DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 30-49 are pending. Claims 30-46 are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 30-46) in the reply filed on August 24, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that compounds 5-2, 17-14, 17-29, and 22-2 disclosed in WO2015009616A1 do not fall within the scope of formula I. This is not found persuasive in light of the multiple art rejections below as evidence of a lack of unity.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 47-49 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention (Group II), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 24, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Example 57, found in claim 43, identified as in the reply filed on August 24, 2026 is acknowledged.2
It is noted that along with the elected species Example 57, scope of examination has been expanded to include the various compounds rejected in the below art rejections.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 26, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Note, the third party submission submitted on May 29, 2026, referencing US20230286947A1 and WO 2022 256586 A2 has also been considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In several instances, see for example page 9, the specification recites formulas II-c, II-d, II-e, where the bond from L crosses into rings B and C, thus allowing for linker L to be attached to the spiro ring or fused ring formed by two R5 groups.
However it is clear that according to formula I, linker L is attached to the N-containing ring only.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 32-33 are objected to because of the following informalities: at various points of the claim, claim 32 recites typos where a space is required between two terms,
“or,R1 and R2. . .”,
“5-6membered. . . “,
“or,R5 is . . .”,
“orR7 is . . . .”
Claim 33 is objected for recitation of the B spiro cyclo ring as it attached to nitrogen containing ring, where B is claimed as follows:
.
The above single bond definition of claim 33 does not accurately represent the attachment of the B ring to formula II-c as follows.
Claim 33 recites the typo “R5 is s independently. . . . “
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (2nd paragraph)
Claims 30-33 and 44-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 30-31 are indefinite for the recitation of L is absent.
Where L is absent, the claims are indefinite as it unknown how ring A is attached to the rest of formula I at the nitrogen containing ring portion. Claims 33 and 44-46, which depend from indefinite claim 30 are similarly rejected as they do not address the indefinite limitation where L is absent.
With regard to claims 31, 32, 45 and 46 that recite a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Claims 31, 32, 45 and 46 recite the term “preferably” which renders the claims indefinite by reciting a broader range/limitation followed by a preferable, narrower range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 31 recites the broad recitation of a definition of A as an C6-10 aryl or 5-10 membered heteroaryl and the claim also recites “preferably” A is phenyl etc., which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 32 recites in multiple instances broader followed by narrower statement of a limitation/range. For example, R3 and R4 are broadly as follows:
etc., followed by the “preferably” where R3 and R4 are a statement of moieties as follows.
, which Note that R6 of claim 32 is defined with a narrower definition preceded by the term “preferably.”
Claim 45 recites a broader and narrower indefinite with the term “preferably” with regard to weight percentages, where a broader range is followed by a narrower statement of range/limitation as follows:
Claim 46 recites a broader and narrower indefinite with the term “preferably” with regard to weight percentages, where a broader range is followed by a narrower statement of range/limitation as follows:
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (4th paragraph)
Claims 33-37 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 33, depends from claim 30 and recites formulas II-c, II-d, II-e, where the bond from L crosses into rings B and C, thus allowing for linker L to be attached to the spiro ring or fused ring formed by two R5 groups. However it is clear according to formula I of claim 30, linker L is attached to the N-containing ring. Therefore claim 33 fails to properly further limit claim 30 from which it depends form.
Claims 33-37 that depend directly or indirectly from claim 30, fail to further limit it, as they note the B and C rings (formed by two R5 together to the carbon they are attached to) are optionally substituted with C2-4alkenyl or C2-4 alkynyl. Per claim 30, it is noted that that two R5 together that form a B or C ring cannot be substituted with alkenyl or alkynyl.
Note that with claim 37, these substituents upon the ring forming R5 groups are defined as R9, where claim 30 does not allow for R9 to be defined as alkenyl or alkynyl to be substituted on the B or C rings.
Claim 43 discloses the following two compounds
. These compounds fall outside the scope of formula I of claim 30 from which claim 43 depends from.
With these compounds, ring A (here a phenyl) is attached, via a single bond, to the spiro ring formed by two R5s in the first compound, or is fused with the spiro ring formed by two R5 groups. It is clear that from formula I of claim 30, the A ring (phenyl) can only be attached to the nitrogen containing ring by linker L, and not linked or attached to the spiro ring formed by two R5 groups.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30-34, 38, 44 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 105579444 A, published 5/11/2016, (CN 444, as interpreted by the English Translation of CN 444 ). CN 444 is listed on the IDS dated 4/26/2025 as For. Ref. No. 9. A copy of the English Translation of CN 444 is provided to interpret the Chinese language prior art and is listed on the PTO-892 form.
CN 105579444 A discloses compounds of formula III for treating a disorder mediated by Complement Factor B, specifically anticipatory compounds (clear of the provisos). below compound 19, as detailed below.
Compound 19 anticipates claim 30 where at positions equivalent to those of formula I, (A, L R1-R7 etc.), where A is phenyl, L is a bond, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, R3 and R4 are methyl, R5 is -CH2-CN where m is 1, R6 is hydrogen where t is 1-3, R7 is hydrogen, and n is 2.
Regarding claims 31-32 and limitation of A is a phenyl, L is a bond, R1-R6 defined therein, CN 444 teaches compound 19 to anticipate the claims.
Regarding claims 33-34 and 38, CN 444 teaches compound 19 to anticipate formulas II-a and II-b , III-a and III-b, and V-a, where R3-R6 are defined above, the dashed line is a single bond, n is 2, A is phenyl, L is a bond. See compound 19 above.
Regarding claim 44, CN 444 teaches a pharmaceutical composition and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. See claims 16-17 (referencing the English translation of CN 444) that recite a medicine composition, a carrier and a compound thereof.
Regarding claim 46 with various ranges of active ingredient doses from about 1-1000 mg to ranges of about 5-200 mg and specific amounts starting form 1 mg up to 500 mg, CN 444 teaches pharmaceutical compositions with overlapping ranges of active ingredient, about 1-1000 mg or more of active ingredient in a unit dose, or about 1-500 mg, or about 1-250 mg, or about 1-150 mg, or about 0.5-100 mg, or about 1-50 mg of active ingredient. (Per MPEP 2131.03 II. Anticipation of [Overlapping] Ranges). See page 35 last paragraph of English Translation of CN 444. See also claims 16-17 disclosing a medicinal composition and a carrier. See also page 32 of the English translation and the disclosure of tablets, capsules among other formulation forms, as well as a disclosure of diluents, lubricants, binders, disintegrants, etc.
Claim(s) 30-34, 38, 44 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 109414441 A, published 03-01-2019, (CN 441, as interpreted by the English Translation of CN 441). CN 441 is listed on the IDS dated 4/26/2025 as For. Ref. No. 10. A copy of the English Translation of CN 441 is provided and listed on the PTO-892 form.
At paragraph 1100, CN 441 teaches the following compounds that anticipate formula I of claim 30 as follows (clear of the provisos):
Compound 19 where A is phenyl, L is a bond, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, R3 is methoxy and R4 is methyl, R5 is halogen (fluoro) (m is 2), R6 is -COOH, where t is 1, R7 is hydrogen and n is 2.
See also paragraph 1116 the following compound 20
; A is cyclohexyl, L is a bond, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, R3 is methoxy and R4 is methyl, R5 is hydrogen (m is 1-3), R6 is -COOH, where t is 1, R7 is hydrogen, and n is 2.
Further, note the Table starting at paragraph 1341 disclosing above compounds 19 and 20, and compound 28 that anticipate claim 30 at Applicant’s groups A (for example an aryl (phenyl), or fused aryl as defined by specification page 42, last paragraph), L is a bond, R1-R7 and variables m, n and t as claimed.
Regarding claim 31, CN 441 teaches A is phenyl or a fused aryl (phenyl fused with a cyclobutyl). See compounds 19 and 28 above. Note the Application’s specification allows for aryl claimed to include fused aryl ring systems. See page 42 lines 13-16, noting aryl refers to a fused polycyclic ring system.
Regarding claim 32, CN 441 teaches L is a bond; R1 and R2 is hydrogen; R3 is methoxy and R4 is methyl; R6 is -COOH, where t is 1; R5 is fluoro, methyl and hydrogen (m is 1 or 2); R7 is H. See compounds 19, 20 and 28 above.
Regarding claims 33-34 and 38, CN 441 teaches compounds equivalent to formulas II-a and II-b , III-a and III-b, and V-a, where R3-R6 are defined above, the dashed line is a single bond, n is 2, A is phenyl, or fused phenyl ring system, L is a bond. See compounds 19, 20 and 28 above.
Regarding claim 44, CN 441 teaches a pharmaceutical composition and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, where it notes its therapeutic compounds in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier for its claimed method of treating. See claim 12 of the English Translation of CN 441.
Regarding claim 46 with various ranges of active ingredient doses from about 1-1000 mg to ranges of about 5-200 mg and specific amounts starting form 1 mg up to 500 mg, CN 441 teaches pharmaceutical compositions with overlapping ranges of active ingredient, about 0.1mg-to about 2000mg, from about 200mg-to about 600mg, etc. See page 27, last paragraph of CN 441 English Translation. CN 441 teaches specific doses ranging from 0.5 mg to 1600 mg, or 1 mg to 1600 mg and values therein. (Per MPEP 2131.03 II. Anticipation of [Overlapping] Ranges). See page 27 last paragraph bridging to first paragraph page 28. See also claim 12 of the English Translation teaching a therapeutic compound administered in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. See also page 28 last paragraph bridging to page 29, noting carriers, vehicles, fillers, diluents, disintegrants, glidants, etc. See also page 29, third paragraph teaching various dosage forms including tablets, capsules and liquids.
Claim(s) 30-36, 38-42, 44 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2022/256586 (WO 586), published 12/8/2022 claiming earlier priority to USSN 63196339, filed June 3 2021. WO 586 listed on the IDS dated 4/26/2025 as For. Ref. No. 12.
Regarding claims 30-32, WO 586 discloses Examples 30-33 and 39 that anticipate the compounds of formula I.
Compounds of examples 30-33, 37 and 39 disclose at positions equivalent to those of claimed formula I, L is a bond; A is phenyl; R1 and R2 are hydrogen; R3 and R4 are methoxy and methyl, respectively, n is 0 or 2; two R5’s form a spiro cyclohexyl substituted with 1-2 fluoro, a spiro cyclobutyl with oxygen replacing a carbon as a ring atom, a spiro cyclopentyl with oxygen replacing a carbon as a ring atom and a spiro cyclopentyl; R6 is COOH where t is 1; R7 is hydrogen.
Regarding claim 31, WO 586 teaches A is phenyl. See compound examples 30-33, 37 and 39.
Regarding claim 32, WO 586 teaches L is a bond; R3 and R4 are methyl and methoxy, respectively; two R5’s form a spiro cycloalkyl substituted with 1-2 fluoro, a spiro cyclobutyl with oxygen replacing a carbon as a ring atom, a spiro cyclopentyl with oxygen replacing a carbon as a ring atom and a spiro cyclopentyl; R6 is COOH where t is 1. See compounds 30-33, 37 and 39 above.
Regarding claims 33-36 and 38-42, WO 586 teaches compounds equivalent to spiro containing compounds of formulas II-c, II-d, I-e, III-c, III-d, V-b, VI-a, VI-b where A is phenyl, the groups
where R1-R6 are defined above, the dashed line is a single bond, n is 2, A is phenyl, L is a bond. See compounds 30-33, 37 and 39 above.
Regarding claim 44, WO 586 teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier for its method of treatment. See claim 29 and paragraphs 311-323.
Regarding claim 46 with various ranges of active ingredient doses from about 1-1000 mg to ranges of about 5-200 mg and specific amounts starting form 1 mg up to 500 mg, WO 586 teaches overlapping unit doses from about 1 milligram (mg) to about 100 mg or from about 1 mg to about 1000 mg. See paragraph 312. (Per MPEP 2131.03 II. Anticipation of [Overlapping] Ranges). Claim 29 teaches pharmaceutically acceptable carriers for use in pharmaceutical compositions.
Regarding claim 46, WO 586 teaches any number of formulations, liquids, solids, capsules, tablets, pills, powders, injectables, etc. comprising carriers, vehicles, fillers, diluents, disintegrants, glidants, etc. See generally paragraphs 311-323.
Claim(s) 30-36, 38-42, 44 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20230286947 A1 (US Pub 947), published Sept 14 2023, claiming earliest priority to Aug. 7, 2020. US Pub 947 is cited on the PTO=892 form.
Claim 9 of US Pub 947 teaches the below compounds that anticipate claim 30, where at positions equivalent to Applicant’s L, A, R1-7, etc., L is a linker bond; A is phenyl; R1 and R2 are hydrogen; R4 is methyl; R3 is methoxy; n is 2, two R5 are combined to form a spiro function (spiro cyclopropyl or cyclobutyl, substituted with two fluoro; or a spiro cyclopentyl where a ring carbon replaced with oxygen), where m is 2; R6 is COOH, t is 1; R7 is hydrogen and n is 2.
See claim 9, second compound, first column page 96; fourth compound, second column, page 95; and fourth compound, page 96, column 1, respectively.
Regarding claim 31, US Pub 947 teaches A is phenyl. See the three compounds of claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 32, US Pub 947 teaches L is a linker bond; A is phenyl; R1 and R2 are hydrogen; R4 is methyl; R3 is methoxy; n is 2, two R5 are combined to form a spiro function two R5 are combined to form a spiro function (spiro cyclopropyl or cyclobutyl, substituted with two fluoro; or a spiro cyclopentyl where a ring carbon replaced with oxygen), where m is 2; R6 is COOH, t is 1; R7 is hydrogen and n is 2. See the three compounds of claim 9 above.
Regarding claims 33-36 and 38-42, US Pub 947 teaches compounds equivalent to spiro containing compounds of formulas II-c, II-d, I-e, III-c, III-d, V-b, VI-a, VI-b where A is phenyl, the groups
where R1-R6 are defined above, the dashed line is a single bond, n is 2, A is phenyl, L is a bond, where the cyclo spiro rings are substituted with halogens (fluoro), or a spiro cyclopentyl ring substituting a ring carbon with O. See the three compounds of claim 9 above.
Regarding claims 44 and 46, US Pub 947 teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. See paragraphs 103-113.
Regarding claim 46 with various ranges of active ingredient doses from about 1-1000 mg to ranges of about 5-200 mg and specific amounts starting form 1 mg up to 500 mg, US Pub 947 teaches overlapping unit doses from about 5-1000 mg, more typically about 100-500 mg of the active ingredient. See paragraph 106. (Per MPEP 2131.03 II. Anticipation of [Overlapping] Ranges).
Regarding claim 46, US Pub 947 teaches any number of formulations, liquids, solids, capsules, tablets, pills, powders,, creams, ointments, parenterals, aerosols injectables, etc. comprising carriers, vehicles, diluents,, glidants, aka lubricants, etc. See paragraphs 103-113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30-36, 38-42 and 44-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 105579444 A (CN 444, as interpreted by the English Translation of CN 444).
Compound 19 of CN 444 teaches the invention of claims 30-34, 44 and 46, as detailed above, where compound 19 recites at positions equivalent to the following positions of formula I of claim 30, A is phenyl, L is a bond, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, R3 and R4 are methyl, R5 is -CH2-CN where m is 1, aka alkyl substituted with CN, R6 is hydrogen where t is 1-3, R7 is hydrogen, and n is 2.
With regard to dependent claims 31-34, the various compounds claimed are taught by compound 19, where the moieties, A, L, R1-R7, m, n and t etc. are taught as detailed above for claim 30. Similarly, the composition claims 44 and 46 are taught by CN 444, where CN 444 teaches pharmaceutical compositions with overlapping ranges of active ingredient as well as a disclosure of diluents, lubricants, binders, disintegrants, etc. as recited in claim 46. Accordingly, these compounds and compositions thereof render obvious the subject matter of claims 30-34, 38, 44 and 46.
It is noted that CN 444 does not specifically teach compounds with the various species of spiro cycloalkyl formulas of formula III-c, III-d, Vb, VI, VI-a, VI-b of claims 33-36, 38-42. However, CN 444 teaches at an equivalent position to the claimed spiro compounds of these claims, claim 1 of CN 444 teaches a carbon and two R6 groups form together with 3-6 ring to form a spiro ring. See CN 444 English Translation claim 1.
It is noted that CN 444 is silent with regard to claim 45, reciting a particular species of claim 30, as detailed in claim 45, where a tautomer, (cis/trans) isomers, mesomers, racemate, enantiomer, diastereomer, or mixtures thereof are noted to be about 0.1 to about 95% by weight free base followed by further “preferably” limiting ranges. To address, CN 444 teaches its compounds of the present invention can be “isomer, rotamer, atropisomer, tautomers or a mixture of a form, for example, as substantially pure geometric (cis or trans) isomers, diastereomers, optical isomers (enantiomers), racemates or mixtures thereof.” See page 25 of the English translation about 7th paragraph. While not teaching the specifics of the broad range of claim 45, a PHOSITA would routinely optimize the percentages of free base of said range of free base and tautomer/isomers to fall within a broad range of about 0.1 to 95%. This evidenced by CN 444, where the taught tautomers, isomers etc. are noted to be “substantially” pure isomers, diastomers, where “substantially” would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) to be a value within the claimed percentage range between 0.1 to 95%.
Prior to the filing of the instant application a PHOSITA following the teachings of CN 444, would have found it prima facie obvious to combine teachings, suggestions of the prior art elements compound 19 and substantial amounts of the tautomers and isomers, mixtures, etc. along with the free base of compounds, to modify CN 444 to predictably arrive at the claimed percentage range, as well as the teaching and suggestion to form spiro cycloalkyl compounds as taught by the claim 1 of CN 444. See MPEP 2143 (g).
Claim(s) 30-36, 38-42 and 44-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 109414441 A, published 03-01-2019, (CN 441, as interpreted by the English Translation of CN 441).
Compounds 19, 20 and 28 of CN 441 teach the invention of claims 30-34, 38, 44 and 46, as detailed above. For example compound 19 discloses at positions equivalent to those claimed, where A is phenyl, L is a bond, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, R3 is methoxy and R4 is methyl, R5 is fluoro (m is 2), R6 is -COOH, where t is 1, R7 is hydrogen and n is 2. Compound 20 discloses at positions equivalent to those claimed, where A is cyclohexyl, L is a bond, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, R3 is methoxy and R4 is methyl, R5 is hydrogen (m is 1-3), R6 is -CH2-OH, where t is 1, R7 is hydrogen, and n is 2.
With regard to dependent claims 31-34, the various compounds claimed are taught by compounds 19, 20 and 28, where the moieties, A, L, R1-R7, m, n and t etc. are taught as detailed above for claim 30. Similarly, the composition claims 44 and 46 are taught by CN 441, where CN 441 teaches pharmaceutical compositions with overlapping ranges of active ingredient, about 0.1mg-to about 2000mg, from about 200mg-to about 600mg, etc. See page 27, last paragraph of CN 441 English Translation. CN 441 teaches specific doses ranging from 0.5 mg to 1600 mg, or 1 mg to 1600 mg. See page 27 last paragraph bridging to first paragraph page 28. See also claim 12 of the English Translation teaching a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. See also page 28 last paragraph bridging to page 29, noting carriers, vehicles, fillers, diluents, disintegrants, glidants, etc. See also page 29, third paragraph teaching various dosage forms including tablets, capsules and liquids. Accordingly, these compounds and compositions thereof render obvious the subject matter of claims 30-34, 38, 44 and 46.
It is noted that CN 441 does not specifically teach compounds with the various species of spiro cycloalkyl formulas of formula III-c, III-d, Vb, VI, VI-a, VI-b of claims 33-36 and 38-42. However, CN 441 teaches at an equivalent position to the claimed spiro compounds of these claims, claim 8 of CN 441 teaches a carbon and two R56 which combined together form a spirocyclic carbocycle having 3, 4, 5, or 6 atoms.
See CN 441 English Translation of claim 8.
It is noted that CN 441 is silent with regard to claim 45, reciting a particular species of claim 30, where a tautomer, (cis/trans) isomers, mesomers, racemate, enantiomer, diastereomer, or mixtures thereof are noted to be about 0.1 to about 95% by weight free base followed by further “preferably” limiting ranges.
To address this, CN 441 teaches its compounds of the present invention can be “any compound of the formula described herein including racemates, enantiomer, mixture of enantiomers, diastereomers, a mixture of diastereoisomers, tautomers, N - - oxide, isomers such asrotamers, as if each one is explicitly and the like.” See page 18, see 3rd paragraph of CN 441 English translation. While not teaching the specifics of the broad range of claim 45, a PHOSITA would routinely optimize the percentages of free base of said range of free base and tautomer/isomers to fall within the broad claimed range of about 0.1 to 95%. Such a broad range would be routinely optimized by a PHOSITA by the teachings of CN 441 to include tautomers, etc. as percentages of the free base as claimed.
Prior to the filing of the instant application a PHOSITA following the teachings of CN 441, would have found it prima facie obvious to combine teachings, suggestions of the prior art elements compound 19 and substantial amounts of the tautomers and isomers, mixtures, etc. along with the free base of compounds, to modify CN 441 to predictably arrive at the claimed percentage range, as well as the teaching and suggestion to form spiro cycloalkyl compounds as taught by the claim 8 of CN 441. See MPEP 2143 (g).
Claim(s) 30-36 and 38-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/256586 (WO 586), published 12/8/2022 claiming earlier priority to USSN 63196339, filed June 3 2021.
Compounds 30-33, 37 and 39 of WO 586 teach the invention of claims 30-36, 38-42, 44 and 46 as detailed above. For example compounds 30-33 and 39 disclose at positions equivalent to those claimed, where L is a bond; A is phenyl; R1 and R2 are hydrogen; R3 and R4 are methyl and methoxy, respectively, n is 0 or 2; two R5’s form a spiro cycloalkyl substituted with 1-2 fluoro, a spiro cyclobutyl with oxygen replacing a carbon as a ring atom, a spiro cyclopentyl with oxygen replacing a carbon as a ring atom and a spiro cyclopentyl; R6 is COOH where t is 1; R7 is hydrogen.
WO 586 is silent with regard to the elected species of claim 43,
. However it is noted that WO 586 teaches Example 37,
. Example 37 lacks two fluoros upon the cyclospiro group and is missing a methyl on the elected species equivalent phenyl ring A.
To address this, reference formula I claim 1 teaches the spirocyclo group of its formula I is formed when reference Z is CR2aR2b and R2a and R2h, together with the carbon atom to which they are attached, form cycloalkyl, then the cycloalkyl is substituted with at least one (i.e. 2) reference R11, where reference R11 is halogen (i.e. fluoro) as per the elected species.
Further, claim 1 formula I of WO 586 teaches reference R1 at a position equivalent to the elected species’ methyl group, where R1 is a methyl.
It is noted that WO 586 is silent with regard to claim 45, reciting a particular species of claim 30, where a tautomer, (cis/trans) isomers, mesomers, racemate, enantiomer, diastereomer, or mixtures thereof are noted to be about 0.1 to about 95% by weight free base followed by further “preferably” limiting ranges. To address this, WO 586 teaches
a compound may assume alternative tautomeric or stereoisomeric forms, all alternative isomers are intended to be encompassed within the scope of the claimed subject matter. For example, unless specifically stated otherwise, the compounds provided herein may be stereoisomerically pure (e.g., single enantiomers or diastereomers ), or be mixtures of stereoisomers such as racemic or diastereomeric mixtures. See paragraph 41.
While not teaching the specifics of the broad range of claim 45, a PHOSITA would routinely optimize the percentages of free base of said range of free base and tautomer/isomers to fall within the broad claimed range of about 0.1 to 95%. Such a broad range would be routinely optimized by a PHOSITA by the teachings of WO 586 to include tautomers, etc. as percentages of the free base as claimed.
Prior to the filing of the instant application a PHOSITA following the teachings of WO 586, would have found it prima facie obvious to combine teachings, suggestions of the prior art elements compound 19 and substantial amounts of the tautomers and isomers, mixtures, etc. along with the free base of compounds, to modify WO 586 to predictably arrive at the claimed percentage range, including modifying Example 37 to have a second fluoro upon the cyclospiro portion and place a methyl upon the phenyl ring equivalent to the elected species phenyl ring as taught and suggested by formula of claim 1 of WO 586. See MPEP 2143 (g).
Claim(s) 30-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20230286947 A1 (US Pub 947), published Sept 14 2023, claiming earliest priority to Aug. 7, 2020
The three compounds of claim 9 of US Pub 947
, teach the invention of claims 30-36, 38-42, 44 and 46 as detailed above. For example the 3 claim 9 compounds above, disclose at positions equivalent to those claimed, at positions equivalent to Applicant’s L, A, R1-7, etc., L is a linker bond; A is phenyl; R1 and R2 are hydrogen; R4is methyl; R3 is methoxy; n is 2, two R5 are combined to form a spiro function (spiro cyclopropyl or cyclobutyl, optionally substituted with two fluoro), where m is 2; R6 is COOH, t is 1; R7 is hydrogen and n is 2. It is noted that these compounds do not teach the species of claims 37, 43 and 45.
Regarding claim 37 is noted that US Pub 947 does not teach a species of compound with regard to formula IV where two R5 are combined to form a fused ring system with the nitrogen containing ring they are attached to, as per formula IV.
However, it is noted that US Pub 947 teaches at position equivalent to the Nitrogen containing ring of formula IV, the cyclic group Cy, where Cy can be a piperidyl fused to a ring system selected from cyclopropyl, tetrahydrofuranyl, tetrahydropyranyl. See claim 1, page 93, first column.
It is noted that US Pub 947 is silent with regard to claim 45, reciting a particular species of claim 30, where a tautomer, (cis/trans) isomers, mesomers, racemate, enantiomer, diastereomer, or mixtures thereof are noted to be about 0.1 to about 95% by weight free base followed by further “preferably” limiting ranges. To address this, US Pub 947 teaches
The present disclosure also provides use of at least one selected from the compound represented by formula (I) and the racemate, the stereoisomer, the tautomer, the isotopically labeled compound, the solvate, the polymorph, the
pharmaceutically acceptable salt and the prodrug compound thereof for the manufacturing of a medicament. See paragraph 101.
While not teaching the specifics of the broad range of claim 45, a PHOSITA would routinely optimize the percentages of free base of said range of free base and tautomer/isomers to fall within the broad claimed range of about 0.1 to 95%. Such a broad range would be routinely optimized by a PHOSITA by the teachings of US Pub 947 to include tautomers, etc. as percentages of the free base as claimed.
Prior to the filing of the instant application a PHOSITA following the teachings of US Pub 947, would have found it prima facie obvious to combine teachings, suggestions of the prior art elements compound 19 and substantial amounts of the tautomers and isomers, mixtures, etc. along with the free base of compounds, to modify US Pub 947 to predictably arrive at the claimed percentage range, including arriving at compounds where two R5 are combined to form a fused ring system to the Nitrogen contain ring to which they are attached to as per claim 37. See MPEP 2143 (g).
Double Patenting
Claims 30-42 and 44-46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-34 of copending Application No. 19110124 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to piperidinyl indole derivatives and pharmaceuticals compositions thereof. The subject matter of claims 30-42 and 44-46 are discussed above.
Reference claims 19-34 are based on piperidinyl indole compounds (tautomers, isomers, etc.) of formula I
.
A PHOSITA would find it prima facie obvious based on the subject matter of reference claims 19-34 to predictably arrive at the claimed invention of compounds of piperidinyl indole and compositions, especially where there is significant overlap between reference formula I’s R1-R7, A, L etc. with the same identified moieties of claim 30’s formula I.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion and Correspondence
In summary no claims are allowed.
/WILLIAM Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
1 CONTINUING DATA
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/127975 10/27/2022
PCT/CN2022/127975 has PRO 63/366,101 06/09/2022
PCT/CN2022/127975 has PRO 63/365,029 05/20/2022
PCT/CN2022/127975 has PRO 63/362,916 04/13/2022
PCT/CN2022/127975 has PRO 63/268,655 02/28/2022
PCT/CN2022/127975 has PRO 63/263,108 10/27/2021
2 (S)-4-(2,2-difluoro-7-((5-methoxy-7-methyl-1H-indol-4-yl)methyl)-7-azaspiro[3.5]nonan-6-yl)-3-methylbenzoic acid.
This compound has been identified by the Examiner’s search as CAS Registry Number: 2924562-65-0. (Benzoic acid, 4-[(6S)-2,2-difluoro-7-[(5-methoxy-7-methyl-1H-indol-4-yl)methyl]-7-azaspiro[3.5]non-6-yl]-3-methyl- (ACI)).