fig.6d); and the opening comprises two opposite sides, the pivoting side is disposed on one of the two opposite sides, and the target side is disposed on the other of the two opposite sides (Fig.1); and wherein the first reference ellipse intersects with the second reference ellipse (see annotation below).
With respect to claim 2, wherein a center of the first reference ellipse coincides with a center of the second reference ellipse (see annotated figure 6a above).
With respect to claim 3, wherein the first sliding shaft (53, FIg.6a) is away from the opening relative to the center of the first reference ellipse (see annotated figure above), and the second sliding shaft (52) is away from the opening relative to the center of the second reference ellipse when the door body blocks the opening (see figure above).
With respect to claim 4, wherein the first sliding rail (63) bends along a direction (at 63, Fig.6a) close to the box body when the door body blocks the opening (Fig.6a).
With respect to claim 5, wherein the first sliding rail (63) bends along a direction away from the box body (2) when the door body (31) blocks the opening (see middle section of the rail 63 in figure 6a).
With respect to claim 6, wherein the first sliding rail (63) extends along a direction close to the pivoting side and a direction close to the box body when the door body blocks the opening (Fig.6a).
With respect to claim 7, wherein the second sliding rail (62) bends along a direction close to the box body (at one end) when the door body blocks the opening (Fig.6a).
With respect to claim 8, wherein the second sliding rail (62) bends along a direction (other end) away from the box body when the door body blocks the opening (Fig.6a).
With respect to claim 9, wherein the second sliding rail (62) extends along a direction close to the pivoting side (Fig.6a) and a direction close to the box body when the door body blocks the opening (Fig.6a).
With respect to claim 10, wherein the first sliding rail (63) where the first sliding shaft (53) is located has a first tangent (see annotation below), the second sliding rail (62) where the second sliding shaft (52) is located has a second tangent (see annotation below), and an included angle between the first tangent and the second tangent is greater than 10 degrees.
With respect to claim 11, wherein the first sliding rail (63) intersects with a major axis (horizontal solid line, see annotated figure below) of the first reference ellipse at a first inflection point (see annotated figure below), and the second sliding rail (62) intersects with a major axis (see vertical line) of the second reference ellipse at a second inflection point (see annotation below).
With respect to claim 12, wherein the first sliding rail (63) has a first target point ( see annotated figure below), the first target point is located on a side of a minor axis of the first reference ellipse facing the first inflection point, and an angle between the major axis of the first reference ellipse and a connecting line between the first target point and the first inflection point is greater than 10 degrees (see angle between the connecting line and the major axis of the first ellipse below); the second sliding rail (62) has a second target point (see annotated figure below in Fig.6a Part2), the second target point is located on a side of a minor axis (see horizontal line in FIg.6a Part2) of the second reference ellipse facing the second inflection point, and an angle between the major axis of the second reference ellipse and a connecting line (see second connecting line below) between the second target point and the second inflection point is greater than 10°.
With respect to claim 13, wherein the second connecting member (6) defines a reference circle (see outer circle below), and a center of the first reference ellipse and a center of the second reference ellipse coincide with a center of the reference circle (see annotation below).
With respect to claim 14, wherein an end surface of the door body (31) facing the hinge assembly comprises an inner edge (see annotation above) and an outer edge (see annotation above), the inner edge and the outer edge are disposed at intervals along a first direction (X direction, see annotation above) and extend along a second direction (Y direction, see annotation above), the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, and the inner edge is close to the box body (2) relative to the outer edge when the door body blocks the opening (FIg.6a, see annotation above).
With respect to claim 15, wherein the end surface of the door body (31) facing the hinge assembly further comprises a side edge (see annotation above), the inner edge is connected to the outer edge by the side edge, and the side edge extends along the first direction (X direction, see annotation above).
With respect to claim 19, wherein a radius of the reference circle is defined as R, a length of the side edge in the first direction is defined as D, a distance from the center of the reference circle to the outer edge is defined as W, and R<W<D (see annotation above).
3. Claims 1, 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2003/0132689 A1 (Shin).
With respect to claim 1, Shin shows a box device comprising: a box body (10, Fig.2), internally defining an accommodating space (10a, Fig.3) with an opening; a door body (20), configured to block the opening; and a hinge assembly (30, FIg.2), disposed on a pivoting side of the box body (10) and pivotally connecting the box body (10) to the door body (20); wherein the hinge assembly (30) comprises a first connecting member (top trim of door at 20a) and a second connecting member (31), the first connecting member is disposed on the door body (20), and the second connecting member (31) is disposed on the box body (10); the first connecting member is at least provided with a first sliding shaft (35c) and a second sliding shaft (35b, Fig.2), and the second connecting member (31) is at least provided with a first sliding rail (31c) and a second sliding rail (31b); the first sliding shaft (35c) is connected to the first sliding rail (31c) and is able to move along the first sliding rail (Fig.3-Fig.6), and the second sliding shaft (35b, Fig.2) is connected to the second sliding rail (31b, Fig.2) and is able to move along the second sliding rail; and wherein the first sliding rail (31c) extends along a first reference ellipse (see annotation below), and the second sliding rail (31b) extends along a second reference ellipse (see annotation below); when the door body (20) blocks the opening, a part of the first sliding rail (31c) away from the box body (10, Fig.4) and a part of the second sliding rail (31b) away from the box body are away from the pivoting side (Fig.4), so that the door body (20) moves towards a target side of the box body (Fig.5-Fig.6, side edge of the door moves towards the opposite side/target side of the box body) during a process from blocking the opening by the door body (Fig.4) to opening the door body (Fig.5, Fig.6) relative to the box body; and the opening comprises two opposite sides (Fig.3), the pivoting side (at 30, Fig.3) is disposed on one of the two opposite sides, and the target side (opposite side of box body) is disposed on the other of the two opposite sides; wherein the first reference ellipse intersects with the second reference ellipse (see annotated figure below).
With respect to claim 4, Shin shows wherein the first sliding rail (31c) bends along a direction close to the box body (at “C” in Figure 4) when the door body blocks the opening.
With respect to claim 5, Shin shows wherein the first sliding rail (31c) bends along a direction away from the box body (at 31c in Figure 4) when the door body blocks the opening.
With respect to claim 6, Shin shows wherein the first sliding rail (31c, Fig.4) extends along a direction close to the pivoting side (at “C”) and a direction close to the box body (10) when the door body blocks the opening (Fig.4).
With respect to claim 7, Shin shows wherein the second sliding rail (31b, Fig.4) bends along a direction (at “B”) close to the box body (10) when the door body (20) blocks the opening.
With respect to claim 8, Shin shows wherein the second sliding rail (31b, Fig.4) bends along a direction (at 31b in FIg.4) away from the box body (10) when the door body (20) blocks the opening.
With respect to claim 9, Shin shows wherein the second sliding rail (31b) extends along a direction close to the pivoting side (at “B”, Fig.4) and a direction close to the box body when the door body (20) blocks the opening (Fig.4).
With respect to claim 10, Shin wherein the first sliding rail (31c) where the first sliding shaft (35c) is located has a first tangent (see dotted line for 31c in the annotation below), the second sliding rail (31b) where the second sliding shaft (35b) is located has a second tangent (see dotted line for 31b at 35b in annotation below), and an included angle between the first tangent and the second tangent is greater than 10 degrees (see figure below).
With respect to claim 11, Shin shows wherein the first sliding rail (31c) intersects with a major axis of the first reference ellipse at a first inflection point (see annotation below), and the second sliding rail (31b) intersects with a major axis of the second reference ellipse at a second inflection point (see annotation below).
With respect to claim 12, Shin shows wherein the first sliding rail (31c) has a first target point (see annotation above), the first target point is located on a side of a minor axis (see horizontal dotted lines) of the first reference ellipse facing the first inflection point (see annotation above), and an angle between the major axis (vertical axis in dotted lines) of the first reference ellipse and a connecting line (see annotation above) between the first target point and the first inflection point is greater than 10 degrees (see annotation above); the second sliding rail (31b) has a second target point (see annotation above), the second target point (see annotation above) is located on a side of a minor axis (see figure above) of the second reference ellipse facing the second inflection point (see figure above), and an angle between the major axis of the second reference ellipse and a connecting line (labeled second connecting line) between the second target point and the second inflection point is greater than 10° (see annotation above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 16-18, 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2009097812 A1 (JP ‘812) alone.
With respect to claim 16, JP ‘812 shows wherein the side edge is perpendicular to the plane where the opening is located (see annotate figure above), a radius of the reference circle is defined as R, a distance from the center of the reference circle to the side edge is defined as N. JP ‘812 doesn’t explicitly teach R<N<100 mm. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to make the radius ( R) less than or equal to N and N less than or equal to 100 mm, in order to construct a hinge with sliding rails and shafts at a desired distance from the side edge of the door to allow the door to rotate at a desirable distance and angle and since such a modification would involve a mere change in size which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 17, JP ‘812 teaches wherein a radius of the reference circle is defined as R, a length of the side edge in the first direction is defined as D, a distance from the center of the reference circle to the outer edge is defined as W, but doesn’t explicitly teach R<W< (1/2) D. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to make R<W<(1/2)D, in order to provide a hinge with slide rails and shafts at a desirable distance from the side edge and outer edge of the door to allow the door to rotate at a desirable distance and angle and since such a modification would involve a mere change in size which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 18, JP ‘812 teaches wherein side edge is perpendicular to the plane where the opening is located (see figure above), a distance from the center of the reference circle to the side edge is defined as N but doesn’t explicitly teach 15 mm<N<100 mm. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to make the distance (N) from the center of the reference circle to the side edge 15 mm<N<100 mm, in order to provide a hinge a desirable distance from the side edge of the door to allow the door to rotate at a desirable distance and angle and since such a modification would involve a mere change in size which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 20, JP ‘812 shows a length of the door body in the first direction is defined as H; a length of the door body in the second direction is defined as L; a radius of the reference circle is defined as R; and a minimum distance from the reference circle to the outer edge is defined as M. With respect to claim 20, JP ‘812 doesn’t disclose 35 mm<H<100 mm, 300 mm<L<700 mm, R=(1/3)H, and 0 mm<M<15 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make 35 mm<H<100 mm, 300 mm<L<700 mm, R=(1/3)H, and 0 mm<M<15 mm, in order to provide a desirable door body size and hinge at a desirable distance from the edges of the door body to allow the door to rotate at a desirable distance and angle and since such a modification would involve a mere change in size which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 21, JP ‘812 shows wherein the second connecting member (6, FIg.6a) defines a first reference line (see annotated figure below), a second reference line (see annotated figure below), a first coordinate axis X (see annotated figure below), a second coordinate axis Y (see annotated figure below), the first reference ellipse (see annotated figure below), and the second reference ellipse (see annotated figure below); the reference circle (see annotated figure below), the first reference line (see annotated figure below), the first reference ellipse (see annotated figure below), and the second reference ellipse (see annotated figure below) are coplanar (see figure below); the center of the reference circle is located on the first reference line (see annotated figure below); when the door body (31) blocks the opening (Fig.6a), the first reference line is perpendicular to a plane where the opening is located (see figure below); the second reference line is coplanar with the first reference line and intersects with the first reference line on the center of the reference circle (see figure below); the second reference line is a connecting line between the first sliding shaft (53) and the center of the reference circle (see figure below); an origin of a coordinate system defined by the first coordinate axis X and the second coordinate axis Y is the center of the reference circle; when the door body (31) blocks the opening, the first coordinate axis X is parallel to the plane where the opening is located (see figure below), and the second coordinate axis Y is perpendicular to the plane where the opening is located (see figure below).
JP ‘812 doesn’t disclose an arbitrary point (x1, y1) of the first reference ellipse in the coordinate system satisfies the following relationship:x1=M1/sin(θ)*cos(90°-a'- θ)-R*sin(a'), y1=M1/sin(θ)*sin(90°-a'- θ),x1 is a coordinate value of the arbitrary point on the first coordinate axis X, y1 is a coordinate value of the arbitrary point on the second coordinate axis Y, and M1 is a coordinate absolute value of a starting point of the first sliding shaft on the first coordinate axis X, a' is an opening angle of the door body relative to the box body, R is a radius of the reference circle, and θ is an angle between the first reference line and the second reference line. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make an arbitrary point (x1,y1) of the first reference ellipse have the relationship of x1=M1/sin(θ)*cos(90°-a'- θ)-R*sin(a'), y1=M1/sin(θ)*sin(90°-a'- θ) since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to claim 22, modified JP ‘812 shows wherein the second connecting member further defines a third reference line (see annotated figure above); the third reference line is coplanar with the first reference line and intersects with the first reference line on the center of the reference circle (see figure above); the third reference line is a connecting line between the second sliding shaft (52) and the center of the reference circle. JP ‘812 does not teach an arbitrary point (x2, y2) of the second reference ellipse in the coordinate system satisfies the following relationship:x2=M2/sin(θ2)*cos(90°+a'- θ2)+R*sin(a'), y2=-M2/sin(θ2)*sin(90°+a'- θ2), x2 is a coordinate value of the arbitrary point on the first coordinate axis X, y2 is a coordinate value of the arbitrary point on the second coordinate axis Y, and M2 is a coordinate absolute value of a starting point of the second sliding shaft on the first coordinate axis X, and θ2 is an angle between the first reference line and the third reference line. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make an arbitrary point (x2,y2) of the second reference ellipse have the relationship of x2=M2/sin(θ2)*cos(90°+a'- θ2)+R*sin(a'), y2=-M2/sin(θ2)*sin(90°+a'- θ2), since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to claim 23, modified JP ‘812 shows wherein the second connecting member further defines a third reference line (see annotated figure above); the third reference line is coplanar with the first reference line and intersects with the first reference line on the center of the reference circle (see figure above); the third reference line is a connecting line between the second sliding shaft (52) and the center of the reference circle. JP ‘812 does not teach an arbitrary point (x2, y2) of the second reference ellipse in the coordinate system satisfies the following relationship:x2=M2/sin(θ2)*cos(90°-a'- θ2)-R*sin(a'), y2=M2/sin(θ2)*sin(90°-a'- θ2), x2 is a coordinate value of the arbitrary point on the first coordinate axis X, y2 is a coordinate value of the arbitrary point on the second coordinate axis Y, and M2 is a coordinate absolute value of a starting point of the second sliding shaft on the first coordinate axis X, and θ2 is an angle between the first reference line and the third reference line. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make an arbitrary point (x2,y2) of the second reference ellipse have the relationship of x2=M2/sin(θ2)*cos(90°+a'- θ2)+R*sin(a'), y2=-M2/sin(θ2)*sin(90°- a'- θ2), since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that JP ‘812 and Shin do not mention a first reference ellipse intersecting with the second reference ellipse. The examiner has drawn different types of ellipse that intersect each other for the amended claims. The examiner notes that the ellipse, reference lines, reference circle, tangent point, inflection point are ALL imaginary lines and points that can be made on a curve of the slide rail/connecting member and are not the actual features that make up the hinge of the refrigerator/box device and thus there are infinite number of ellipses and lines and points that can be made on the curve of the slide rails of JP ‘812 and Shin to meet the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIWOT E TEFERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3637