DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GB 2115472.9, filed on 10/27/2021.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on July 23, 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 1 is currently amended and remains pending in the application. Claims 3-8, 10-11, 14, 16, 18, and 18-22 are canceled. Claims 31-32 are new. Applicant’s amendments to the claims and specification have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on April 29, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for collecting the gas phase from the turbulence generator” in claim 17.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 17 presently depends from cancelled claim 16. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, 23, 25, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolz et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20110303090 A1, December 15, 2011 (hereinafter “Wolz”) in view of Morgan U.S. Pub. No. 5259996 A, November 09, 1993 (hereinafter “Morgan”).
Regarding claim 1, Wolz discloses a method for recovering methane from a flow of water containing methane, wherein methane-laden water is introduced into a fluid-separation system and passed through an agitation chamber (18) that generates turbulent flow (Wolz, paragraph 0031-0035; Fig. 1). Wolz explains that changes in fluid velocity and direction produce turbulence and separation of methane from the water, including by angled nozzles, impingement against the chamber wall, rotational flow, or other flow-changing structures (paragraph 0037-0040). The outflow of agitation chamber (18) passes through outlet plate (30) and separation-chamber inlet piping (34) into separation chamber 36 (paragraphs 0041-0043; Fig. 1), wherein the reduced flow velocity promotes aggregation and separation of methane bubbles from the liquid. Wolz further discloses that the separated methane rises and is collected through collection outlet (60), while the water is discharged separately through discharge outlet (58) (paragraphs 0050-0053; Fig. 1). However, Wolz fails to disclose that the turbulence generator comprises an inclined conduit having a plurality of protrusions projecting from the bottom thereof, wherein the protrusions are provided as steps.
Morgan discloses a known turbulence-generating water-flow structure. Morgan discloses a low-profile cascade aerator comprising an elongated trough (13) having a sloping bottom wall 13′ inclined from the horizontal, with a plurality of transverse low-head baffles (17) mounted on the bottom wall in spaced relationship along the flow path (col. 4, lines 7-22; Figs. 1–4; claim 1). Morgan discloses that water gravitates successively over stages formed by the baffles, with the resulting velocity and pressure changes producing hydraulic jumps and substantial turbulence (col. 3, lines 5-14); Morgan further discloses flow-control weirs (19) that are stepped or successively increased in height, preferably in one-inch increments (Fig. 3; col. 3, lines 15-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the turbulence-generating flow path of Wolz using the inclined, bottom-baffled cascade arrangement taught by Morgan because Morgan discloses that the inclined trough and successive bottom projections produce repeated velocity changes, pressure changes, hydraulic jumps, and turbulence in flowing water. Such a modification would have constituted use of a known turbulence-generating configuration to perform the same known function of disturbing the water flow and promoting gas-liquid separation, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, Wolz discloses an apparatus for recovering methane from methane-containing water, including an agitation chamber (18) configured to receive the water and a downstream separation chamber (36) configured to receive the outflow of the agitation chamber and promote separation of methane from the liquid (Wolz, Fig. 1; paragraph 0031-0043). Wolz further discloses that separated methane is collected through collection outlet (60) while water is discharged separately through discharge outlet (58) (paragraph 0050-0053; Fig. 1). Thus, Wolz teaches a turbulence generator, a separator receiving the generator outflow, and separation into a first gas-phase outflow comprising methane and a second liquid outflow. However, Wolz fails to disclose that the turbulence generator comprises an inclined conduit having a plurality of protrusions projecting from the bottom thereof, wherein the protrusions are provided as steps.
Morgan discloses a cascade aerator comprising an elongated trough (13) having a sloping bottom wall 13′ inclined from horizontal and a plurality of transverse low-head aeration baffles (17) mounted on the bottom wall in spaced relationship along the flow path (col. 4, lines 7-22; Figs. 1–4; claim 1). Morgan further discloses that water flows successively over baffle stages, generating hydraulic jumps, velocity and pressure changes, and substantial turbulence, and describes adjacent flow-control weirs (19) as stepped or successively increased in height (Fig. 3; col. 3, lines 15-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the turbulence generator of Wolz with the inclined, bottom-baffled cascade structure taught by Morgan because Morgan expressly teaches that such an arrangement produces repeated velocity changes, hydraulic jumps, and turbulence in flowing water. The modification would therefore provide a known alternative turbulence-generating structure for promoting gas-liquid separation in Wolz with predictable results.
Regarding claim 23, Wolz fails to disclose that the conduit of the turbulence generator has an inclination angle of at least about 1 degree. Morgan discloses a cascade aerator comprising an elongated trough (13) having a sloping bottom wall 13′ inclined from horizontal and a plurality of transverse low-head aeration baffles (17) mounted on the bottom wall in spaced relationship along the flow path (col. 4, lines 7-22; Figs. 1–4; claim 1). Morgan further discloses that the bottom wall (13’) has a preferred inclination angle of 4°–5.5° relative to horizontal, which satisfies the claimed inclination angle of at least about 1 degree (Fig. 2; col. 2, lines 61-66; claim 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the conduit of Wolz with the inclination angle of 4°–5.5° taught by Morgan to facilitate gravity assisted water flow and promote turbulence through successive baffles, thereby enhancing gas-liquid interaction and separation with predictable results.
Regarding claim 25, Wolz discloses an apparatus wherein the separator (36) comprises at least one baffle (fig. 1, baffles 43, 44, 48; paragraphs 0044-0046) for deflecting the flow of the outflow (30) of the turbulence generator/agitation chamber through the separator.
Regarding claim 32, Wolz discloses collecting separated methane through collection outlet (60) and states that, in some applications, it is desirable to create a partial vacuum at collection outlet (60) (paragraph 0052; Fig. 1). Since collection outlet 60 receives the separated methane gas phase from the separator, Wolz discloses collecting the first outflow of the separator by means of a pressure-reducing device, as claimed. A vacuum pump is merely exemplary in claim 32 (“such as a vacuum pump”) and therefore the disclosed partial vacuum meets the broader pressure-reducing-device limitation.
Claims 2, 9, 17, 24, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolz and Morgan, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Lubbe et al EP 2463240 A1, June 13, 2012 (hereinafter “Lubbe”).
Regarding claim 2, Wolz discloses that turbulence generated in the liquid causes methane to separate from the water into a gas phase (paragraphs 0014, 0037-0040; Fig. 1). Wolz, however, fails to disclose collecting the gas phase directly from the turbulence generator.
Lubbe discloses recovering methane from liquid effluent by transferring dissolved methane into a gas phase using aeration, stripping, or turbulence-generating structures. In particular, Lubbe discloses aeration device (16) for recovering methane from liquid effluent and states that the methane-containing gas phase may be taken from the aeration device for further treatment or use (paragraph 0047, Fig. 1). Lubbe also discloses a collection sump having turbulence-generating devices such as cascades or weir meshes for enhancing release of dissolved methane into the gas phase, with the resulting gas phase drawn from the turbulence-generating region by a gas ventilator or compressor (paragraph 0071, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the turbulence generator of Wolz as modified by Morgan with the methane-gas collection arrangement taught by Lubbe because Lubbe teaches collecting gas released from methane-containing water during aeration/turbulence generation, thereby permitting recovery rather than loss of the separated methane.
Regarding claim 9, Wolz discloses processing methane-containing water obtained from underground sources, including coal seams and aquifers, through the methane-separation system (paragraphs 0031–0033; Fig. 1). However, Wolz and Morgan fails to disclose feeding a secondary source of methane through the turbulence generator.
Lubbe discloses recovery of dissolved methane from a methane-containing liquid effluent, particularly anaerobic wastewater, by passing the effluent through methane-recovery units including stripping and aeration devices (paragraph 0074). Lubbe discloses that the liquid effluent may be passed through a stripper and/or an aerated methane-recovery device (16), wherein dissolved methane is transferred from the liquid phase to a gas phase (paragraphs 0045, 0074, Fig. 1; claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to feed an additional methane-containing liquid stream, such as the methane-containing wastewater taught by Lubbe, through the turbulence generator of Wolz as modified by Morgan because both streams contain dissolved methane recoverable by the same turbulence/aeration and downstream separation process. Combining an additional compatible methane-containing feed with the existing feed would predictably permit recovery of methane from multiple available liquid sources using the same treatment apparatus.
Regarding claim 17, Wolz fails to disclose the turbulence generator is configured to separate methane from the flow of water and into a gas phase, and the apparatus further comprises a collecting means for collecting the gas phase from the turbulence generator. However, Lubbe discloses removal and recovery of methane using pressure reduction and gas extraction technique (paragraph 0082), including applying reduced pressure to withdraw methane gas from the system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Wolz and Morgan to include a pressure-reducing device such as vacuum pump to collect the separated methane gas in order to facilitate removal of the gas phase and enable controlled extraction of methane gas.
Regarding claim 24, Wolz fails to disclose a sensor configured to detect an amount of methane in the first outflow of the separator. However, Lubbe discloses the use of methane sensors for monitoring methane concentrations in gas streams to regulate system operations and ensure safety (paragraphs 0084-0089). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate a methane sensor into the apparatus of Wolz and Morgan to detect the amount of methane in the gas phase as taught by Lubbe because monitoring allows optimization of methane recovery and safe handling of combustible gas streams.
Regarding claim 31, Wolz in view of Morgan fails to disclose recovering the gas phase from the turbulence generator by means of a pressure-reducing device. However, Lubbe discloses recovery of dissolved methane from liquid effluent using turbulence-generating structures, including a series of cascades or weir meshes, to enhance transfer of methane from the liquid phase to a gas phase (paragraph 0071, Fig. 1). Lubbe further discloses drawing the methane-containing gas phase from the turbulence-generating collection sump using a gas ventilator or compressor, and teaches operating the sump under sub-atmospheric pressure by vacuum extraction to improve methane transfer and recovery (paragraphs 0055, 0082; Figs. 1–2).
Lubbe additionally identifies a methane stripping device as a vacuum degasser and recites subjecting liquid effluent to vacuum extraction whereby methane is transferred to the gas phase (paragraph 0082). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the turbulence generator of Wolz as modified by Morgan with the pressure-reducing methane-recovery arrangement taught by Lubbe in order to enhance release of dissolved methane and recover the resulting methane-containing gas phase from the turbulence-generating region.
Claims 12, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolz and Morgan, as applied to claim 1 and 15, in further view of Haase et al U.S. Pub. No. 20150218024 A1, August 05, 2015 (hereinafter “Haase”).
Regarding claim 12, Wolz fails to discloses that feeding at least part of the second outflow of the separator through a water treatment reactor. However, Haase discloses a water treatment system including reactor-based treatment units such as trickle filter reactors, clarifiers, and anaerobic digester reactors configured to receive process liquid streams. The water flows through sequential compartments and reactors for further purification (fig. 2A, paragraphs 0015, 0037, 0060). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Wolz and Morgan to feed at least part of the second outflow (liquid phase) through a water treatment reactor as taught by Haase in order to further treat the separated liquid stream, remove contaminants, and improve overall system efficiency.
Regarding claim 29, Wolz fails to discloses that a water treatment reactor configured to
receive at least a portion of the second outflow of the separator. However, Haase discloses a
water treatment system including reactor-based treatment units such as trickle filter reactors, clarifiers, and anaerobic digester reactors configured to receive process liquid streams. The water flows through sequential compartments and reactors for further purification (fig. 2A, paragraphs 0015, 0037, 0060). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Wolz to feed at least part of the second outflow (liquid phase) through a water treatment reactor as taught by Haase in order to further treat the separated liquid stream, remove contaminants, and improve overall system efficiency.
Claims 13, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolz and Morgan, as applied to claim 1 and 15, in further view of Vossenkaul et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20040035779 A1, February 26, 2004 (hereinafter “Vossenkaul”).
Regarding claim 13, Wolz fails to discloses that passing at least part of the second outflow of the separator through a selective membrane. However, Vossenkaul discloses a membrane filter for water treatment comprising capillary membranes through which water flows and is selectively separated into permeate and retained components (paragraph 0019-0021). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Wolz and Morgan to pass at least part of the second outflow through the membrane system of Vossenkaul in order to further purify the liquid stream, and remove dissolved contaminants.
Regarding claim 30, Wolz fails to discloses a selective membrane configured to receive at least a portion of the second outflow of the separator. However, Vossenkaul discloses a membrane filter for water treatment comprising capillary membranes through which water flows and is selectively separated into permeate and retained components (paragraph 0019-0021). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Wolz and Morgan to pass at least part of the second outflow through the membrane system of Vossenkaul in order to further purify the liquid stream, and remove dissolved contaminants.
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolz and Morgan, as applied to claim 25, in further view of Khudenko U.S. Pub. No. 5514277 A, May 07, 1996 (hereinafter “Khudenko”).
Regarding claim 26, Wolz discloses a separator configured to separate gas and liquid gases having a side wall (fig. 6, side wall 38; paragraph 0044) but fails to explicitly disclose that the separator comprises of upper wall. However, Khudenko discloses a wastewater treatment apparatus including a separator vessel having defined structural boundaries including vertical walls and upper walls forming enclosed treatment compartment (fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the separator of Wolz and Morgan with an upper and side wall because such walls are inherent structural features of enclosed separation vessels used to contain and direct fluid flow.
Regarding claim 27, Wolz discloses a baffle in the separator but fails to disclose a baffle projecting from a side wall of the separator. However, Khudenko discloses treatment tanks and separator regions including baffles (fig. 14, 17, baffles 61, 64 36; col. 14 lines 20-40). These baffles function as guide to fluid movement and control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the separator of Wolz and Morgan to include a baffle projecting from the side wall, in order to control flow distribution and improve separation efficiency.
Regarding claim 28, Wolz fails to disclose that the baffles depending from the upper wall of the separator. However, Khudenko disclose multi-level internal structures including a baffle (fig. 17, baffle 131, col. 15) extending from upper regions to guide flow and improve separation and aeration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the separator of Wolz and Morgan with a baffle depending from the upper wall, in order to control fluid flow, increase residence time and enhance phase separation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/23/2026 with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Wolz et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made over Wolz et al. in view of Morgan.
Applicant argues that Wolz fails to disclose claimed inclined conduit having bottom protrusions provided as steps. While Wolz does not disclose this configuration, Morgan discloses an inclined trough having bottom mounted, spaced baffles that generate hydraulic jumps and turbulence. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to employ Morgan’s known turbulence-generating configuration in Wolz to promote gas-liquid separation with predictable results.
Applicant’s argument concerning gravity-driven operation and absence of pumps or rotating components are not persuasive because these limitations are not recited in the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/M.N.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1776