A Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 04/26/2024 is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-7, 9, 12, and 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the volume of the column of fluid in the waste fluid conduit”. This is likely a typographical error, as “volume” and “column of fluid” were never appropriately introduced. The Examiner suggests this is corrected to read “a volume of a column of fluid in the waste fluid conduit”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the conduit”. The Examiner advises the Applicant to remain consistent with claim language. An example edit can include “the waste fluid conduit”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a portion of the waste fluid conduit”. This is likely a typographical error. In Claim 5, from which Claim 6 is dependent upon, “a portion of the waste fluid conduit” has already been introduced appropriately. An example edit can include “the portion of the waste fluid conduit”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the conduit”. The Examiner advises the Applicant to remain consistent with claim language. An example edit can include “the waste fluid conduit”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the C-shaped gripping members” twice within the claim. The Examiner advises the Applicant to remain consistent with claim language. An example edit can include “the resilient gripping members”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the resilient gripping member”, but later recites the limitation “the C-shaped gripping members”. This is likely a typographical error, as the Applicant has claimed that a singular resilient gripping member comprises a C-shaped portion, but later recites the plural-usage of “C-shaped gripping members”. This is also reflected in the usage of the plural-form of “portions”. Please amend the claim to reflect the Applicant’s intentions. An example edit can include “the C-shaped gripping member is selected such that an end portion of the C-shaped gripping member is inherently resilient”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation, “a waste fluid trap”. This is likely a typographical error, as “a fluid trap” has already been appropriately introduced in Claim 5. The Examiner is interpreting the recitation of “a waste fluid trap” of Claim 9 to be further-limiting of the recitation of “a fluid trap” as disclosed in Claim 5. The Examiner advises the Applicant to remain consistent in claim language, and to amend the claim to reflect the Applicant’s intentions.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a waste fluid tank.,”. Specifically, there is a typographical error wherein “.,” is included. Please amend the claim accordingly to remove this error.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the machine”. The Examiner advises the Applicant to remain consistent with claim language. An example edit can include “the floor treatment machine”. However, please amend the claim to reflect the Applicant’s intentions.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the collector”. The Examiner advises the Applicant to remain consistent with claim language. An example edit can include “the squeegee collector”. However, please amend the claim to reflect the Applicant’s intentions.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “provided with a tilt mechanism and latch, which latch is activated”. Specifically, “which latch” is likely a typographical error. An example edit can include “wherein the latch is activated”. However, please amend the claim to reflect the Applicant’s intentions.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the floor”. The Examiner advises the Applicant remain consistent with claim language. An example edit can include “the floor surface”. However, please amend the claim to reflect the Applicant’s intentions.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “a kit of parts comprising component parts of the floor machine”. It is unclear what is the intended structure to be claimed here, as the Specification is silent on what a kit, parts, or component parts are being defined as. As the claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, this claim is indefinite.
Any claim listed as rejected above but not specifically addressed above has inherited the rejection of a claim specifically addressed above due to dependency therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nortrup et al (US 20160120385 A1), herein after referred to as "Nortrup".
Regarding Claim 1, Nortrup discloses a floor treatment machine for cleaning and/or treating a floor surface (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0024], “an exemplary floor surface cleaning machine 100 operating on a floor surface 10”), the floor treatment machine comprising:
a handle portion (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0024], “steering wheel 106”) movably connected to a base portion such that the handle portion is arranged to guide movement of the base portion (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0024], wherein it is disclosed that “mobile body 102 comprises a frame supported on wheels 104 for travel over a surface”, and that the operator may steer the machine);
wherein the base portion is provided with at least one floor treatment workhead (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0025], scrub head 110 has one or more brushes 114), a cleaning fluid outlet for selective delivery of cleaning fluid to the floor treatment workhead (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0026], wherein a cleaning fluid is “sprayed to or poured on the surface beneath machine 100”), and a suction collector assembly having an inlet located proximate the floor treatment workhead (Nortrup: see Abstract in view of FIG. 1A, wherein the waste recovery system has “an inlet passage proximal to the floor surface”), the inlet connected to a waste fluid conduit, wherein the suction collector assembly is arranged to selectively suction and collect waste fluid in use (Nortrup: see Paragraphs [0029] and [0031], “the recovery hose 130 can be connected to the waste recovery system 150”, and “the inlet passage 162 can be in fluid communication with a vacuum port and draw waste from the floor and into the waste recovery system 150”);
and a spillage prevention attachment configured for attachment to the waste fluid conduit such that the spillage prevention attachment positions and orients a portion of the waste fluid conduit to collect and substantially retain waste fluid on removal of suction from the suction collector assembly (Nortrup: see Paragraphs [0031] and [0033] in view of FIGS. 1B and 8, wherein reservoir 160 is attached to the recovery hose 130 such that the fluid trap portion 166 can retain backflow waste from the fluid suction path 152, notably catching waste when the vacuum system is disengaged).
Regarding Claim 14, Nortrup discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the suction collector assembly comprises a squeegee collector shaped to assist the feed of waste fluid into the waste fluid conduit (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0030], “the waste recovery system 150 comprises a fluid suction path 152 extending from a squeegee assembly 140 to a waste recovery tank 120”) and provided with a connection to a suction generator for drawing up waste fluid from the collector (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0030], wherein the vacuum system is connected to the fluid suction path 152 to draw waste through it during operation).
Regarding Claim 17, Nortrup discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the floor treatment machine comprises a compact floor scrubber drier machine (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0039], “small and portable floor surface maintenance machines”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nortrup et al (US 20160120385 A1), herein after referred to as "Nortrup", in view of Molina et al (WO 2021237336 A1), herein after referred to as "Molina".
Regarding Claim 2, Nortrup discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 1, and a fluid trap in which fluid from the waste fluid conduit is collected and retained to substantially restrict spillage of waste fluid when suction is removed from the suction collector assembly (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0031] in view of FIGS. 1B and 8, "reservoir 160 can trap waste and particle waste that are still present in the waste recovery system 150 when the vacuum system stops suctioning waste from the floor (e.g., when an operator switches off the vacuum system, etc.)").
Notrup does not disclose wherein the spillage prevention attachment is arranged to position and orient the waste fluid conduit to form a fluid trap.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Molina discloses wherein the spillage prevention attachment is arranged to position and orient the waste fluid conduit to form a fluid trap (Molina: see Paragraph [1032] in view of FIG. 3, wherein cleaning hose 122 and rear skirt 118 are disclosed, and in further view of Annotated Figure 11C and 11D, wherein a clip is shown to position and orient a hose to form a fluid trap).
Molina discloses a semi-autonomous cleaning device 100, comprising a frame 102, cleaning assembly 108, rear skirt 118, handle 120, cleaning hose 122, and one or more internal storage tanks or storing volumes for storing water, disinfecting solutions, debris, and dirty water (Molina: see Paragraph [1032] in view of FIG. 3). Here, the “cleaning robot 100 can be used to clean (e.g., vacuum, scrub, disinfect, etc.) any suitable surface area such as, for example, a floor of a home, commercial building, warehouse, etc” (Molina: see Paragraph [1031]). Of note, “rear skirt 118 consists of a squeegee head or rubber blade that engages the floor surface along which the cleaning device 100 travels and channels debris towards the cleaning assembly 108” (Molina: see Paragraph [1034]). The embodiments represented by Annotated Figures 11C and 11D represent “a semi-autonomous cleaning device with another external disinfection module design” (Molina: see Paragraph [1043]), but bear many identical structural similarities to prior-embodiments disclosed with respect to FIG. 3. Of greater significance, Annotated Figures 11C and 11D disclose a clip for orienting the hose (i.e. cleaning hose 122 with respect to FIG. 3) such that a fluid trap is formed.
Similarly, Nortrup discloses “a waste recovery system for a floor surface maintenance machine”, wherein the waste recovery system “comprises a squeegee assembly having a squeegee frame, a squeegee retainer extending below the squeegee frame and a reservoir integrally defined in the squeegee retainer” (Nortrup: see Abstract). Here, “the reservoir 160 comprises a fluid trap portion 166 positioned between the inlet and outlet passages 162, 164”, and is designed such that “if the vacuum system is disengaged or if the machine is switched off by an operator, waste and particle waste still present in the recovery hose 130 fall back into the fluid trap portion 166” (Nortrup: see Paragraphs [0033] and [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the clip providing a fluid trap portion, disclosed in Annotated Figures 11C and 11D by Molina, with the floor surface maintenance machine, disclosed by Nortrup, such that a fluid trap may be incorporated on the recovery hose 130 to accomplish the task of collecting waste water that drains from the fluid suction path upon the disengagement of a vacuum system, or powering off of the floor surface maintenance machine. One would be motivated to do this for financial benefits, as Nortrup discloses integrally forming the reservoir with the squeegee retainer to reduce the cost of manufacturing, reduce time needed for manufacture, improve simplicity of operation (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding Claim 3, Nortrup in view of Molina discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein one end of the waste fluid conduit is coupled to the inlet of the suction collector assembly (see Nortrup, Paragraph [0032], the reservoir 160 has an outlet passage 164 coupled to the recovery hose 130 and leading to the waste recovery tank 120; see also Molina, Paragraphs [1034] and [1031] in view of FIG. 3 and Annotated Figure 11C, wherein the cleaning hose is coupled to the rear skirt 118 such that the squeegee channels debris towards the cleaning assembly 108, wherein the cleaning robot 100 can be used to “vacuum, scrub, disinfect, etc.”), and an opposing end of the waste fluid conduit is coupled to a waste fluid tank (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0027] in view of FIGS. 1A and 1B, “recovery hose 130” directs fluid to the “waste recovery tank 120”), and wherein the spillage prevention attachment is arranged to position and orient the waste fluid conduit (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0032] in view of FIGS. 1B and 8, wherein the reservoir 160 has an outlet passage 164 coupled to the recovery hose 130, wherein the recovery hose is oriented above the outlet passage) to form a U-shaped portion (Molina: see Annotated Figure 11C, wherein the U-shaped portion is formed on the hose by the clip).
Regarding Claim 4, Nortrup in view of Molina discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 3, wherein the spillage prevention attachment is attachable to the waste fluid conduit such that the U-shaped portion is selected to have a capacity that is greater than the volume of the column of fluid in the waste fluid conduit between the U-shaped portion and the waste fluid tank (see Nortrup, Paragraphs [0031] and [0033], wherein the inlet passage height and fluid trap shape can be configured to hold a desired volume of waste fluid; see also Nortrup, Paragraph [0034], wherein the fluid trap portion 166 can retain waste fluid when the vacuum is powered off; see also Molina, Annotated Figure 11C, wherein the clip is attachable to the hose to form a fluid trap (i.e. spillage prevention attachment is attachable to the waste fluid conduit).
Regarding Claim 5, Nortrup in view of Molina discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the spillage prevention attachment comprises at least two gripping members, each gripping member configured and arranged to grip a portion of the waste fluid conduit such that a fluid trap is created in the conduit. (Molina: see Annotated Figures 11C and 11D, wherein the clip is shown engaging the hose to form a fluid trap).
Claim(s) 6-7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nortrup et al (US 20160120385 A1), herein after referred to as "Nortrup", in view of Molina et al (WO 2021237336 A1), herein after referred to as "Molina", and in further view of Berfield (US 6367118 B1), herein after referred to as “Berfield”.
Regarding Claim 6, Nortrup in view of Molina discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 5, wherein at least one of the gripping members comprises a gripping member that is shaped to retain a portion of the waste fluid conduit in use.
Modified Nortrup does not disclose a resilient gripping member that is resiliently deformable to facilitate attachment to the waste fluid conduit.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Berfield discloses a resilient gripping member (Berfield: see Col. 3, lines 60-61, “hose clip 40 is preferably manufactured from a resilient material”) that is resiliently deformable to facilitate attachment to the waste fluid conduit (Berfield: see Col. 3, lines 61-62, “to enable the first and second arms 46 and 48 to easily deflect”; see also Col. 3, lines 11-12 in view of FIG. 2, wherein first and second arms 46 and 48 connect “a first portion 42 of the vacuum hose 34 to a second portion 44 of the vacuum hose 34”).
Berfield discloses “a vacuum cleaner hose clip”, having a first and second arm each “adapted to wrap partially around a portion of a vacuum cleaner hose” of a “wet/dry vacuum cleaner” (Berfield: see Abstract and Col. 2, line 54). The hose clip 40 “is preferably manufactured from a resilient material such as plastic to enable the first and second arms 46 and 48 to easily deflect” (Berfield: see Col. 3, lines 60-62), and has an S-shaped profile (Berfield: see Col. 1, lines 66-67), thus allowing the clip to be freely removed from the vacuum hose 34 when in use, and easily reinserted when compact storage is desired (Berfield: see Col. 3, lines 55-59 in view of FIG. 1). To aide in compact storage, “an aperture formed directly in the bridge 50” may be provided on the hose clip 40 for use in fastening the hose clip to a surface for storage (Berfield: see Col. 4, lines 22-25).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the floor surface maintenance machine, as disclosed by Nortrup, with the fluid trap hose clip, disclosed by Molina, and also with the resilient structure and material of the hose clip, as disclosed by Berfield, as to provide a floor surface cleaning machine with a fluid trap formed from a resilient clip that is deformable to allow free insertion and removal of a hose. One would be motivated to do this for the purposes of compact storage (Berfield: Col. 3, lines 55-59) as well as providing a resilient structure that supports easy insertion and removal of a vacuum hose (Berfield: Col. 3, lines 60-61).
Regarding Claim 7, Nortrup in view of Molina, and in further view of Berfield, discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 6, wherein the resilient gripping member comprises a C-shaped portion (see Berfield, Col. 1, lines 66-67, wherein an S-shaped clip is disclosed; see also Berfield, Col. 1, lines 35-36, wherein C-shaped sections of prior art are contemplated; see also Molina, Annotated Figure 11C and 11D, wherein a clip with a C-shaped configuration is shown) having a diameter that is similar to, or less than, the diameter of the waste fluid conduit such that the conduit is retained by the gripping members in use (Berfield: see FIGS. 3 and 4, wherein the vacuum hose 34 is of a diameter that is retainable by the hose clip 40) and wherein the thickness (Berfield: see Col. 3, lines 41-42, “the lip 72 terminates in a increased thickness detent 74”) and material (Berfield: see Col. 3, line 61, “material such as plastic”) of the C-shaped gripping members is selected such that end portions of the C-shaped gripping members are inherently resilient (Berfield: see Col. 3, lines 60-61, “hose clip 40 is preferably manufactured from a resilient material”).
Regarding Claim 11, Nortrup in view of Molina, and in further view of Berfield, discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the spillage prevention attachment (see Nortrup: reservoir 160; see also Molina: Annotated Figure 11C) comprises an integrally moulded (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0032], wherein “the inlet passage 162 and the fluid trap portion 166 are formed integrally within the squeegee retainer 144”) plastic component (Berfield: see Col. 3, lines 60-61, “resilient material such as plastic”) having transverse ribs for additional strength (Berfield: see Col. 3, lines 41-44 and 47-48, increased thickness detents 74 and 80; see also Berfield, Annotated Figure 5, wherein a rib is visible on first arm 46).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nortrup et al (US 20160120385 A1), herein after referred to as "Nortrup", in view of Molina et al (WO 2021237336 A1), herein after referred to as "Molina", and in further view of Jupp (US 6345407 B1), herein after referred to as “Jupp”.
Regarding Claim 8, Nortrup in view of Molina discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 5.
Modified Nortrup does not disclose wherein at least one of the gripping members comprise a substantially cylindrical cut-out having a diameter that is similar to or slightly greater than a diameter of the waste fluid conduit, such that the waste fluid conduit is insertable through the substantially cylindrical cut-out.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Jupp discloses wherein at least one of the gripping members comprise a substantially cylindrical cut-out having a diameter that is similar to or slightly greater than a diameter of the waste fluid conduit, such that the waste fluid conduit is insertable through the substantially cylindrical cut-out (Jupp: see Col. 2, lines 58-60 in view of FIG. 2, wherein “the inner diameter of the cylindrical sleeve 12 along the majority of its length is a little greater than the outer diameter of the hose 16 of the vacuum cleaner”).
Jupp discloses “a tool holder for a vacuum cleaner” (Jupp: see Abstract), comprising “a central cylindrical sleeve 12” and “three tool-receiving pegs or spigots 22” (Jupp: see Col. 3, lines 24-26). Here, pegs 22 are designed to receive a “plurality of tools 30, 32, 34” while the central cylindrical sleeve 12 of the tool holder 10 is “attachable directly to the hose (16)”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the floor surface maintenance machine, as disclosed by Nortrup, with the fluid trap hose clip, disclosed by Molina, and also with the structure of the tool holder disclosed by Jupp such that the fluid trap hose clip has at least three pegs with C-shaped clamps, and a central cylindrical cut-out with a diameter greater than the diameter of the recovery hose (i.e. recovery hose 130 disclosed by Nortrup) such that the recovery hose may be inserted through the central cylindrical cut-out. One would be motivated to do this for the purposes of offering additional stability, as the central cylindrical cut-out can be abutted against the outlet passage 164, where the recovery hose 130 contacts the outlet passage (see Nortrup, Paragraph [0032]).
Regarding Claim 9, Nortrup in view of Molina, and in further view of Jupp, discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 5, wherein the spillage prevention attachment comprises three gripping members (Jupp: see FIG. 1) arranged to selectively attach and orient portions of the waste fluid conduit such that a waste fluid trap is created (Molina: see Annotated Figures 11C and 11D).
Regarding Claim 10, Nortrup in view of Molina, and in further view of Jupp, discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 9, wherein the gripping members of the spillage prevention attachment each have an associated axis (Jupp: see Col. 2, lines 65-66 in view of FIG. 2, wherein the tool holder 10 has a longitudinal axis 18; see also Jupp, Col. 4, lines 8-10 in view of FIG. 3, wherein the removal of tools from the tool holder is done in a “direction parallel to the longitudinal axis 18”) and the axes of the gripping members are arranged in a triangular configuration (Jupp: see FIGS. 1 and 3).
Claim(s) 12-13, 15-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nortrup et al (US 20160120385 A1), herein after referred to as "Nortrup", in view of Vines (US 8595897 B2), herein after referred to as "Vines".
Regarding Claim 12, Nortrup discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a clean fluid reservoir (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0026], “cleaning fluid contained in a tank”) and a waste fluid tank (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0026], “waste recovery tank 120”).
Nortrup does not disclose a tank module, wherein the tank module is selectively detachable from the machine.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Vines discloses a tank module (Vines: see Col. 7, lines 50-52, wherein “tank assembly 112 comprises a fluid supply tank 116” and recovery tank 118), wherein the tank module is selectively detachable from the machine (Vines: see Col. 7, lines 52-54, wherein “both tanks 116, 118” may be joined together to “allow them to be removed as a unit”).
Vines discloses a vacuum cleaner (Vines: see Abstract) for cleaning and removing liquids, debris, or a combination thereof (Vines: see Col. 4, lines 62-66). The vacuum cleaner further comprises a handle lock, a detachable tank assembly, and a two-axis pivot (Vines: see Abstract; see also Vines, Col. 7, lines 50-54; see also Vines, Col. 26, lines 17-20 and 22-26, and Col. 27, line 29).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined Nortrup in view of Vines such that a small and portable floor surface maintenance machine (Nortrup: Paragraph [0039]) incorporates a detachable tank module comprising a fluid supply tank and recovery tank (Vines: Col. 7, lines 50-54, “tank assembly 112”, “fluid supply tank 116”, and “recovery tank 118”), and also incorporates a locking mechanism for storage of the device in an upright position (Vines: see Col. 27, lines 47-51, storing a “device in an upright position”). One would be motivated to do this for the purposes of improved mobility, as the tank assembly 112 can be removed and carried by handles 120 (Vines: Col. 7, lines 55-57 in view of FIG. 1B), and also improved storage capabilities for a device maintained in an upright position.
Regarding Claim 13, Nortrup in view of Vines discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a floor treatment machine according to claim 12, wherein the tank module is located on the handle portion (Vines: see Col. 7, lines 54-55, wherein “the tank assembly 112 may be mounted in a recess 128 located in the handle 104”).
Regarding Claim 15, Nortrup in view of Vines discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 14, wherein the suction collector assembly is provided with a tilt mechanism and latch (Vines: see Abstract, wherein the “handle lock includes a key, a protrusion extending from the base, and a detent in the handle”), which latch is activated automatically when the squeegee collector (Nortrup: see Paragraph [0030], “squeegee assembly 140”) is tilted up from the floor by a predetermined amount (Vines: see Col. 27, lines 8-15 in view of FIGS. 21-22C, wherein handle 104 may pivot backwards a predetermined distance about axis to disengage the locking mechanism to allow pivoting about the upper pivot axis 2104 and lower pivot axis 2102; see also Vines, Col. 26, lines 64-67, and Col. 27, lines 1-8 in view of FIG. 21, wherein a locking mechanism is engaged when the handle is positioned vertical to prevent pivoting about top axis 2104 and lower axis 2102).
Regarding Claim 16, Nortrup in view of Vines discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a floor treatment machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the handle portion is connected to the base portion via an articulation which permits reclining of the handle portion (Vines: see Col. 27, lines 8-15 in view of FIG. 21, wherein handle 104 may pivot about lower pivot axis 2102 and upper pivot axis 2104 when handle 104 is reclined) and wherein the articulation comprises a twin axis universal joint arrangement (Vines: see Col. 27, line 29, “the two-axis pivoting handle”).
Regarding Claim 18, Nortrup in view of Vines discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Nortrup further discloses a kit of parts comprising component parts of the floor treatment machine according to claim 1 (Vines: see Col. 32, lines 58-62, “accessory storage feature” includes “spare agitators 3010, replacement drive belts, vacuum filters or bags, and the like”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Yoo (US 6510582 B1) discloses a vacuum cleaner provided with a detachable tool caddy unit, wherein the tool caddy unit has at least three C-shaped clamps arranged in a triangular configuration and has a belt holding rib provided for storage of a spare rubber belt (i.e. spare components).
/JON M HEGEMIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723