DETAILED ACTION
2. The following is a non-final Office action in response to Applicant submission received on 09/15/2025.
3. Claims 9-15 are currently pending and have been examined.
Foreign Priority
4. No foreign priority claimed under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Oath/Declaration
5. The applicant's oath/declaration filed on 04/26/2024 has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Drawings
6. The applicant’s drawings submitted on 04/26/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
7. The information disclosure statement submitted by Applicant is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Interpretation
10. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a transmission unit configured to perform” in claims 9, 13, 15; “a control unit configured to control” in claims 9, 13, 15; “a reception unit configured to receive” in claim 15; and “the transmission unit performs” in claims 9, 10, 13, 15; “the control unit does not perform” in claim 10; “the control unit controls” in claim 11.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“transmission unit configured to perform” appears to have corresponding structure of “transmitter” in (FIGS. 15, 16 and para. [0140] of the Application Publication);
“control unit configured to control” appears to be a processor
(FIGS. 15, 16, and para. para. [0166][0167] of the Application Publication);
“reception unit configured to receive” appears to have corresponding structure of “receiver” in (FIGS. 15, 16 and para. [0140] of the Application Publication);
“transmission unit performs” appears to have corresponding structure of “transmitter” in (FIGS. 15, 16 and para. [0140] of the Application Publication).
“control unit controls” appears to be a processor (para. [0166][0167] of the Application Publication).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 9-11, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 20200280971 A1) in view of Wu (US 20200322982 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Moon discloses a base station (Figs. 1-2: device 110 and 200) capable of communicating in a high frequency band including an unlicensed band (para. [0081]: each of the plurality of base stations may support a transmission in unlicensed band), the base station comprising:
a transmission unit (Fig. 2: transceiver 230) configured to perform a first downlink transmission and a second downlink transmission transmitted after the first downlink transmission (Fig. 6, 12A and 12B, para. [0145][0162][0244]: Referring to FIGS. 12A and 12B, two downlink transmission bursts (e.g., first and second downlink transmission bursts) may be transmitted within a COT initiated by the base station. The transmission bandwidth of the first downlink transmission burst may be different from the transmission bandwidth of the second downlink transmission burst. The base station may expand the downlink transmission bandwidth by additionally performing an LBT operation in an uplink duration and/or a gap period within the COT initiated by the base station); and
in a case of starting a channel occupancy according to the channel access (para. [0128][0135][0182][0200]: The information on the starting time point of the COT may be transmitted in a starting region of the COT in each LBT subband or each channel), the transmission unit performs the first downlink transmission and the second downlink transmission during a predetermined period of the channel occupancy (para. [0251] [0182]: FIGS. 13A and 13B show two downlink transmission bursts (e.g., first and second downlink transmission bursts) transmitted within a COT initiated by the base station within predetermined time period t1 and t4).
Moon does not appear to disclose a control unit configured to control a channel access with a variable period of detection.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches a control unit (Fig. 15: processing unit 920) configured to control a channel access with a variable period of detection (para. [0064]: Category-4 LBT (Cat-4 LBT): It is LBT with random backoff based on a variable CWS. In this case, the communications device determines that the CWS is a CWp, where the CWp is a variable value, the communications device generates a random number N according to the value of the CWp; and the communications device performs channel detection on an unlicensed spectrum, and may perform signal transmission after channel detection succeeds in all of N slots. Figs. 9-10, para. [0228][0229][0232] detection duration size varies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Moon with the teaching of Wu to include the features such as a control unit to control a channel access with a variable period of detection as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would have been improve communication flexibility in an aspect of unlicensed spectrum communication.
Regarding claim 10, Moon and Wu disclose the base station as claimed in claim 9, however, Wu further teaches wherein the control unit does not perform the detection before performing the second downlink transmission in a case where the transmission unit performs the second downlink transmission during the predetermined period (Wu, para. [0058]: A downlink (DL) transmission burst (DL transmission burst) refers to a group of downlink transmission (that is, including one or more times of downlink transmission) performed by a gNB, and the group of downlink transmission is consecutive transmission (that is, there is no gap between a plurality of times of downlink transmission)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Moon with the teaching of Wu to include the features such as the control unit does not perform the detection before performing the second downlink transmission in a case where the transmission unit performs the second downlink transmission during the predetermined period as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would have been improve communication flexibility in an aspect of unlicensed spectrum communication.
Regarding claim 11, Moon and Wu disclose the base station as claimed in claim 9, However, Wu further teaches wherein the control unit controls whether or not to perform the detection before performing the second downlink transmission, based on a gap between an end of the first downlink transmission and a start of the second downlink transmission (para. [0115]: The gap between the ending location of the first transmission burst and the starting location of the second transmission burst may be used by the network device to determine the channel access scheme used for LBT performed before the second transmission burst).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Moon with the teaching of Wu to include the features such as controlling whether or not to perform the detection before performing the second downlink transmission, based on a gap between an end of the first downlink transmission and a start of the second downlink transmission as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would have been improve communication flexibility in an aspect of unlicensed spectrum communication.
Regarding claim 13, Moon discloses a terminal (Figs. 1-2 device 130 and 200) capable of communicating in a high frequency band including an unlicensed band, the terminal comprising:
a transmission unit (Fig. 2 transceiver 230) configured to perform a first uplink transmission and a second uplink transmission transmitted after the first uplink transmission (Fig. 6, para. [0177]: the terminal may transmit a plurality of uplink transmission bursts (first uplink transmission burst and second uplink transmission burst) within one COT); and
in a case of starting a channel occupancy according to the channel access (para. [0128][0135][0182][0200]: The information on the starting time point of the COT may be transmitted in a starting region of the COT in each LBT subband or each channel), the transmission unit performs the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission during a predetermined period of the channel occupancy (Fig. 6, para. [0177]: the terminal may transmit a plurality of uplink transmission bursts (first uplink transmission burst and second uplink transmission burst) within one COT by the terminal within predetermined time period t2 and t5).
Moon does not appear to disclose a control unit configured to control a channel access with a variable period of detection.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches a control unit (Fig. 15: processing unit 920) configured to control a channel access with a variable period of detection (para. [0064]: Category-4 LBT (Cat-4 LBT): It is LBT with random backoff based on a variable CWS. In this case, the communications device determines that the CWS is a CWp, where the CWp is a variable value, the communications device generates a random number N according to the value of the CWp; and the communications device performs channel detection on an unlicensed spectrum, and may perform signal transmission after channel detection succeeds in all of N slots. Figs. 9-10, para. [0228][0229][0232] detection duration size varies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Moon with the teaching of Wu to include the features such as a control unit to control a channel access with a variable period of detection as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would have been improve communication flexibility in an aspect of unlicensed spectrum communication.
Regarding claim 14, Moon discloses a communication method performed by a base station capable of communicating in a high frequency band including an unlicensed band (FIG. 12A, para. [0044][0084]: a channel occupancy method, a method of transmitting and receiving control information related to a channel occupancy time, etc. in a communication system supporting an unlicensed band), the communication method comprising:
starting a channel occupancy according to the channel access (para. [0128][0135][0182][0200]: The information on the starting time point of the COT may be transmitted in a starting region of the COT in each LBT subband or each channel);
performing a first downlink transmission and a second downlink transmission transmitted after the first downlink transmission during a predetermined period of the channel occupancy (para. [0251] [0182]: FIGS. 13A and 13B show two downlink transmission bursts (e.g., first and second downlink transmission bursts) transmitted within a COT initiated by the base station within predetermined time period t1 and t4).
Moon does not appear to disclose controlling a channel access with a variable period of detection.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches controlling a channel access with a variable period of detection (para. [0064]: Category-4 LBT (Cat-4 LBT): It is LBT with random backoff based on a variable CWS. In this case, the communications device determines that the CWS is a CWp, where the CWp is a variable value, the communications device generates a random number N according to the value of the CWp; and the communications device performs channel detection on an unlicensed spectrum, and may perform signal transmission after channel detection succeeds in all of N slots. Figs. 9-10, para. [0228][0229][0232] detection duration size varies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Moon with the teaching of Wu to include the features such as controlling a channel access with a variable period of detection as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would have been improve communication flexibility in an aspect of unlicensed spectrum communication.
Regarding claim 15, Moon discloses a system (system 100 of Fig. 1) capable of communicating in a high frequency band including an unlicensed band (para. [0084]: a communication system supporting an unlicensed band), the system comprising: a terminal (Fig. 1: node 130); and a base station (Fig. 1: node 110), wherein the base station includes:
a transmission unit (Fig. 2 transceiver 230) configured to perform a first downlink transmission and a second downlink transmission transmitted after the first downlink transmission to the terminal (Fig. 6, 12A and 12B, para. [0145][0162][0244]: Referring to FIGS. 12A and 12B, two downlink transmission bursts (e.g., first and second downlink transmission bursts) may be transmitted within a COT initiated by the base station. The transmission bandwidth of the first downlink transmission burst may be different from the transmission bandwidth of the second downlink transmission burst. The base station may expand the downlink transmission bandwidth by additionally performing an LBT operation in an uplink duration and/or a gap period within the COT initiated by the base station); and
in a case of starting a channel occupancy according to the channel access (para. [0128][0135][0182][0200]: The information on the starting time point of the COT may be transmitted in a starting region of the COT in each LBT subband or each channel), the transmission unit performs the first downlink transmission and the second downlink transmission to the terminal during a predetermine period of the channel occupancy (para. [0251] [0182]: FIGS. 13A and 13B show two downlink transmission bursts (e.g., first and second downlink transmission bursts) transmitted within a COT initiated by the base station within predetermined time period t1 and t4), and the terminal includes:
a reception unit (Fig. 2 transceiver 230) configured to receive the first downlink transmission and the second downlink transmission from the base station (Fig. 12A and 12B, para. [0244]: two downlink transmission bursts (e.g., first and second downlink transmission bursts) may be transmitted within a COT initiated by the base station to the terminal).
Moon does not appear to disclose a control unit configured to control a channel access with a variable period of detection.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches a control unit (Fig. 15: processing unit 920) configured to control a channel access with a variable period of detection (para. [0064]: Category-4 LBT (Cat-4 LBT): It is LBT with random backoff based on a variable CWS. In this case, the communications device determines that the CWS is a CWp, where the CWp is a variable value, the communications device generates a random number N according to the value of the CWp; and the communications device performs channel detection on an unlicensed spectrum, and may perform signal transmission after channel detection succeeds in all of N slots. Figs. 9-10, para. [0228][0229][0232] detection duration size varies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Moon with the teaching of Wu to include the features such as a control unit to control a channel access with a variable period of detection as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would have been improve communication flexibility in an aspect of unlicensed spectrum communication.
16. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 20200280971 A1), Wu (US 20200322982 A1) in view of TIIROLA et al. (US 20170318607 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Moon and Wu disclose the base station as claimed in claim 9, but the references fail to teach wherein the predetermined period is 5 ms.
In the same field of endeavor, TIIROLA teaches wherein the predetermined period is 5 ms (TIIROLA, para. [0130][0131]: the CCA opportunity repeats with the FFP periodicity (such as 4 ms, 5 ms, or 10 ms for example). Fixed frame period consists of two portions: [0131] 1. Channel Occupancy Time. This provides Maximum scheduling time per FFP. The presence and the actual length of the current channel occupancy is up-to a scheduling decision of the base station 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Moon and Wu with the teaching of TIIROLA to include the features such as the predetermined period is 5 ms as taught by TIIROLA. The motivation for doing so would have been provide maximum opportunities for eNB to get the channel for DL operation (TIIROLA, para. [0131]).
Conclusion
17. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) Awadin et al. (US 20220377790 A1) discloses that a base station may initiate a Channel Occupancy Time (COT) that is an FBE COT or an LBE COT, in which the wireless device follows FBE or LBE procedures accordingly.
b) Salem (US 20210105815 A1) discloses A user equipment (UE) may transmit a configured-grant uplink control information (CG-UCI) to a base station during a channel occupancy time (COT) initiated by the UE in a shared spectrum, the CG-UCI comprising COT sharing information, the COT sharing information indicating, at least, an index value corresponding to a combination of: an indication of an offset to a beginning of a downlink transmission opportunity during the COT; an indication of a duration of the downlink transmission opportunity during the COT; and an indication of a channel access priority class (CAPC) value used by the UE to initiate the COT. The base station may transmit a downlink transmission to the UE within the downlink transmission opportunity and in accordance with the COT sharing information in the transmitted CG-UCI.
/JEAN F VOLTAIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417