DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 12-14, 16, 21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Utech (US 9448325 B2).
Regarding Claim 1: Nutech discloses an apparatus configured to inspect cargo, the cargo and the apparatus having a mutual scan movement substantially along a scan direction during inspection, comprising:
at least one source configured to generate penetrating radiation, the apparatus being configured to, using the at least one source, generate a plurality of radiation emission zones (Fig. 2, 21) configured to:
at least partially surround the cargo in a plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction (Figs. 2 and 3), and to
selectively and alternately irradiate the cargo (Col. 6, lines 25-26: “…the plurality of ray generators 21 can emit the ray beams in sequence to the object to be inspected”),
the plurality of radiation emission zones comprising at least three radiation emission zones (Figs. 2 and 3); and
a plurality of detectors configured to at least partially surround the cargo in at least one detection plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction, and to detect the penetrating radiation after transmission through the cargo (Fig. 3, ray detectors 22, 23, and 24),
wherein each radiation emission zone in the plurality of radiation emission zones is configured to emit a fan of penetrating radiation towards the cargo in a general direction of emission different from other radiation emission zones in the plurality of radiation emission zones (Figs. 2, 3, 4A, and 4B),
wherein each radiation emission zone is associated with a group of the plurality of detectors corresponding to the fan of penetrating radiation emitted by the radiation emission zone (Fig. 3),
wherein two respective groups of the plurality of detectors associated with two respective adjacent radiation emission zones selectively and alternately generating penetrating radiation in the plurality of radiation emission zones are configured to share at least two detectors so that the two respective groups partly overlap each other (Fig. 3; Col. 9, lines 29-47: “In order to further explain and illustrate such configuration, provided that the circular arc where the plurality of ray generators 21 is arranged is divided into five regions 1-5, in which, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 1 are collected only by the linear array 24 of ray detectors at the right side, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 2 are collected both by the linear array 24 of ray detectors at the right side and the linear array 23 of ray detectors at the bottom, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 3 are collected only by the linear array 23 of ray detectors at the bottom, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 4 are collected both by the linear array 22 of ray detectors at the left side and the linear array 23 of ray detectors at the bottom, and, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 5 are collected only by the linear array 22 of ray detectors at the left side.”),
wherein the plurality of detectors are static with respect to the cargo in a plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction (Col. 6, lines 59-60: “A delivery device 25 may be used to carry the object to be inspected to pass through the scanning region”), and
wherein the apparatus is configured to output image data for generating one or more images of the cargo based on the penetrating radiation detected by each group of detectors (Fig. 6, S17).
Regarding Claim 2: Nutech discloses the apparatus of claim 1, configured to process the image data so that the processed image data contains volumetric information about the cargo (Fig. 6, S17).
Regarding Claim 8: Nutech discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one source is configured to be static with respect to the cargo in a plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction (Figs. 2, 3).
Regarding Claim 12: Nutech discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each group of the plurality of detectors is configured to be associated with the radiation emission zone configured to emit the corresponding fan of penetrating radiation by absence of readings of detection of penetrating radiation by detectors which are not part of the group, optionally wherein the apparatus further comprises a selector configured to control the readings based on the groups (Fig. 3; Col. 9, lines 29-47: “In order to further explain and illustrate such configuration, provided that the circular arc where the plurality of ray generators 21 is arranged is divided into five regions 1-5, in which, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 1 are collected only by the linear array 24 of ray detectors at the right side, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 2 are collected both by the linear array 24 of ray detectors at the right side and the linear array 23 of ray detectors at the bottom, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 3 are collected only by the linear array 23 of ray detectors at the bottom, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 4 are collected both by the linear array 22 of ray detectors at the left side and the linear array 23 of ray detectors at the bottom, and, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 5 are collected only by the linear array 22 of ray detectors at the left side.”).
Regarding Claim 13: Nutech discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of radiation emission zones comprises n radiation emission zones, such that:
3<n≤1000 (Fig. 3, 5 regions).
Regarding Claim 14: Nutech discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each radiation emission zone Si in a plurality n of radiation emission zones, such that 1≤i≤n, is configured to emit the fan of penetrating radiation with an angle θi (Figs. 4A and 4B).
Regarding Claim 16: Nutech discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radiation emission zones are located sideways in at least one plane different from the at least one detection plane where the plurality of detectors are located (Figs. 2 and 3), and
wherein the general direction of emission of each radiation emission zone is tilted with respect to the at least one detection plane, so that the emitted radiation is configured to reach the group of detectors associated with the radiation emission zone (Figs. 2, 3).
Regarding Claim 21: Nutech discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radiation emission zones are configured to selectively and alternately generate the penetrating radiation once and only once during a mutual scan displacement corresponding substantially to a dimension of the plurality of detectors in the scan direction, the selective generation by the radiation emission zones following a selection sequence, optionally wherein the selection sequence comprises at least one of a random sequence, a regular sequence or a successive sequence (Col. 6, lines 60-63: “Within a single scanning period, the plurality of ray generators 21 emit the ray beams in sequence to the object to be inspected, so as to complete scan for a single slice”).
Regarding Claim 23: Nutech discloses a method for inspecting cargo using an apparatus, the cargo and the apparatus having a mutual scan movement substantially along a scan direction during inspection, comprising:
selectively and alternately generating penetrating radiation using a plurality of radiation emission zones (Col. 6, lines 25-26: “…the plurality of ray generators 21 can emit the ray beams in sequence to the object to be inspected”) configured to at least partially surround the cargo (Figs. 2 and 3), the plurality of radiation emission zones comprising at least three radiation emission zones (Fig. 3); and
detecting the penetrating radiation after transmission through the cargo using a plurality of detectors configured to at least partially surround the cargo (Figs. 2 and 3, ray detectors 22, 23, and 24),
wherein each radiation emission zone in the plurality of radiation emission zones is configured to emit a fan of penetrating radiation towards the cargo in a general direction of emission different from other radiation emission zones in the plurality of radiation emission zones(Figs. 2, 3, 4A, and 4B),
wherein each radiation emission zone is associated with a group of the plurality of detectors corresponding to the fan of penetrating radiation emitted by the radiation emission zone (Fig. 3),
wherein two respective groups of the plurality of detectors associated with two respective adjacent radiation emission zones selectively and alternately generating penetrating radiation in the plurality of radiation emission zones are configured to share at least two detectors so that the two respective groups partly overlap each other, and wherein the plurality of detectors are static with respect to the cargo in a plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction (Fig. 3; Col. 9, lines 29-47: “In order to further explain and illustrate such configuration, provided that the circular arc where the plurality of ray generators 21 is arranged is divided into five regions 1-5, in which, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 1 are collected only by the linear array 24 of ray detectors at the right side, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 2 are collected both by the linear array 24 of ray detectors at the right side and the linear array 23 of ray detectors at the bottom, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 3 are collected only by the linear array 23 of ray detectors at the bottom, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 4 are collected both by the linear array 22 of ray detectors at the left side and the linear array 23 of ray detectors at the bottom, and, the ray beams emitted from the ray generators 21 in region 5 are collected only by the linear array 22 of ray detectors at the left side.”),
the method further comprising outputting image data for generating one or more images of the cargo based on the penetrating radiation detected by each group of detectors (Fig. 6, S17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nutech in view of Varian (US 20140294147 A1).
Regarding Claim 3: Nutech discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but Nutech fails to teach wherein the at least one source comprises:
at least one electron acceleration device, and
at least one Bremsstrahlung target associated with the at least one electron acceleration device for generating the penetrating radiation.
However, Varian teaches a cargo inspection system wherein the at least one source comprises:
at least one electron acceleration device, and
at least one Bremsstrahlung target associated with the at least one electron acceleration device for generating the penetrating radiation ([0039]: “…the accelerator 110 supplies accelerated electrons to seven (7) X-ray target stations 120a-120g… The target may comprise tungsten and/or other high atomic numbers materials that generate a desired yield of X-ray radiation when impact by accelerated electrons by the Bremsstrahlung effect.”).
Varian and Nutech are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the art of cargo inspection by irradiation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nutech to incorporate the teachings of Varian and provide an electron acceleration device and Bremsstrahlung target. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of providing tunable rays for deep penetration and eliminating radioactive waste.
Regarding Claim 10: Nutech in view of Varian discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one electron acceleration device comprises a linear accelerator of electrons comprising a scan horn, wherein the scan horn comprises the Bremsstrahlung target for generating at least one radiation emission zone (Varian: [0039]: “…the accelerator 110 supplies accelerated electrons to seven (7) X-ray target stations 120a-120g… The target may comprise tungsten and/or other high atomic numbers materials that generate a desired yield of X-ray radiation when impact by accelerated electrons by the Bremsstrahlung effect.”).
Regarding Claim 17: Nutech discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but Nutech fails to teach wherein the plurality of detectors are located in two detection planes,
wherein the plurality of radiation emission zones are located in a plane located between the two detection planes, and
wherein the general direction of emission of each radiation emission zone is substantially parallel to the two detection planes, so that the emitted radiation is configured to reach the group of detectors associated with each respective radiation emission zone.
However, Varian teaches a cargo inspection system wherein the plurality of detectors are located in two detection planes (Fig. 13, 818 and 820),
wherein the plurality of radiation emission zones are located in a plane located between the two detection planes (802), and
wherein the general direction of emission of each radiation emission zone is substantially parallel to the two detection planes, so that the emitted radiation is configured to reach the group of detectors associated with each respective radiation emission zone (Fig. 13, 802, 818, 820).
Varian and Nutech are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the art of cargo inspection by irradiation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nutech to incorporate the teachings of Varian. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of providing a better configuration for inspection image reconstruction due to the symmetry in the scan direction.
Regarding Claim 19: Nutech discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but Nutech fails to teach wherein each detector comprises a plurality of stacked detector elements in a plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction.
However, Varian teaches a cargo inspection system wherein each detector comprises a plurality of stacked detector elements in a plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction ([0064]: “…two-layer stacked detectors 190a-190g are also used.”).
Varian and Nutech are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the art of cargo inspection by irradiation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nutech to incorporate the teachings of Varian. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of improving image contrast and increasing throughput.
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nutech in view of Varian, in further view of Hubbard (US 20120327963 A1).
Regarding Claim 4: Nutech in view of Varian discloses the apparatus of claim 3, but both fail to teach wherein the at least one electron acceleration device comprises a laser-plasma electron acceleration device comprising:
a plasma chamber; and
a gas and/or a liquid and/or a solid target located in the plasma chamber,
the gas and/or the liquid and/or the solid target being configured to cooperate with a laser beam.
Hubbard teaches a laser-plasma electron acceleration device comprising:
a plasma chamber (Fig. 2, 204); and
a gas and/or a liquid and/or a solid target located in the plasma chamber,
the gas and/or the liquid and/or the solid target being configured to cooperate with a laser beam ([0092]: “Of particular interest is the possibility of producing an electron beam from a laser-plasma accelerator and then generating broadband bremsstrahlung radiation from the interaction of that electron beam with a solid target”).
Varian, Nutech, and Hubbard are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the art of cargo inspection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Nutech in view of Varian to incorporate the teachings of Hubbard. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of providing much stronger accelerating fields in a compact space.
Regarding Claim 5: Nutech in view of Varian, in further view of Hubbard, discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the laser beam for each laser-plasma electron acceleration device is provided by at least one laser generator (Hubbard: [0049]: The main platform includes… a seed laser source…”).
Regarding Claim 6: Nutech in view of Varian, in further view of Hubbard, discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein a single laser generator is associated with a plurality of laser-plasma electron acceleration devices via at least one mirror configured to rotate (Hubbard: [0073]: “…a tracking optics system 307 may be required to provide precise location and alignment information to the beam director 306. Beam director 306 may include fast steering mirrors and may also include one or more tip/tilt devices”).
Regarding Claim 7: Nutech in view of Varian, in further view of Hubbard, discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least one laser generator is associated with a plurality of laser-plasma electron acceleration devices further via a bundle of fiber optics (Hubbard: [0068]: "main laser amplifier 305, which can include a bulk large bandwidth amplification material such as Ti:sapphire, a large bandwidth doped optical fiber, and a pumping source such as a diode or argon ion laser", [0135]: "There are other options
for stretchers and compressors, including optical fibers for stretching and
grisms for pulse compression").
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nutech in view of Bendahan (US 20110206179 A1).
Regarding Claim 9: Nutech discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but Nutech fails to teach wherein the at least one source is configured to move with respect to the cargo in a plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction.
Bendahan teaches a cargo inspection system, wherein the at least one source is configured to move with respect to the cargo in a plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction (Fig. 6; [0054]: “…a high-energy X-ray source 615 and multi-slice x-ray detectors 605 are arranged opposite to each other and move around the object 610 in a circular trajectory.”).
Nutech and Bendahan are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the art of cargo inspection by irradiation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nutech to incorporate the teachings of Bendahan and provide a source that is moveable with respect to the cargo. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of enabling inspection of large/immobile objects and providing adjustable positioning.
Regarding Claim 18: Nutech discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but Nutech fails to teach wherein at least some of the plurality of detectors are configured to form a continuous array of detectors all around the cargo in a single plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction.
Bendahan teaches a cargo inspection system, wherein at least some of the plurality of detectors are configured to form a continuous array of detectors all around the cargo in a single plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction (Fig. 6).
Nutech and Bendahan are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the art of cargo inspection by irradiation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nutech to incorporate the teachings of Bendahan and provide a plurality of detectors configured to form a continuous array around the cargo. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of improving imaging accuracy and resolution.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nutech in view of Varian, in further view of Bendahan.
Regarding Claim 11: Nutech in view of Varian discloses the apparatus of claim 3, but both fail to teach wherein the at least one electron acceleration device comprises a linear accelerator of electrons, wherein the linear accelerator of electrons and the at least one Bremsstrahlung target are configured to move with respect to the cargo in a plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction.
Bendahan teaches a cargo inspection system, wherein the at least one electron acceleration device comprises a linear accelerator of electrons, wherein the linear accelerator of electrons and the at least one Bremsstrahlung target are configured to move with respect to the cargo in a plane substantially perpendicular to the scan direction ([0032]: “…the source is a radiation source, such as a linear accelerator (linac) that is used to produce an electron beam.”; [0054]: “…a high-energy X-ray source 615 and multi-slice x-ray detectors 605 are arranged opposite to each other and move around the object 610 in a circular trajectory.”).
Varian, Nutech, and Bendahan are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the art of cargo inspection by irradiation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Nutech in view of Varian to incorporate the teachings of Bendahan and provide a source that is moveable with respect to the cargo. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of enabling inspection of large/immobile objects and providing adjustable positioning.
Conclusion
/MIYA DOWNING/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/DAVID J MAKIYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884