DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the tube" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of art rejections, the tube will be interpreted as “the at least one tube”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 11-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hart et al. (US 5,868,708, “Hart”).
Regarding claims 1 and 11-14, Hart discloses a tamponade device including a catheter (10; Fig. 2) having proximal and distal ends and a catheter lumen extending therebetween. An inflatable balloon (22) is located at the distal end of the catheter. A constraint at least partially surrounds the inflatable balloon. In an expanded configuration, the constraint/at least one tube contacts an outer perimeter surface of the inflatable balloon such that the constraint/at least one tube limits a radial expansion of the inflatable balloon when the inflatable balloon is inflated (C5;L1-7). The constraint/at least one tube includes a net structure having a plurality of segments arranged to define a plurality of openings providing a flow path between a lumen extending through the at least one tube and an area outside the lumen.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Hart discloses that at least one of a distal end of the constraint or a proximal end of the constraint is slidable along the catheter when the tamponade device transitions from a delivery configuration to the expanded configuration (Figs. 5, 6, 7 ; C7:L55-67). The distal and proximal ends of the constraint are closer together in the expanded configuration relative to the delivery configuration (Figs. 5, 6, 7).
Regarding claim 16, Hart discloses that the tube extends along the inflatable balloon in a helical pattern (Fig. 6, 7). At least one polymer strip (C7;L25-40) extends in an opposite pattern to form a criss-crossing pattern overlaying the outer surface of the inflatable balloon.
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 9, 11-15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chuter (US 2016/0022966A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 11-15, Chuter discloses a tamponade device including a catheter (12; Fig. 1B) having proximal and distal ends and a catheter lumen extending therebetween. An inflatable balloon (10) is located at the distal end of the catheter. A constraint at least partially surrounds the inflatable balloon [0043]. In an expanded configuration, the constraint/at least one tube contacts an outer perimeter surface of the inflatable balloon such that the constraint/at least one tube limits a radial expansion of the inflatable balloon when the inflatable balloon is inflated [0050]. The constraint/at least one tube includes a net structure having a plurality of segments arranged to define a plurality of openings providing a flow path between a lumen extending through the at least one tube and an area outside the lumen. At least a portion of the inflatable balloon extends radially outward through the plurality of openings when the inflatable balloon is inflated.
Regarding claim 3, Chuter discloses that the net structure includes an angled profile portion and a central portion that is generally cylindrical when the net structure is in the expanded configuration (Fig. 1B, 6-8, 10).
Regarding claim 4, Chuter discloses that at least one of the proximal or distal end of the net structure includes a section of a tube (Fig. 6-8, 10, the net structure is tubular) made of a polymer material [0017], and wherein the plurality of segments of the net structure include the polymer material [0017].
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Chuter discloses that the net structure is secured to at least one tube (12c) having a lumen extending therethrough. The at least one tube is in fluid communication with an inlet at a proximal end of the device (Fig. 6-8, 10). The at least one tube includes at least one opening at a distal end of the at least one tube for delivering a fluid through the lumen [0045].
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Chuter discloses that at least one of a distal end of the constraint or a proximal end of the constraint is slidable along the catheter when the tamponade device transitions from a delivery configuration to the expanded configuration [0059, 0074]. The distal and proximal ends of the constraint are closer together in the expanded configuration relative to the delivery configuration (Figs. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Chuter discloses that the tube extends along the inflatable balloon in a helical pattern (Fig. 1). At least one polymer strip [0017] extends in an opposite pattern to form a criss-crossing pattern overlaying the outer surface of the inflatable balloon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart in view of Taylor (US 3,736,939).
Regarding claim 10, Hart discloses that the catheter lumen an inflation lumen and capable of delivering a fluid to the inflatable balloon during balloon inflation via port (34). However, Hart does not disclose a second lumen is capable of draining a body fluid. In the same field of endeavor, balloon catheters, Taylor teaches a catheter that includes an inflation lumen (22) and a drainage lumen (11) to provide means to assist in the drainage of balloon walls when inflation of balloon is too large.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuter in view of Taylor (US 3,736,939).
Regarding claim 10, Chuter discloses that the catheter lumen an inflation lumen and capable of delivering a fluid to the inflatable balloon during balloon inflation via port (34). However, Chuter does not disclose a second lumen is capable of draining a body fluid. In the same field of endeavor, balloon catheters, Taylor teaches a catheter that includes an inflation lumen (22) and a drainage lumen (11) to provide means to assist in the drainage of balloon walls when inflation of balloon is too large.
Claim(s) 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stiger (US 2002/0193735A1).
Regarding claim 17, 19 and 20, Stiger discloses a tamponade device including a catheter (10; Fig. 1) having proximal and distal ends and a catheter lumen extending therebetween. An inflatable balloon (50) is located at the distal end of the catheter. The inflatable balloon includes a first end secured to the distal end of the catheter and a second end opposite the first end. The inflatable balloon includes a helical portion between the first and second end that coils around at least a portion of the catheter (Fig. 1; [0033]). The catheter includes a second lumen and at least one port located beneath the helical portion (Fig. 9; 20). The catheter is in fluid communication with the inflatable balloon such that the inflatable balloon is inflatable via the catheter lumen (18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fogarty (US 4,762,130) discloses a catheter having a helical balloon.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771