DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-36, 38-42, 44, 46-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyani et al. (US 2020/0108061) in view of AIMOVIG (NPL filed on 04/26/2024 – in the 04/26/2024 IDS cite no. A26. Examiner notes: Examiner attached a clear copy with this office action) and Maritan (US 2010/0292653).
Regarding claim 31, Goyani discloses
A method for the acute treatment of migraine headaches with or without aura by injecting an ergoline derivative into a subject in need thereof (see par.0037 for “a parenteral unit dosage form comprising an aqueous solution of dihydroergotamine mesylate is suitable for acute treatment of migraine headaches with or without aura or for acute treatment of cluster headache episodes”, see par. 0039 for “the parenteral unit dosage form is in the form of an autoinjector or a prefilled syringe”, and “the parenteral unit dosage form can deliver to a patient via a needle”), the method comprising:
removing an autoinjector from a foil pouch (see par. 0039 for “the prefilled syringe comprises a reservoir, such as, for example, a barrel or a cartridge to store the aqueous solution; a stalked needle attached at one end of the reservoir” and “the parenteral unit dosage form can deliver to a patient via a needle”, see par. 0043 for the aqueous solution is present in an auto-injector or prefilled syringe overwrapped by a pouch), the autoinjector containing the ergoline derivative at room temperature (see par. 0060 for “The auto-injector device filled with the aqueous composition of dihydroergotamine of Example 1 was placed in aluminum pouch with the oxygen scavenger and sealed. The solution was subjected to stability under condition of 25° C./60% relative humidity and at 40° C./75% relative humidity”);
Goyani is silent about removing a cap of the autoinjector; pushing the autoinjector down against an injection site of the subject to depress a needle safety guard; pressing and releasing an activation button on the autoinjector to start injection of the ergoline derivative into the subject; holding the autoinjector down against the injection site for at least 10 seconds irrespective of whether a click is generated by the autoinjector; confirming that the injection is complete by viewing a change of color in a viewing window of the autoinjector; and lifting the autoinjector up and away from the injection site and allowing the safety guard to drop down and lock over a needle; wherein the autoinjector is configured such that the activation button and the safety guard are independently operable.
However, AIMOVIG teaches a method for treating a medical issue by injecting a medicine into a subject in need there (steps 1-3), the method comprises:
removing a cap of the autoinjector (see step 2 – E);
pushing the autoinjector down against an injection site of the subject to depress a needle safety guard (see step 3 – H);
pressing and releasing an activation button on the autoinjector to start injection of the medicine into the subject (see step 3 – I);
holding the autoinjector down against the injection site for at least 10 seconds irrespective of whether a click is generated by the autoinjector (see step 3 – J);
confirming that the injection is complete by viewing a change of color in a viewing window of the autoinjector (see step 3 – J for window turns from clear to yellow when injection is done); and
lifting the autoinjector up and away from the injection site and allowing the safety guard to drop down (see step 3 – J for after you remove the autoinjector from your skin, the needle will be automatically covered);
wherein the autoinjector is configured such that the activation button and the safety guard are independently operable (see step 3 – I for activation button being pressed, and see step 3 – J for the safety guard automatically covering the needle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Goyani to include AIMOVIG steps, for the purpose of delivering the medicine to the subject in a manner that prevents premature delivery of the medicine, prevents accidental needle sticks, and allows the user to easily confirm the medicine being delivered (steps 1 to 4 of AIMOVIG).
Goyani in view of AIMOVIG is silent about the step of allowing the safety guard to lock over a needle.
However, Maritan teaches a method for treatment of a medical issue by injecting a medicine into a subject (par. 0003) using an autoinjector (see fig. 1), the method comprises pushing the autoinjector down against an injection site of the subject to depress a needle safety guard (par. 0050), pressing an activation button to start injection of the medicine (par. 0050), and lifting the autoinjector up and away form the injector site and allowing the safety guard to drop down and lock over a needle (par. 0040).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Goyani to include Maritan step of locking the safety guard over the needle, for the purpose of preventing the needle from being exposed after the conclusion of the injection, allowing for safe handling and disposal (par. 0040 of Maritan).
Regarding claim 32, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 31,
Goyani further discloses wherein the ergoline derivative is selected from dihydroergotamine, ergotamine, methysergide, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of any thereof (see par. 0001).
Regarding claim 33, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 31,
Goyani further discloses wherein the ergoline derivative is dihydroergotamine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of any thereof (see par. 0001).
Regarding claim 34, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 31,
AIMOVIG further teaches generating a first audible feedback at a first time after pressing and releasing the activation button (see step 3 – I), and a second audible feedback at a second time prior to completion of the injection (see step 3 – J).
Regarding claim 35, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 31,
AIMOVIG further teaches activating the activation button after the safety guard is depressed against the injection site (see step 3 – H and step 3 – I).
Regarding claim 36, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 33,
Goyani further discloses wherein the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of dihydroergotamine is dihydroergotamine mesylate (par. 0030), and the dihydroergotamine mesylate is injected in a composition without a monoclonal antibody (see par. 0030 for “the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of dihydroergotamine is dihydroergotamine mesylate” and see par. 0031 for “an aqueous solution of dihydroergotamine or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof as a sole active ingredient”).
Regarding claim 38, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 31,
AIMOVIG further teaches holding the autoinjector down against the injection site for less than about 15 seconds (see step 3 – J).
Regarding claim 39, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 33,
Goyani further discloses wherein the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of dihydroergotamine is dihydroergotamine mesylate (pars. 0030, 0032), and wherein about 1 mg of the dihydroergotamine mesylate is injected into the subject or less than about 5 mg of the dihydroergotamine mesylate is injected into the subject (par. 0039 for when the injection is a subcutaneous injection, the injection volume ranges from 0.5 ml to 1 ml, administered using an auto-injector when the unit dose of dihydroergotamine mesylate is from 0.5 mg to 1 mg).
Regarding claim 40, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 33,
Goyani further discloses wherein the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of dihydroergotamine is dihydroergotamine mesylate (pars. 0030, 0032), and about 1 mL of a composition comprising the dihydroergotamine mesylate is injected into the subject (par. 0039 for when the injection is a subcutaneous injection, the injection volume ranges from 0.5 ml to 1 ml, administered using an auto-injector when the unit dose of dihydroergotamine mesylate is from 0.5 mg to 1 mg).
Regarding claim 41, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 33,
AIMOVIG further teaches causing an entirety of a bottommost surface of the safety guard to contact the injection site (see step 3 – G and H).
Regarding claim 42, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 33,
AIMOVIG further teaches wherein pushing the autoinjector down against the injection site comprises maintaining downward force on the autoinjector throughout injection (see step 3 -I and J).
Regarding claim 44, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 31,
AIMOVIG further teaches wherein when injection begins, a portion of the viewing window changes from a first color to a second color (see step 3 – J).
Regarding claim 46, Goyani discloses
A method for the acute treatment of migraine headaches with or without aura by injecting dihydroergotamine mesylate into a subject in need thereof (see par.0037 for “a parenteral unit dosage form comprising an aqueous solution of dihydroergotamine mesylate is suitable for acute treatment of migraine headaches with or without aura or for acute treatment of cluster headache episodes”, see par. 0039 for “the parenteral unit dosage form is in the form of an autoinjector or a prefilled syringe”, and “the parenteral unit dosage form can deliver to a patient via a needle”), the method comprising:
removing an autoinjector from a foil pouch (see par. 0039 for “the prefilled syringe comprises a reservoir, such as, for example, a barrel or a cartridge to store the aqueous solution; a stalked needle attached at one end of the reservoir” and “the parenteral unit dosage form can deliver to a patient via a needle”, see par. 0043 for the aqueous solution is present in an auto-injector or prefilled syringe overwrapped by a pouch), the autoinjector containing the dihydroergotamine mesylate (pars. 0030 and 0032).
Goyani is silent about removing a cap of the autoinjector; pushing the autoinjector down against an injection site of the subject to depress a safety guard; pressing and releasing an activation button on the autoinjector to start injection of dihydroergotamine mesylate into the subject; holding the autoinjector down against the injection site for at least 10 seconds, wherein completeness of the injection is confirmable by a change of color viewable in a viewing window of the autoinjector; and lifting the autoinjector up away from the injection site and allowing the safety guard to drop down and lock over a needle; wherein the activation button does not move in response to depressing the safety guard prior to pressing and releasing of the activation button; and wherein in response to pressing and releasing the activation button prior to depressing the safety guard, the safety guard is structured to displace a discrete amount.
However, AIMOVIG teaches a method for treating a medical issue by injecting a medicine into a subject in need there (steps 1-3), the method comprises:
removing a cap of the autoinjector (see step 2 – E);
pushing the autoinjector down against an injection site of the subject to depress a safety guard (see step 3 – H);
pressing and releasing an activation button on the autoinjector to start injection of the medicine into the subject (see step 3 – I);
holding the autoinjector down against the injection site for at least 10 seconds (see step 3 – J), wherein completeness of the injection is confirmable by a change of color viewable in a viewing window of the autoinjector (see step 3 – J for window turns from clear to yellow when injection is done); and
lifting the autoinjector up away from the injection site and allowing the safety guard to drop down (see step 3 – J for after you remove the autoinjector from your skin, the needle will be automatically covered);
wherein the activation button does not move in response to depressing the safety guard prior to pressing and releasing of the activation button (see step 3 – G and H); and
wherein in response to pressing and releasing the activation button prior to depressing the safety guard, the safety guard is structured to displace a discrete amount (see step 3 – J for safety guard moving to cover the needle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Goyani to include AIMOVIG steps, for the purpose of delivering the medicine to the subject in a manner that prevents premature delivery of the medicine, prevents accidental needle sticks, and allows the user to easily confirm the medicine being delivered (steps 1 to 4 of AIMOVIG).
Goyani in view of AIMOVIG is silent about the step of allowing the safety guard to lock over a needle.
However, Maritan teaches a method for treatment of a medical issue by injecting a medicine into a subject (par. 0003) using an autoinjector (see fig. 1), the method comprises pushing the autoinjector down against an injection site of the subject to depress a needle safety guard (par. 0050), pressing an activation button to start injection of the medicine (par. 0050), and lifting the autoinjector up and away form the injector site and allowing the safety guard to drop down and lock over a needle (par. 0040).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Goyani to include Maritan step of locking the safety guard over the needle, for the purpose of preventing the needle from being exposed after the conclusion of the injection, allowing for safe handling and disposal (par. 0040 of Maritan).
Regarding claim 47, Goyani discloses
A method for treatment of cluster headaches by injecting an ergoline derivative into a subject in need thereof (see par.0037 for “a parenteral unit dosage form comprising an aqueous solution of dihydroergotamine mesylate is suitable for acute treatment of migraine headaches with or without aura or for acute treatment of cluster headache episodes”, see par. 0039 for “the parenteral unit dosage form is in the form of an autoinjector or a prefilled syringe”, and “the parenteral unit dosage form can deliver to a patient via a needle”), the method comprising:
storing, in a foil pouch (see par. 0039 for “the prefilled syringe comprises a reservoir, such as, for example, a barrel or a cartridge to store the aqueous solution; a stalked needle attached at one end of the reservoir” and “the parenteral unit dosage form can deliver to a patient via a needle”, see par. 0043 for the aqueous solution is present in an auto-injector or prefilled syringe overwrapped by a pouch) and at room temperature (see par. 0060 for “The auto-injector device filled with the aqueous composition of dihydroergotamine of Example 1 was placed in aluminum pouch with the oxygen scavenger and sealed. The solution was subjected to stability under condition of 25° C./60% relative humidity and at 40° C./75% relative humidity”), an autoinjector containing the ergoline derivative (pars. 0039, 0043 and 0060);
removing the autoinjector from the foil pouch (see par. 0039 for “the prefilled syringe comprises a reservoir, such as, for example, a barrel or a cartridge to store the aqueous solution; a stalked needle attached at one end of the reservoir” and “the parenteral unit dosage form can deliver to a patient via a needle”, see par. 0043 for the aqueous solution is present in an auto-injector or prefilled syringe overwrapped by a pouch);
Goyani is silent about removing a cap of the autoinjector, thereby exposing a safety guard; depressing the autoinjector against a first surface of the subject to depress the safety guard; manually actuating the autoinjector to start injection of the ergoline derivative into the subject; maintaining the autoinjector in a position in which it is depressed against the first surface for at least 10 seconds; confirming the injection by viewing a change of color in a window of the autoinjector; and moving the autoinjector out of contact with the first surface and allowing the safety guard to move so as to be situated over a needle; wherein the autoinjector is configured such that an activation button and the safety guard are independently operable, the activation button being disposed at an opposite end of the autoinjector as the safety guard, wherein manually actuating the autoinjector comprises pressing the activation button.
However, AIMOVIG teaches a method for treating a medical issue by injecting a medicine into a subject in need there (steps 1-3), the method comprises:
removing a cap of the autoinjector (see step 2 – E), thereby exposing a safety guard ((see step 2 – E, and step 3 – G);
depressing the autoinjector against a first surface of the subject to depress the safety guard (see step 3 – G and H);
manually actuating the autoinjector to start injection of the medicine into the subject (see step 3 – I);
maintaining the autoinjector in a position in which it is depressed against the first surface for at least 10 seconds (see step 3 – J);
confirming the injection by viewing a change of color in a window of the autoinjector (see step 3 – J for window turns from clear to yellow when injection is done); and
moving the autoinjector out of contact with the first surface and allowing the safety guard to move so as to be situated over a needle (see step 3 – J);
wherein the autoinjector is configured such that an activation button and the safety guard are independently operable (see step 3 – I for activation button being pressed, and see step 3 – J for the safety guard automatically covering the needle), the activation button being disposed at an opposite end of the autoinjector as the safety guard (see figures in step 3), wherein manually actuating the autoinjector comprises pressing the activation button (see step 3 – I).
Regarding claim 48, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 47,
Goyani further discloses wherein an oxygen scavenger is disposed in the foil pouch (par. 0041).
Claim(s) 37, 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyani et al. (US 2020/0108061) in view of AIMOVIG (NPL filed on 04/26/2024 – in the 04/26/2024 IDS cite no. A26. Examiner notes: Examiner attached a clear copy with this office action) and Maritan (US 2010/0292653) in further view of Solarski et al. (US 2021/0322392).
Regarding claim 37, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 31, as set forth above, except for further comprising repeating the method (i) within a 24 hour period, (ii) within a one week period, (iii) two more times within a 24 hour period or (iv) five more times within a one week period.
However, Solarski teaches a method for the acute treatment of migraine headaches by injecting an ergoline derivative into a subject in need using an autoinjector (par. 0023) where the method is repeated (i) within a 24 hour period, (ii) within a one week period, (iii) two more times within a 24 hour period or (iv) five more times within a one week period (see par. 0034 for the administration can be repeated, as needed, at 1 hour intervals to a total dose of 3 mL, using multiple pre-filled autoinjector devices).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Goyani to include repeating the method (i) within a 24 hour period, (ii) within a one week period, (iii) two more times within a 24 hour period or (iv) five more times within a one week period, as taught by Solarski, for the purpose of allow a patient to self-administer an effective dose of the ergoline derivative in order to receive faster relief from migraine (pars. 0019 and 0034 of Solarski).
Regarding claim 45, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG, Maritan, and Solarski discloses the method of claim 37,
Solarski further teaches wherein the method is repeated within one week after the method is first performed (see par. 0034 for the administration can be repeated, as needed, at 1 hour intervals to a total dose of 3 mL, using multiple pre-filled autoinjector devices).
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyani et al. (US 2020/0108061) in view of AIMOVIG (NPL filed on 04/26/2024 – in the 04/26/2024 IDS cite no. A26. Examiner notes: Examiner attached a clear copy with this office action) and Maritan (US 2010/0292653) in further view of Devouassoux et al. (US 2014/0262883).
Regarding claim 43, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 31, as set forth above, except for wherein a thickness of the viewing window is configured to inhibit light exposure to the ergoline derivative stored in the autoinjector.
However, Devouassoux teaches an injector (par. 0018) for delivering a light-sensitive medicine, wherein the injector, including a viewing window thereof, is configured to inhibit light exposure to the medicine stored in the injector (par. 0044).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Goyani to include the viewing window, as taught by Devouassoux, for the purpose of preventing the stored medicine from degrading due to the light exposure prior to injector.
Claim(s) 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyani et al. (US 2020/0108061) in view of AIMOVIG (NPL filed on 04/26/2024 – in the 04/26/2024 IDS cite no. A26. Examiner notes: Examiner attached a clear copy with this office action) and Maritan (US 2010/0292653) in further view of Langowski et al. (US 2008/0300133).
Regarding claim 49, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 48, as set forth above, except for wherein the oxygen scavenger is configured to change color to indicate a degree of absorption.
Langowski teaches the oxygen scavenger is configured to change color to indicate a degree of absorption (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Goyani to include the oxygen scavenger is configured to change color to indicate a degree of absorption, as taught by Langowski, for the purpose of allowing the user to indicate the oxygen absorption (fig. 1 of Langowski).
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyani et al. (US 2020/0108061) in view of AIMOVIG (NPL filed on 04/26/2024 – in the 04/26/2024 IDS cite no. A26. Examiner notes: Examiner attached a clear copy with this office action) and Maritan (US 2010/0292653) in further view of Boyden et al. (US 2017/0259013).
Regarding claim 50, Goyani in view of AIMOVIG and Maritan discloses the method of claim 47, as set forth above, except for further comprising: repeating the method at least once within one week, wherein a subsequent dose is administered on a second surface different than the first surface.
However, Boyden teaches a method for the acute treatment of migraine (par. 0060) by injecting a medicine into a subject in need using an injector (fig. 1) wherein the method comprises a step of repeating the injection at least once within one week, wherein a subsequent dose is administered on a second surface different than the first surface (see par. 0075 for the injection being repeated at different injection sites over a period of time, e.g., over the course of a 30 to 60 minute office visit).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Goyani to include a step of repeating the treatment at least once within one week at different injection sites, as taught by Boyden, for the purpose of allowing the user to receive faster relief from migraine.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 31-48 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-14, 29 of copending Application No. 17/574,816(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the application claims can be found in the patent claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant application 18/705,130
Copending application 17/574,816
Claim 31
Claim 1
Claim 32
Claim 2
Claim 33
Claim 3
Claim 34
Claim 1
Claim 35
Claim 5
Claim 36
Claim 6
Claim 37
Claim 7
Claim 38
Claim 8
Claim 39
Claim 9
Claim 40
Claim 10
Claim 41
Claim 11
Claim 42
Claim 12
Claim 43
Claim 13
Claim 44
Claim 14
Claim 45
Claim 7
Claim 46
Claim 6
Claim 47
Claim 1
Claim 48
Claim 29
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892 form.
/DUNG T ULSH/Examiner, Art Unit 3783