DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/27/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-14 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 02/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden to examine the two distinct inventions. This is not found persuasive because each group of claims identified in the Restriction Requirement of 01/16/2026 has a distinct and divergent classification; and further, Examiner notes that each group of claims, if filed separately, would not incur a Double Patenting rejection on the other.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Viel (WO 2016/079441 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 11, and 16, Viel discloses a pouring spout device comprising a frame (2) intended to be fastened to the packaging, the frame being provided with a pouring opening (22), a cover (3) connected to the frame by two flanges (4; see Figures 5-6) and a hinge (5); the hinge delimiting a lower side of the cover; the cover being configured to pivot between a closed position in which the cover shuts off the pouring opening (see Fig. 4) and an open position in which the cover releases the pouring opening (see Fig. 5); a sealing part (Examiner considers the sealing “part” to be lateral side extensions 46) made of plastic material overmolded on the cover and disposed on at least part of an external face of the cover extending along the an edge of the cover, the sealing part comprising two lateral sealing portions which protrude respectively from the-two lateral sides of the cover and a connecting sealing portion ( portion adjacent 36 that has teeth 37) connecting the two lateral sealing portions and protruding from an upper side of the cover (see Figures 5-6), the two lateral sealing portions and the connecting sealing portion being configured to bear against an external surface (21) of the frame in the closed position of the cover (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 2-3, 5, 8, 10, and 18, Viel discloses a pouring spout device comprising two sealing elements made of a film of plastic material overmolded on the frame, each of the two sealing elements being disposed on at least part of the external surface of the frame extending at least along part of a lateral edge laterally delimiting the pouring opening, so that the two sealing elements are in contact with the sealing part in the closed position of the cover (Page 7 lines 5-13). Examiner notes that Viel discloses a plastic film coated over the entirety of the pouring spout device in order to form a sealed barrier and prevent oxidation of product contained within.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Viel discloses a pouring spout wherein the two flanges each have at least three fold lines (41/43) configured so that, in the closed position of the cover, the two flanges are each folded down under the surface of the cover, above the pouring opening of the frame (see Figures 4-6).
Regarding claim 7 and 12-14, Viel discloses a pouring spout wherein the frame and/or the cover comprises a series of through holes (27) configured to receive the overmolded-plastic material, or closing lip, (37) overmolded on the cover, so as to reinforce the a hold of the plastic material overmolded on the cover on the material constituting the frame and/or the cover.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viel in view of Burgos Agudo (US 9604754 B1).
Regarding claims 6 and 19-20, Viel discloses the claimed invention except for the cover, hinge, and frame being formed of cardboard. Burgos Agudo teaches a hermetically-sealing dispensing lid wherein a cover, hinge, and frame are formed of cardboard (Col 3 lines 50-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Viel’s pouring spout to be alternatively made of cardboard, as a known substitute of material in the art of attached pouring spouts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734