DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 04/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuo (JP 2021142824 A).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuo teaches a ground fault detection apparatus (page 4, a ground fault) that is used for an on-board system (abstract, a power supply device for a vehicle) that includes:
a power source unit (i.e. first power supply system 10, fig.1), a power storage unit (i.e. a second power supply system 20, fig.1) that is different from the power source unit (e.g. 10 and 20 are different parts, fig.1), a conductive path provided between the power source unit and the power storage unit (e.g. path connecting connection points P1, P3 and P2, fig.1), and loads connected to the conductive path (e.g. first load 12, second load 22 and third load 32, fig.1), and a disconnection unit provided on the conductive path (e.g. switch 49, fig.1),
wherein the disconnection unit includes a first disconnection unit (i.e. switch 42, fig.1) provided between the power source unit and the power storage unit (e.g. 42 is between 10 and 20, fig.1), and a second disconnection unit (i.e. connection portion 40, fig.1) provided on the power source unit side relative to the first disconnection unit (e.g. 40 is between 42 and 10, fig.1),
the conductive path includes a first conductive path provided between the power storage unit and the first disconnection unit (e.g. path between 20 and 42, fig.1), a second conductive path provided between the first disconnection unit and the second disconnection unit (e.g. path between 42 and 40, fig.1), and a third conductive path provided between the second disconnection unit and the power source unit (e.g. path between 40 and 10, fig.1),
the loads include a first load that includes an essential load (page 11, The first load 12 and the second load 22 play important functions regarding the running or stopping of the vehicle), a second load that includes a power steering apparatus (page 11, The first load 12 and the second load 22 play important functions regarding the running or stopping of the vehicle), and a third load that is less important than the essential load (page 2, third load that bears a normal load, which is a function other than the important function related to the running or stopping of the vehicle),
the first load is connected to the first conductive path (e.g. 12 is connected to path between 10 and 40, fig.1),
the second load is connected to one path out of the second conductive path and the third conductive path (e.g. 22 is connected to path between 20 and 42, fig.1),
the third load is connected to the other path out of the second conductive path and the third conductive path (e.g. 32 is connected to path between 42 and 40, fig.1),
the first disconnection unit is switched between a first allowed state in which a current is allowed to flow from the first conductive path side to the second conductive path side and a first disconnected state where the current is stopped (page 4, switches the connection state between the third power supply system 30 and the second power supply system 20),
the second disconnection unit is switched between a second allowed state where a current is allowed to flow from the second conductive path side to the third conductive path side and from the third conductive path side to the second conductive path side and a second disconnected state where the current is stopped (page 4, The connection unit 40 is arranged between the first power supply system 10 and the third power supply system 30, and switches the connection state between the first power supply system 10 and the third power supply system 30), and
the ground fault detection apparatus includes a detection unit (page 4, in the event of an abnormality (for example, a ground fault)) configured to detect a ground fault on at least one of the second conductive path and the third conductive path (page 4, in the event of an abnormality (for example, a ground fault) on the connection line L12 side from the fuse F12, the third power supply system 30 side, the second power supply system 20 side, or the second It suppresses the supply).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuo teaches the ground fault detection apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a determination unit configured to determine, when a ground fault is detected on at least one of the second conductive path and the third conductive path by the detection unit (page 5, control device 90 detects an abnormal voltage due to a ground fault or the like (when an abnormality occurs)), whether the ground fault site is on the second conductive path side or the third conductive path side (page 5, the control device 90 can disconnect the power supply system in which the abnormality has occurred by controlling the switch 49 in a non-connected state).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuo teaches the ground fault detection apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the second load is connected to the third conductive path (e.g. 22 is connected to path between 40 and 10 via 42, fig.1), and
the ground fault detection apparatus includes a control unit (i.e. control device 90, fig.1) configured to perform at least one of an operation of performing control so as to switch the first disconnection unit to the first disconnected state and an operation of performing control so as to switch the second disconnection unit to the second disconnected state if it is determined by the determination unit that a ground fault site is on the third conductive path side (page 5, control device 90 detects an abnormal voltage due to a ground fault or the like … control device 90 can disconnect the power supply system in which the abnormality has occurred by controlling the switch 49 in a non-connected state), and perform control so as to switch the first disconnection unit to the first disconnected state and perform control so as to switch the second disconnection unit to the second disconnected state if it is determined by the determination unit that a ground fault site is on the second conductive path side (page 5, control device 90 detects an abnormal voltage due to a ground fault or the like … control device 90 can disconnect the power supply system in which the abnormality has occurred by controlling the switch 49 in a non-connected state).
Regarding claim 7, it is substantially rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 6. Matsuo further teaches, wherein the second load is connected to the second conductive path (e.g. 22 is connected to path between 40 and 42, fig.1).
Regarding claim 9, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8, 10-15 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Matsuo (JP 2021142824 A) teaches the ground fault detection apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the determination unit determines whether a ground fault site is on the second conductive path side or the third conductive path side (page 5, the control device 90 can disconnect the power supply system in which the abnormality has occurred by controlling the switch 49 in a non-connected state).
Matsuo does not teach, based on a voltage of at least one of the second conductive path and the third conductive path when the first disconnection unit is in the first disconnected state and the second disconnection unit is in the second disconnected state.
Prior art Maekawa (US 20190237988 A1), Maekawa (US 20190123545 A1), Birkel (US 20190052119 A1) and Maekawa (US 20180361961 A1) are considered to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “based on a voltage of at least one of the second conductive path and the third conductive path when the first disconnection unit is in the first disconnected state and the second disconnection unit is in the second disconnected state.”
Claims 4, 8, 10-11, 13-14 and 17-18 are indicated as allowable, as they depend on allowable claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Matsuo (JP 2021142824 A) teaches the ground fault detection apparatus according to claim 2.
Matsuo does not teach, wherein the determination unit includes a current detection unit configured to detect a current flowing through at least one of the second conductive path and the third conductive path, and determines whether the ground fault site is on the second conductive path side or the third conductive path side, based on a direction of a current flowing through at least one of the second conductive path and the third conductive path.
Maekawa (US 20190237988 A1) teaches, the determination unit includes a current detection unit configured to detect a current flowing through at least one of the second conductive path and the third conductive path (i.e. first current detection unit 31 and second current detection unit 32, fig.1).
Matsuo and Maekawa do not teach, and determines whether the ground fault site is on the second conductive path side or the third conductive path side, based on a direction of a current flowing through at least one of the second conductive path and the third conductive path.
Prior art Maekawa (US 20190123545 A1), Birkel (US 20190052119 A1) and Maekawa (US 20180361961 A1) are considered to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “determines whether the ground fault site is on the second conductive path side or the third conductive path side, based on a direction of a current flowing through at least one of the second conductive path and the third conductive path.”
Claims 12, 15 and 19 are indicated as allowable, as they depend on allowable claim 5.
Conclusion
/SREEYA SREEVATSA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 12/11/2025