DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed March 5, 2026 has been received, Claims 1-6 are currently pending, with Claims 4-5 remaining withdrawn from prosecution at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cretinon (US 6,000,148).
Regarding Claim 1, Cretinon discloses a footwear for sports or technical uses, which is assembled with preformed pieces, comprising: a tread (3); an upper (10); a midsole (5), wherein said midsole is configured to dampen impacts generated during walking and is arranged below said upper (Col.5, lines 14-20); and an integral shell (4,20) comprising an element of protection (20) against abrasions and impacts (Col.5, lines 7-11), the element configured to house said midsole and said upper of said footwear (as seen in Fig.1 & 2), said integral shell having a lower outer surface (i.e. bottom surface of 4) on which said tread (3) is fixed (Col.4, lines 60-63 & Col.5, lines 7-13).
Regarding Claim 2, Cretinon discloses a footwear as claimed in claim 1, wherein said tread (3) comprises rubber or TPU (Col.1, lines 19-20 & Col.5, lines 4-6).
Regarding Claim 3, Cretinon discloses a footwear as claimed in claim 1, wherein said lower outer surface (i.e. bottom surface of 4) of said integral shell has a flat and uniform profile configured to ensure a quick positioning and assembling of said tread (3)(as seen in Fig.1-3; Col.4, lines 60-63 & Col.5, lines 7-13).
Regarding Claim 6, Cretinon discloses a footwear as claimed in claim 1, wherein said tread (3) is fixed on the lower outer surface (i.e. bottom surface of 4) by gluing (as seen in Fig.1-3; Col.4, lines 60-63 & Col.7, lines 41-49).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
2. Applicant’s Remarks: Applicant asserts Cretinon's assembly of a core layer (4) and a reinforcement element (20) does not form an "integral shell", much less "houses" an upper or a midsole in the manner claimed. Cretinon's structure is a stacked assembly, not a housing shell containing an upper or a midsole.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Integral structures 4 & 20 of Cretinon meet the claim limitation of an “integral shell”, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant. Further, as seen in Fig.1-2, shell (4,20) of Cretinon clearly “houses” the upper (10) and the midsole (5), as the upper and midsole fit into the void formed by 4,20. Applicant made no amendments to the claims in an attempt to distinguish over the prior art of record. For all of these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
3. Applicant’s Remarks: Applicant asserts Cretinon's the bottom surface of the core layer (4), as is clearly shown in Figure 1, is contoured and shaped to mate with the complementary top surface of the wearable layer (3). This surface is not "flat and uniform." This contoured profile of Cretinon is essential to the proper mating and bonding of two specifically shaped surfaces, and is contrary to the purpose of the Applicant's invention, which provides a much more widely adaptable, flat interface for easy assembly and replacement. Therefore, Cretinon not only fails to disclose or suggest all features of claim 3, but also explicitly teaches away from the "flat and uniform profile" of the "lower outer surface" of the "integral shell" of claim 3.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Applicant’s arguments are confusing as it is wholly unclear what structure Applicant is asserting to be a contoured profile of Cretinon. The bottom surface of 4 of Cretinon is undoubtedly “flat and uniform”, as seen in Fig.1 & 3, and has no contoured/shaped surface on the bottom surface as asserted by Applicant. Additionally, it is noted that the entire surface of Applicant’s bottom shell surface is not flat and uniform as there is an obvious contour in the heel region, as seen in Fig.3. For all of these reasons, Cretinon does not teach away from the claim limitations and Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732