DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 04/26/24, 8/1/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to preliminary amendment filed on 04/26/24. Regarding the amendment claims 1-20 are present for examination.
The amended specification is accepted and recorded in file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hossain et al. (US 2014/0009015 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hosain teaches an axial cooling system for a drive system, the axial cooling system comprising:
at least one cover assembly (61) configured to be coupled to an axial end portion of an electric motor of the drive system (2, Fig. 1), the at least one cover assembly (61) including:
a first side portion configured to face the stator (body 80 faces stator 24, Fig. 1);
a second side portion (end cover 61) coupled to the first side portion (body 80) so as to form a passage (90) therebetween;
a plurality of openings (104) defined in the first side portion; and
a supply nozzle portion (94) in fluid communication with the plurality of openings via the passage (90) defined between the first side portion and the second side portion, wherein the plurality of openings (104) are configured to receive cooling fluid from the supply nozzle portion, (94) and to discharge the cooling fluid in an axial direction toward a stator of the electric motor (cooling system 70 is configured to guide a cooling fluid (liquid or gas) from cooling fluid plenum 90 onto portions of stator 24, cooling system 70 includes a first plurality of stator nozzles 104, Para. [0014] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Hossain teach the at least one cover assembly includes:
a first cover assembly configured to be coupled to a first axial end portion of the electric motor (end cover 61 connected to body 80 of cooling system 70 [first cover assembly] connected to first axial end of electric machine 2, Fig. 1), wherein the first cover assembly is configured to discharge the cooling fluid in a first axial direction and onto stator end windings at the first axial end portion of the electric motor (cooling system 70 is configured to guide a cooling fluid (liquid or gas) from cooling fluid plenum 90 onto portions of stator 24 including windings 30 in an axial direction, cooling system 70 includes a first plurality of stator nozzles 104, Para. [0014] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3); and
a second cover assembly configured to be coupled to a second axial end portion of the electric motor (end cover 64 connected to body 130 of cooling system 74 [second cover assembly] connected to second axial end of electric machine 2, Fig. 1), wherein the second cover assembly is configured to discharge the cooling fluid in a second axial direction and onto stator end windings at the second axial end portion of the electric motor (cooling system 74 is configured to guide a cooling fluid (liquid or gas) from internal cooling fluid plenum 140 onto portions of stator 24, cooling system 74 includes a first plurality of stator nozzles 154, Para. [0017] & Fig. 1, 4 and 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Hossain teaches the plurality of openings in the first side portion are arranged circumferentially about a central axis of the at least one cover assembly, corresponding to a central longitudinal axis of the stator (cooling system 70 is configured to guide a cooling fluid (liquid or gas) from cooling fluid plenum 90 onto portions of stator 24, cooling system 70 includes a first plurality of stator nozzles 104, Para. [0014] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3, and, stator nozzles 104 guide jets of liquid coolant along axis 48 onto crown end 32 of stator 24, Para. [0015] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Hossain teaches a size and a shape of the plurality of openings (104) are substantially the same (nozzles 104 include a similar size and shape, Fig. 1, 2 and 3), and wherein the plurality of openings (104) are arranged substantially equidistant from each other along a circumferential portion of the first side portion of the at least one cover assembly, corresponding to an arrangement of stator end windings at the axial end portion of the electric motor (First plurality of stator nozzles 104 are arranged in an annular array, Para. [0014] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3, and, stator nozzles 104 guide jets of liquid coolant along axis 48 onto crown end 32 of stator 24, Para. [0015] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 14, Hossain teaches an axial cooling system for a drive system, the axial cooling system comprising:
at least one cover assembly configured to be coupled to an axial end portion of an electric motor of the drive system (end cover 61 connected to body 80 of cooling system 70 [cover assembly] connected to an axial end of electric machine 2, Fig. 1), the at least one cover assembly including:
a first side portion configured to face the stator (body 80 of cooling system 70 [first side] faces stator 24, Fig. 1);
a second side portion coupled to the first side portion so as to form a passage therebetween (end cover 61 [second side] connected to body 80 of cooling system 70 [first side] via fasteners 97, Fig. 1, and, body 80 also includes an internal cooling fluid plenum 90 that is fluidically connected to a cooling fluid inlet 94 [forming passage] provided on first end cover 61, Para. [0013] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3); and
means for receiving cooling fluid into the passage, and for discharging the cooling fluid from the passage in an axial direction toward a stator of the electric motor (cooling system 70 is configured to guide a cooling fluid (liquid or gas) from cooling fluid plenum 90 onto portions of stator 24, cooling system 70 includes a first plurality of stator nozzles 104, Para. [0014] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 15, Hossain teaches the at least one cover assembly includes:
a first cover assembly configured to be coupled to a first axial end portion of the electric motor (end cover 61 connected to body 80 of cooling system 70 [first cover assembly] connected to first axial end of electric machine 2, Fig. 1), wherein the first cover assembly is configured to discharge the cooling fluid in a first axial direction and onto stator end windings at the first axial end portion of the electric motor (cooling system 70 is configured to guide a cooling fluid (liquid or gas) from cooling fluid plenum 90 onto portions of stator 24 including windings 30 in an axial direction, cooling system 70 includes a first plurality of stator nozzles 104, Para. [0014] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3); and
a second cover assembly configured to be coupled to a second axial end portion of the electric motor (end cover 64 connected to body 130 of cooling system 74 [second cover assembly] connected to second axial end of electric machine 2, Fig. 1), wherein the second cover assembly is configured to discharge the cooling fluid in a second axial direction and onto stator end windings at the second axial end portion of the electric motor (cooling system 74 is configured to guide a cooling fluid (liquid or gas) from internal cooling fluid plenum 140 onto portions of stator 24, cooling system 74 includes a first plurality of stator nozzles 154, Para. [0017] & Fig. 1, 4 and 5).
Regarding Claim 16, Hossain teaches the plurality of openings in the first side portion are arranged circumferentially about a central axis of the at least one cover assembly, corresponding to an arrangement of stator end windings at the axial end portion of the electric motor (cooling system 70 is configured to guide a cooling fluid (liquid or gas) from cooling fluid plenum 90 onto portions of stator 24, cooling system 70 includes a first plurality of stator nozzles 104, Para. [0014] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3, and, stator nozzles 104 guide jets of liquid coolant along axis 48 onto crown end 32 of stator 24, Para. [0015] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossain in view of Yamagishi et al. (US 2018/0138787 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Hossain teaches the plurality of openings in the first side portion are arranged about a central axis of the at least one cover assembly (cooling system 70 is configured to guide a cooling fluid from cooling fluid plenum 90 onto portions of stator 24, cooling system 70 includes a first plurality of stator nozzles 104, Para. [0014] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3, and, stator nozzles 104 guide jets of liquid coolant along axis 48 onto crown end 32 of stator 24, Para. [0015] & Fig. 1, 2 and 3). However, Hossain fails to explicitly disclose openings arranged irregularly.
Yamagishi teaches a rotating electrical machine having openings arranged irregularly (electrical machine 10 includes cooling oil discharge mechanism 40 including discharge holes 48 arranged irregularly about a central axis formed by vertical line 'LV' and horizontal line 'LH' and away from avoidance region La, Para. [0055] & Fig. 1 and 5) to appropriately cool the stator while maintain the detection accuracy of the temperature of the stator coil (para [0009]).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hossain’s cooling system with openings arranged irregularly as taught by Yamagishi. Doing so would appropriately cool the stator while maintain the detection accuracy of the temperature of the stator coil (para [0009]).
Claim(s) 6, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossain in view of Sugiura et al. (US 2014/0375154 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Hossain teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claims 1 and 14, except for the added limitation of a plurality of busbars configured to supply power to the stator, wherein the plurality of busbars are arranged circumferentially between an axial end portion of the stator and the at least one cover assembly, with spaces formed between adjacent busbars of the plurality of busbars such that cooling fluid flows through the spaces formed between adjacent busbars.
Sugiura teaches a rotating machine (Abstract) having a plurality of busbars (45A-45G) configured to supply power to the stator (20), wherein the plurality of busbars (45A-45G) are arranged circumferentially between an axial end portion of the stator (20) and the at least one cover assembly (10b Fig. 1), with spaces formed between adjacent busbars of the plurality of busbars such that cooling fluid flows through the spaces formed between adjacent busbars (busbars 45A-45G include spaces therebetween receiving cooling liquid from nozzle 15, Para. [0039] & Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6 and 7) to secure a high cooling performance of the stator coil (para [0009]).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hossain’s cooling system with a plurality of busbars configured to supply power to the stator, wherein the plurality of busbars are arranged circumferentially between an axial end portion of the stator and the at least one cover assembly, with spaces formed between adjacent busbars of the plurality of busbars such that cooling fluid flows through the spaces formed between adjacent busbars as taught by Sugiura. Doing so would secure a high cooling performance of the stator coil (para [0009]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossain in view of Sugiura, further in view of Beaupre et al. (US 2012/0319933 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Hossain in view of Sugiura teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 6, except for the added limitation of each of the plurality of busbars is individually coated with a dielectric material.
Beaupre teaches a system for dielectric coated burbars having each of the plurality of busbars (104) is individually coated with a dielectric material (abs) to improve thermal management and power density of burbars (para [0007]).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hossain in view of Sugiura’s cooling system with each of the plurality of busbars is individually coated with a dielectric material as taught by Beaupre. Doing so would improve thermal management and power density of burbars (para [0007]).
Claim(s) 8-11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossain in view of Sugiura, further in view of Yokogawa et al. (US 2012/0293024 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Hossain in view of Sugiura teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claims 6 and 17, except for the added limitation of a first holder positioned at an inner circumferential position relative to the plurality of busbars; and a second holder positioned at an outer circumferential position relative to the plurality of busbars, wherein the first holder and the second holder are configured to secure a position of the plurality of busbars relative to a plurality of stator end windings at the axial end portion of the stator.
Yokogawa teaches a stator segment motor having a first holder (62a) positioned at an inner circumferential position relative to the plurality of busbars (61u, 61v, 61w, 61x); and
a second holder (62b) positioned at an outer circumferential position relative to the plurality of busbars (61u, 61v, 61w, 61x),
wherein the first holder (62a) and the second holder (62b) are configured to secure a position of the plurality of busbars (61u, 61v, 61w, 61x) relative to a plurality of stator end windings (55) at the axial end portion of the stator (12, fig 8-10) to allow wiring members connected with coil wire terminals to be attached to and removed from the stator, so that achieve improved circularity of a cylindrical stator (para [0015]).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hossain in view of Sugiura’s cooling system with a first holder positioned at an inner circumferential position relative to the plurality of busbars; and a second holder positioned at an outer circumferential position relative to the plurality of busbars, wherein the first holder and the second holder are configured to secure a position of the plurality of busbars relative to a plurality of stator end windings at the axial end portion of the stator as taught by Yokogawa. Doing so would achieve improved circularity of a cylindrical stator (para [0015]).
Regarding claims 9, Hossain in view of Sugiura and Yokogawa teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8, except for the added limitation of the second holder includes: a plurality of leg portions each having a first end coupled to a busbar of the plurality of busbars and a second end portion coupled to the axial end portion of the stator; and a plurality of windows formed between adjacent leg portions of the plurality of leg portions.
Yokogawa further teaches the second holder (62b) includes a plurality of leg portions (24) each having a first end (24b) coupled to a busbar (61u, 61v, 61w, 61x) of the plurality of busbars and a second end portion (24b) coupled to the axial end portion (55) of the stator (12), and a plurality of windows formed between adjacent leg portions (24b) of the plurality of leg portions (fig 9) to allow wiring members connected with coil wire terminals to be attached to and removed from the stator, so that achieve improved circularity of a cylindrical stator (para [0015]).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hossain in view of Sugiura and Yokogawa’s cooling system with the second holder includes a plurality of leg portions each having a first end coupled to a busbar of the plurality of busbars and a second end portion coupled to the axial end portion of the stator; and a plurality of windows formed between adjacent leg portions of the plurality of leg portions as further taught by Yokogawa. Doing so would achieve improved circularity of a cylindrical stator (para [0015]).
Regarding claims 10, Hossain in view of Sugiura and Yokogawa teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8, except for the added limitation of the first holder and the second holder are injection molded.
Yokogawa further teaches the first holder and the second holder are injection molded (para [0121]) to prevent electric short circuit.
Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hossain in view of Sugiura and Yokogawa’s cooling system with the first holder and the second holder are injection molded as further taught by Yokogawa. Doing so would prevent electric short circuit.
Claim(s) 11-12, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossain in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0069664 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Hossain teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the plurality of openings defined in the first side portion comprises a plurality of first openings, the at least one cover assembly further comprising a second plurality of openings defined in the second side portion.
Kim teaches a motor having a plurality of openings (137) defined in the first side portion comprises a plurality of first openings, the at least one cover assembly (132) further comprising a second plurality of openings (135) defined in the second side portion (134, fig 4) to directly cool down a motor (para [0006]).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hossain’s cooling system with the plurality of openings defined in the first side portion comprises a plurality of first openings, the at least one cover assembly further comprising a second plurality of openings defined in the second side portion as taught by Kim. Doing so would directly cool down a motor (para [0006]).
Regarding claim 12, Hossain in view of Kim teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11, except for the added limitation of the plurality of the supply nozzle portion is in fluid communication with the first plurality of openings and with the second plurality of openings via the passage defined between the first side portion and the second side portion.
Kim further teaches a motor having the supply nozzle portion (138) is in fluid communication with the first plurality of openings (137) and with the second plurality of openings (135) via the passage (136) defined between the first side portion and the second side portion to directly cool down a motor (para [0006]).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hossain in view of Kim’s cooling system with the supply nozzle portion is in fluid communication with the first plurality of openings and with the second plurality of openings via the passage defined between the first side portion and the second side portion as further taught by Kim. Doing so would directly cool down a motor (para [0006]).
Regarding claim 19, Hossain teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 14, except for the added limitation of the plurality of openings defined in the first side portion comprises a plurality of first openings, and wherein the at least one cover assembly further comprises a second plurality of openings defined in the second side portion, wherein the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings are in fluid communication with the passage defined between the first side portion and the second side portion.
Kim teaches a motor having plurality of openings (137) defined in the first side portion comprises a plurality of first openings, and wherein the at least one cover assembly (132) further comprises a second plurality of openings (135) defined in the second side portion (134), wherein the plurality of first openings (137) and the plurality of second openings (135) are in fluid communication with the passage (136) defined between the first side portion and the second side portion (fig 4) to directly cool down a motor (para [0006]).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hossain’s cooling system with the plurality of openings defined in the first side portion comprises a plurality of first openings, and wherein the at least one cover assembly further comprises a second plurality of openings defined in the second side portion, wherein the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings are in fluid communication with the passage defined between the first side portion and the second side portion as taught by Kim. Doing so would directly cool down a motor (para [0006]).
Claim(s) 13, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossain in view of Kim, further in view of Wang et al. (CN 111835117 A).
Regarding claim 13, Hossain in view of Kim teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12, Kim further teaches the first plurality of openings (137) are configured to receive cooling fluid from the supply nozzle portion (138) and to discharge the cooling fluid in an axial direction toward a stator (120) of an electric motor of the drive system (fig 1), and the second plurality of openings (135) are configured to receive cooling fluid from the supply nozzle portion (138) and to discharge the cooling fluid in an axial direction toward a stator (120) of the electric motor of the drive system (fig 1). However, Hossain in view of Kim does not teach a first electric motor being positioned at a first side of the at least one cover assembly and a second electric motor being positioned at a second side of the at least one cover assembly.
Wang teaches a motor assembly having a first electric motor (111) being positioned at a first side of the at least one cover assembly (1102) and a second electric motor (112) being positioned at a second side of the at least one cover assembly (1102, fig1) to reduce manufacturing cost and provide a compact motor assembly (abs).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hossain in view of Kim’s cooling system with a first electric motor being positioned at a first side of the at least one cover assembly and a second electric motor being positioned at a second side of the at least one cover assembly as taught by Wang. Doing so would reduce manufacturing cost and provide a compact motor assembly (abs).
Regarding claim 25, Hossain in view of Kim teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 19, Kim further teaches the first plurality of openings (137) are configured to discharge the cooling fluid from the passage in a first axial direction toward a stator (120) of an electric motor of the drive system (fig 1), and the second plurality of openings (135) are configured to discharge cooling fluid from the passage in an axial direction toward a stator (120) of the electric motor of the drive system (fig 1). However, Hossain in view of Kim does not teach a first electric motor being positioned at a first side of the at least one cover assembly and a second electric motor being positioned at a second side of the at least one cover assembly.
Wang teaches a motor assembly having a first electric motor (111) being positioned at a first side of the at least one cover assembly (1102) and a second electric motor (112) being positioned at a second side of the at least one cover assembly (1102, fig1) to reduce manufacturing cost and provide a compact motor assembly (abs).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hossain in view of Kim’s cooling system with a first electric motor being positioned at a first side of the at least one cover assembly and a second electric motor being positioned at a second side of the at least one cover assembly as taught by Wang. Doing so would reduce manufacturing cost and provide a compact motor assembly (abs).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okochi et al. (US 2017/0012503 A1) teaches a rotor core includes at least one core refrigerant passage configured to release a refrigerant to a gap between the rotor core and a stator. The core refrigerant passage includes: a central refrigerant passage provided radially inside a permanent magnet so as to extend in an axial direction, the central refrigerant passage being opened on axial end surfaces of the rotor core; an inner refrigerant passage communicating the shaft refrigerant passage with the central refrigerant passage; an outer refrigerant passage communicating the central refrigerant passage with the gap; and dams provided on both axial-end sides of the central refrigerant passage relative to the outer refrigerant passage so as to project toward a radially inner side from a radially outer side in the central refrigerant passage.
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834