DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 depends upon itself. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the moisture barrier" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; therefore, the metes and bounds of the limitation are not readily understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-10, and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toft et al. (US 2011/0143070 A1; hereinafter Toft).
Regarding claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 12, 14, and 17, Toft discloses a thermos-mechanically stable, heat sealable film, a barrier coated such film, a packaging laminate comprising the film, and a packaging container formed from the packaging laminate, the laminate comprising a cut extending partway through the sheet material from an outside surface thereof, along which cut the sheet material is configured to be broken along the cut during a first opening (53; see Par. 0082; Examiner considers the dispensing opening to be defined by a cut in the packaging material) of the container revealing an opening in the container the sheet material comprising as layers of a layer sequence, in a direction from an external side to an internal side of the sheet material, a paperboard layer (21a), a polymeric intermediate layer (24; see Par. 0073), a tie layer (11; Examiner considers layer 11 to be a tie layer) and a polymeric barrier layer (12/13; see Fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 10, Toft discloses a composite wherein the sheet material
further comprises a vacuum deposited layer between the polymeric barrier layer and the
polymeric intermediate layer (see Par. 0031).
Regarding claims 13 and 15-16, Toft discloses a composite wherein a moisture barrier layer comprises mLLDPE (see Par. 0022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toft in view of Kieser (EP 1786618 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Toft discloses the claimed invention except for the barrier layer being made of EVOH. Kieser teaches a composite wherein a polymeric barrier layer is made of EVOH (see Par. 0003). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Toft’s barrier layer to be made of EVOH in order to preserve the shelf life of products held within the container made of Toft’s composite sheet, as taught by Kieser.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 3-5, filed 04/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5, 8-9, 11, and 14 under USC 102(a)(1)—in view of Kieser have been fully considered and are persuasive. Kieser lacks a composite with a tie layer between a polymeric intermediate layer and a polymeric barrier layer. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 102(a)(1)--Toft.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734