DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election
1. Applicant’s election of claims 1-13, without traverse, in the reply filed on March 5, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 14-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 26, 2024, and September 23, 2025, have been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 112
4. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the phrase, “the fibers of said first and second outer ply” is indefinite. It is unclear if Applicant is referring to fibers obtained from UBC in the first and second outer plies or other fibers contained in the first and second outer plies. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted that the fibers being referred to are not UBC fibers.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura et al. (JP 2017082386).
Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). Tamura discloses the surface layer was made of 90% bleached hardwood kraft pulp and 10% bleached softwood kraft pulp (paragraph 47), which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly made of recycled paper pulp, the back layer contains fresh pulp (paragraph 19) which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly composed of recycled paper pulp, which can include milk cartons, where the content of recycled paper pulp relative to the total pulp in the middle layer is preferably 60% by mass or more (paragraph 21). Regarding the weight percentage of the middle layer recycled fibers, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), as in claim 1.
Concerning claim 2, Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). Tamura discloses the surface layer was made of 90% bleached hardwood kraft pulp and 10% bleached softwood kraft pulp (paragraph 47), which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the back layer contains fresh pulp (paragraph 19) which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons.
Concerning claim 3, Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly composed of recycled paper pulp, which can include milk cartons, where the content of recycled paper pulp relative to the total pulp in the middle layer is preferably 60% by mass or more (paragraph 21) which is interpreted as the middle layer comprising between 10-40 wt% non UBC fibers. Regarding the weight percentage of the middle layer non UBC fibers, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Concerning claim 4, Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). In claim 4, the phrase, “fibers of said intermediate ply have been co-refined” introduces a process limitation to the product claim.
For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having outer plies and an intermediate ply comprising used beverage carton fibers. The reference suggests such a product because Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). Tamura discloses the surface layer was made of 90% bleached hardwood kraft pulp and 10% bleached softwood kraft pulp (paragraph 47), which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly made of recycled paper pulp, the back layer contains fresh pulp (paragraph 19) which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly composed of recycled paper pulp, which can include milk cartons, where the content of recycled paper pulp relative to the total pulp in the middle layer is preferably 60% by mass or more (paragraph 21).
Concerning claims 5-7, Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). Tamura does not appear to explicitly teach the total grammage of the paperboard, however substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the multiply paperboard is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the multiply paperboard discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed total grammage.
Concerning claim 8, Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract).
Concerning claim 9, Tamura discloses a paste solution was applied to both sides of the base paper (paragraph 49) which could be used to bond the layers together.
Concerning claim 10, Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). In claim 10, the phrase, “fibers obtained from UBC have been subjected to purification using a fine screening method” introduces a process limitation to the product claim.
For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having outer plies and an intermediate ply comprising used beverage carton fibers. The reference suggests such a product because Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). Tamura discloses the surface layer was made of 90% bleached hardwood kraft pulp and 10% bleached softwood kraft pulp (paragraph 47), which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly made of recycled paper pulp, the back layer contains fresh pulp (paragraph 19) which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly composed of recycled paper pulp, which can include milk cartons, where the content of recycled paper pulp relative to the total pulp in the middle layer is preferably 60% by mass or more (paragraph 21).
Concerning claim 11, Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). In claim 11, the phrase, “fibers obtained from UBC have been subjected to purification using an electro-osmosis method” introduces a process limitation to the product claim.
For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having outer plies and an intermediate ply comprising used beverage carton fibers. The reference suggests such a product because Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). Tamura discloses the surface layer was made of 90% bleached hardwood kraft pulp and 10% bleached softwood kraft pulp (paragraph 47), which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly made of recycled paper pulp, the back layer contains fresh pulp (paragraph 19) which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly composed of recycled paper pulp, which can include milk cartons, where the content of recycled paper pulp relative to the total pulp in the middle layer is preferably 60% by mass or more (paragraph 21).
Concerning claim 12, Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). In claim 12, the phrase, “fibers obtained from UBC have been subjected to drying at elevated temperature to a consistency of at least 70 wt%” introduces a process limitation to the product claim.
For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having outer plies and an intermediate ply comprising used beverage carton fibers. The reference suggests such a product because Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). Tamura discloses the surface layer was made of 90% bleached hardwood kraft pulp and 10% bleached softwood kraft pulp (paragraph 47), which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly made of recycled paper pulp, the back layer contains fresh pulp (paragraph 19) which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly composed of recycled paper pulp, which can include milk cartons, where the content of recycled paper pulp relative to the total pulp in the middle layer is preferably 60% by mass or more (paragraph 21).
Concerning claim 13, Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). In claim 13, the phrase, “fibers obtained from UBC are hornified” introduces a process limitation to the product claim.
For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having outer plies and an intermediate ply comprising used beverage carton fibers. The reference suggests such a product because Tamura discloses a white paperboard having at least three layers which are a front layer, a middle layer and a rear layer using pulps which are adjusted for each layer, by a paper machine, where the middle layer is a layer mainly formed of an old paper pulp (abstract). Tamura discloses the surface layer was made of 90% bleached hardwood kraft pulp and 10% bleached softwood kraft pulp (paragraph 47), which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly made of recycled paper pulp, the back layer contains fresh pulp (paragraph 19) which is interpreted as including 0 wt% fibers obtained from used beverage cartons. Tamura discloses the middle layer is a layer mainly composed of recycled paper pulp, which can include milk cartons, where the content of recycled paper pulp relative to the total pulp in the middle layer is preferably 60% by mass or more (paragraph 21).
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781