Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Amendment
Examiner acknowledges receipt of amendment to application 18/705,270 received February 20, 2026. Claims 1 and 22 are amended, claims 2-21 and 23-25 are left as original or previously presented, and claim 26 is newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-20 and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon U.S. PGPub 2019/0245356 A1 (hereinafter Moon) in view of Lehmeier et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0031638 A1 (hereinafter Lehmeier).
Regarding Claim 1, Moon teaches a battery electric vehicle (EV) charging system (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 100; Paras. [0075] and [0116], Lines 1-7, and Figs. 37 and 37-1; Para. [0129]) comprising a plurality of input charging ports (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 150; Paras. [0009], [0076], and Para. [0116]) connectable to receive electrical power from one or more energy sources (Moon, Fig. 37, Elements 905-907; Para. [0113]), wherein the plurality of input ports comprise different types of input ports (Moon, Para. [0076], and Para. [0117], Lines 1-7), wherein the plurality of input ports comprise at least one DC input charging port (Moon, Para. [0117], Lines 1-7, “DC port”), a plurality of output discharging ports (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 160; Para. [0116], Line 3, and Para. [0077]) connectable to deliver electrical power to one or more loads (Moon, Figs. 37 and 37-1, Elements 912-913; Paras. [0030] and [0113]), wherein the one or more loads comprise an EV (Moon, Figs. 37 and 37-1, Elements 912-913; Paras. [0030] and [0113], “electric vehicles”), wherein the plurality of output ports comprise different types of output ports (Moon, Para. [0077], Lines 1-4, and Para. [0117], Lines 7-16), wherein the plurality of output discharging ports comprise at least one DC output charging port configured to charge the EV (Moon, Para. [0077], Lines 1-4, “any other different type of plug or output”, and Para. [0117], Lines 7-16, “broad array of external devices connected to the plurality of output ports including … vehicles”) and at least one AC output charging port configured to charge the EV (Moon, Para. [0077], “North American AC plug”, and Fig. 37, Elements 912-913, Para. [0129]. Moon does not detail the type of connection from the charging system to an electric vehicle (EV), but it is well known in the art, the connection to an EV is commonly an AC plug or a DC plug depending on the vehicle input port connector.), a plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 500; Para. [0116], Lines 6-7, and Fig. 8, Para. [0082]) to receive input electrical power from the plurality of input charging ports (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Paras. [0121] – [0123]) and provide output electrical power to the plurality of output discharging ports (Moon, Figs. 24-32, Para. [0124]), a main control system board (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Element 700, Para. [0116], Lines 4-6, “main battery management printed circuit board assembly”) connected between the plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 500) and the plurality of inputs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 150), and between the plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 500) and the plurality of outputs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 160), the main control system board (Moon, Figs. 14-33, Element 700) configured to selectively connect each battery pack (Moon, Figs. 14-33, Elements 510-560) to any number of the plurality of input ports (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Paras. [0121] – [0123]) or any number of the plurality of output ports (Moon, Figs. 24-32, Para. [0124]), each input port (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Elements 151-154) to any number of battery packs (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Elements 510-560), and each output port (Moon, Figs. 14 and 24-33, Elements 151-154) to any number of battery packs (Moon, Figs. 24-33, Elements 510-560), wherein the main control system board is configured to provide a higher voltage for EV charging to the at least one DC output charging port (Moon, Para. [0117], Lines 7-13, “vehicles requiring high power levels”), a main battery control board for controlling connections between each battery pack and any number of the plurality of input ports or any number of the plurality of output ports, wherein the main control system board controls the main battery control board to separately control charging of the battery packs and discharging of the battery packs (Moon, Fig. 10, Element 700 in combination with Fig. 8, Element 505, Paras. [0010], [0082], [0111], and [0118], “slave battery management system” . Although not explicitly labeled as a main battery control board, it is clear Moon is performing the controlling connections between each battery pack and each and every input port and output port to separately control charging and discharging of each battery pack.), a battery management system board that monitors the battery status of the battery packs, battery modules, battery cells (Moon, Figs. 4-7 and 10-13, Element 210; Paras. [0078], [0084], [0085], and [0120] – [0121]) and communicates the data to the main battery control board which limits discharging of the battery packs for charging the loads based on remaining charge in the battery packs and status of the battery packs, battery modules, and battery cells (Moon, Paras. [0011], [0019], [0082], and [0118]), but does not explicitly teach at least one DC input charging port configured to receive power from another EV or another EV charging system.
Lehmeier, however, teaches at least one DC input charging port configured to receive power from another EV or another EV charging system (Lehmeier, Fig. 11, “EVSE Contactor” feeding “Charge Port”, Fig. 14, “Level 2 J1772 or CCS Charge Port”, Fig. 20, “Stationary Charger Charges Mobile Charger” with (see table) Config 2 “DCFC”, and Fig. 22, “Input Configuration 2: DCFC”; Paras. [0031], “DCFC”, [0039], [0042] and Claims 10-11), wherein the one or more loads comprise an EV (Lehmeier, Para. [0038]), wherein the plurality of output discharging ports comprise at least one DC output charging port configured to charge the EV (Lehmeier, Fig. 11, “Vehicle Charge Port”, Fig. 14, “CCS Type 1 Charge Handle”, Fig. 20, “Mobile Charger Charges Electric Vehicle” with (see table) Config 2 or 3 “DCFC” or “DC/DC”, and Figs. 24/25, “Output Configuration 2&3: DCFC or DC/DC”; Paras. [0038], “DCFC”, [0042] and Claims 3-4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Moon is silent as to the actual DC connection when charging an electric vehicle, Moon would inherently incorporate some type of conventional connector/connection commonly understood in the art. The connector/connection taught by Lehmeier, for providing for a DC power connection to charge the battery of an electric vehicle, teaches one of the many conventional connector/connections utilized in the art for charging the battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Lehmeier, to provide the electrical connection of power between the modular charger and the electric vehicle of Moon.
Regarding Claim 22, Moon teaches a battery electric vehicle (EV) charging system (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 100; Paras. [0075] and [0116], Lines 1-7, and Figs. 37 and 37-1; Para. [0129]) comprising a plurality of input ports (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 150; Paras. [0009], [0076], and Para. [0116]) connectable to receive electrical power from one or more energy sources (Moon, Fig. 37, Elements 905-907; Para. [0113]), wherein the plurality of input ports comprise at least one DC input charging port (Moon, Para. [0117], Lines 1-7, “DC port”), a plurality of output ports (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 160; Para. [0116], Line 3, and Para. [0077]) connectable to deliver electrical power to one or more loads (Moon, Figs. 37 and 37-1, Elements 912-913; Paras. [0030] and [0113]) , wherein the one or more loads comprise an EV (Moon, Figs. 37 and 37-1, Elements 912-913; Paras. [0030] and [0113], “electric vehicles”), wherein the plurality of output ports comprise at least one DC output charging port configured to charge the EV (Moon, Para. [0077], Lines 1-4, “any other different type of plug or output”, and Para. [0117], Lines 7-16, “broad array of external devices connected to the plurality of output ports including … vehicles”) and at least one AC output charging port configured to charge the EV (Moon, Para. [0077], “North American AC plug”, and Fig. 37, Elements 912-913, Para. [0129]. Moon does not detail the type of connection from the charging system to an electric vehicle (EV), but it is well known in the art, the connection to an EV is commonly an AC plug or a DC plug depending on the vehicle input port connector.), a plurality of battery packs internal (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 500; Para. [0116], Lines 6-7, and Fig. 8, Para. [0082]) or external to the system (Moon, Fig. 2; Para. [0117], Lines 1-7, “variety of input power sources”, Although Moon does not list every potential DC power source, it is common knowledge in the art that DC sources include such sources as, DC solar arrays, EV to EV sourcing, Battery banks, i.e. battery packs external to the system, etc.), a switching matrix (Moon, Figs. 36 and 36-1, Paras. [0111] – [0112]. Where the switching matrix is part of the main battery management printed circuit board assembly, Element 700.) connected between the plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Element 500) and the plurality of inputs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 150), and between the plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 500) and the plurality of outputs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 160), the switching matrix (Moon, Figs. 36 and 36-1, Paras. [0111] – [0112]. Where the switching matrix is part of the main battery management printed circuit board assembly, Element 700.) configured to selectively connect each battery pack (Moon, Figs. 14-33, Elements 510-560) to any number of the plurality of input ports (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Paras. [0121] – [0123]) or any number of the plurality of output ports (Moon, Figs. 24-32, Para. [0124]), each input port (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Elements 151-154) to any number of battery packs (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Elements 510-560), and each output port (Moon, Figs. 14 and 24-33, Elements 151-154) to any number of battery packs (Moon, Figs. 24-33, Elements 510-560), a main battery management controller operably coupled to the switching matrix for controlling connections between each battery pack and any number of the plurality of input ports or any number of the plurality of output ports (Moon, Fig. 8, Element 505, Paras. [0010], [0082], [0111], and [0118], “slave battery management system” . Although not explicitly labeled as a main battery control board, it is clear Moon is performing the controlling connections between each battery pack and each and every input port and output port to separately control charging and discharging of each battery pack.), wherein the plurality of battery packs and the main battery management controller provide a higher voltage for EV charging to the at least one DC output charging port (Moon, Para. [0117], Lines 7-13, “vehicles requiring high power levels”), a management system that monitors input electric power from the input ports to battery packs, output electric power from the output ports to the one or more loads (Moon, Figs. 4-7 and 10-13, Element 210; Paras. [0078], [0084], [0085], and [0120] – [0121]), and battery status for the battery packs, battery modules, and battery cells (Moon, Paras. [0011], [0019], [0082], and [0118]), wherein the management system controls the switching matrix and main battery management controller (Moon, Fig. 37; Paras. [0111] - [0114]), wherein the management system separately controls charging of the battery packs and discharging of the battery packs (Moon, Fig. 8, Element 505, Paras. [0010], [0082], [0111], and [0118], “slave battery management system” . Although not explicitly labeled as a main battery control board, it is clear Moon is performing the controlling connections between each battery pack and each and every input port and output port to separately control charging and discharging of each battery pack.), wherein the management system limits discharging of the battery packs for charging the EV based on the remaining charge in the battery packs and status of the battery packs, battery modules, and battery cells (Moon, Paras. [0011], [0019], [0082], and [0118]), but does not explicitly teach at least one DC input charging port configured to receive power from another EV or another EV charging system.
Lehmeier, however, teaches at least one DC input charging port configured to receive power from another EV or another EV charging system (Lehmeier, Fig. 11, “EVSE Contactor” feeding “Charge Port”, Fig. 14, “Level 2 J1772 or CCS Charge Port”, Fig. 20, “Stationary Charger Charges Mobile Charger” with (see table) Config 2 “DCFC”, and Fig. 22, “Input Configuration 2: DCFC”; Paras. [0031], “DCFC”, [0039], [0042] and Claims 10-11), wherein the one or more loads comprise an EV (Lehmeier, Para. [0038]), wherein the plurality of output discharging ports comprise at least one DC output charging port configured to charge the EV (Lehmeier, Fig. 11, “Vehicle Charge Port”, Fig. 14, “CCS Type 1 Charge Handle”, Fig. 20, “Mobile Charger Charges Electric Vehicle” with (see table) Config 2 or 3 “DCFC” or “DC/DC”, and Figs. 24/25, “Output Configuration 2&3: DCFC or DC/DC”; Paras. [0038], “DCFC”, [0042] and Claims 3-4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Moon is silent as to the actual DC connection when charging an electric vehicle, Moon would inherently incorporate some type of conventional connector/connection commonly understood in the art. The connector/connection taught by Lehmeier, for providing for a DC power connection to charge the battery of an electric vehicle, teaches one of the many conventional connector/connections utilized in the art for charging the battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Lehmeier, to provide the electrical connection of power between the modular charger and the electric vehicle of Moon.
Regarding Claims 2 and 23, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 22. Furthermore, Lehmeier teaches wherein the system is a mobile battery EV charging system (Lehmeier, Figs. 11-14 and 20; Paras. [0013] – [0016] and [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Moon is silent as to the energy storage system being mobile or stationary, Moon would inherently incorporate some type of conventional transportability commonly understood in the art. The transportability taught by Lehmeier, for providing for an energy storage system to be used as a mobile system or as a stationary system, teaches one of the many conventional transportability options of modularized systems utilized in the art for charging the battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Lehmeier, to provide the energy storage system with mobile or stationary features within the energy storage system of Moon.
Regarding Claims 3 and 24, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 22. Furthermore, Lehmeier teaches wherein the system is a stationary battery EV charging system (Lehmeier, Figs. 15-19; Paras. [0017] – [0021] and [0041]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Moon is silent as to the energy storage system being mobile or stationary, Moon would inherently incorporate some type of conventional transportability commonly understood in the art. The transportability taught by Lehmeier, for providing for an energy storage system to be used as a mobile system or as a stationary system, teaches one of the many conventional transportability options of modularized systems utilized in the art for charging the battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Lehmeier, to provide the energy storage system with mobile or stationary features within the energy storage system of Moon.
Regarding Claims 4 and 25, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 22. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the system is stationary and fixed at a specific location, such as an EV charging facility, a commercial complex EV charging centre, a residential property, or other location (Moon, Figs. 37 and 37-1; Paras. [0113] – [00114]. Although not explicitly stated, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand the system would be stationary when connected to the grid as an input power source.).
Regarding Claim 6, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches further comprising an electronic device with EV driver application or charger operator application to indicate status of EV charging and status of discharging of the battery packs, battery modules, and battery cells (Moon, Fig. 34, Element 902; Para. [0109] and [0127]).
Regarding Claim 7, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery control board is configured to selectively connect each of the plurality of battery packs to any number of other of the plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 10, Element 700 in combination with Fig. 8, Element 505, Paras. [0010], [0082], [0111], and [0118]).
Regarding Claim 8, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery control board communicates with the battery management system board on the battery status by wired or wireless connection (Moon, Paras. [0011], [0019] and [0133] – [0134].
Regarding Claim 9, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein each battery pack has its own battery management system in communication with the main control system board, and may be monitored and managed individually by a wired or wireless connection (Moon, Fig. 8, Element 505; Paras. [0082] – [0083] and [0118]).
Regarding Claim 10, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches further comprising an additional battery pack to increase the energy storage capacity of the system for improved charging of attached loads (Moon, Fig. 10-1 and 17, Elements 550 and 560; Paras. [0085] and [0092]).
Regarding Claim 11, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery management controller is configured to detect input power characteristics of an active input port, determine one or more selected battery packs to be charged of the plurality of battery packs based on the input power characteristics, and connect the active input port to the one or more selected charging battery packs (Moon, Claim 3).
Regarding Claim 12, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery management controller is configured to detect load requirements of an active output port, determine one or more selected battery packs to be discharged of the plurality of battery packs based on the load requirements, and connect the active output port to the one or more selected discharging battery packs (Moon, Claim 4).
Regarding Claim 13, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery management controller is configured to increase output charging voltage by combining the two or more battery packs to increase rate of discharging to the load as long as the load is capable of being charged at an increased rate (Moon, Paras. [0011] and [0124]).
Regarding Claim 14, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches further comprising a housing containing several input ports such as CCS Types I and 2, CHAdeMo, Tesla, J1772, GB/T, IEC 62196 Type 2, and so on, and output ports such as CCS Types I and 2, CHAdeMo, Tesla, J1772, GB/T, IEC 62196 Type 2, and so on (Moon, Para. [0011]). Furthermore, Lehmeier teaches a housing containing several input ports such as CCS Types I and 2, CHAdeMo, Tesla, J1772, GB/T, IEC 62196 Type 2, and so on (Lehmeier, Fig. 11, “EVSE Contactor” feeding “Charge Port”, Fig. 14, “Level 2 J1772 or CCS Charge Port”, and Fig. 22, “Charging Station DC Power”; Paras. [0031], “DCFC”, [0042] and Claim 11), and output ports such as CCS Types I and 2, CHAdeMo, Tesla, J1772, GB/T, IEC 62196 Type 2, and so on (Lehmeier, Fig. 11, “Vehicle Charge Port”, Fig. 14, “CCS Type 1 Charge Handle”, Fig. 20, “Mobile Charger Charges Electric Vehicle” with (see table) Config 2 or 3 “DCFC” or “DC/DC”, and Figs. 24/25, “Output Configuration 2&3: DCFC or DC/DC”; Paras. [0038], “DCFC”, [0042] and Claims 3-4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Moon is silent of the actual charging port connector type options, Moon would inherently incorporate some type of conventional charging port commonly understood in the art. The charging port types taught by Lehmeier teaches some of the many conventional connector types utilized in the art for connecting and charging the battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Lehmeier, to provide flexibility of use to the modular charger of Moon.
Regarding Claim 15, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches further comprising a display module (Moon, Fig. 4, Element 200; Para. [0078] that may indicate battery status, charging status, and other system parameters (Moon, Para. [0011]).
Regarding Claim 16, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches further comprising a housing (Moon, Figs. 1 and 39; Element 1000; Para. [0075]) with one or more upgradeable battery pack slots for connecting additional battery packs for increased energy storage (Moon, Fig. 39; Element 5100; Para. [0115]).
Regarding Claim 17, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery management controller is provided on a main battery management printed circuit board assembly (Moon, Figs. 10 and 10-1; Element 700; Paras. [0082] – [0085]).
Regarding Claim 18, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches further comprising a status indicator for displaying status information about the inputs, outputs, battery packs, battery modules, and battery cells and wherein the main battery management board comprises an input connection, an output connection, a battery pack connection, and a status indicator connection (Moon, Figs. 4-7 and 10-1-13; Element 200; Paras. [0075], [0078] and [0084] – [0088]).
Regarding Claim 19, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery management controller is configured to charge multiple loads at the same time as it conducts all operational functions (Moon, Figs. 24-32, Para. [0124]).
Regarding Claim 20, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery management controller is configured to control rate, voltage and other parameters of the discharging of the one or more battery packs into each load according to the electric vehicle battery status (Moon, Figs. 24-32, Paras. [0121] – [0128]).
Regarding Claim 26, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Lehmeier teaches wherein the at least DC input charging port comprises one or more of CCS Types I and 2, and 2, CHAdeMo, Tesla, J1772, GB/T, IEC 62196 Type 2 or another type of fast EV charging port (Lehmeier, Fig. 11, “EVSE Contactor” feeding “Charge Port”, Fig. 14, “Level 2 J1772 or CCS Charge Port”, and Fig. 22, “Charging Station DC Power”; Paras. [0031], “DCFC”, [0042] and Claim 11).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Moon is silent of the actual charging port connector type options, Moon would inherently incorporate some type of conventional charging port commonly understood in the art. The charging port types taught by Lehmeier teaches some of the many conventional connector types utilized in the art for connecting and charging the battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Lehmeier, to provide flexibility of use to the modular charger of Moon.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon U.S. PGPub 2019/0245356 A1 (hereinafter Moon) in view of Lehmeier et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0031638 A1 (hereinafter Lehmeier) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Andrews, JR. U.S. PGPub 2014/0266004 A1 (hereinafter Andrews).
Regarding Claim 5, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, but does not teach controlling use of the system.
Andrews, however, teaches wherein the main control system board controls authentication to use the system, and control usage level depending on the authentication (Andrews, Para. [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Moon as modified by Lehmeier is silent as to user authentication, Moon would inherently incorporate some type of conventional user authentication commonly understood in the art. The user authentication taught by Andrews teaches one of the many conventional user authentication methods utilized in the art for authorizing the use of the charging system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Andrews, to provide user authentication to the modular charger of Moon.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon U.S. PGPub 2019/0245356 A1 (hereinafter Moon) in view of Lehmeier et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0031638 A1 (hereinafter Lehmeier) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kirschner U.S. PGPub 2021/0354578 A1 (hereinafter Kirschner).
Regarding Claim 21, The combined teaching of the Moon and Lehmeier references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, but does not teach further comprising an external connection to add an additional battery pack to the system and the plurality of battery packs.
Kirschner, however, teaches further comprising an external connection to add an additional battery pack to the system and the plurality of battery packs (Kirschner, Figs. 2-3, Element 22; Paras. [0034] - [0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Moon as modified by Lehmeier is silent as to adding an additional external battery pack, Moon would inherently incorporate some type of conventional power expansion method commonly understood in the art. The power expansion method taught by Kirschner, for using an external module to add to the power of the charger, teaches one of the many conventional power expansion methods utilized in the art for increasing the power for charging the battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Kirschner, to provide the added power of an add-on battery module to the modular charger of Moon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed February 20, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-25 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a newly found prior art reference.
Conclusion
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859