DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to file provisions. This action is responsive to communication filed 4/26/2024, claims 1 – 15 are pending for examination. This action is non-final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement dated 4/26/2024 is herein reviewed by the Examiner.
The aforementioned IDS has incorrect Patent Publication numbers for the two US cited PG PUB references. Examiner indicates that the corrected inventors and publication numbers are, respectively: Sullenberger et al. (US 2019/0372936 A1) and Xiong et al. (US 2020/0351254 A1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is not found to be taught or suggested by the prior art of record and therefore comprises allowable subject matter which if rewritten into independent form to comprise all subject matter of respective parent claims would be in condition for allowance. However, as respective parent claims are rejected herein, claim 12 is herein objected to. Dependent claim 13 inherits all objections of respective parent claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 – 8, 11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sullenberger et al. (US 2019/0372936 A1), hereinafter “Sullenberger”.
Regarding claim 1, Sullenberger teaches a system for routing internet protocol, IP, traffic (Sullenberger ¶ 0014-0018, 0040, 0047), the system comprising:
one or more consumer networks (e.g., Wide Area Network (WAN)), each consumer network comprising a gateway (Virtual Private Network (VPN) Gateway) and one or more private networks (e.g. VPNs, LANs, LAN subnets, etc.…), wherein each of the one or more private networks serves one or more endpoints (client devices connected to LANs communicate in end-to-end fashion Sullenberger ¶ 0038-0040); and
a remote network comprising a router for each of the one or more private networks in each of the one or more consumer networks (e.g., method 200 is described in the context of encryption tunneling of traffic between a source VPN gateway that serves a source subnet (e.g., any of VPN gateways 102A that serve any of LANs 104A ) that originates the traffic and a destination VPN gateway that serves a destination subnet (e.g., any of VPN gateways 102B that serve any of LANs 104B) to which the traffic is destined Sullenberger ¶ 0047, effectively, each respective VPN gateway functions as a router for its associated VPN; wherein “LANs 106A may be segmented such that each LAN represents a respective LAN subnet (also referred to simply a “local network subnet,” a “local subnet,” or simply a “subnet”) identified by a respective IP address prefix (referred to as a “subnet identifier”). VPN gateways 102A provide LANs 106A with access to WANs 104 through the VPN gateways. Similarly, VPN gateways 102B serve/support LANs 106B(1) and 106B(2) (collectively referred to as LANs 106B) coupled to the VPN gateways as shown in FIG. 1. LANs 106B may be segmented such that each LAN represents a respective LAN subnet identified by a respective IP address prefix.” Sullenberger ¶ 0040), wherein each router in the remote network has a unique identifier (e.g., subnet identifier) and is configured to establish a tunnel between the router and the gateway of the corresponding consumer network, so that each tunnel corresponds to a private network of the one or more private networks in the one or more consumer networks (encrypting traffic between VPNs (e.g., tunnel-based communications) Sullenberger ¶ 0047; “source subnet identifier” of respective VPNs and VPN gateways Sullenberger ¶ 0047, 0056-0059) , wherein the gateway of each consumer network is configured to:
receive upstream IP traffic (VPN gateway receives traffic from its respective source subnet Sullenberger ¶ 0047; further “VPN gateway receives a clear-text IP packet originated from a source subnet among the source subnets supported by the source VPN gateway and destined for a destination subnet supported by the destination VPN gateway” Sullenberger ¶ 0050);
determine from which private network in the consumer network the upstream IP traffic originates (“encryption tunneling of traffic between a source VPN gateway that serves a source subnet (e.g., any of VPN gateways 102A that serve any of LANs 104A) that originates the traffic and a destination VPN gateway that serves a destination subnet (e.g., any of VPN gateways 102B that serve any of LANs 104B) to which the traffic is destined” Sullenberger ¶ 0047); and
send the upstream IP traffic to the remote network via the tunnel corresponding to the private network from which the upstream IP traffic originates (tunneling from the source VPN gateway to the destination VPN gateway associated with the destination IP address Sullenberger ¶ 0049-0051).
Regarding claim 3, Sullenberger teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the remote network further comprises a destination server, and wherein each router is configured to communicate IP traffic with the destination server (destination within a subnet is an IP-addressed node Sullenberger ¶ 0050-0051, 0040).
Regarding claim 4, Sullenberger teaches a method performed by the gateway of a consumer network of the one or more consumer networks, in the system of claim 1, wherein the consumer network comprises a plurality of private networks, wherein a private routing table is used within the consumer network the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of requests to establish a tunnel, so that each router can establish the tunnel between the router and the gateway of the consumer network; and/or
sending upstream IP traffic to the remote network via the tunnel corresponding to the private network from which the upstream IP traffic originates (tunneling from the source VPN gateway to the destination VPN gateway associated with the destination IP address Sullenberger ¶ 0049-0051; wherein a secure database comprises the source and destination IP addresses for respective subnets Sullenberger ¶ 0051-0053).
Regarding claim 5, Sullenberger teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising:
receiving upstream IP traffic from the first endpoint (VPN gateway receives traffic from its respective source subnet Sullenberger ¶ 0047; further “VPN gateway receives a clear-text IP packet originated from a source subnet among the source subnets supported by the source VPN gateway and destined for a destination subnet supported by the destination VPN gateway” Sullenberger ¶ 0050); and
determining that the upstream IP traffic is received via the first private network (“encryption tunneling of traffic between a source VPN gateway that serves a source subnet (e.g., any of VPN gateways 102A that serve any of LANs 104A) that originates the traffic and a destination VPN gateway that serves a destination subnet (e.g., any of VPN gateways 102B that serve any of LANs 104B) to which the traffic is destined” Sullenberger ¶ 0047).
Regarding claim 6, Sullenberger teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising:
receiving, at the gateway of the consumer network via one or more tunnels, downstream IP traffic destined for one or more endpoints served by the one or more private networks (receiving a message to send traffic to a destination VPN, at a current VPN gateway Sullenberger ¶ 0050-0056; wherein IP traffic is send between endpoints of respective VPNs Sullenberger ¶ 0040);
sending the downstream IP traffic from the gateway of the consumer network via the corresponding private network of the consumer network (receiving an encrypted tunnel packet at the destination VPN Sullenberger ¶ 0072-0073; encrypting based upon the respective tunnel and sending the encrypted data packet Sullenberger ¶ 0074-00).
Regarding claim 7, Sullenberger teaches the method of claims 4, wherein each of the one or more private networks of the consumer network has a unique network identifier (e.g., subnet identifier, VPN subnet identifier Sullenberger ¶ 0040, 0041), and wherein the private network to which IP traffic relates is determined based on a unique network identifier associated with the IP traffic (e.g., based on upon the destination subnet identifier Sullenberger ¶ 0041-0043).
Regarding claim 8, Sullenberger teaches a method of managing internet protocol, IP, traffic between the one or more consumer networks and the remote network in the system of claim 1, the method comprising:
for each router, establishing the tunnel between the router and the gateway of the corresponding consumer network (encrypting traffic between VPNs (e.g., tunnel-based communications) Sullenberger ¶ 0047; “source subnet identifier” of respective VPNs and VPN gateways Sullenberger ¶ 0047, 0056-0059); and/or
receiving, at one or more of the routers, upstream IP traffic from one or more of the endpoints served by the private network corresponding to the router via the corresponding tunnel.
Regarding claim 11, Sullenberger teaches the method of claims 8, wherein the remote network further comprises a destination server, the method further comprising:
at each router where upstream IP traffic is received, sending translated upstream IP traffic to the destination server (receiving an encrypted tunnel packet at the destination VPN Sullenberger ¶ 0072-0073; encrypting (e.g., translating) based upon the respective tunnel and sending the encrypted data packet Sullenberger ¶ 0074-00).
Regarding claim 14, Sullenberger teaches the method of claim 8, wherein:
the gateway of one or more of the consumer networks is a virtual gateway (Sullenberger ¶ 0095-0096, 0039);
the remote network further comprises a gateway and the gateway of the remote network is a virtual gateway;
each router is a virtual router;
each router is a virtual router implemented in a separate virtualized container; and/or
the remote network further comprises a destination server and the destination server is a virtual destination server.
Regarding claim 15, Sullenberger teaches a computer program comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 8 (see above regarding claim 8, see Sullenberger ¶ 0083-0084 regarding “a computer program comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullenberger in view of Liguori et al. (US 2021/0089239 A1), hereinafter “Liguori”.
Regarding claim 2, where Sullenberger teaches the system of claim 1, wherein a range of one or more IP addresses is allocated to each router, and wherein each router is configured to perform network address translation, NAT, on the IP traffic so that an IP address of each of the one or more endpoints served by the corresponding private network is translated to an IP address within the range of IP addresses allocated to the router, wherein each range of IP addresses allocated to each router is non- overlapping with the ranges of IP addresses allocated to the other routers.
However, Liguori teaches wherein a range of one or more IP addresses is allocated to each router, and wherein each router is configured to perform network address translation, NAT, on the IP traffic (virtual/hardware network instances perform ‘address translation’ Liguori ¶ 0036-0037 of IP traffic Liguori ¶ 0053) so that an IP address of each of the one or more endpoints served by the corresponding private network is translated to an IP address within the range of IP addresses allocated to the router, wherein each range of IP addresses allocated to each router is non-overlapping with the ranges of IP addresses allocated to the other routers (“re-assignment of the network addresses (e.g., assigning addresses from respective non-overlapping IP address ranges at the different premises), and/or implementing a bi-directional network address translation (NAT) algorithm… VCS may provide more detailed guidance (e.g., suggesting new non-overlapping ranges of IP addresses, instructions for establishing a virtual router or hub for NAT, etc.) to the client to make the needed configuration changes (element 1613)” Liguori ¶ 0135).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Liguori related to having unique address ranges for subnets and further performing translation at different subnets and apply them to the teachings of Sullenberger for the purpose of yielding the predictable result of providing application isolation and security among different computing instances. One would be motivated as such as this allows for separate networks to have their own private security, and therefore may be specifically based on the users of that network.
Regarding claim 9, where Sullenberger teaches the method of claim 8, Sullenberger is not found to teach for each router, allocating a range of one or more IP addresses, wherein each range of IP addresses allocated to each router is non-overlapping with the ranges of IP addresses allocated to the other routers; and at each router where upstream IP traffic is received, performing network address translation, NAT, on the received upstream IP traffic, so that a source IP address of upstream IP traffic is translated to an IP address within the allocated range of the router.
However, in analogous art, Liguori teaches for each router [of a subnetwork], allocating a range of one or more IP addresses, wherein each range of IP addresses allocated to each router is non-overlapping with the ranges of IP addresses allocated to the other routers (“re-assignment of the network addresses (e.g., assigning addresses from respective non-overlapping IP address ranges at the different premises), and/or implementing a bi-directional network address translation (NAT) algorithm… VCS may provide more detailed guidance (e.g., suggesting new non-overlapping ranges of IP addresses, instructions for establishing a virtual router or hub for NAT, etc.) to the client to make the needed configuration changes (element 1613)” Liguori ¶ 0135); and at each router where upstream IP traffic is received, performing network address translation, NAT, on the received upstream IP traffic, so that a source IP address of upstream IP traffic is translated to an IP address within the allocated range of the router (virtual/hardware network instances perform ‘address translation’ Liguori ¶ 0036-0037 of IP traffic Liguori ¶ 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Liguori related to having unique address ranges for subnets and further performing translation at different subnets and apply them to the teachings of Sullenberger for the purpose of yielding the predictable result of providing application isolation and security among different computing instances. One would be motivated as such as this allows for separate networks to have their own private security, and therefore may be specifically based on the users of that network.
Regarding claim 10, where Sullenberger teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, at one or more of the routers of the remote network, downstream IP traffic destined for one or more of the one or more endpoints served by the corresponding private network (VPN gateway receives traffic from its respective source subnet Sullenberger ¶ 0047; further “VPN gateway receives a clear-text IP packet originated from a source subnet among the source subnets supported by the source VPN gateway and destined for a destination subnet supported by the destination VPN gateway” Sullenberger ¶ 0050) and sending translated downstream IP traffic to a gateway of a corresponding consumer network via the corresponding tunnel (receiving an encrypted tunnel packet at the destination VPN Sullenberger ¶ 0072-0073; encrypting (e.g., translating) based upon the respective tunnel and sending the encrypted data packet Sullenberger ¶ 0074-00), Sullenberger is not found to teach at each router where downstream IP traffic is received, performing network address translation, NAT, on the received downstream IP traffic and at each router where downstream IP traffic is received, sending translated downstream IP traffic to the gateway of the corresponding consumer network via the corresponding tunnel.
However, in analogous art, Liguori teaches at each router where downstream IP traffic is received, performing network address translation, NAT, on the received downstream IP traffic and at each router where downstream IP traffic is received (“re-assignment of the network addresses (e.g., assigning addresses from respective non-overlapping IP address ranges at the different premises), and/or implementing a bi-directional network address translation (NAT) algorithm… VCS may provide more detailed guidance (e.g., suggesting new non-overlapping ranges of IP addresses, instructions for establishing a virtual router or hub for NAT, etc.) to the client to make the needed configuration changes (element 1613)” Liguori ¶ 0135; virtual/hardware network instances perform ‘address translation’ Liguori ¶ 0036-0037 of IP traffic Liguori ¶ 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Liguori related to having unique address ranges for subnets and further performing translation at different subnets and apply them to the teachings of Sullenberger for the purpose of yielding the predictable result of providing application isolation and security among different computing instances. One would be motivated as such as this allows for separate networks to have their own private security, and therefore may be specifically based on the users of that network.
Conclusion
Cheng et al. (US 2017/0353351 A1) directed network IP traffic directing through separate VPCs based on public/private addresses and Haramaty et al. (US 2021/0176190 A1) directed to providing redundant connectivity to remote customer sites are prior art references found pertinent to Applicant’s claimed invention but were not used in making the rejections presented herein.
/J.K.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2454
/GLENTON B BURGESS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2454