DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remark, applicant argued (1) Kuo does not include survival time state information indicating whether a data radio bearer (DRB) corresponding to the configuration information supports a survival time state. (2) Kuo may describe an additional/alternative/at least one RLC entity, Kuo fails to teach or suggests “all RLC entities” as recited in the claims.
Examiner traverse the arguments:
As to point (1), Kuo’s teaching of “to support survival time requirement, additional or alternative RLC entities for a DRB can be immediately activated at the UE side, upon reception of a certain dynamic indication from the gNB or based on other criteria of survival time state triggering” in paragraph 0026 indicates the DRB corresponding to the configuration information when the criteria is met and the survival time state is triggered to activate the additional or alternative RLC entities for the DRB. Kuo in paragraphs 0032 and 0040 further teaches “the configuration message(s) may relate to survival time triggering…”, which shows the configuration message including survival time triggering information. The criteria for triggering of survival time state indicates whether the DRB supports a survival time state or not. When the criteria is met and the survival time state is triggered, it shows the DRB supports the survival time state. When the criteria is not met, then it indicates the DRB does not support the survival time state.
As to point (2), Kuo’s teaching to activate “at least one additional or alternative RLC entities” in plural form includes the scenario of one to all RCL entities (see pp. 0023, 0025-0026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al (Kuo), WO 2023/046264A1, in view of Lee et al (Lee), US 2023/0189252.
As per claim 1, Kuo teaches the invention including a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
Receiving configuration information including survival time state information indicating whether a data radio bearer (DRB) corresponding to the configuration information supports a survival time state (pp. 0003-0005, 0025-0026, 0032, 0040, 0067);
Receiving a configured retransmission grant (pp. 0014, 0025, 0034); and
Triggering activation of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication for all radio link control (RLC) entities configured for the DRB, based on the survival time state information and the configured retransmission grant (pp. 0014, 0025-0026, 0034).
Kuo does not teach the configured retransmission grant is addressed by a configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI). Lee teaches to address retransmission grant by configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI) (pp. 0248-0251). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Kuo and Lee and transmit the retransmission grant included in a DCI or a control signal addressed or identified by CS-RNTI.
As per claim 2, Kuo and Lee teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Kuo further teaches wherein in case that a logical channel associated with the DRB is multiplexed in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) (pp. 0014, 0026-0030), the activation of the PDCP duplication is triggered (pp. 0026-0030, 0034).
As per claim 3, Kuo and Lee teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Kuo further teaches wherein the configuration information including the survival time state information is received via a radio resource control signal (pp. 0032, 0040).
As per claim 4, Kuo teaches the invention including a method performed by a base station, the method comprising:
Transmitting configuration information including survival time state information indicating whether a data radio bearer (DRB) corresponding to the configuration information supports a survival time state (pp. 0003-0005, 0025-0026, 0032, 0040, 0067); and
Transmitting, to the user equipment (UE), a configured retransmission grant (pp. 0014, 0025, 0034); and
Wherein activation of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication for all radio link control (RLC) entities configured for the DRB is triggered at the UE, based on the survival time state information and the configured retransmission grant (pp. 0014, 0025-0026, 0034).
Kuo does not teach the configured retransmission grant is addressed by configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI). Lee teaches to address retransmission grant by configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI) (pp. 0248-0251). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Kuo and Lee and transmit the retransmission grant included in a DCI or a control signal addressed or identified by CS-RNTI.
As per claim 5, Kuo and Lee teach the invention as claimed in claim 4. Kuo further teaches wherein in case that a logical channel associated with the DRB is multiplexed in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) (pp. 0014, 0026-0030), the activation of the PDCP duplication is triggered (pp. 0026-0030, 0034).
As per claim 6, Kuo and Lee teach the invention as claimed in claim 4. Kuo further teaches wherein the configuration information including the survival time state information is received via a radio resource control signal (pp. 0032, 0040).
As per claim 7, Kuo teaches the invention including a user equipment (UE) (pp. 0055) comprising:
A transceiver (pp. 0060); and
At least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to (pp. 0057-0058):
Receive configuration information including survival time state information indicating whether a data radio bearer (DRB) corresponding to the configuration information supports a survival time state (pp. 0003-0005, 0025-0026, 0032, 0040, 0067);
Receive a configured retransmission grant (pp. 0014, 0025, 0034); and
Trigger activation of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication for all radio link control (RLC) entities configured for the DRB, based on the survival time state information and the configured retransmission grant (pp. 0014, 0025-0026, 0034).
Kuo does not teach the configured retransmission grant is addressed by a configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI). Lee teaches to address retransmission grant by configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI) (pp. 0248-0251). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Kuo and Lee and transmit the retransmission grant included in a DCI or a control signal addressed or identified by CS-RNTI.
As per claim 8, Kuo and Lee teach the invention as claimed in claim 7. Kuo further teaches wherein in case that a logical channel associated with the DRB is multiplexed in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) (pp. 0014, 0026-0030), the activation of the PDCP duplication is triggered (pp. 0026-0030, 0034).
As per claim 9, Kuo and Lee teach the invention as claimed in claim 7. Kuo further teaches wherein the configuration information including the survival time state information is received via a radio resource control signal (pp. 0032, 0040).
As per claim 10, Kuo teaches the invention including a base station (pp. 0043-0045) comprising:
A transceiver (pp. 0049); and
At least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to (pp. 0045-0047):
Transmit configuration information including survival time state information indicating whether a data radio bearer (DRB) corresponding to the configuration information supports a survival time state (pp. 0003-0005, 0025-0026, 0032, 0040, 0067);
Transmit, to the user equipment (UE), a configured retransmission grant (pp. 0014, 0025, 0034); and
Wherein activation of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication for all radio link control (RLC) entities configured for the DRB is triggered at the UE, based on the survival time state information and the configured retransmission grant (pp. 0014, 0025-0026, 0034).
Kuo does not teach the configured retransmission grant is addressed by a configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI). Lee teaches to address retransmission grant by configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI) (pp. 0248-0251). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Kuo and Lee and transmit the retransmission grant included in a DCI or a control signal addressed or identified by CS-RNTI.
As per claim 11, Kuo and Lee teach the invention as claimed in claim 10. Kuo further teaches wherein in case that a logical channel associated with the DRB is multiplexed in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) (pp. 0014, 0026-0030), the activation of the PDCP duplication is triggered (pp. 0026-0030, 0034).
As per claim 12, Kuo and Lee teach the invention as claimed in claim 10. Kuo further teaches wherein the configuration information including the survival time state information is transmitted via a radio resource control signal (pp. 0032, 0040).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
July 23, 2026