Response to Argument and Argument
The response filed on 8/6/26 has been entered.
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Claims 1-4, 11, 14, 29, 40, 44, 50, 55, 73, 79, 80, 87, 108, 112, 120, 175, and 176 are pending in this office action. Claims 108, 112, 120, 175, and 176 are currently withdrawn.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11, 14, 29, 40, 44, 55 and 73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a2) as being anticipated by Harel et al. (US 2013/0296165).
With regards to instant claim 1, Harel teaches a dry stabilizing composition (see abstract) comprising a eukaryotic cell (see 0048, intrinsically a mammalian cell, thus anticipated a mouse or a human cell), a sugar i.e., non-reducing sugar disaccharide (see 0053, as required by instant claims 1 and 11), an antioxidant i.e., vitamins (see 0048, as required by instant claim 1 and 14), a polymer (i.e., polyvinylpyrrolidone (see 0173, as required by instant claim 15) and a polysaccharide (see0060 and claim 1, as required by instant claim 29) and protein (see 0063, as required by instant claim 40), wherein the sugar is from 10% (see 0067, as required by instant claim 44), and the concentration of the polymer is 0.01% (see 0173 as required by instant claim 55) and comprises a buffer (see 0115, as required by instant claim 73).
Therefore the claims are anticipated by Harel.
Applicant argues that Harel generally relates to the preparations of probiotic, enzymatic, or multivitamin formulations for use in a variety of different applications. The Action has identified a series of distinct teachings from the reference and combined them together to arrive at the presently claimed invention. For example, the Action points to paragraph 48, which notes that this method can be applied to both prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells among a list of multiple different options including such disparate potential components as viruses, vaccines, hormones, peptides, enzymes, vitamins, minerals, fungicides, herbicides, antibodies, and lipid vesicles. Nothing in Harel et al. suggests or teaches the formation of a dry powder composition comprising a eukaryotic cell that is either a plant or animal cell as claimed.
In response Applicant’s argument is found unpersuasive for the following reason. Harel specifically teach that animal protein (see 0063, 0067) which is eukaryotic cell (see also claim 10). Animal protein as known in the art are composed of eukaryotic cells. It is an inherent property of an animal cell, Therefore the rejection is maintained. The newly added limitation
Claim(s) 1-4, 11, 29, 40, 44, 55, 73, 80 and 87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a2) as being anticipated by Guangzhou (CN 109593124)
With regards to instant claim 1, Guangzhou teaches a pharmaceutically dry powder formulation comprising one or more eukaryotic cell i.e., an umbilical cord mesenchymal stem (see Abstract) trehalose ie., a sugar (see abstract, a nonreducing sugar, as required by instant claim 11) and a polymer (see abstract) wherein the umbilical cord mesenchymal stem is a eukaryotic cell that is an animal or mammalian cell (i.e., a mouse cell as required by instant claims 2-4), wherein the trehalose is 1-15g i.e., 1-15 % (as required by instant claim 44) poloxomer from 1-5g (as required by instant claim55) and a protein (as required by instant claim 40), culture cell medium as required by instant claim 73) and excipient such as carboxymethyl cellulose (see abstract as required by instant claim 80). With regards to instant claim 87, the composition is the same and therefore the characteristic of showing a decrease of less than 10% change in viability within an hour will be the same because as stated in the MPEP 2112.01 "products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 11, 14, 29, 40, 44, 55, 73, 79, 80 and 87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guangzhou (CN 109593124) in view of Cohen et al. (US 2012/0071483)
With regards to instant claim 1, Guangzhou teaches a pharmaceutically dry powder formulation comprising one or more eukaryotic cell i.e., an umbilical cord mesenchymal stem (see Abstract) trehalose ie., a sugar (see abstract, a nonreducing sugar, as required by instant claim 11) and a polymer (see abstract) wherein the umbilical cord mesenchymal stem is a eukaryotic cell that is an animal or mammalian cell (i.e., a mouse cell as required by instant claims 2-4), wherein the trehalose is 1-15g i.e., 1-15 % (as required by instant claim 44) poloxomer from 1-5g (as required by instant claim55) and a protein (as required by instant claim 40), culture cell medium as required by instant claim 73) and excipient such as carboxymethyl cellulose (see abstract as required by instant claim 80). With regards to instant claim 87, the composition is the same and therefore the characteristic of showing a decrease of less than 10% change in viability within an hour will be the same because as stated in the MPEP 2112.01 "products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties."
Guangzhou fails to teach instant claim 79
Cohen is added because the reference teaches a dry formulation (see 0138) comprising epigallocatechin-gallate (see 0113), polyvinylpyrrolidone.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine agent known in the art to produce a dry formulation that will reasonably result in success of when the cited references are combined.
No claims are allowed.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 9/9/2026