DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A: Figure 1 in the reply filed on May 29, 20206 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DiSimone et al (2018/0296264).
Referring to claim 1, DiSimone et al teaches an electroporation delivery device (paragraphs 0007 and 0058-0060) comprising: a shaft (520) (paragraph 0058; Figure 5); a balloon (510) attached to a distal end of the shaft (paragraph 0058; Figure 5); and one or more electrode spines (lines shown in Figure 5) attached to the balloon, each of the one or more electrode spines including one or more electrodes (530) (paragraphs 0045, 0058 and 0062; Figure 5).
Referring to claim 2, DiSimone et al teaches wherein the balloon (510) is made of a porous material (paragraph 0061; Figure 5).
Referring to claim 4, DiSimone et al teaches wherein the one or more electrodes includes at least four electrodes (530) (paragraphs 0045, 0058 and 0062; Figure 5).
Referring to claim 5, DiSimone et al teaches wherein the balloon is an elliptical shape when inflated (Figure 5)
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stewart et al (2019/0030328).
Referring to claim 1, Stewart et al teaches an electroporation delivery device (paragraphs 0057 and 0075) comprising: a shaft (22) (paragraph 0058; Figures 1 -4); a balloon (30) attached to a distal end of the shaft (paragraphs 0059; Figures 1-4); and one or more electrode spines (41) attached to the balloon (30), each of the one or more electrode spines including one or more electrodes (18) (paragraph 0064; Figures 1-4).
Referring to claim 3, Stewart et al teaches the one or more electrode spines (41) includes four electrode spines (paragraph 0064; Figures 1-4).
Referring to claim 4, DiSimone et al teaches wherein the one or more electrodes includes at least four electrodes (18) (paragraphs 0057 and 0064; Figure 4).
Referring to claim 5, DiSimone et al teaches wherein the balloon is an elliptical shape when inflated (paragraphs 0060 and 0071; Figure 4).
Conclusion
/SAMANTHA M GOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794