DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8-9, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kieser (EP 1786618 B1).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 8-9, 11, and 14, Kieser discloses a sheet material formed with a partial depth cut in the form of an open loop and container made therefrom comprising a laminated packaging sheet material which is folded to form said container, the sheet material comprising a cut (4) extending partway through the sheet material (see Figures 1-2) from an outside surface thereof, along which cut the sheet material is configured to be broken along the cut during a first opening of the container revealing an opening in the container the sheet material comprising as layers of a layer sequence, in a direction from an external side to an internal side of the sheet material, a paperboard layer (1b), a polymeric intermediate layer (1c) and a polymeric barrier layer (1e; see Fig. 4) wherein the polymeric intermediate layer, is made of a material comprising LDPE, LLDPE, mLLDPE, MDPE, HDPE, PP or any blend thereof (see Par. 0003 and 0011).
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (EP 3323748 A1; hereinafter Sasaki).
Regarding claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, and 12-14, Sasaki discloses a packaging container comprising a laminated packaging sheet material which is folded to form said container, the sheet material comprising a cut (207a-b; see Fig. 4) extending partway through the sheet material (see Figures 1-4) from an outside surface thereof, along which cut the sheet material is configured to be broken along the cut during a first opening of the container revealing an opening in the container the sheet material comprising as layers of a layer sequence, in a direction from an external side to an internal side of the sheet material, a paperboard layer (202), a polymeric intermediate layer (203) and a polymeric barrier layer (204; see Fig. 4) wherein the polymeric intermediate layer, is made of a material comprising LDPE, LLDPE, mLLDPE, MDPE, HDPE, PP or any blend thereof (see Par. 0033).
Regarding claim 6, Sasaki discloses a container wherein the cut extends into the sheet material at least partly through the paperboard layer, and at most partly into the polymeric intermediate layer (see Fig. 4). Examiner notes that cut portion 207b is in the polymeric layer and cut portion 207a is in the paperboard layer.
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki discloses a container wherein the sheet material further comprises a vacuum deposited layer between the polymeric barrier layer and the polymeric intermediate layer (see Par. 0065 and 0071).
Regarding claim 11, Sasaki discloses a container wherein the polymeric barrier layer is made of EVOH (see Par. 0035).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach a polymeric intermediate layer made of a material comprising LDPE, LLDPE, mLLDPE, MDPE, HDPE, PP, or any blend thereof.
-Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Kieser teaches that it is well known to use LDPE as a barrier layer in a composite laminated packaging sheet material (Kieser; Par. 0003 and 0011). Examiner notes that Sasaki (EP 3323748 A1) is also relied upon to teach this limitation and Applicant seems to have acquiesced this rejection by not addressing the rejection of claims in view of Sasaki.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734