Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/04/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3 and 5-21 remain pending in this application. Claims 1 and 15 have been amended. Claim 4 has been cancelled. No claims are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/13/2026 and 05/04/2026 regarding prior art rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. All previous prior art rejections are overcome in consideration of amendments. Additional prior art rejections are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadidian (US 20230099937 A1), hereinafter Jadidian, in view of Varel (US 20210184330 A1), hereinafter Varel.
Regarding claim 1, Jadidian, as shown below, discloses an antenna device for a transportation vehicle for emitting and/or receiving electromagnetic radiation, the antenna device comprising (See at least [0041] “a transparent antenna can be formed on a window in a building, vehicle”):
at least one first antenna element configured to emit and receive the electromagnetic radiation (See at least Fig. 2, [0026] “processing circuitry 220 configured to send and/or receive signals via communication antenna(s) 208, and/or to process data from signals received from communication antenna(s) 208 and/or proximity sensing antenna(s) 210”) based on a liquid crystal technology (See at least Fig. 1, [0020] “Wearable display device 100 further may include an image producing system (for example a laser scanner, a liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) microdisplay, a transmissive liquid crystal microdisplay” Jadidian discloses transmissible liquid crystal elements enabling antenna operations);
an electronic computing device configured to generate a control signal for controlling the at least first antenna element (See at least Fig. 2, [0026] “processing circuitry 220 configured to send and/or receive signals via communication antenna(s) 208, and/or to process data from signals received from communication antenna(s) 208 and/or proximity sensing antenna(s) 210”); and
at least one second antenna element configured to emit and receive the electromagnetic radiation (See at least Fig. 2, [0026] “processing circuitry 220 configured to send and/or receive signals via communication antenna(s) 208, and/or to process data from signals received from communication antenna(s) 208 and/or proximity sensing antenna(s) 210”),
wherein the at least one first antenna element and/or the at least one second antenna element are substantially transparent (See at least [0041] “a transparent antenna can be formed on a window in a building, vehicle”)
Jadidian does not explicitly disclose wherein transceiving functionality of at least the at least one second antenna is controlled by the control signal, which is an applied voltage that controls orientation of molecules of liquid crystals included in the at least one second antenna to selectively emit radiation by alignment of the liquid crystals that occurs as a result of an electric field created by the applied voltage. However, Varel, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein transceiving functionality of at least the at least one second antenna is controlled by the control signal, which is an applied voltage that controls orientation of molecules of liquid crystals included in the at least one second antenna to selectively emit radiation by alignment of the liquid crystals that occurs as a result of an electric field created by the applied voltage (See at least [0163] “Liquid crystal has a permittivity that is a function of the orientation of the molecules comprising the liquid crystal, and the orientation of the molecules (and thus the permittivity) can be controlled by adjusting the bias voltage across the liquid crystal. Using this property, the liquid crystal acts as an on/off switch”)
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the antenna system disclosed by Jadidian with the voltage orientation system disclosed by Varel. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve system speed and responsiveness (See at least [0164] “A fifty percent (50%) reduction in the gap between the lower and the upper conductor (the thickness of the liquid crystal) results in a fourfold increase in speed. In another embodiment, the thickness of the liquid crystal results in a beam switching speed of approximately fourteen milliseconds (14 ms). In one embodiment, the LC is doped in a manner well-known in the art to improve responsiveness”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jadidian and Varel, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Jadidian further discloses
at least one of the at least one first antenna element and the at least one second antenna element are configured to be capable of being activated separately from each other (See at least Fig. 2, [0026] “processing circuitry 220 configured to send and/or receive signals via communication antenna(s) 208, and/or to process data from signals received from communication antenna(s) 208 and/or proximity sensing antenna(s) 210” Jadidan discloses separately activating antenna(s) for communication and activating antenna(s) proximity sensing).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jadidian and Varel, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Jadidian further discloses
a plurality of further antenna elements, wherein the plurality of further antenna elements are configured to be activated based on the control signal generated by the electronic computing device (See at least Fig. 2, [0026] “processing circuitry 220 configured to send and/or receive signals via communication antenna(s) 208, and/or to process data from signals received from communication antenna(s) 208 and/or proximity sensing antenna(s) 210” Jadidan discloses a plurality of each communication and proximity sensing antennas).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jadidian and Varel, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Jadidian further discloses
the antenna device is configured at least partially in a window pane of the transportation vehicle (See at least [0041] “a transparent antenna can be formed on a window in a building, vehicle”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Jadidian and Varel, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Jadidian further discloses
the antenna device is configured as part of a radar device of the transportation vehicle and/or as part of a communication device of the transportation vehicle (See at least Fig. 2, [0026] “processing circuitry 220 configured to send and/or receive signals via communication antenna(s) 208, and/or to process data from signals received from communication antenna(s) 208 and/or proximity sensing antenna(s) 210”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Jadidian and Varel, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Jadidian further discloses
a predetermined radiation characteristic and/or receiving characteristic is set based on an activation of at least one of the at least one first antenna element and/or the at least one second antenna element (See at least [0019] “In examples where transparent antennas 102L, 102R comprise both a communication antenna and a proximity sensing antenna, the antennas may be configured to utilize different frequency bands.”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Jadidian and Varel, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Jadidian further discloses
A communication device comprising the at least one antenna device (See at least Fig. 2, [0026] “processing circuitry 220 configured to send and/or receive signals via communication antenna(s) 208, and/or to process data from signals received from communication antenna(s) 208”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Jadidian and Varel, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Jadidian further discloses
A radar device comprising the at least one antenna device (See at least Fig. 2, [0026] “processing circuitry 220 configured to send and/or receive signals via communication antenna(s) 208, and/or to process data from signals received from communication antenna(s) 208 and/or proximity sensing antenna(s) 210”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Jadidian and Varel, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Jadidian further discloses
an assistance system comprising at least one communication device and/or comprising a radar device, wherein the at least one communication device and/or the radar device include at least one antenna device (See at least Fig. 2, [0026] “processing circuitry 220 configured to send and/or receive signals via communication antenna(s) 208, and/or to process data from signals received from communication antenna(s) 208 and/or proximity sensing antenna(s) 210”).
Regarding claim 15, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 1. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 1, shown above.
Regarding claim 16, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 2. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 2, shown above.
Regarding claim 17, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 3. Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 3, shown above.
Regarding claim 18, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 8. Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 8, shown above.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadidian, in view of Varel, in further view of Huang (US 20220223675 A1), hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Jadidian and Varel, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 5. The combination of Jadidian and Varel does not explicitly disclose the antenna device is configured at least partially in a windshield and/or in a rear window and/or in a side window and/or in a roof window. However, Huang, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
the antenna device (See at least [0035] An electronic device or a window may achieve a display effect through a transparent display device […] The antenna device may be, for example, a liquid crystal antenna) is configured at least partially in a windshield and/or in a rear window and/or in a side window and/or in a roof window (See at least [0038] “the glass of the window is installed in an outer frame of the window or a door frame of a vehicle body”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the antenna system disclosed by Jadidian with the voltage orientation system disclosed by Varel with the window system disclosed by Huang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve structures and enhance quality (See at least [0003] “The electronic devices are thus required to provide improved structures and enhanced quality”).
Claims 9-11 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadidian, in view of Varel, in further view of Mendelsohn (US 20240372253 A1), hereinafter Mendelsohn.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Jadidian and Varel, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Jadidian and Varel does not explicitly disclose a radiation direction for transmitting and/or a receiving direction for receiving the electromagnetic radiation are set based on the control signal generated by the electronic computing device and/or a predetermined orientation of liquid crystals in at least one of the at least one first antenna element and at least one second antenna element. However, Mendelsohn, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
a radiation direction for transmitting and/or a receiving direction for receiving the electromagnetic radiation are set based on the control signal generated by the electronic computing device and/or a predetermined orientation of liquid crystals in at least one of the at least one first antenna element and at least one second antenna element (See at least Fig. 2, [0030] “the electronically steerable satellite antenna may comprise an antenna having a liquid crystal polymer based aperture”, [0021] “description of a steered or directionalized beam or radiation pattern is not intended to be limited to the transmission of signals from the antenna, but rather may also refer to controlling a direction of the sensitivity of the antenna for reception of signals as well” Mendelsohn discloses electronic steering of a liquid crystal based antenna system by a computing device wherein the orientation of liquid crystals is fixed for at least a first and second antenna element.).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the antenna system disclosed by Jadidian with the voltage orientation system disclosed by Varel with the direction system disclosed by Mendelsohn. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously reduce complexity and cost of directing antenna systems (See at least [0020] “use of an electronically steerable satellite antenna may avoid the use of or reduce the reliance on complex, costly, and failure-prone mechanical tracking mechanisms to physically move a satellite antenna”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Jadidian, Varel, and Mendelsohn, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9. The combination of Jadidian and Varel does not disclose the radiation direction and/or receiving direction is predetermined based on an installation location of the at least one first antenna element and/or the at least one second antenna element. However, Mendelsohn further discloses
the radiation direction and/or receiving direction is predetermined based on an installation location of the at least one first antenna element and/or the at least one second antenna element (See at least Figs. 2-3, [0035] “FIG. 3 illustrates three examples of an electronically steerable satellite antenna denoted as 300a, 300b, and 300c.” Mendelsohn discloses physically fixed orientation antenna elements where each orientation has a direction of operation based on the orientation).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the antenna system disclosed by Jadidian with the voltage orientation system disclosed by Varel with the direction system disclosed by Mendelsohn. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously reduce complexity and cost of directing antenna systems (See at least [0020] “use of an electronically steerable satellite antenna may avoid the use of or reduce the reliance on complex, costly, and failure-prone mechanical tracking mechanisms to physically move a satellite antenna”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Jadidian, Varel and Mendelsohn, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9. The combination of Jadidian and Varel does not disclose the radiation direction and/or receiving direction is predetermined based on a purpose of employment of the antenna device. However, Mendelsohn further discloses
the radiation direction and/or receiving direction is predetermined based on a purpose of employment of the antenna device (See at least [0020] “the present disclosure recognizes the benefits of utilizing an electronically steerable satellite antenna to track one or more non-GEO satellites”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the antenna system disclosed by Jadidian with the voltage orientation system disclosed by Varel with the direction system disclosed by Mendelsohn. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously reduce complexity and cost of directing antenna systems (See at least [0020] “use of an electronically steerable satellite antenna may avoid the use of or reduce the reliance on complex, costly, and failure-prone mechanical tracking mechanisms to physically move a satellite antenna”).
Regarding claim 19, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 9. Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 9, shown above.
Regarding claim 20, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 10. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 10, shown above.
Regarding claim 21, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 11. Accordingly, claim 21 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 11, shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH W GOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648