DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the (see claim 15), the phrase, “The vehicle according to claim 11, wherein at least the braking resistor is arranged in an exposed and/or well-ventilated area of the vehicle” is not clear as the braking resistor is not shown in the vehicle 10 (see fig.1) of applicants and (see claim 16) airflow generated during a driving operation of the vehicle is directed toward the braking resistor is not shown; Chassis component 24 around which braking resistor is wound is not shown (See claims 18, 20) and must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 19, the phrase, “The vehicle according to claim 18, wherein the chassis component functions as a heat sink and is provided for cooling the braking resistor” is not clear as how it functions as the heat sink?. Cooling directed from air guiding element (see spec, lines 17-26, page 5) cooling the braking resistor are not shown or explained in applicant’s figs.1-3. Appropriate corrections and clarifications required.
4.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 19, the phrase, “The vehicle according to claim 18, wherein the chassis component functions as a heat sink and is provided for cooling the braking resistor” is not clear as how it functions as the heat sink?. Cooling directed from air guiding element (what is the air guiding element?) (see spec, lines 17-26, page 5) cooling the braking resistor are not shown or explained in applicant’s figs.1-3. Appropriate corrections and clarifications required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Noffsinger et al. (US PUB. NO.:US 2009/0125170 A1 and Noffsinger hereinafter.)
As to claim 11, A vehicle, comprising:
at least one electric motor configured to decelerate the vehicle and/or at least one vehicle wheel of the vehicle during a braking operation;
at least one vehicle battery which is functionally coupled to the electric motor; and
a braking chopper unit operatively connected to the electric motor and the vehicle battery, the braking chopper unit including at least one braking resistor, and is configured to dissipate excess energy generated by the electric motor during the braking operation.
(As to claim 11, Noffsinger teaches (see Figs.1-28, para’s [0010], [0032], [0034], & [0039]) A vehicle [locomotive 200/300 or train 1504] (figs.1-2, 23-25), comprising:
at least one electric motor 108/208/1528 (fig.1/25) configured to decelerate the vehicle 200/1504 (“deceleration of vehicle stopping distance due to braking, see figs. 23-24-25, para’s [0174], [0175], [0176], [0177], [0178]-[0179] & [0186]) and/or at least one vehicle wheel 109/1530 (fig.3/25) of the vehicle 200/1504 (figs.1/23-25) during a braking operation (see para’s [0047], [0049],[0177]);
at least one vehicle battery 204/902 (figs.3-4/8B, para’s [0057]) which is functionally coupled to the electric motor 108/108A/108F (figs.3-4/8B); and
a braking chopper unit [DBC1, DBC2] (FIG.8B, para’s [0017], [0103]-[0104]) operatively connected to the electric motor 124A, 108A/124F,108F (see fig.8B, para. [0100]) and the vehicle battery 902, the braking chopper unit [DBC1, DBC2] (FIG.8B) including at least one braking resistor (braking resistor grids, see fig.8B, para’s [0049], [0101], [0103]-[0104], and is configured to dissipate excess energy generated by the electric motor 108/124A, 108A /124F,108F/208/1528 during the braking operation (see para’s [0046], [0049],[0100]).
As to claim 13, The vehicle according to claim 11, wherein the braking chopper unit is arranged between the electric motor and the vehicle battery in terms of circuitry.
(As to claim 13, Noffsinger teaches (see Figs.1-28, para’s [0010], [0017],[0032], [0034], & [0039]) A vehicle [locomotive 200/300 or train 1504] (figs.1-2, 23-25), wherein the braking chopper unit [DBC1, DBC2] (FIG.8B, para’s [0103]-[0104]) is arranged between the electric motor (124A, 108A) /(124F,108F) and the vehicle battery 902 in terms of circuitry (see Fig.8B)).
As to claim 14, The vehicle according to claim 11, wherein the braking chopper unit is configured to be actively controllable.
(As to claim 14, Noffsinger teaches (see Figs.1-28, para’s [0010], [0017],[0032], [0034], & [0039]) A vehicle [locomotive 200/300 or train 1504] (figs.1-2, 23-25), wherein the braking chopper unit [DBC1, DBC2] (FIG.8B, para’s [0103]-[0104]) is actively controlled
By an energy management system (see figs.4, 8B, see para’s [0103], [0104]).
As to claim 15, The vehicle according to claim 11, wherein at least the braking resistor is arranged in an exposed and/or well-ventilated area of the vehicle.
(As to claim 15, Noffsinger teaches (see Figs.1-28, para’s [0010], [0017],[0032], [0034], & [0039]) A vehicle [locomotive 200/300 or train 1504] (figs.1-2, 23-25), wherein the at least the braking resistor (braking resistor grids, see figs.4, 8B, para’s [0049], [0101], [0103]-[0104]) is arranged in arranged in an electrical system 500 (see fig.4, para. [0059]/8B, para. [0098]) of vehicle 200/300/1504).
As to claim 17, The vehicle according to claim 11, wherein the braking resistor is a wire resistor.
(As to claim 17, Noffsinger teaches (see Figs.1-28, para’s [0010], [0017],[0032], [0034], & [0039]) a vehicle [locomotive 200/300 or train 1504] (figs.1-2, 23-25), wherein the braking resistor (braking resistor grids, see figs.4, 8B, para’s [0049], [0101], [0103]-[0104]) is a wire resistor (see fig.8B, circuit conductor connected to grid resistors shown between DB1-DBC1, DB4-DBC2).
As to claim 18, the vehicle according to claim 17, further comprising at least one chassis component around which the braking resistor is wound.
(As to claim 18, Noffsinger shows a vehicle [locomotive 200/300 or train 1504] (figs.1-2, 25), further comprising at least one chassis component [body of vehicle 200/1504] around which the braking resistor [resistor grids 110] (para. [0049]) is wound).
As to claim 20, the vehicle according to claim 17, wherein the braking resistor is arranged on the chassis component in such a way that contact by a driver of the vehicle is excluded during a driving operation.
(As to claim 20, Noffsinger shows a vehicle [locomotive 200/300 or train 1504] (figs.1-2, 25), further comprising at least one chassis component [body of vehicle 200/1504] around which the braking resistor [resistor grids 110] (para. [0049]) is arranged on top outside) in such a way that contact by a driver of the vehicle is excluded (driver is inside the said vehicle) during a driving operation.
.
As to claim 21, A method for operating a vehicle, the vehicle including:
at least one electric motor configured to decelerate the vehicle and/or at least one vehicle wheel of the vehicle during a braking operation;
at least one vehicle battery which is functionally coupled to the electric motor;
and
a braking chopper unit operatively connected to the electric motor and the vehicle battery, the braking chopper unit including at least one braking resistor, and is configured to dissipate excess energy generated by the electric motor during the braking operation;
the method comprising: dissipating excess energy generated by the electric motor during the braking operation using the at least one braking resistor of the braking chopper unit.
(As to claim 21, Noffsinger teaches (see Figs.1-28, para’s [0008] [0010], [0032], [0034], & [0039]) a method (para’s [0008], figs.1-11, 22-28) for operating a vehicle [locomotive 200/300 or train 1504] (figs.1-2, 23-25), the vehicle 200/300/1504 including:
comprising:
at least one electric motor 108/208/124A,108A/124F,108F/1528 (fig.1/8B/25) configured to decelerate the vehicle 200/1504 (“deceleration of vehicle & stopping distance due to braking, see figs. 23-24-25, para’s [0174], [0175], [0176], [0177], [0178]-[0179] & [0186]) and/or at least one vehicle wheel 109/1530 (fig.3/25) of the vehicle 200/1504 (figs.1/23-25) during a braking operation (see para’s [0047], [0049],[0177]);
at least one vehicle battery 204/902 (figs.3-4/8B, para’s [0057]) which is functionally coupled to the electric motor 108/(124A,108A)/(124F,108F) (figs.3-4/8B); and
a braking chopper unit [DBC1, DBC2] (FIG.8B, para’s [0103]-[0104]) operatively connected to the electric motor (124A, 108A)/(124F,108F) (see fig.8B, para. [0100]) and the vehicle battery 902, the braking chopper unit [DBC1, DBC2] (FIG.8B) including at least one braking resistor (braking resistor grids, see figs.1, 4, 8B, para’s [0049], [0101], [0103]-[0104], and is configured to dissipate excess energy generated by the electric motor 108/124A, 108A /124F,108F/208/1528 during the braking operation (see para’s [0046], [0049],[0100]);
the method (para’s [0008], figs.1-11, 22-28) comprising: dissipating excess energy generated by the electric motor 108/124A, 108A /124F,108F/208/1528 during the braking operation (see para’s [0046], [0049],[0100]) using the at least one braking resistor (braking resistor grids 110, see figs.1, 4, 8B, para’s [0049], [0101], [0103]-[0104]) of the braking chopper unit [DBC1, DBC2] (FIG.8B)).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noffsinger et al. (US PUB. NO.:US 2009/0125170 A1) in view of Tabata et al. (US Patent No.: 5,771,475 and Tabata hereinafter).
As to claim 12, The vehicle according to claim 11, wherein the vehicle is a two-wheeler or a three- wheeler.
(As to claim 12, Noffsinger do not mention the vehicle is a two-wheeler or a three- wheeler.
Tabata teaches an electric vehicle 1 (figs1A, 1B, (col.5, lines 37-40), (col.6, lines 15-25)) is a two-wheeler 4, 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have a two-wheeler of Tabata in a vehicle of Noffsinger because the vehicle of Tabata achieving an improvement in overall travelling performance (see Tabata, (col.1, lines 9-13).)
Claim(s) 16 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noffsinger et al. (US PUB. NO.:US 2009/0125170 A1) in view of Imaie et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2006/0181235 A1 and Imaie hereinafter).
As to claim 16, The vehicle according to claim 11, wherein the braking resistor is arranged in such a way that an air flow generated during a driving operation of the vehicle is directed toward the braking resistor.
(As to claim 16, Noffsinger an air flow generated via air flow pipe 1534 (of air braking system 1524) during a driving operation of the vehicle 1504 (fig.26, para’s [0185]-[0188]), but do not mention is directed toward the braking resistor.
Imaie teaches a vehicle (para. [0002]), wherein air flow is generated is directed toward a braking resistor 12a/12b (see figs.1/4/5, para. [0018]; see figs. 6A, 6B, 6C, para. [0022] thru [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have an air flow generated during a driving operation of the vehicle is directed toward the braking resistor of Imaie in the system of Noffsinger because of improvement in reliability and reducing the size and weight (see Imaie, para. [0007])).
As to claim 19, The vehicle according to claim 18, wherein the chassis component functions as a heat sink and is provided for cooling the braking resistor.
(Noffsinger do not mention the chassis component functions as a heat sink and is provided for cooling the braking resistor.
Imaie teaches a vehicle (para. [0002]), having a housing (fig.6A, 6B, 6C) function as a heat sink because cooling air flow is generated (via cooling fan 13a) is directed toward a braking resistor 12a/12b for cooling the braking resistor 12a/12b (see figs.1/4/5, para. [0018]; see figs. 6A, 6B, 6C, para. [0022] thru [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have the chassis component functions as a heat sink and is provided for cooling the braking resistor of Imaie in the system of Noffsinger because of improvement in reliability and reducing the size and weight (see Imaie, para. [0007]).
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: a) Cherney et al. (US Pub.No.: US 2011/0048827 A1) teaches (figs.1-4, abstract, para. [0031]) hybrid electric drive systems with dynamic braking.
b) Marchand et al., (Pub. No.: US 2012/0043810 A1) teaches (figs.1-9, abstract) method and system for eliminating fuel consumption during dynamic braking of electric drive machines.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2846