DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 9-18 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information disclosure statements (IDS) have been filed on 04/26/2024, 05/24/2024, and 02/14/2025 reviewed by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a slit width decreases from outside to inside of the side surface” in claims 15-16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the phrase "claim 1" in line 1. Since claim 1 has been canceled, this renders the claim vague and indefinite. The Examiner suggests changing “claim 1” to --claim 9--. Claims 11-18 are rejected for similar reasons, including the use of “claim 2”. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “claim 1” is being best understood as “claim 9”, and “claim 2” is being best understood as “claim 10”.
Claim 10 recites the phrase "an outer surface" in line 2. This is a double inclusion of “outer surface” in line 2 of claim 9. The Examiner suggests changing “an outer surface” to --the outer surface--.
Claim 10 recites the phrase "a bottom surface" in line 3. This is a double inclusion of “a bottom surface” in line 8 of claim 9. The Examiner suggests changing “a bottom surface” to --the bottom surface--. Claims 17-18 are rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 10-18 are rejected based on their respective dependencies.
Appropriate correction is required. Accordingly, the invention has been examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 11, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by JPS53100463U.
In regard to claim 9, JPS53100463U discloses a plant pot comprising: a ventilation portion provided in a side surface having an outer surface exposed to outside when used, wherein the ventilation portion has a first opening opened toward an outside of the plant pot and a second opening opened toward an inside of the plant pot (Figs. 1-3 and Translated Specification Paragraphs [0001-0002], where there is a plant pot with a ventilation portion 4 provided in a side surface 1 having an outer surface 1B at least exposed to outside and where the ventilation portion 4 has a first opening opened toward an outside of the plant pot and a second opening opened toward an inside (side noted as 1C) of the plant pot), an opening area of the first opening is larger than an opening area of the second opening (Figs. 1-3 and Translated Specification Paragraphs [0001-0002], where an opening area of the first opening (on side 1B) is larger (funnel shaped) than an opening area of the second opening (on side 1C)), and the ventilation portion is at least one of a ventilation hole penetrating the side surface and a slit formed in a triangular shape expanding toward a bottom surface of the plant pot in the side surface (Figs. 1-3 and Translated Specification Paragraphs [0001-0002], where the ventilation portion 4 is a ventilation hole penetrating the side surface 1).
In regard to claim 11, JPS53100463U discloses the plant pot according to claim 1, wherein the ventilation hole comprises a tapered portion that narrows from the first opening toward the second opening (Figs. 1-3 and Translated Specification Paragraphs [0001-0002], where the ventilation hole 4 comprises a tapered portion that narrows from the first opening toward the second opening (see Fig. 3)).
In regard to claim 13, JPS53100463U discloses the plant pot according to claim 1, wherein the ventilation hole further comprises a cylindrical portion having a diameter equal to a diameter of the second opening (Figs. 1-3 and Translated Specification Paragraphs [0001-0002], where the ventilation hole 4 further comprises a cylindrical portion (see portion near 1C) having a diameter equal to a diameter of the second opening).
In regard to claim 17, JPS53100463U discloses the plant pot according to claim 1, wherein the side surface bulges outward, and an inner surface of the side surface is formed in a tapered shape that narrows from an upper opening of the plant pot toward a bottom surface of the plant pot (Figs. 1-3 and Translated Specification Paragraphs [0001-0002], where the side surface bulges outward (at least at element 3) and where an inner surface 1C of the side surface 1 is formed in a tapered shape that at least narrows from an upper opening of the plant pot toward a bottom surface 2 of the plant pot (see Fig. 2)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 12, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS53100463U in view of Au (U.S. Pub. 20160150741).
In regard to claim 10, JPS53100463U discloses the plant pot according to claim 1. JPS53100463U is silent on a recess is provided on an outer surface of the side surface, and the recess is formed from an edge of the first opening toward a bottom surface of the plant pot. Au discloses a recess is provided on an outer surface of the side surface, and the recess is formed from an edge of the first opening toward a bottom surface of the plant pot (Figs. 1-6 and Paragraphs [0032-0037], where there is a recess (recessed portion right under portions 30/31, also right below element 21) is provided on an outer surface of the side surface 11 and where the recess (recessed portion right under portions 30/31) is formed from an edge of the first opening 30 toward a bottom surface of the plant pot). JPS53100463U and Au are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include plant pots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of JPS53100463U such that a recess is provided on an outer surface of the side surface, and the recess is formed from an edge of the first opening toward a bottom surface of the plant pot in view of Au. The motivation would have been to provide a recessed portion below the ventilation openings, in order to allow excess soil or water to be directed down through a channel-like structure via gravity to further improve cleanliness.
In regard to claim 12, JPS53100463U as modified by Au discloses the plant pot according to claim 2, wherein the ventilation hole comprises a tapered portion that narrows from the first opening toward the second opening (JPS53100463U, Figs. 1-3 and Translated Specification Paragraphs [0001-0002], where the ventilation hole 4 comprises a tapered portion that narrows from the first opening toward the second opening (see Fig. 3)).
In regard to claim 14, JPS53100463U as modified by Au discloses the plant pot according to claim 2, wherein the ventilation hole further comprises a cylindrical portion having a diameter equal to a diameter of the second opening (JPS53100463U, Figs. 1-3 and Translated Specification Paragraphs [0001-0002], where the ventilation hole 4 further comprises a cylindrical portion (see portion near 1C) having a diameter equal to a diameter of the second opening).
In regard to claim 15, JPS53100463U discloses the plant pot according to claim l. JPS53100463U is silent on the slit is formed such that a slit width decreases from outside to inside of the side surface. Au discloses the slit is formed such that a slit width decreases from outside to inside of the side surface (Figs. 1-6 and Paragraphs [0032-0037], where the slit 30/31 is formed such that a slit width decreases from outside to inside of the side surface (via narrowing of portions 31 toward inside of the pot)). JPS53100463U and Au are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include plant pots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of JPS53100463U such that the slit is formed such that a slit width decreases from outside to inside of the side surface in view of Au. The motivation would have been to provide a larger area for directed air flow toward the plant, on the outside of the pot, while maintaining a relatively smaller sized opening. Additionally, the inwardly narrowing slits of Au provide “a supplementary pruning of the roots” (Paragraph [0037]).
In regard to claim 16, JPS53100463U as modified by Au discloses the plant pot according to claim 2, wherein the slit is formed such that a slit width decreases from outside to inside of the side surface (Au, Figs. 1-6 and Paragraphs [0032-0037], where the slit 30/31 is formed such that a slit width decreases from outside to inside of the side surface (via narrowing of portions 31 toward inside of the pot)).
In regard to claim 18, JPS53100463U as modified by Au discloses the plant pot according to claim 2, wherein the side surface bulges outward, and an inner surface of the side surface is formed in a tapered shape that narrows from an upper opening of the plant pot toward a bottom surface of the plant pot (JPS53100463U, Figs. 1-3 and Translated Specification Paragraphs [0001-0002], where the side surface bulges outward (at least at element 3) and where an inner surface 1C of the side surface 1 is formed in a tapered shape that at least narrows from an upper opening of the plant pot toward a bottom surface 2 of the plant pot (see Fig. 2)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892, Notice of References Cited, for the full list of prior art made of record. Particularly the references were cited because they pertain to the state of the art of plant pots and containers.
/KEVIN M DENNIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647