Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DISCHARGE DETECTOR FOR THREE-PHASE ALTERNATING CURRENT POWER CIRCUIT.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1–3 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Stefano et al. (U.S. 2016/0274176 A1) in view of Glenn (U.S. 2003/0122588 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Di Stefano et al. disclose in Figs. 2-4 a discharge detector for detecting occurrence of discharge based on a noise in a high frequency band superimposed on an alternating current power source supplied from a power circuit of a three-phase alternating current (a partial discharge detection system detects high-frequency partial-discharge signals associated with electrical equipment of an AC power system, see [0059]); at least one filter section electrically connected between two phases out of a first phase, a second phase, and a third phase of the power circuit and configured to extract a predetermined frequency component from the alternating current power source (a high-pass filtering module filters a detected electrical signal to extract high-frequency components associated with partial discharge, see [0071]; under BRI, the claimed filter section encompasses filtering a phase-related electrical signal of the monitored multiphase AC power circuit to extract a predetermined high-frequency discharge component); an amplification section configured to amplify an output of the filter section (a first amplifier amplifies the output of the high-pass filtering module, see [0072]); a phase angle setting section configured to set a starting point of noise measurement for each connection between the first phase-the second phase, between the second phase-the third phase, and between the third phase-the first phase (the system determines a zero crossing and corresponding phase values of the AC waveform for phase-referenced partial-discharge measurement, see [0061]; under BRI, establishing a zero crossing or corresponding phase reference provides a starting point from which the phase position of noise measurement is determined); a phase division section configured to define a plurality of domains by dividing one cycle of a voltage waveform or a current waveform of each connection between the first phase-the second phase, between the second phase-the third phase, and between the third phase-the first phase based on the starting point of noise measurement (detected partial-discharge amplitudes are associated with corresponding phase values throughout the AC cycle, thereby providing phase-resolved portions of the cycle, see [0085]; under BRI, assigning detected signals to respective phase positions within one AC cycle constitutes defining a plurality of phase domains); and a determination section configured to detect a noise at a predetermined frequency included in an output of the smoothing section, configured to specify at least one domain coincident with a timing of detecting the noise out of the plurality of domains defined by the phase division section, and configured to specify which connection between the first phase-the second phase, between the second phase-the third phase, or between the third phase-the first phase is a source of the noise (each detected partial-discharge event is associated with a corresponding timestamp and AC phase value, thereby identifying the phase position coincident with detection of the discharge signal, see [0085]; under BRI, associating the detected noise with its corresponding phase position permits identification of the associated phase relationship/source).
Di Stefano et al. do not expressly disclose a smoothing section configured to smooth an output of the amplification section, and do not expressly disclose defining and distinguishing the respective phase relationships of a three-phase system using multiple predetermined phase references for identifying the corresponding source phase relationship.
Glenn teaches a smoothing section configured to smooth a processed signal (a smoothing filter smooths accumulated phase differences and filters high-speed noise, see [0054]), and teaches determining phase using multiple phase references corresponding to 0°, 120°, and 240° (see [0044]; under BRI, the three phase references correspond to respective phase relationships in a three-phase system and permit a detected signal to be associated with a corresponding phase region).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Di Stefano et al. by incorporating Glenn’s smoothing filter and multiple phase-reference processing, as doing so would provide a more stable signal and permit phase-resolved identification of detected discharge signals because Glenn emphasizes in paragraph [0054] that smoothing filters high-speed noise and in paragraph [0044] that multiple phase references separated by 120° are used for phase determination, thus improving reliable phase-based identification of discharge signals in a three-phase system.
Regarding claim 2, Di Stefano et al. in view of Glenn disclose the discharge detector according to claim 1, Di Stefano et al. further disclose wherein the phase angle setting section determines a first starting point of noise measurement based on the voltage waveform or the current waveform of any one phase-connection between the first phase-the second phase, between the second phase-the third phase, or between the third phase-the first phase (a zero crossing and corresponding phase reference are determined from an AC waveform for phase-resolved partial-discharge measurement, see [0061]; wherein, the determined zero crossing or phase reference constitutes the claimed first starting point of noise measurement).
Di Stefano et al. do not expressly disclose determining second and third starting points of noise measurement for the other two phase-connections based on the first starting point of noise measurement and a shift in a phase angle of the voltage waveform or the current waveform of each connection between the first phase-the second phase, between the second phase-the third phase, and between the third phase-the first phase.
Glenn teaches multiple phase references corresponding to 0°, 120°, and 240° (see [0044]; under BRI, after establishing a first phase reference, the known 120° phase shifts define corresponding second and third phase references for the remaining phases).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Di Stefano et al. by incorporating Glenn’s predetermined 120°-shifted phase references, as doing so would allow second and third phase references to be determined from a first established phase reference because Glenn emphasizes in paragraph [0044] that the respective phase references are separated by predetermined 120° phase relationships, thus providing synchronized phase referencing for a three-phase AC system.
Regarding claim 3, Di Stefano et al. in view of Glenn disclose the discharge detector according to claim 1; Di Stefano et al. disclose determining phase information based on an AC voltage waveform for phase-resolved partial-discharge measurement (see [0061]).
Di Stefano et al. do not expressly disclose wherein the phase angle setting section determines the starting point of noise measurement for each connection between the first phase-the second phase, between the second phase-the third phase, and between the third phase-the first phase based on the voltage waveform or the current waveform of each of these three phase-connections.
Glenn teaches determining respective phase information using multiple phase references corresponding to 0°, 120°, and 240° (see [0044]; under BRI, separately established phase references corresponding to the three phases provide respective starting points associated with the three phase relationships).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Di Stefano et al. by incorporating Glenn’s respective three-phase references, as doing so would permit respective starting points to be established for the three phase relationships because Glenn emphasizes in paragraph [0044] the use of respective 120°-separated phase references, thus enabling phase-resolved signal processing across a three-phase AC system.
Regarding claim 5, Di Stefano et al. in view of Glenn disclose the discharge detector according to claim 1; Di Stefano et al. further disclose wherein the phase division section defines a peak time domain including time before and after a peak value for the one cycle of the voltage waveform or the current waveform of each connection between the first phase-the second phase, between the second phase-the third phase, and between the third phase-the first phase (detected partial-discharge amplitudes are associated with corresponding phase values throughout the AC cycle, thereby identifying phase-resolved portions including portions surrounding waveform peaks, see [0085]; under BRI, a predetermined range of phase values surrounding a waveform peak constitutes the claimed peak time domain); and the determination section specifies, if the timing of detecting the noise is coincident with the peak time domain, which connection between the first phase-the second phase, between the second phase-the third phase, or between the third phase-the first phase is the source of the noise (each detected partial-discharge event is associated with its corresponding AC phase value, thereby identifying the phase location coincident with the detected noise, see [0085]; under BRI, identifying the phase location of the detected discharge permits association of the discharge with the corresponding phase relationship).
Di Stefano et al. do not expressly disclose using the three respective phase relationships between the first-second, second-third, and third-first phases to specify which particular phase-connection is the source of the noise.
Glenn teaches multiple phase references corresponding to 0°, 120°, and 240°, permitting determination of the phase region associated with a detected signal (see [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Di Stefano et al.’s phase-resolved discharge detection by incorporating Glenn’s multiple 120°-separated phase references, as doing so would permit a detected noise occurring within a peak-related phase domain to be associated with the corresponding phase relationship because Glenn emphasizes in paragraph [0044] the use of multiple phase references for distinguishing phase position, thus enabling identification of the phase relationship associated with the detected noise.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 & 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In terms of claim 4, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “wherein the phase division section defines a peak time domain including time before and after a peak value and a zero cross time domain including time before and after a 0 value for the one cycle of the voltage waveform or the current waveform of each connection between the first phase - the second phase, between the second phase - the third phase, and between the third phase - the first phase, and the determination section calculates a value of a difference between a first output of the smoothing section in the peak time domain and a second output of the smoothing section in the zero cross time domain, and if the difference value is a first threshold or more, determines that discharge has occurred and specifies which connection between the first phase - the second phase, between the second phase - the third phase, or between the third phase - the first phase is a source of the discharge” in combination with all other elements in claim 1.
Claims 6-7 variously depending from claim 4 are allowable for the same above reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2024/0003950 A1 to Marshall et al. disclose methods and systems for detecting electrical discharges that precede electrical fires in electrical wiring. One or more sensor devices coupled to a circuit detect one or more signal waveforms generated by electrical activity on the circuit. The sensor devices identify one or more transient signals within the one or more signal waveforms, and generate one or more transient characteristics based upon the identified transient signals. A server communicably coupled to the sensor devices receives the one or more transient characteristics. The server analyzes the one or more transient characteristics to identify one or more electrical discharge indications. The server generates one or more alert signals when one or more electrical discharge indications are identified.
U.S. 2021/0373065 A1 to Takami et al. disclose a partial discharge detection apparatus includes low-speed and high-speed AD converters. The low-speed AD converter converts an analog signal of an AC waveform flowing through a power cable into a digital signal. The high-speed AD converter converts an analog signal of a partial discharge current into a digital signal. The analog signal is in a plurality of Nyquist frequency domains defined for each of two different types of sampling frequencies. The partial discharge is detected by a partial-discharge-detection digital signal processing unit based on the maximum value or the sum of a current value obtained from the digital signal of the partial discharge current obtained by the conversion of the high-speed AD converter, for each phase of the AC waveform, which is obtained from the digital signal of the AC waveform flowing in the power cable. The digital signal is obtained by the conversion of the low-speed AD converter.
U.S. 2021/0190850 A1 to Gundel et al. disclose systems and articles are described for monitoring electrical equipment of a power grid and predicting likelihood failure events of such electrical equipment. In one example, a cable accessory is configured to couple to an electrical power cable and includes a partial discharge sensor and a communications unit. The partial discharge sensor is configured to detect partial discharge events and output data indicative of the partial discharge events. The communications unit is configured to output event data based at least in part on the partial discharge data.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858