DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 05/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/19/2026.
Claims 1-5 are being examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the anticoagulant" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 1 does not recite “the anticoagulant”.
Claim 5, recites “activated carbon is not treated” and it is not clear what this limitation requires or does not require. The limitation is confusing and indefinite.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 already requires “trisodium citrate” and so the claim does nor further limit the claim form which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sichuan University, Liu Xuewen Xu (from IDS, CN1843147), hereinafter Xu.
Regarding claims 1-2, Xu teaches collecting blood from an animal and treating with 8 grams of trisodium citrate per liter of blood (see step 1, embodiment 2, page 9 or part 4, page 11), separating to obtain plasma with a centrifuge (see part 2, embodiment 2, page 9 or claim 1, (1)), and teaches treating the plasma with proteinase (see claim 8 or part 6, page 11), adding 3-4% carbon (see para. 8, page 6), and incubating conditions for denaturation treatment: the temperature is generally 80-85°C, and the time is generally 10-12 minutes (see part (4), pare 6). Xu also teaches spray-drying at 180-250 ℃ (see part 6, page 6) and microorganisms would be destroyed at such high temperatures.
Regarding claim 3, Xu teaches said alkali protease can be 2709 bacillus alkaline proteases (see 2nd to last para. page 6) and this is a known form of subtilisin.
Regarding claim 4, Xu teaches adding 5500~6000u/g blood cell and 4000~4500u/g blood plasma at enzymolysis process (see 2nd to last para. page 6).
Regarding claim 5, Xu does not require hemolysis of red blood cells or treating of carbon.
Xu does not specifically teach that the proteinase is added at 1% (w/v) to plasma or teach the specific temperature and time for incubation to inactivate enzymes. Xu also teaches using less trisodium citrate. However, Xu teaches ranges directly outside these parameters and it is prima facie obvious to optimize outside of known ranges. Also given the prior art and knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art it would have been obvious to know how to inactive the proteinase enzyme and to optimize the amounts of anticoagulant, etc. These are common and conventional knowledge to those having ordinary skill in the art and do not make the instant application patentably distinct from the prior art.
Conclusion
Currently no claims are allowed.
JACOB A BOECKELMANExaminer, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655