Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on January 27, 2026, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application Number 18/705,270 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Status of Amendment
Examiner acknowledges receipt of amendment to application 18/705,275 received January 27, 2026. Claims 1, 19 and 22 are amended, and claims 2-18, 20-21 and 23-25 are left as original or previously presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 22, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-20, 22 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon U.S. PGPub 2019/0245356 A1 (hereinafter Moon) in view of Kirschner U.S. PGPub 2021/0354578 A1 (hereinafter Kirschner).
Regarding Claim 1, Moon teaches a battery based power supply system for charging systems for electric vehicles (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 100; Paras. [0075] and [0116], Lines 1-7, and Figs. 37 and 37-1; Para. [0129]), the power supply system comprising
a plurality of input charging ports (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 150; Paras. [0009], [0076], and Para. [0116]) connectable to receive electrical power from one or more energy sources (Moon, Fig. 37, Elements 905-907; Para. [0113]), wherein the plurality of input ports comprise different types of input ports (Moon, Para. [0076], and Para. [0117], Lines 1-7),
wherein the plurality of input ports comprise at least one DC input charging port (Moon, Para. [0117], Lines 1-7, “DC port”. Where the DC input port is to receive power from solar power.) configured to receive power from an external DC output source such as another electric vehicle or charging system (Moon, Para. [0117], Lines 1-7, “variety of input power sources … a solar power DC port”, Although Moon does not list every potential DC power source, it is common knowledge in the art that DC sources include such sources as, DC solar arrays, EV to EV sourcing, Battery banks, etc.),
a plurality of output discharging ports (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 160; Para. [0116], Line 3, and Para. [0077]) connectable to deliver electrical power to one or more electric vehicle charging systems (Moon, Figs. 37 and 37-1, Elements 912-913; Paras. [0030] and [0113], “electric vehicles”), wherein the plurality of output ports comprise different types of output ports (Moon, Para. [0077], Lines 1-4, and Para. [0117], Lines 7-16) for connection to corresponding different types of the one or more electric vehicle charging systems (Moon, Para. [0077], Lines 1-4, and Para. [0117], Lines 7-16, and Fig. 37, Elements 912-913; Para. [0113]),
wherein the plurality of output discharging ports comprise at least one DC output charging port configured to charge the one or more electric vehicle charging systems (Moon, Para. [0077], Lines 1-4, “any other different type of plug or output”, and Para. [0117], Lines 7-16, “broad array of external devices connected to the plurality of output ports including … vehicles”) and at least one AC output charging port configured to charge the one or more electric vehicle charging systems (Moon, Para. [0077], “North American AC plug”, and Fig. 37, Elements 912-913, Para. [0129]. Moon does not detail the type of connection from the charging system to an electric vehicle (EV), but it is well known in the art, the connection to an EV is commonly an AC plug or a DC plug depending on the vehicle input port connector.),
a plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 500; Para. [0116], Lines 6-7, and Fig. 8, Para. [0082]) to receive input electrical power from the plurality of input charging ports (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Paras. [0121] – [0123]) and provide output electrical power to the plurality of output discharging ports (Moon, Figs. 24-32, Para. [0124]),
a main control system board (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Element 700, Para. [0116], Lines 4-6, “main battery management printed circuit board assembly”) connected between the plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 500) and the plurality of inputs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 150), and between the plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 500) and the plurality of outputs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 160), the main control system board (Moon, Figs. 14-33, Element 700) configured to selectively connect each battery pack (Moon, Figs. 14-33, Elements 510-560) to any number of the plurality of input ports (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Paras. [0121] – [0123]) or any number of the plurality of output ports (Moon, Figs. 24-32, Para. [0124]), each input port (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Elements 151-154) to any number of battery packs (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Elements 510-560), and each output port (Moon, Figs. 14 and 24-33, Elements 151-154) to any number of battery packs (Moon, Figs. 24-33, Elements 510-560),
a main battery control board for controlling connections between each battery pack and any number of the plurality of input ports or any number of the plurality of output ports, wherein the main control system board controls the main battery control board to separately control charging of the battery packs and discharging of the battery packs (Moon, Fig. 10, Element 700 in combination with Fig. 8, Element 505, Paras. [0010], [0082], [0111], and [0118], “slave battery management system” . Although not explicitly labeled as a main battery control board, it is clear Moon is performing the controlling connections between each battery pack and each and every input port and output port to separately control charging and discharging of each battery pack.),
a battery management system board that monitors the battery status of the battery packs, battery modules, battery cells (Moon, Figs. 4-7 and 10-13, Element 210; Paras. [0078], [0084], [0085], and [0120] – [0121]) and communicates the data to the main battery control board which limits discharging of the battery packs for charging the one or more electric vehicle charging systems based on remaining charge in the battery packs and status of the battery packs, battery modules, and battery cells (Moon, Paras. [0011], [0019], [0082], and [0118]), but does not explicitly teach using a DC output for charging the EV.
Kirschner, however, teaches at least one DC input charging port (Kirschner, Figs. 2-3, Element 21.3; Para. [0034], Line 15, and Para. [0037], Line 4), wherein the one or more loads comprise an EV (Kirschner, Fig. 2; Para. [0034]), wherein the plurality of output discharging ports comprise at least one DC output charging port (Kirschner, Figs. 2-3, Element 21.2; Para. [0034], Lines 8-11, and Para. [0037], Line 2) configured to charge the EV (Kirschner, Fig. 3, Element 21.2; Para. [0034], Lines 10-11, “charging socket 14, Combined Charging System, CCS, of the vehicle”, as clearly illustrated.), to provide a higher voltage for EV charging to the at least one DC output charging port (Kirschner, Para. [0035], Lines1-6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Moon is silent as to the actual DC connection when charging an electric vehicle, Moon would inherently incorporate some type of conventional connector/connection commonly understood in the art. The connector/connection taught by Kirschner, for providing for a DC power connection to charge the battery of an electric vehicle, teaches one of the many conventional connector/connections utilized in the art for charging the battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Kirschner, to provide the electrical connection of power between the modular charger and the electric vehicle of Moon.
Regarding Claim 22, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirs teaches a battery based power supply system for charging systems for electric vehicles (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 100; Paras. [0075] and [0116], Lines 1-7, and Figs. 37 and 37-1; Para. [0129]), the power supply system comprising
a plurality of input ports (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 150; Paras. [0009], [0076], and Para. [0116]) connectable to receive electrical power from one or more energy sources (Moon, Fig. 37, Elements 905-907; Para. [0113]),
wherein the plurality of input ports comprise at least one DC input charging port (Moon, Para. [0117], Lines 1-7, “DC port”. Where the DC input port is to receive power from solar power.) configured to receive power from an external DC output source such as another electric vehicle or charging system (Moon, Para. [0117], Lines 1-7, “variety of input power sources … a solar power DC port”, Although Moon does not list every potential DC power source, it is common knowledge in the art that DC sources include such sources as, DC solar arrays, EV to EV sourcing, Battery banks, etc.),
a plurality of output ports (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 160; Para. [0116], Line 3, and Para. [0077]) connectable to deliver electrical power to one or more electric vehicle charging systems (Moon, Figs. 37 and 37-1, Elements 912-913; Paras. [0030] and [0113], “electric vehicles”), the plurality of output ports configured to connect to the one or more electric vehicle charging systems (Moon, Para. [0077], Lines 1-4, and Para. [0117], Lines 7-16, and Fig. 37, Elements 905-907; Para. [0113]),
wherein the plurality of output discharging ports comprise at least one DC output charging port configured to charge the one or more electric vehicle charging systems (Moon, Para. [0077], Lines 1-4, “any other different type of plug or output”, and Para. [0117], Lines 7-16, “broad array of external devices connected to the plurality of output ports including … vehicles”) and at least one AC output charging port configured to charge the one or more electric vehicle charging systems (Moon, Para. [0077], “North American AC plug”, and Fig. 37, Elements 912-913, Para. [0129]. Moon does not detail the type of connection from the charging system to an electric vehicle (EV), but it is well known in the art, the connection to an EV is commonly an AC plug or a DC plug depending on the vehicle input port connector.),
a plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 1, Element 500; Para. [0116], Lines 6-7, and Fig. 8, Para. [0082]),
a switching matrix (Moon, Figs. 36 and 36-1, Paras. [0111] – [0112]. Where the switching matrix is part of the main battery management printed circuit board assembly, Element 700.) connected between the plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Element 500) and the plurality of inputs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 150), and between the plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 500) and the plurality of outputs (Moon, Fig. 10-1, Elements 160), the switching matrix (Moon, Figs. 36 and 36-1, Paras. [0111] – [0112]. Where the switching matrix is part of the main battery management printed circuit board assembly, Element 700.) configured to selectively connect each battery pack (Moon, Figs. 14-33, Elements 510-560) to any number of the plurality of input ports (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Paras. [0121] – [0123]) or any number of the plurality of output ports (Moon, Figs. 24-32, Para. [0124]), each input port (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Elements 151-154) to any number of battery packs (Moon, Figs. 14-23, Elements 510-560), and each output port (Moon, Figs. 14 and 24-33, Elements 151-154) to any number of battery packs (Moon, Figs. 24-33, Elements 510-560),
a main battery management controller operably coupled to the switching matrix for controlling connections between each battery pack and any number of the plurality of input ports or any number of the plurality of output ports (Moon, Fig. 8, Element 505, Paras. [0010], [0082], [0111], and [0118], “slave battery management system” . Although not explicitly labeled as a main battery control board, it is clear Moon is performing the controlling connections between each battery pack and each and every input port and output port to separately control charging and discharging of each battery pack.),
a management system that monitors input electric power from the input ports to battery packs, output electric power from the output ports to the one or more electric vehicle (EV) charging systems (Moon, Figs. 4-7 and 10-13, Element 210; Paras. [0078], [0084], [0085], and [0120] – [0121]), and battery status for the battery packs, battery modules, and battery cells (Moon, Paras. [0011], [0019], [0082], and [0118]) wherein the plurality of output ports comprise different types of output ports for the one or more electric vehicle charging systems (Moon, Para. [0077], Lines 1-4, and Para. [0117], Lines 7-16, and Fig. 37, Elements 912-913; Para. [0113]), and battery status for the battery packs, battery modules, and battery cells (Moon, Paras. [0011], [0019], [0082], and [0118]),
wherein the management system controls the switching matrix and main battery management controller (Moon, Fig. 37; Paras. [0111] - [0114]),
wherein the management system separately controls charging of the battery packs and discharging of the battery packs (Moon, Fig. 8, Element 505, Paras. [0010], [0082], [0111], and [0118], “slave battery management system” . Although not explicitly labeled as a main battery control board, it is clear Moon is performing the controlling connections between each battery pack and each and every input port and output port to separately control charging and discharging of each battery pack.),
wherein the management system limits discharging of the battery packs based on the remaining charge in the battery packs and status of the battery packs, battery modules, and battery cells (Moon, Paras. [0011], [0019], [0082], and [0118]), but does not explicitly teach using a DC output for charging the EV.
Kirschner, however, teaches at least one DC input charging port (Kirschner, Figs. 2-3, Element 21.3; Para. [0034], Line 15, and Para. [0037], Line 4), wherein the one or more loads comprise an EV (Kirschner, Fig. 2; Para. [0034]), wherein the plurality of output ports comprise at least one DC output charging port (Kirschner, Figs. 2-3, Element 21.2; Para. [0034], Lines 8-11, and Para. [0037], Line 2) configured to charge the EV (Kirschner, Fig. 3, Element 21.2; Para. [0034], Lines 10-11, “charging socket 14, Combined Charging System, CCS, of the vehicle”, as clearly illustrated.), to provide a higher voltage for EV charging to the at least one DC output charging port (Kirschner, Para. [0035], Lines1-6).
Regarding Claims 2 and 23, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 22. Furthermore, Kirschner teaches wherein the system is a mobile smart power supply with energy storage for the one or more EV charging systems (Kirschner, Figs. 2-3, Element 21; Para. [0034]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Moon is silent as to the energy storage system being mobile or stationary, Moon would inherently incorporate some type of conventional transportability commonly understood in the art. The transportability taught by Kirschner, for providing for an energy storage system to be used as a mobile system or as a stationary system, teaches one of the many conventional transportability options of modularized systems utilized in the art for charging the battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Kirschner, to provide the energy storage system with mobile or stationary features within the energy storage system of Moon.
Regarding Claims 3 and 24, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 22. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the system is a stationary smart power supply with energy storage for the one or more EV charging systems (Moon, Figs. 37 and 37-1; Paras. [0113] – [0114]. Although not explicitly stated, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand the system would be stationary when connected to the grid as an input power source.).
Regarding Claims 4 and 25, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 22. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the system is stationary and fixed at a specific location, such as an EV charging facility, a commercial complex EV charging centre, a residential property, or other location (Moon, Figs. 37 and 37-1; Paras. [0113] – [00114]. Although not explicitly stated, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand the system would be stationary when connected to the grid as an input power source.).
Regarding Claim 6, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches further comprising an electronic device with EV charger management application or charger operator application to indicate status of smart power supply with energy storage, output power status and status of discharging of the battery packs, battery modules, and battery cells (Moon, Fig. 34, Element 902; Para. [0109] and [0127]).
Regarding Claim 7, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery control board is configured to selectively connect each of the plurality of battery packs to any number of other of the plurality of battery packs (Moon, Fig. 10, Element 700 in combination with Fig. 8, Element 505, Paras. [0010], [0082], [0111], and [0118]).
Regarding Claim 8, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery control board communicates with the battery management system board on the battery status by wired or wireless connection (Moon, Paras. [0011], [0019] and [0133] – [0134].
Regarding Claim 9, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein each battery pack has its own battery management system in communication with the main control system board, and may be monitored and managed individually by a wired or wireless connection (Moon, Fig. 8, Element 505; Paras. [0082] – [0083] and [0118]).
Regarding Claim 10, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches further comprising an additional battery pack to increase the energy storage capacity of the system for improved charging of attached electric vehicle charging systems (Moon, Fig. 10-1 and 17, Elements 550 and 560; Paras. [0085] and [0092]).
Regarding Claim 11, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery management controller is configured to detect input power characteristics of an active input port, determine one or more selected battery packs to be charged of the plurality of battery packs based on the input power characteristics, and connect the active input port to the one or more selected charging battery packs (Moon, Claim 3).
Regarding Claim 12, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery management controller is configured to detect electric vehicle charging system requirements of an active output port, determine one or more selected battery packs to be discharged of the plurality of battery packs based on the electric vehicle charging system requirements, and connect the active output port to the one or more selected discharging battery packs (Moon, Claim 4).
Regarding Claim 13, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery management controller is configured to increase output charging voltage by combining the two or more battery packs to increase rate of discharging to the one or more electric vehicle charging systems as long as the one or more electric vehicle charging systems is capable of being charged at an increased rate (Moon, Paras. [0011] and [0124]).
Regarding Claim 14, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the output ports can be configured to supply power in varying forms such as DC high voltage for fast (Level III) charging, AC high voltage 3 phase for fast (Level III) charging, AC 240 volts for Level II charging, AC 110 volts for Level I charging (Moon, Para. [0011]).
Regarding Claim 15, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches further comprising a display module (Moon, Fig. 4, Element 200; Para. [0078] that may indicate battery status, charging status, and other system parameters (Moon, Para. [0011]).
Regarding Claim 16, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches further comprising a housing (Moon, Figs. 1 and 39; Element 1000; Para. [0075]) with one or more upgradeable battery pack slots for connecting additional battery packs for increased energy storage (Moon, Fig. 39; Element 5100; Para. [0115]).
Regarding Claim 17, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery management controller is provided on a main battery management printed circuit board assembly (Moon, Figs. 10 and 10-1; Element 700; Paras. [0082] – [0085]).
Regarding Claim 18, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches further comprising a status indicator for displaying status information about the inputs, outputs, battery packs, battery modules, and battery cells and wherein the main battery management board comprises an input connection, an output connection, a battery pack connection, and a status indicator connection (Moon, Figs. 4-7 and 10-1-13; Element 200; Paras. [0075], [0078] and [0084] – [0088]).
Regarding Claim 19, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery management controller is configured to charge multiple electric vehicle charging systems at the same time as it conducts all operational functions (Moon, Figs. 24-32, Para. [0124]).
Regarding Claim 20, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Moon teaches wherein the main battery management controller is configured to control rate, voltage and other parameters of the discharging of the one or more battery packs into each electric vehicle charging system according to the battery status of the respective electric vehicle charging system (Moon, Figs. 24-32, Paras. [0121] – [0128]).
Regarding Claim 21, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirschner teaches further comprising an external connection to add an additional battery pack to the system and the plurality of battery packs (Kirschner, Figs. 2-3, Element 22; Paras. [0034] - [0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Moon is silent as to adding an additional external battery pack, Moon would inherently incorporate some type of conventional power expansion method commonly understood in the art. The power expansion method taught by Kirschner, for using an external module to add to the power of the charger, teaches one of the many conventional power expansion methods utilized in the art for increasing the power for charging the battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Kirschner, to provide the added power of an add-on battery module to the modular charger of Moon.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon U.S. PGPub 2019/0245356 A1 (hereinafter Moon) in view of Kirschner U.S. PGPub 2021/0354578 A1 (hereinafter Kirschner) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Andrews, JR. U.S. PGPub 2014/0266004 A1 (hereinafter Andrews).
Regarding Claim 5, The combined teaching of the Moon and Kirschner references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach controlling use of the system.
Andrews, however, teaches wherein the main control system board controls authentication to use the system, and control usage level depending on the authentication (Andrews, Para. [0056]).
Absent of showing the criticality of user authentication for Moon, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use user authentication as taught by Andrews based on desirability of this well-known design feature, since applicant has not disclosed that user authentication solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with other standard well-known selectable features.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Moon is silent as to the criticality of user authentication, Moon would inherently incorporate some type of conventional user authentication as taught by Andrews based on desirability of this well-known design feature commonly understood in the art. The user authentication method taught by Kirschner, for controlling use of the system, teaches one of the many conventional methods utilized in the art for determining user authorization. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Kirschner, to provide user authentication to the modular charger of Moon.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 of 8, filed January 27, 2026, with respect to the objection of claims 19 and 22-25 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections indicated in the Office action of October 27, 2005, of claims 19 and 22-25 has been withdrawn.
Double Patenting
The terminal disclaimer filed on January 27, 2026, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application Number 18/705,270 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed January 27, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-25 under 35 U.S.C. §102, 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a previously cited prior art reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859