DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for expressing polypeptide comprising instant SEQ ID NO: 1 in Chlamydomonas reinhardtii, does not reasonably provide enablement for expressing the polypeptide in any other organism. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The claimed invention is not supported by an enabling disclosure taking into account the Wands factors. In re Wands, 858/F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988). In re Wands lists a number of factors for determining whether or not undue experimentation would be required by one skilled in the art to make and/or use the invention. These factors are: the quantity of experimentation necessary, the amount of direction or guidance presented, the presence or absence of working examples of the invention, the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, the relative skill of those in the art, the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and the breadth of the claim.
Claims are broadly drawn to methods for improving the resistance to oxidative stress and/or photoinhibition of host organisms or for improving biomass productivity of host organisms and/or prevailing over other competing organisms, wherein the host organism expresses a polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 1, or a nucleic acid encoding for the polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 1, or an expression vector comprising a nucleic acid encoding for the polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO:1.
Instant claims encompass expression of the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1 in a variety of organisms.
Instant specification teaches that astaxanthin can be produced in a number of organisms such as bacteria, yeast and high plants by expression of ketolases (see paragraph [0023]), but preferably should be expressed in unicellular photosynthetic organism, most preferably in Chlamydomonas reinhardtii (see paragraph [0041]). Working example demonstrates expression in only one organism, Chlamydomonas reinhardtii (see paragraph [0057]).
There is no evidence in prior art that ketolases can be expressed in any possible organism.
The guidance provided in the specification is limited to expression of ketolases in only limited number of organisms.
In the absence of guidance, undue trial and error experimentation would have been required by one skilled in the art at the time invention was made to express ketolase in any possible organism as instantly claimed. Given the breadth of the claims, unpredictability of the art and lack of guidance of the specification, as discussed above, undue experimentation would be required by one skilled in the art to make and use the claimed invention commensurate in scope with the claims.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 5. SEQ ID NO: 5 is a nucleic acid and not a polypeptide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perozeni et al (Plant Biology Journal, 25 February 2020, 18: 2053-2067, cited from IDS) and in further view of GenBank (AYH63702.1, 2018, cited from IDS).
Perozeni teach methods of expressing beta-carotene ketolase in Chlamydomonas reinhardtii (see Abstract), such expression is carried out using pOpt2_mVenus_Paro vector (see page 2056, Figure 2). Expression can be carried out in very high light conditions as in claims 11-13 in the presence of 3% CO2 (see Figure 5). Additional enzyme, canthaxanthin, can be used in the method (see first column on page 2054). Further Perezoni teach beta-carotene ketolase polypeptide from Chlamydomonas reinhardtii (see Figure 1C) and optimization of the gene encoding such polypeptide such as omission of 166 amino acids at the C-terminus and fusion to YFP (see pages 2056-2057).
Perezoni do not teach peptides of instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 or nucleic acid of SEQ ID NO: 5.
GenBank AYH63702.1 teach a beta-carotene ketolase polypeptide sequence (see page 1), which is 99% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to derive polypeptides of SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 and nucleic acid of SEQ ID NO: 5 based on teachings of Perezoni and GenBank AYH63702.1. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Perezoni teach modifications to optimize beta-carotene ketolase polypeptide, which can be introduced into GenBank AYH63702.1 sequence, arriving at instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 and 5.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637