DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the provision of the third cam guide on the pivotable coupling member) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It’s the position of the examiner that the third cam guide is not claimed in such a manner to require it on the second coupling member. The applicant uses terminology such as “at” and “adjacent” however these terms do not require the cam guide on the coupling member. For instance “at” is defined as “used as a function word to indicate presence or occurrence in, on, or near” (examiner emphasis added) by Merriam-Webster and “Adjacent” as “not distant : nearby” by Merriam-Webster and “lying near, close, or contiguous; adjoining; neighboring” - Dictionary.com.
Drawings
The previous drawing objections are overcome by the present replacement sheets.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 7 “the locking pin” should be “a locking pin”.
In claim 1 line 11 “a locking pin” should be “the locking pin”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 3, Claim 3 depends on a claim which has been canceled. It’s unclear if the claim is intended to depend on independent claim 1 or another claim. For the purposes of examination, the former is assumed.
In further regards to claim 3 “the cam guide” is unclear since its unclear which cam guide the limitation is referring to. For the purposes of examination “the cam guide” is assumed to read “the at least one first cam guide”.
Claim 4 is rejected due to it’s dependency on rejected claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8, 10-11 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rocchitelli EP 2278058 A1 (hereinafter Rocchitelli) in view of Hintz et al. WO 2014113211 A1 (hereinafter Hintz) and Promutico et al. US 20210102408 A1 (hereinafter Promutico).
In regards to claim 1, Rocchitelli teaches a door locking device for a door of a household appliance, the device comprising: a housing (1 and 2); a coupling member (9 and 5), having a first end portion (end with 5) and a second end portion (end with 19), pivotally mounted at a fulcrum (10) within the housing (see fig 1); wherein the second end portion of the coupling member comprises at least one first cam guide (19) operably coupled with a corresponding first cam follower (11) of the locking pin (see fig 1); an actuator (3 and 4), operably coupled to the first end portion of the coupling member (see fig 1) and adapted to controllably move the coupling member between a first position (see fig 5) and a second position (see fig 8) about the fulcrum; a locking pin (at least a portion of 12), operably coupled to third cam guide (28) comprising a protrusion (see fig 7) adjacent to the first cam guide (see fig 1) provided at the second end portion of the coupling member (see fig 8) so as to move the main switch element between the open position and the closed position in accordance with respective the first position and the second position of the coupling member (see figs 7-8).
However, Rocchitelli is silent on if the third terminal selectively electrically connectable to the second terminal and an external interface so as to form a signal circuit with a controller of the household appliance.
Hintz teaches a similar device with an external interface (interface between 42 and 52; at least as it links the terminal to something external) so as to form a signal circuit with a controller (44) of the household appliance (see fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have provided Rocchitelli with an external interface so as to form a signal circuit with a controller of the household appliance in order to improve safety of the electrical appliance (Hintz para 58).
Additionally, Rocchitelli is silent on wherein the third terminal comprises the main switch element moveable between an open position in which the third terminal is electrically disconnected from the second terminal, and a closed position in which the third terminal is electrically connected to the second terminal.
Promutico teaches a similar device were a third terminal (53) comprises a main switch element (at least 47C and 47e) moveable between an open position in which the third terminal is electrically disconnected from the second terminal (Promutico: such as fig 2), and a closed position (Promutico: with 47c contacting 47e) in which the third terminal is electrically connected to the second terminal (Promutico: see fig 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Rocchitelli with the third terminal comprises the main switch element moveable between an open position in which the third terminal is electrically disconnected from the second terminal, and a closed position in which the third terminal is electrically connected to the second terminal in order to provide for a simple and well known circuit for signaling locking.
In regards to claim 3, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Rocchitelli in view of Hintz and Promutico teaches the door locking device according to claim 2, wherein the cam guide is provided by a thread member (Rocchitelli 19 the examiner considers this a projecting helical rib as its sloped and wraps around a cylindrical portion) coaxially arranged with and extending about a pivot axis of the fulcrum (Rocchitelli see fig 1).
In regards to claim 4, Rocchitelli in view of Hintz and Promutico teaches the door locking device according to claim 3, wherein said the thread member is a thread portion (Rocchitelli 19 is a portion) defining a predetermined thread segment along a helical path (Rocchitelli path 11 follows when in contact with 19) about the pivot axis of the fulcrum (Rocchitelli see fig 1).
In regards to claim 5, Rocchitelli in view of Hintz and Promutico teaches further comprising a guide arm (Rocchitelli 6), having a longitudinal axis (Rocchitelli see fig 5) and extending between a first guide arm end portion (Rocchitelli top of 6 wrt fig 5), pivotally coupled to the actuator at a pivot point (Rocchitelli at least indirectly see figs 5 and 8), and a second guide arm end portion (Rocchitelli bottom end portion of 6 wrt fig 5), operably coupled to the first end portion of the coupling member (Rocchitelli see fig 8), wherein the guide arm is configured to move about the pivot point between a first arm position (see reference image 1) and a second arm position (see reference image 1), and wherein the guide arm is adapted to latch the coupling member in at least one predetermined resting position (Rocchitelli see fig 5) when the coupling member is moved between the first position and second position (Rocchitelli see fig 5 as 6 follows the track).
Reference image 1
In regards to claim 6, Rocchitelli in view of Hintz and Promutico teaches the door locking device according to claim 5, further comprising a biasing member (Rocchitelli 22) operably coupled to the coupling member and configured to bias the coupling member towards the first position (Rocchitelli para 19, at least fast it moves 5 upward).
In regards to claim 7, Rocchitelli in view of Hintz and Promutico teaches the door locking device according to claim 6, wherein said the biasing member is operably coupled to the guide arm and configured to bias the guide arm towards the first arm position (see reference image 1 at least from the second position due to 5 being biased upward).
In regards to claim 8, Rocchitelli in view of Hintz and Promutico teaches the door locking device according to claim 7, wherein the first arm position is towards the fulcrum of the coupling member (see reference image 1).
In regards to claim 10, Rocchitelli in view of Hintz and Promutico teaches the door locking device according to claim 5, wherein the guide arm comprises a second cam follower (Rocchitelli portion within 7) at the second guide arm end portion configured to operably couple with a corresponding second cam guide (Rocchitelli 7) at the first end portion of the coupling member (see fig 5).
In regards to claim 11, Rocchitelli in view of Hintz and Promutico teaches the door locking device according to claim 10, wherein the second cam guide is a guide path defined by a recessed circuit (Rocchitelli see fig 5).
In regards to claim 21, Rocchitelli in view of Hintz and Promutico teaches the door locking device according to claim 1, wherein the actuator comprises: a solenoid (Rocchitelli 3), and a core (Rocchitelli 4), slidably received within the solenoid and operably coupled to the first end portion of the coupling member (Rocchitelli see figs 5 and 8).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rocchitelli in view of Hintz and Promutico as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kulicki US 20200284070 A1 (hereinafter Kulicki).
In regards to claim 9, Promutico teaches the door locking device according to claim 6.
However, Promutico does not teach wherein the biasing member is a torsion spring. Although Promutico does teach other springs can be used (para 18).
Kulicki teaches a torsion spring (26) biasing a similar slider (40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have Promutico’s biasing member be a torsion spring as doing so is a simple substitution of one known element (Promutico’s spring) for another (Kulicki’s torsion spring) to obtain predictable results (biasing a slider) and involves only routine skill in the art (See MPEP 2141 III B).
Claim(s) 1, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Promutico et al. US 20210102408 A1 (hereinafter Promutico) in view of Hintz et al. WO 2014113211 A1 (hereinafter Hintz).
In regards to claim 1, Promutico teaches a door locking device for a door of a household appliance, the device comprising: a housing (10b); a coupling member (at least 29), having a first end portion (29a) and a second end portion (29b), pivotally mounted at a fulcrum (29c) within the housing; wherein the second end portion of the coupling member comprises at least one first cam guide (29e) operably coupled with a corresponding first cam follower (11a) of the locking pin (see fig 1); an actuator (22), operably coupled to the first end portion of the coupling member (see fig 7) and adapted to controllably move the coupling member between a first position (see fig 12) and a second position (see fig 15) about the fulcrum; a locking pin (portion of 11 contacting 7), operably coupled to the second end portion of the coupling member and configured to slidably move between an unlocked position (see fig 12), when the coupling member is in the first position, and a locked position (see fig 15), when coupling member is in the second position; wherein the fulcrum is located between the first end portion and the second end portion so as to provide a mechanical lever advantage for a force applied to the first end portion by the actuator and imparted onto the locking pin by the second end portion (see figs 12 and 15) and further comprising a switch assembly (see fig 21), the switch assembly comprising: a first terminal (41), electrically connected to the actuator (see fig 20), a second terminal (42), electrically connected to the actuator so as to form an electrical power circuit with the first terminal (see fig 20) and a power source circuit of the household appliance (para 60), and a third terminal (53), selectively electrically connectable to the second terminal (see fig 20)
However, Promutico does not teach an external interface so as to form a signal circuit with a controller of the household appliance. Although this is very likely from para 72.
Hintz teaches a similar device with an external interface (interface between 42 and 52; at least as it links the terminal to something external) so as to form a signal circuit with a controller (44) of the household appliance (see fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have provided Promutico with an external interface so as to form a signal circuit with a controller of the household appliance in order to improve safety of the electrical appliance (Hintz para 58).
Promutico in view of Hintz teaches wherein the third terminal comprises a main switch element (Promutico: at least 47c and 47e) moveable between an open position in which the third terminal is electrically disconnected from the second terminal (Promutico: such as fig 2), and a closed position (Promutico: with 47c contacting 47e) in which the third terminal is electrically connected to the second terminal (Promutico: see fig 20), wherein the main switch element of the third terminal comprises a third cam follower (Promutico: 47c) configured to operably engage with a corresponding third cam guide (Promutico: 11b; 11b transforms rotary motion into linear motion and vice versa) comprising a protrusion (Promutico: see fig 4) adjacent to the first cam guide (Promutico: see fig 9) provided at the second end portion of the coupling member so as to move the main switch element between the open position and the closed position in accordance with respective the first position and the second position of coupling member (Promutico: note figs 11-12 and 14-15 and see fig 20).
In regards to claim 15, Promutico in view of Hintz teaches the door locking device according to claim 1, wherein the main switch element is biased towards the closed position (Promutico: biased by the pressing of 11b, see para 52).
In regards to claim 16, Promutico in view of Hintz teaches the door locking device according to claim 1 further comprising a cut-out member (Promutico: 47a; at least since it cuts the connection between 47e and 47c), adapted to operably engage with the third cam follower (Promutico: para 52) and move the main switch element into the open position when the cut-out member is actuated (Promutico: para 52).
In regards to claim 17, Promutico in view of Hintz teaches the door locking device according to claim 1, wherein the second terminal comprises a door sensing switch element (Promutico: at least 45c and 45e; para 63 describes detecting a door) moveable between an open position (Promutico: see fig 20) in which the actuator is electrically disconnected from the power source circuit, and a closed position (Promutico: when 45c contacts 45e) in which the actuator is electrically connected to the power source circuit (Promutico: see fig 20).
In regards to claim 18, Promutico in view of Hintz teaches the door locking device according to claim 17, wherein the door sensing switch element is biased towards the closed position (Promutico: at least when contacted by 45c, see para 50).
In regards to claim 19, Promutico in view of Hintz teaches the door locking device according to claim 18, further comprising a door sensing pin (Promutico: 46c) operably coupled between the door of the household appliance and the door sensing switch element of said the second terminal (Promutico: para 46 and see fig 20), the door sensing pin configured to move between an engaged position (Promutico: see fig 9at least as its engaged with 7b) when the door is open (Promutico: para 63 describes signal when door is closed), retaining door sensing switch element into the open position, and a disengaged position (Promutico: see fig 15; disengaged from 7b) when the door is closed, where the door sensing switch element is in the closed position (Promutico: this corresponds to fig 14, note fig 20 builds on this see paras 70-73).
In regards to claim 20, Promutico in view of Hintz teaches the door locking device according to claim 1, further comprising a PTC (Promutico: Positive Temperature Coefficient) thermistor (Promutico: 51) operably coupled between the actuator and the first terminal (Promutico: para 48).
Conclusion
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675