DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, 10 and 13-20.
Status of claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US20220337992) (hereinafter Shen) in view of (US202220272660) (Luetzenkirchen, see US provisional app. US63188400).
Per claim 1, Shen discloses A device, comprising: processing circuitry comprising a terminal equipment (application processor, AP, shown as element 110A), a mobile terminal (modem shown as element 110B) and a terminal adapter (see paragraph[0045] "The processor 110 may include an application processor 110A and a communication processor 110B, and these devices may communicate with each other through one or more interfaces in the processor 110."), the processing circuitry configured to: generate, by the TE, an attention command, wherein the AT command indicates a value of a parameter related to multi-universal subscriber identity module operation of the device (as explained in paragraph [0052] "when the AP 110A determines that the network connection is normal, it does not send an AT command to switch the SIM card; when it determines that the network connection is not normal, it determines whether a specific signaling occupies radio frequency resources. If a specific signaling occupies radio frequency resources, the AT command to switch the SIM card is not sent; if no specific signaling occupies the radio frequency resources, an AT command to switch the SIM card is sent. "); and communicate the AT command from the TE to the MT through the TA (see citation above), and memory configured to store data related to the value of the parameter related to MUSIM operation of the device (memory as explained in paragraph [0040] "The processor 110 may execute the above-mentioned instructions stored in the internal memory 121, so that the electronic device 101 performs the SIM card switching method provided in some embodiments of this application ")but fails to disclose device, wherein the parameter comprises one of a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) connection release parameter, a reject paging parameter, a paging restriction parameter, or a paging collision parameter,
In an analogous filed of endeavor, Luetzenkirchen discloses the parameter comprises one of a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) connection release parameter, a reject paging parameter, a paging restriction parameter, or a paging collision parameter (paragraph 0089, i.e. the UE sets the service type IE to “signaling”, include the MUSIM request IE (also called UE request type IE) with the MUSIM request type (also called Request type) set to “Request to release N1 NAS signaling connection” (also called “NAS signaling connection release”) in the SERVICE REQUEST message (the UE optionally includes the Paging restriction IE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Luetzenkirchen into the invention of Shen, where Shen provides an objective of this application is to provide a SIM card switching method and apparatus, and an electronic device, so that the electronic device can quickly and accurately perform SIM card switching. The electronic device comprehensively determines, based on a use status of a radio frequency and a network connection status, whether a SIM card needs to be switched and Luetzenkirchen provides an apparatus and system for a multiple universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) user equipment (UE) are described. Due to activity on another USIM, the MUSIM UE transmits a service request message to release an N1 non-access stratum (NAS) signaling connection or reject a paging request received from the network in order to provide a better quality of service through supporting multi-USIM UEs in 5GS, while releasing, restricting and rejecting services as well as an enhanced SERVICE REQUEST message with a new information element to indicate one or more of the services, see Luetzenkirchen, paragraphs 0089 and 0133.
Per claim 2, the combination of discloses the device of claim 1, wherein Luetzenkirchen discloses the parameter comprises the NAS connection release parameter (paragraph 0087, i.e. for case xy) in subclause 5.6.1.1 of TS 24.501, the UE sets the service type IE to “signaling”, include the Connection release IE with the Connection release request type set to “Request to release N1 NAS signaling connection” in the SERVICE REQUEST message (the UE optionally includes the Paging restriction IE), and wherein the value of the NAS connection release parameter indicates whether to release a NAS connection between the device and a network node (paragraph 0087, i.e. Fig 1C and Fig 4C, see (xy) table 8.2.16. 1.1 and see TABLE-US-00003 TABLE 9.11.3.XX.1m see 0 0 0 1 Request to release N1 NAS signaling connection, refer to claim 1 rationale).
Per claim 3, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2, (paragraphs 0087 and 0089, i.e. the UE sets the service type IE to “ mobile terminated services”).
Per claim 4, the combination of discloses the device of claim 1, wherein Luetzenkirchen discloses the parameter comprises the paging rejection parameter, and wherein the value of the paging rejection parameter indicates whether to reject paging of the device by a network node (paragraphs 0087 and 0089, Fig 3c, Table 8.2.16.1.1For case xz) in subclause 5.6.1.1 of TS 24.501, the UE sets the service type IE to “signaling”, include the Paging reject IE with the Paging reject request type set to “Request to reject paging” in the SERVICE REQUEST message (the UE optionally includes the Paging restriction IE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Luetzenkirchen into the invention of Shen in order to provide a better quality of service through supporting multi-USIM UEs in 5GS, while releasing, restricting and rejecting services as well as an enhanced SERVICE REQUEST message with a new information element to indicate one or more of the services, see Luetzenkirchen, paragraphs 0087 and 0133.
Per claim 5, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4, (paragraphs 0087 and 0089, i.e. the UE sets the service type IE to “ mobile terminated services”).
Per claim 6, the combination discloses the device of claim 1, wherein Luetzenkirchen discloses the parameter comprises the paging restriction parameter and wherein the value of the paging restriction parameter indicates whether paging is not restricted(TABLE-US-00013 TABLE 9.11.3.XX.1, see value 1, where 1 indicates that paging is not restricted for the PDU session associated with the PDU session identity), all paging is restricted (TABLE-US-00013 TABLE 9.11.3.XX.1, see 0 0 0 1, All paging is restricted), all paging is restricted except for voice service (TABLE-US-00013 TABLE 9.11.3.XX.1,see 0 0 1 0, all paging is restricted, except paging for voice service [MS voice]), all paging is restricted except for a specified public data network (PDN) connection or protocol data unit (PDU) session(TABLE-US-00013 TABLE 9.11.3.XX.1, see 0 0 1 1 , all paging is restricted, except for certain PDU Session(s)) or all paging is restricted except for voice services and the specified PDN connection or PDU session.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Luetzenkirchen into the invention of Shen in order to provide a better quality of service through supporting multi-USIM UEs in 5GS, while releasing, restricting and rejecting services as well as an enhanced SERVICE REQUEST message with a new information element to indicate one or more of the services, see Luetzenkirchen, paragraphs 0087 and 0133.
Per claim 7, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 6.
Per claim 8, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 6, see paragraph 0089,Fig 3c i.e. mobile terminated services and see TABLE-US-00013 TABLE 9.11.3.XX.1, see 0 0 0 1, All paging is restricted).
Per claim 11, the combination discloses the device of claim 1, wherein Shen discloses the MT is configured to transmit, to a network node, a message based on the value of the parameter during an Evolved Packet System Mobility Management (EMM) Tracking Area Update or Service Request procedure, or during a 5G Mobility Management (5GMM) Registration Request (paragraph 0047, i.e. The specific signaling may be specific, but is not limited to, signaling used for a registration service of a cellular network (for example, CDMA), signaling used for an SMS message service, signaling used for a paging service of a second SIM card) or Service Request procedure.
Per claim 12, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1 (examiner interprets after communicating a command or instructions, in is determined whether connection is normal or abnormal, where corresponding responses occur for either outcome, see paragraph 0052).
Per claim 13, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1.
Per claim 14, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2 (NAS release parameter)
Per claim 15, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 6.
Per claim 17, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, see Shen, paragraph 0053, “machine readable medium”.
Per claim 18, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2, see NAS release parameter and see Shen, paragraph 0053, “machine readable medium”.
Per claim 19, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 6, paragraph 0053, “machine readable medium”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen and Luetzenkirchen in view of 3GPP TSG-CT Meeting #129-e/C1-212393 (hereinafter D1) .
Per claim 9, the combination of Shen and Luetzenkirchen discloses the device of claim 1, but both references fail to disclose wherein the parameter comprises a paging collision parameter, and wherein the value of the paging collision parameter indicates whether to present an unsolicited return code in response to a change in an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) offset associated with the device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, D1 discloses wherein the parameter comprises a paging collision parameter, and wherein the value of the paging collision parameter indicates whether to present an unsolicited return code in response to a change in an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) offset associated with the device (page 3, section d, When the UE detects 8 paging collision, possible updates to TAU procedure and the UE and MME negotiate an IMSI offset that is used for future calculation of paging occasions [in case of EPS]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of D1 into the invention of Shen and Luetzenkirchen, where D1 provides 5G-capable UE's and with growing demand for multi-USIM devices in the market, it becomes urgent for 3GPP to consider system enhancements that would allow for more cost-efficient implementations in such devices in order to provide better quality of services by providing support MUSIM for EPS or 5GS via paging updates of the NAS procedures and messages.
Per claim 10, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 9.
Per claim 16, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 9.
Per claim 20, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 9, see Shen, paragraph 0053, “machine readable medium”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647