DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 04/26/24. Claim(s) 1-14 have been amended, no new claims have been added, and no claims have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-14 are presently pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "a gown" in claim 12; "a kit" in claim 13; and "a sterile package" in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“coupling means”: through hole “31” (page 4, lines 14-15 of the specification)
“forced air circulation means”: ventilation means (see below) “103” (page. 8, lines 15-20)
“ventilation means”: axial or radial blowers “131 or 132” (pg. 8, lines 20-21 of specification).
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, line 1 "a protective cap" should be changed to --the protective cap--.
In claim 12, line 1 "a protective cap" should be changed to --the protective cap--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the limitation “shaped like a bib” is unclear. The term “like” renders the claim indefinite as it cannot be determined if the shape is a bib or not a bib.
In claim 9, line 2 the limitation “disposable type” is unclear. The term “type” renders the claim indefinite as one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "The assembly" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 14, lines 1-2 the limitation “a sterile protective cap” is unclear if this is referring to the protective cap in claim 1 or a new cap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VanDerWoude (2009/0151054) in view of Jefferis (10,420,386).
Annotated fig 5 of VanDerWoude.
With respect to claim 1, VanDerWoude discloses a protective cap (24, fig 3) configured to be worn over a helmet (22, fig 5) by an operator (see [0026]), in particular in an operating room (see [0001]), which protective cap comprises a front vision lens (60, fig 5), configured to position at least at the operator's eyes (see [0028]); an enveloping main body (50, fig 5), fixed to said vision lens at a peripheral region thereof (see [0028-29]) and configured to completely cover the operator's head, neck and upper chest (see fig 11 and [0026]), which enveloping main body comprises a front portion (see annotated fig 5 of VanDerWoude) and a rear portion (see annotated fig 5 of VanDerWoude) connected and made integral by two opposite side portions (see annotated fig 5 of VanDerWoude; note only one is labeled but the cap in 3D and thus has two sides), wherein said main body further comprises a filtering portion (52, fig 5) configured to screen viral and bacterial agents (see [0027]), which filtering portion is arranged at an upper and middle-rear part of the main body that is placed (see location of 52 in fig 5; where 52 is at the crown of the operator’s head), on the operator's skull, wherein said filtering portion is joined to a surrounding part of said main body (see [0027]) but lacks the filtering portion joined by ultrasound welding.
However, Jefferis teaches a protective cap (12, fig 1) comprising an enveloping main body (14, fig 1) comprising a filtering portion (16, fig 1), wherein said filtering portion is joined to a surrounding part of said main body (see connection by ultrasound welding (see col. 8, lines 23-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the attachment of the main body and filtering portion of VanDerWoude to be welded as taught by Jefferis so as to provide a well-known connection between two pieces of material.
With respect to claim 2, the modified VanDerWoude shows said front portion has a lower appendix shaped like a bib (see annotated fig 5 of VanDerWoude), which, extends on the operator's chest (see fig 11 of VanDerWoude).
With respect to claim 4, the modified VanDerWoude shows said filtering portion comprises a rear portion having a downwardly tapered shape (see annotated fig 5 of VanDerWoude where 52 extends down the shroud 50).
With respect to claim 5, the modified VanDerWoude shows said enveloping main body is made of polypropylene tri-laminate with the exception of said filtering portion (see “multilaminate nonwoven… polypropylene” [0027] of VanDerWoude).
With respect to claim 7, the modified VanDerWoude shows said vision lens has connection means (mounting elements; 68, fig 5 of VanDerWoude), to a surgical helmet (see [0033] of VanDerWoude).
With respect to claim 10, the modified VanDerWoude shows an assembly (24, fig 5 of VanDerWoude) comprising the protective cap according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above) and a surgical helmet (22, fig 5 of VanDerWoude) connectable to said vision lens (see [0033] of VanDerWoude), wherein said protective cap is adapted to be worn over said surgical helmet (see [0026] of VanDerWoude).
With respect to claim 11, the modified VanDerWoude shows said helmet comprises forced air circulation (36, fig 2A of VanDerWoude) means having ventilation means (38, fig 2 of VanDerWoude) configured to suck in external air and said filtering portion of said cap is configured to be arranged over a suction mouth of said ventilation means (see [0027] of VanDerWoude).
With respect to claim 12, the modified VanDerWoude shows an assembly comprising the protective cap according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above) and a gown that can be worn over a lower part of said enveloping main body (see [0040] not shown but a gown accommodates the hood).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VanDerWoude and Jefferis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wilson (1,928,238).
With respect to claim 3, the modified VanDerWoude shows all the elements as claimed above but is silent regarding the cap comprising a first and a second lateral tie rod, each one fixed, at a respective terminal end, on said enveloping main body, said first and second tie rod being arranged on opposite sides with respect to a longitudinal axis of the cap and configured to be wrapped, at the end of wearing the cap, around the chest and connected to each other.
However, Wilson teaches a cap (10, fig 1) comprising a first and a second lateral tie rod (18, fig 1; two straps), each one fixed, at a respective terminal end (see connection on the rear of the device in fig 1), on a enveloping main body (15, fig 1), said first and second tie rod being arranged on opposite sides with respect to a longitudinal axis of the cap (see straps on left and right of the center of the cap) and configured to be wrapped, at the end of wearing the cap, around the chest and connected to each other (see straps with fitting 14 that can be attached fig 1; pg. 1, lines 87-89).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protective cap of the modified VanDerWoude to include tie rods as taught by Wilson so as to draw the device tightly against the body of the wearer for a secure fit (see pg. 1, lines 87-89 of Wilson).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VanDerWoude and Jefferis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miu (CN103623516).
With respect to claim 6, the modified VanDerWoude shows the filtering portion is made of a monolayer or multilayer filtering material (see [0027] of VanDerWoude) suitable to guarantee a filtration of viruses and bacteria (see [0027] of VanDerWoude), but is silent regarding the filtration of viruses and bacteria higher than 99%.
However, Miu teaches a protective cap (30/31; fig 1) comprising a filtering portion (19, fig 1) made of filtering material (HEPA) suitable to guarantee a filtration of viruses and bacteria higher than 99% (see [0030] of translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the filter portion of the modified VanDerWoude to include a HEPA filter as taught by Miu so as to filter contaminated air to provide purified air by blocking fine particulate matter (see [0030] of Miu).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VanDerWoude and Jefferis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Klotz (6,990,691).
With respect to claim 9, the modified VanDerWoude shows all the elements as claimed above but is silent regarding the protective cap being disposable.
However, Klotz teaches a protective cap (shroud; 140, fig 17) of the disposable type (see col. 4, lines 51-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protective cap of the modified VanDerWoude to be disposable as taught by Klotz so as to provide a one time use cap that is sterile at use and disposed of after to avoid contamination.
Claim(s) 8 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VanDerWoude and Jefferis as applied to claim 10 and 1 above, and further in view of Wheeler (4,845,779).
With respect to claim 8, the modified VanDerWoude shows all the elements as claimed above but is silent regarding the protective cap is supplied sterile in a package.
However, Wheeler teaches a protective gown (32, fig 13a) comprising a sterile package (gown, hood, gloves; see fig 14 and col. 5, lines 18-38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly of the modified VanDerWoude to be provided as a kit as taught by Wheeler so as to provide multiple parts (gown, hood, gloves) in one convenient package for the operator.
With respect to claim 13, the modified VanDerWoude shows all the elements as claimed above but is silent regarding the assembly is supplied as a kit.
However, Wheeler teaches a protective gown (32, fig 13a) supplied as a kit (gown, hood, gloves; see figs 13a-13f and col. 5, lines 18-38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly of the modified VanDerWoude to be provided as a kit as taught by Wheeler so as to provide multiple parts (gown, hood, gloves) in one convenient package for the operator.
With respect to claim 14, the modified VanDerWoude shows the protective cap of claim 1 (see claim 1 above) but is silent regarding a sterile package, which comprises a wrapping, wherein said protective cap is housed in said wrapping in folded form.
However, Wheeler teaches a protective gown (32, fig 13a) comprising a sterile package (gown, hood, gloves; see fig 14 and col. 5, lines 18-19) which comprises a wrapping (synthetic package; 60, fig 14) wherein said protective gown is housed in said wrapping in folded form (see fig 14 and col. 5, lines 18-38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cap of the modified VanDerWoude to be provided as a sterile package as taught by Wheeler so as to provide multiple parts (gown, hood, gloves) in one convenient package for the operator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Resnick (2010/0313338), Duncan (2009/0144884), Paris (2001/0037519), Stackhouse (4901716), Jurrius (5133344), Yazdi (2016/0165973), Jascomb (2020/0178622), and Christensen (2021/0093024) are cited to show additional protective wearables.
/KELSEY E BALLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785