DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/26/2024 and 9/19/2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 4/26/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (KR 20200001244 A)
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and a nonaqueous electrolyte having lithium-ion conductivity [paragraph 0004, 0091-0097]. Park further teaches a lithium electrode (negative electrode) comprising a porous current collector and lithium metal filled within the pores of the porous current collector comprising polymer fiber (substrate) [paragraph 0010-0070]. It is apparent from paragraphs [0053-0054], the porous resin substrate has a porous region in which the lithium metal layer is not packed. It is a known phenomenon, that at the negative electrode, lithium metal deposits during charging, and the lithium metal dissolves during discharging. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 2-6, Park teaches the configuration of the lithium metal and the resin film related to claims 2-6 [paragraph 0024-0027, 0044-0048, 0064, 0070-0071, 0090-0095].
Regarding claims 7-13, Park teaches properties of the resin film the resin film related to claims 7-13 [paragraph 0015-0016, 0019-0022, 0030, 0045-0049, 0053-0054, 0058-0060, 0070-0074].
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches that the positive electrode contains a lithium-containing transition metal oxide as a positive electrode active material [paragraph 0100].
9. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (KR 20200001244 A) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Yakovleva et al (US 20200014033 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Park remains silent that the metal layer comprises magnesium; however, it is known in the art that the lithium metal layer may contain magnesium as taught by Yakovleva [paragraph 0042]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
11. Claims 1-6, 13 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 10 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/704635 (reference application). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter in the instant patent application encompasses the claimed subject matter as recited in the ‘635 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723