DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed March 31, 2026 has been received and entered.
3. Claims 1-6 and 11-21 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election of treating or preventing enteritis, in particular inflammatory bowel disease, for species A and chicken egg for species B in the reply filed on March 31, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
5. Claims 4, 5, 14, 17-19 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
6. Claims 1-3, 6, 11-13, 15, 16 and 20 are examined on the merits in regards to the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 11-13, 15, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian (CN 110857434 – English translation) in view of Wang (Current Opinion in Pharmacology (2009), vol. 9, pp. 668-696).
Qian teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising amniotic fluid from chicken egg with an embryonic age of 5-12 days, 6-11 days, 7-9 days, or 7-8 days. The reference teaches that the composition is useful for treating damaged intestinal tissue and inflammation where the damage can caused by a disease (see page 3 of the translation). The reference does not specifically teach using the composition to treat inflammatory bowel disease.
However, Wang teaches that compositions that treat inflammation and repair damaged intestinal tissue are useful for the treatment of inflammatory bowel disease (see pages 688-689). Thus, an artisan of oridnary skill would reasonably expect that the amniotic fluid composition taught by Qian would be useful in treating inflammatory bowel disease because Qian teaches that the composition is able to treat inflammation and to repair intestinal tissue. Given this reasonable expectation of success, an artisan would have been motivated to modify Qian to include the treatment of inflammatory bowel disease with the amniotic fluid composition. Therefore, applicant’s invention is considered to be an obvious modification of what was known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention.
8. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655